Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,164 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Hyundai Santa Fe brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Hyundai Santa Fe Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

May 162010

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated while in the reverse position, the vehicle abnormally accelerated without warrant. The vehicle crashed rear end into a loading dock and sustained substantial rear body damage. The vehicle was towed to a local repair shop where the contact was awaiting a diagnosis of the failure. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer was contacted. The failure and current mileages were 52,000. Updated 07/19/10 the consumer stated the brakes failed. Updated 07/21/10

- Camden, NJ, USA

problem #17

Feb 102010

Santa Fe

  • 21,132 miles
With only 21,132 miles on the vehicle, the left rear brake caliper stuck resulting in loss of braking when pads wore out. Brakes were inspected less than 3000 miles prior to loss of braking.

- Hiawatha, IA, USA

problem #16

Mar 242010

Santa Fe

  • 51,778 miles
Took car in for issue unrelated to brakes during courtesy inspection found rear brakes need repair. Scores per wheel where are as follows lf 10 rf 10 LR2 rr 8. the variance seems to indicate an issue and a brief internet search found numerous similar complaints.

- Washington, PA, USA

problem #15

Mar 152010

Santa Fe

  • 32,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Back driver side caliper overheated on a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe with 32,000 miles on it. The brake pads were ruined as the vehicle was being driven one day 3/15/2010. I drove over 200 miles before I heard the loud droning sound of the brakes. Even when the brakes were not engaged the caliper was still pressing against the brake pad. Smoke coming from the wheel as well as residue on the rims.the dealership will not fix it under warranty as per Hyundai instructions. The cost will be #300.00-$400 and they said it was caused by rust which they said they saw in other Santa Fe's. I believe this is a serious defect in the vehicle as the tire could catch fire and explode causing a dangerous accident. Hyundai doesn't see a problem with this and will not warranty this issue.

- Nanticoke, PA, USA

problem #14

Feb 012010

Santa Fe

  • 29,600 miles
Rear brake problem in a 2007 Hyundai sante fe vehicle with 29K mileage. Left rear brake caliper sticks intermittently causing high pitch squealing/scraping noise and hot wheel hub. Multiple other customers report the same issue on website forum @Hyundai sante fe carspace automotive forum. Many with much lower mileage claims. My dealer inspected and said nothing could be found wrong. Root cause analysis points to rear brake caliper assembly rusts from salt corrosion and causes the caliper to stick on the brake while driving with foot off the brake. Problem resurfaced 50 days later. Waiting for my appointment to have dealer look at the issue readdress the problem. Hyundai technical safety bulletin 08-br-002 dated 12/2008 calls for cleaning and greasing the pad contact surface of the caliper carrier to rectify the cause. This does not address the root cause of material defect of rusting on rear brake calipers.

- Redford, MI, USA

problem #13

Sep 162009

Santa Fe

  • 33,800 miles
I have a 2007 Santa Fe with 33K miles, on which the rear right brakes wore through "metal to metal" and I was told the other side was just as bad & needed to be replaced. This seemed to be incredible short lifespan so I did some online research and see numerous complaints of the exact same problem. The front brakes have 60% life remaining according to the dealer. Hyundai said this was normal wear, and it was not covered under warranty. I think its a safety hazard as there was no warning until the brakes were crunching metal to metal and completely gone. They had to replace rotors and pads, at an astronomical $480! but as I'd had the vehicle towed in and live in a remote area, it would have cost me as much to tow it elsewhere and get it fixed.

- Shohola, PA, USA

problem #12

Sep 102009

Santa Fe

  • 15,150 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2007 Hyundai sata fe, with 15,000 miles on the odometer-has squealing rear brakes. Dealer says, there is a corrosion problem in the calipers, and they have to be cleaned out every 8,000 thousand miles, at a cost of $90.dollars which is ridiculous. I believe poor quality metal is being used in the brake parts, a very dangerous practice ! I got no satisfaction from Hyundai motor America, consumer assistance cntr.,to pay for this so called "brake service". I, paid for it, myself, probably like thousands of other Hyundai owner's. please, make them recall these unsafe vehicles, and install quality brake parts, and save the owner's from the cost of unnecessary service, on rear brakes.

- Northborough, MA, USA

problem #11

Mar 202009

Santa Fe

  • miles
I just had to have my rear brakes completely done at a cost of 500 dollars. I heard no noise, and there was no indication that there was any problems with the brakes except the fact that the brake light was on. I drive 95% highway and consequently very rarely use my brakes. I also had to have a front end alignment done and now my rear alignment is out of whack.

- Springfield, VT, USA

problem #10

Jun 252009

Santa Fe

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe. While parking in the driveway, the contact stated that the rear brakes seized up and became extremely hot. He did not notice any prior issues with the brakes. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that the emergency brake failed and there was rust build up on the rotors. The manufacturer stated that the failure was due to an environmental issue; therefore, they could not assist. The current mileage was 26,282 and failure mileage was approximately 26,000.

- Hereford, PA, USA

problem #9

Jun 012008

Santa Fe

  • 16,391 miles
Problem with calipers on vehicle sticking and not releasing the brakes from the rotor, causing the rotor and tire rim to reach temperatures over 300 degrees.

