Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
13 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,614 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Hyundai Santa Fe seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Hyundai Santa Fe Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #56

Apr 262016

Santa Fe

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Please note that my air bag sensor light for the passenger front seat is on and I have had the light reset more than several times. When driving the light will go on again and again. I have the dealer look at this problem twice and they have reset the light and that did not work. On 4.26.2016 the dealer took the seat out and cleaned all of the connections and sealed with connecter sealant. The dealer stated on the bill that if the light comes on again then they will have to order a front seat assembly. The light came back on 4.26.2016 three hours later. I drove to work 4.27.2016 and the light remained on. My concern is why the consumer has to bear the cost of this safety issue and that my family is in danger because of the safety issue in regards to the air bag issue I am having. I do not think it is fair to the consumer that they have to pay out of pocket to fix something that cannot be fixed and there is not any sort of solution to fix this issue the first time when I tried to get it fixed. The dealer told me that the sensor works fine and they seemed to be confused on how to address this issue the first or second time. There are a lot of forums out on the website like edmunds.com with Hyundai having the air bag sensor issue. Is this a ploy for Hyundai to force you to buy a new car that is 8 years old and only having 85,080 miles on the car. I am very concerned for the safety of my family and the time and money that I have put in to trying to make my 2007 Santa Fe safe. I hope that the government steps in to help product the consumers before passengers get severely injured or killed because of this safety issue. It appears that this issue from brand new cars and used cars.

- Milton, MA, USA

problem #55

Nov 092015

Santa Fe

  • miles
I own a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe. The air bag light, engine check light, the electric stability control (ESC) light, ABS and the traction control light illuminated steadily on the dash, when the vehicle is turned on. The gas gauge sometimes works even when the tank was full. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer who stated that the failures were not recall related. The manufacturer was notified of the failures but restated the position of the dealer, offering no help. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 130,000

- Pardeeville, WI, USA

problem #54

Aug 282015

Santa Fe

  • 131,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that the air bag, electronic stability control (ESC), and egr warning lights illuminated. The contact also stated that the fuel gauge indicated empty when the tank was full. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The vehicle was not diagnose or repaired. The failure mileage was 131,000.

- Conroe, TX, USA

problem #53

Apr 012015

Santa Fe

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 11V472000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 68,000.

- New Albany, OH, USA

problem #52

Jun 052015

Santa Fe

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai sante fe. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000.

- Riverside, RI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #51

Dec 032014

Santa Fe

  • 110,000 miles
I was stopped in traffic on a freeway when hit from behind. The driver claims he was driving at approximately 35 mph yet my airbags did not deploy. How is that possible and is it normal?

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #50

Apr 062015

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 118,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While our vehicle was making a slow turn, another vehicle traveling at approx. 50 mph, crashed into the passenger side, then our car was flipped and landed on the roof. None of the airbags deployed. All passengers were wearing seat belts. When the car flipped, the rear passenger seat belt released and became unsecured, tossing the passenger. Significant damage to the cabin cage and side door panels.....updated 04/23/15

- Engelwood, CO, USA

problem #49

Nov 242014

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Airbag light is always on, as well as my check engine light. All doors do not always lock on their own, pushing lock button on keychain twice does not sound the beep to ensure doors locked, car alarm goes off randomly, fuel gauge does not work. All of these have been recalled by Hyundai but for some reason, my 2007 with less than 90,000 miles is not covered.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #48

Oct 252014

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 1,170,001 miles
This vehicle was involved in a recall, Hyundai states there is nothing wrong with airbags, after successfully proving the passenger side airbags were faulty as defined by the BBB, I was offered $800 fort car that blue books around 10-12K. Since the law firm in charge of the class action only provided for themselves, there were no further steps I could take. October accident car was hit by another vehicle at a high rate of speed head on and the drivers side airbags did not deploy. There is something seriously strong with this car.

- Lake Ann, MI, USA

problem #47

Oct 022014

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 87,600 miles
Air bag light came on and will not go off. Also, yesterday my check engine light came on and the fuel gauge stopped reading my fuel level. I have 90,100 miles on the vehicle today. Since I purchased the vehicle, my headlights are very dim. I am not sure if this was ever a concern for other models.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #46

Sep 302014

Santa Fe

  • 113,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was recently repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 11V472000 (air bags). The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The technician diagnosed that the clock spring assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 113,000. Updated 12/30/14 updated 05/27/2015

- Rotterdam Junction, NY, USA

problem #45

Jul 072014

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
The vehicle suddenly loses all power and pressing the accelerator doesn't rev the engine. The "ESC off " & "check engine" light comes. This has happened while driving on the freeway. After stopping and switching off engine and restarting it is ok. The air bag "red light" is on.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #44

Jun 022008

Santa Fe

  • 15,300 miles
The airbag light has come on multiple times in my vehicle. The clockspring replacement recall was performed on my vehicle. The airbag indicator has continued to come on intermittently since then. Finally, about two months ago, the light came on and stayed on. I took the vehicle into the Hyundai dealership and they stated low voltage and reset the light. The light came back on immediately when I drove it off their lot. I took the vehicle back in and they stated it was because of the junction box and that I needed to spend $895 to replace it. I believe Hyundai should repair the airbag issue because of the failure of their airbag system throughout the entire time I have owned this vehicle. I will not buy a Hyundai again if this is not honored and I have purchased two brand new vehicles from them.

