Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,164 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Hyundai Santa Fe brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Hyundai Santa Fe Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #38

Mar 182015

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles


3/18 driving down a road hit a large pothole ESC off and ABS lights pop on the dash press the ESC button which did nothing.I stop in a parking lot turn the car off and then back on the lights came back on as I pulled away the lights turned off. 3/19 I was driving at about 25-30 and all of a sudden the ESC off and ABS lights came one once again I park at the grocery store to shop. Leaving the grocery store I turn on the vehicle on the dash the same lights are light up as I pull away they turn off NHTSA campaign number: 09V122000 is a recall in place for this issue on my make and model vehicle but it starts for the Santa fes that were manufactured from April of 2007 and further. My Santa Fe was manufactured in mid March of 2007 please look into adding my vehicle to NHTSA campaign number: 09V122000.

- West Seneca, NY, USA

problem #37

May 312013

Santa Fe

  • 87,900 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that the brake lights were not illuminating when depressing the brakes and the ESC warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 13V113000 (exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic ) but was advised by the manufacturer that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was then taken to the dealer for diagnosis where the technician stated that the stop lamp switch would have to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 87,900.

- Moore, OK, USA

problem #36

Jul 012011

Santa Fe

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that the brake lights would not illuminate when the brakes were depressed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they advised the contact that the stop lamp switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they advised her that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 09V122000 (service brakes, hydraulic:switches:brake light). The failure mileage was approximately 100,000.

- Downey , CA, USA

problem #35

Dec 092011

Santa Fe

  • 75,000 miles


ESC off light is illuminated when vehicle is not in park, and check engine light is illuminated. Brake lights don't work (seem to be always on). I got the problem code from the vehicle, did some research, and found Hyundai campaign 092 covered these conditions caused by a faulty stop lamp switch. I contacted Hyundai, and they informed me my vehicle was manufactured (July 2006) prior to the recall date range (which started in Oct 2006), and would not be replaced without charge by a dealer. This is the same problem as was covered in the recall, and Hyundai should be liable to fix it!

- Marion, IA, USA

problem #34

Dec 122011

Santa Fe

  • 68,000 miles
ESC off indicator stays illuminated problem: No brake lights. Dealership states my vehicle is outside the manufacture date range included in the tsb campaign # 092 / 09-01-018 and will not replace the stop lamp switch under warranty. (my Santa Fe was manufactured in June 2007). Approx. $75 replacement cost for a known issue. According to online forums this problem is not limited to the manufacture dates indicated in the tsb. This is a serious safety issue; one that I would have hoped Hyundai would take more seriously.

- Ozark, MO, USA

problem #33

Nov 192011

Santa Fe

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the stability control warning lamp illuminated and she was unable to engage the cruise control. The contact also mentioned that the brake lights did not work. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the brake light switch was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since her vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 09V122000 (service brakes, hydraulic:switches:brake light). The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 77,000 and the current mileage was 78,000.

- Middleburg , FL, USA

problem #32

Oct 062011

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles


With out any warning my rear brakes failed. I had to apply as much brake pedal as I could to stop the vehicle. After that I kept my speed down to a speed that I feel that I could stop the car safely. A short time after that the front brakes started shuddering. I was headed for my cottage in North Ontario at night were there are no garages so I had to have parts sent to that location were I replaced the front and rear rotors and brake pads. If had to make an emergency stop with the brakes in that condition I would have surely had an accident. Luckily the traffic was light. The rear brake pad was so tight in the caliper that I had to hit it with a hammer to free it and I had to grind part of the new pad so that it would fit loose in the caliper. I have to assume that the front breaks had to work so hard with no back breaks that the front rotor warped from the heat since they were fine up to that time. This is definitely a design flaw in the Hyundai brakes. The fit of the brake pad to the caliper is too close and the slightest amount of rust causes them to jam. Even without rust the new rotors were so tight that any good mechanic would not install them in that condition. This is a serious faults and I am not alone with this problem. Hyundai's answer is to pay $ 200 every year and have the brakes serviced. This is not a solution since they could seize up to 6 months after service the way the Hyundai brake parts are rusting. I had check all my brakes at the end of the winter and they seemed to be fine. The pads were not worn and the car was stopping okay. [xxx] note that I live in Canada but the car was purchased in buffalo. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #31