- Burlington, KY, USA

problem #8

Jun 202009

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 11,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe. While driving 35 mph, the contact smelled a foul odor inside the vehicle. He pulled the vehicle over and attempted to identify the source of the smell. He inspected the vehicle and noticed that the odor was coming from the passenger side rear tire. He also noticed a severe heat wave from the tire. The contact stated that the tire itself was extremely hot. He took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that the pads were rubbing up against the rotors. The dealer cleaned and greased the calipers, which corrected the failure. Through research, the contact found numerous complaints regarding the same failure he was experiencing. He believes that a recall should be issued since the failure appeared to be a manufacturer defect. The current and failure mileages were 11,700. Updated 07/17/09 the consumer stated the odor from the overheating passenger side rear wheel was only noticed after exiting the vehicle. The dealer stated the cause was due to the pads freeing up against the rotors due to corrosion at the place where the pads set in the brake caliper. Updated 07/17/09.

- Ithica, NY, USA

problem #7

Jun 242009

Santa Fe

  • 26,000 miles
Rear brakes seized up due to rust build up on rotors. This caused the rotors to get very hot. We feel that this was due to faulty metal used for the rotors> Hyundai said it was a environmental issue. We feel it is a safety issue. Hyundai reports a lot of problems with this issue.

- Hereford , PA, USA

problem #6

May 132009

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 30,127 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that the rear driver's side brakes were worn. The caliper is rusted shut and the rotors and pads were destroyed. He must purchase new calipers, rods, and rotors at the cost of $405. The manufacturer would not assist and stated that the contact must pay for the repairs, even though they are aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 30,127. Updated 06/25/09 updated 06/26/09.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #5

May 132009

Santa Fe

  • 15,000 miles
Noise from drivers side rear brakes in late April 2009. Checked brakes rotors extremely hot-rear only. Front brakes fine;however, rear worn almost to metal. Made appointment with dealer for May 13. Car is only 17 mo old, 15,000 miles (mostly highway driving). Dealer will replace pads but will charge a rear brake service$150. I believe there is a brake design flaw. Dealer wants $160/axle every 15000 miles to "service" brakes- clean calipers. Brakes should last longer than 15,000 miles.

- Cicero, NY, USA

problem #4

May 042009

Santa Fe

  • 28,202 miles
My 2007 Hyundai sante fe was experiencing brake overheating from drivers side rear brake and mild heating with passenger side rear brakes. At 28K miles I had to take it to the dealer for this situation. The brakes had failed very prematurely due to this condition. The dealer resurfaced the rotors and cleaned and lubed the brake slides, and replaced the overheated damaged pads to the tune of $389. I was advised that they were not covered under the 3yr 36K mile bumper to bumper warranty as there was an exception to this for the brakes, they were only 1 yr 12K for the warranty as I am in a "severe" operating zone in upstate NY. I have checked many other forums on this subject and have found many others to be experiencing this same premature failure with the brakes and almost always it is the drivers side rear caliper that fails. I feel this is a design problem and a severe safety problem as the brakes almost caused a fire with my vehicle. This has been going on for quite a while and has not been addressed by Hyundai America. I placed a complaint with them and was told that basically there was nothing they could do about it. I do not have the old parts as they said they disposed of them prior to my arrival. I have always serviced my vehicle myself according to manufacturer recommendations and no where does it state the brakes need to be lubricated.

- Scotia, NY, USA

problem #3

Apr 112009

Santa Fe

  • 27,300 miles
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe limited 27,300 mile the rear driver side caliper is sticking to the disc brake causing burning smell and heat.

- Centerville, IN, USA

problem #2

Nov 052008

Santa Fe

  • 15,198 miles
Brake failure almost caused me to skid through a red light that was at 50 miles a hour highway intersection. The car was purchased new 7/18/2007, and was recently inspected by the dealer as part of a 15,000 mile check up at that time I expressed a concern about the car's hesitation upon acceleration November 5, 2008 I was told that my 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe had it's rear brakes locked on and the whole rear brake system needed to be replaced and I skidded because they had failed and my front brakes were doing all the work. I was told by many car specialists that this should not have happened with a vehicle under 18 months with only 15,198 miles and that it is a problem with Hyundai's inferior brake system and that it will happen again! I fear that next time, I won't be able to stop and lost of life may occur.

- Central Square, NY, USA

problem #1

Jul 282008

Santa Fe

  • 16,600 miles
My 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe limited (16,600 miles) began making a very loud screeching/squealing noise after about 20 minutes of driving that goes away when you even lightly tap on the brake pedal. I took it to the natick, MA Hyundai service department, who said that they could not replicate the problem, but suggested that I pay $89 for a rear brake servicing, which they explained will clean any rust/corrosion on my rotors and will adjust the rear brakes. I asked if they saw any signs of rust or corrosion on my rear brakes when they were investigating the noise, and they couldn't answer that. I asked if it is normal to have rust or corrosion or to require an adjustment of the rear brakes in a car that is 1 year old, and they said no. I elected to skip the rear brake service, and took the car home, at which time it started making the noise again. I took it back and had the mechanic go for a drive with me and he said it sounds like the rear brake pad on the driver side slipped and needs to be fixed. He said it is very common in the 2007 Santa Fe. I left the car to be fixed, and when they called to let me know it was ready, they said it would cost $89 for the rear brake service. If my brake pads slipped and it is a known issue with this car, why was a forced to pay $89 to clean and adjust the rotors? after some internet research and speaking with an independent mechanic, I have learned that the caliper frame is machined wrong and Hyundai is cramming the brakes in, causing the brake pads to slip, or even worse, causing the brakes to seize. My car is under warranty and it is unacceptable that after a year of driving it (purchased brand new) I had to pay for what is clearly poor design and construction by Hyundai.

- Millis, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?