- Lynnwood, WA, USA

problem #43

Jul 122012

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 41,798 miles
Air bag light on dash would stay on, andwhen locking car with key fob, lights would flash when pressing key fob first time, but on second press horn would not beep, vehicle alarm would go off intermittently replaced sensor under seat and it fixed problem for awhile.6-20-2007, same exact problem again.after googling symptoms have found numerous complaints of almost the same problem or some variation there of!my question to the safety board is, why haven't you forced a recall on Hyundai on this issue"lives are being placed in jeopardy by your inaction.is someone on Hyundai payroll there, or what"if so they should have become a senator or congressman, thats where the big payoffs are.

- Conneaut, OH, USA

problem #42

May 142014

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 31,509 miles
5/14/14 31,509mi air bag light remained on after multiple ignition off-on cycles. Dealer followed directions in bul.07-090-003. Code B1332 was shown but "not definitive". code was erased and airbag light has remained off for 2 days. At the outset, dealer rep said there would be a 119$ charge for diagnostics (out of warranty). I objected strenuously because of the low mileage, airbag safety importance, and 2 previous unexplained airbag-related incidents (reported below). He also said that if the light came on again there would be a $900 cost for replacing the junction box (without mentioning erasing the code again as an option). Previous air bag issues: 4/22/13, 28,289mi, performed recall 105 update passenger airbag software; 3/26/12 25,606mi 103clockspringreplacement tsb#11-01-053 complete campaign does not apply(?) eventually the 119$ was waived after I strongly objected to any charges for safety related items, and particularly for those that have a demonstrated track record of problems. I strongly believe that Hyundai and any manufacturer should stand airbag safety as a separate non-warranty issue. On the 2007 Santa Fe, which has had numerous complaints re airbags, I would expect Hyundai to fix the problem once and for all and at no charge. As an electrical engineer, this sounds like a classic case of "buggy" software and/or hardware. They have simply dodged the issue and continue to do so, and their performance suggests they don't care for customers' safety or federal oversight of same.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #41

Jan 272014

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
Driver side air bag failed to deploy despite extensive damage to the front of the vehicle on the driver's side. The initial insurance company report puts visible damage at 65% of value and anticipates additional, unseen damage will push cost above 75% and result in the vehicle being totaled.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #40

Feb 232012

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 42,229 miles
On February 23rd of 2012 I received a clock spring replacement that was under campaign 103-clock spring replacement tsb# 11-01-052 for 2007-2008 Santa Fe models or 2007-2008 veracruz models. My Hyundai Santa Fe had 42,229 miles on it at this time. The campaign was performed replacing the clock spring with part # 93490-2B300 and paid for under warranty amounting in $0. however, on August 1st of 2013 the air bag light illuminated and the same replacement was performed on my vehicle. The vehicle now has 56,985 miles on it and was scanned for codes and according to paperwork, B1481 and B1332 were found, indicating the failure of the clock spring. The clock spring part # 93490-2B300 was therefore replaced again amounting to $282.92 for parts and labor. My own extended warranty company now had to pay for this part that in my eyes is a vehicle safety issue and should be proceeded with much concern. In one year a very important part continued to fail which, if not working properly at the time of an accident can cause extreme harm to the driver. This part shouldn't be failing in my eyes unless the air bag has been deployed. I don't see how this part is safe if it has failed a little over a year after being replaced due to a campaign that was issued by the Hyundai manufacturer. This is a part that should withstand the lifetime of the car!

- North Babylon , NY, USA

problem #39

May 012013

Santa Fe

  • 80,000 miles
My Santa Fe's airbag light came on. When I sent it to the dealers they said it was the "clock spring" that needs replacing. There has been a recall issued by Hyundai (NHTSA id 11V472000) for this exact reason in the United States. Problem is I live in South africa and our legal system is not as efficient as yours is so manufacturers get away with not issuing recalls that originate in the states. Do you have a part number for the coil spring that I can track from Hyundai? according to Hyundai South africa they cannot say if the defective parts that where put in usa vehicles are the same as the ones put into South african vehicles! I would like to do my own investigating to find out. Please help. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Glenside, NC, USA

problem #38

Nov 262012

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe. Consumer writes in regards of airbag recall. The consumer stated the air bag light illuminated. The dealer stated they rectified the recall issue. The air bag light is still on, the dealer states I will need a new seat to rectify the problem.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #37

May 092012

Santa Fe

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the air bag warning indicator continuously illuminated until the engine was turned off. The malfunction recurred the following day after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign id number was 11V472000 (air bags:frontal). The contact had not experienced a failure prior to the recall remedy repair. The vehicle was not repaired for the recent failure. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Lincoln, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?