Jun 102009

Santa Fe

  • 18,576 miles
Rotors needed to be replaced at cost of $375 at only 18,500 miles.. rotors should not need replacing at such a low mileage. Took it to dealer who stated that it was due to rust from salt on roads. Have owned numerous vehicles prior and driven on same roads and never needed rotor replacement so early. Internet is filled with Hyundai owners with similar complaints. Hyundai uses inferior parts and is aware of these numerous complaints but does nothing to fix the problem. Something must be done to protect the public from Hyundai's defective products or people will continue paying for expensive brake work at extremely low mileages. Will never buy a Hyundai again!!

- Howells, NY, USA

problem #30

Aug 122011

Santa Fe

  • 53,800 miles
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe; front right tire locks up while driving. This has happened at various speeds 5 mph to 70 mph for the past 2 years. I have had the tires rotated to ensure that it is not a particular tire. I have had the dealer look at the SUV, they said they could not replicate the problem. The dealer states all recall items have been addressed, but our problem still occurs. My wife did an 800 mile trip last month with no problems, the following week she complained it happened 4 times in one week. The ESC off light has turned on in conjunction with these events, however there have been times when the ESC off light will turn on, but no incidents with the tire locking has occurred. In the cases of higher speeds 50+ the tire will lock, speeds will decrease, of course with the tire dragging the car pulls. I will swerve the car back and forth to see if the tire will unlock. Once I was in an hov lane it almost brought us to a stop with no shoulders to get the car out of traffic. Once at low speed (5 mph) coming out of a parking lot the tire locked up and did not release bring the car to a stop, my wife stated that she had to pump the brakes to get it to release. The problem is intermittent, I can not get it to fail on demand, or know what causes it to do so. In the event for the ESC off light, bumpy roads will trigger that, for example a particular highway in las vegas was widened the widened area is not a very smooth ride. 30 seconds into the area the ESC off light will appear. That I can replicate. But the tire has never stopped rotating in this section. Once on rural highway in Arizona, once in hov lane in las vegas, dozens of times on local streets, 8 times on highways at freeway speeds. My wife and I are alert while driving, there are no warnings when this will occur, however once it does occur we are able to respond quickly to the tire dragging/pulling (not spinning) have been fortunate no accidents.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #29

Aug 042011

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 55,400 miles
While waiting to cross a railroad crossing the two cars ahead of me started moving. The first car suddenly stopped causing the 2nd car to hit it. I slammed on my brakes but my car surged ahead into the car in front of me causing much damage of that car and considerable damage, (undrivable) to my car. Police were called and a report take, . I srepped on my brakes hard yet I surged forward very fast. About three months earlier I experienced the same problem comming out of a store parking lot onto a busy road. I applied my brake only to have the car keep going forward almost entering on coming traffic. I could only assume when I applied the brake my food hit the accelerator on the down push. I feel the same thing happened during the Aug. 4, 2011 accident. I wonder if there have been other incidents like this, I wear a size 11 eee shoe which is petty wide, the only reason I could see for hitting both the brake and accelerator.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #28

Nov 162009

Santa Fe

  • 26,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 hyunai Santa Fe. While driving approximately 25 mph, the contact heard a grinding and squealing noise upon engaging the brake pedal. Also, there was a burning odor coming from the overheated brakes. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they resurfaced both front and rear rotors. Also, the front and rear brakes were replaced. The identical failure recurred two years later. The manufacturer was notified of the premature brake failure. The vehicle had not been repaired for the most recent failure. The approximate failure mileage was 26,000. Updated 08/31/11 updated 2/21/12

- Norwalk, CT, USA

problem #27

Jun 022010

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
Hydraulic brake problems on Hyundai Santa Fe 2007. Rear brakes on drivers side caliper siege causing to ware out brake pads and rotor. Replace them once already. Called the Hyundai dealer they said it will not be covered. I see there are a lot of complaints with the same problem with the rear left caliper and no one can help.

- Cleveland , OH, USA

problem #26

Jun 142011

Santa Fe

  • 37,200 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated while driving 70 mph the vehicle started making a grinding noise and the rear brake calipers locked. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who diagnosed that the slide plate and brake pads froze and remained on the rotors, as a result. The dealer had to replace the rotors and brake pads. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 37,000 and the current mileage was 37,200. Updated 07/21/11 updated 3/20/12

- Tipp City, OH, USA

problem #25

Oct 102010

Santa Fe

  • 67,000 miles
This complaint refers to the SRS airbag system in the Santa Fe. While the airbag system is intact I have been told by a certified Hyundai repair center that the clock spring and the junction box have failed. Given the premature nature of this failure I believe that this system is flawed and represents a widespread hazard to the american public. In addition, all four brake rotors and the sway bar needed to be replaced with less than 70,000 miles due to excessive wear which rendered them unsafe (according to the aforementioned center).

- Hatboro, PA, USA

problem #24

Nov 112010

Santa Fe

  • 63,000 miles
At three years and 63000 miles all four brake rotors require replacement due to what the dealer describes as "normal" wear. There is no scoring on any of the rotors it is out of spec because it does not meet minimum thickness requirements. Identified through loud noise and poor braking.

- Hatboro, PA, USA

problem #23

Oct 112010

Santa Fe

  • 36,000 miles
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe ~36,000 miles. Rear brakes completely replaced in May 2010. While driving on highway, loud grinding brake noise heard from rear of vehicle. Large amounts of 'brake dust' on rim of rear driver's side wheel. Brought vehicle to dealer for inspection. Determined caliper was seized up due to rust. They will not remedy via warranty B/C they determine that it is an environmental issue. (salt/road debris buildup). New brake pads/rotors were damaged as a result. This has to be a safety issue as the rim of the wheel got extremely hot during use. Could this eventually lead to a tire blow out while driving" not sure!" searching online results in a lot of consumer complaints on blog/car sites. Same problem everytime: Rear driver's side caliper is stuck resulting in damage to rotors and pads.

- Warren, PA, USA

problem #22

Oct 092010

Santa Fe

  • 47,261 miles
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe. Rear brakes ( driver side ) caliper siege, causing premature wearout of brake pads on left side. Some rotor scoring. Rear brakes replaced and caliper lube and cleaned of rust. Cost $153.58.

- Glen Dale, WV, USA

problem #21

Sep 012010

Santa Fe

  • 38,000 miles
During normal driving the left rear disc brake began to grind metal on metal. I took the car to the dealer for repair. They found "the pads were seized in the caliper brackets due to rust". the rear pads and rotors were replaced at my expense. No indication was given that the defect that caused the pre-mature failure was fixed.

- Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #20

Sep 172008

Santa Fe

  • miles
Three major complaints. At 18,000 miles the top seal of the engine had to be replaced, repaired under warranty. At 21,000 mile the rear brake calipers had to be repaired for sticking and pads replaced at owners expense. Owner told by dealership the cause was "probably from salt used to treat road surfaces during snow removal". Hyundai refused warranty claim and would not admit improper materials used for braking system. At 27,000 miles, multiple visits to dealership for repair of inoperating turn signals. Parts replaced in attempt to repair include electrical box in steering column, all bulbs, flasher unit, grounding points for system. Problem recurring and dangerous.

- Granby, CT, USA

problem #19

Feb 252010

Santa Fe

  • 26,000 miles
R.R. brakes frozen by rust & corrosion at 26,00 miles.

- Bethel Park, PA, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?