Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,598 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Hyundai Santa Fe wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Hyundai Santa Fe Owner Comments

problem #9

Oct 232015

Santa Fe

  • 24,000 miles


Going on side street at 25mph when car suddenly lost control then hit a car tire on the right of the vehicle but then rolled over on its head. Side air bags deployed but not drive air bag. This car has to be unstable to hit another car on the side (see pics) and overturn. Besides, there are already recalls on some Santa Fe sport for cracked axles and bad tires......updated 12/03/15

- Taylorsville, UT, USA

problem #8

Oct 232015

Santa Fe

  • 11,045 miles
I was driving West on U.S. hwy 80 at about 30 mph, after pulling out of a parking lot about 1 block before I lost control of my 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe, at an intersection. It made a sharp right turn without my help at all. After hitting another vehicle and then jumping a large curb, I came to stop about 18" from a small tree. I was completely traumatized. The right front wheel had a blow out from the outside side wall of the tire. The mechanic said it looked slashed. The big question is, did the blow out occur at the time my vehicle made the sharp right turn at the intersection, or did it occur when it hit the curb? I don't know, but I feel something happened to cause that sharp right turn in the first place. I had the mechanic check out the right front wheel area (axle, etc). They said they couldn't find anything wrong with the vehicles parts, that wasn't caused by the accident. This makes me more convinced it has to be the tire. This is the second tire that has blown out on the outside wall of the tire since I purchased this vehicle in 2013. The other blow out was from a nail going through the outside wall. I only have 11,045 miles on this vehicle. Tires are a kumho, crugen, P235/55R19, 101H sl BSW oe (information copied from a discount tire receipt when the first blow out was replaced 5-22-15). I am afraid to get back in this vehicle because I don't know what caused complete loss of control. I will trade it in on a different vehicle. I'm afraid of Hyundai's and kumho tires!

- Longview, TX, USA

problem #7

Feb 022015

Santa Fe

  • 35,236 miles
While driving my AWD santa-fe through snow. Snow begins to build up on tires and rims as due all vehicles. While having parked my santa-fe for 30-45 minutes or continually driving through snow and returning to drive said santa-fe you start to feel vibrations and then vehicle starts violently shuttering the faster U go. The snow throws off the wheel balance and makes car shutter violently. The only fix from dealer is park car in warm garage while parking or scrap inner wheels before driving. You would think any cuv/SUV with AWD should not have this problem, really any vehicle should not have this problem. I guess I bought the AWD to stay on clean dry roads. Defeats the purpose of an AWD. Guess it will take someone crashing before looked into. My fix, buy can of never wet and spray rims and tires so no snow or ice sticks to wheels or rims or change rims more money$ but both work. Simple, complain and solution resolved

- Ravenna , OH, USA

problem #6

Sep 102013

Santa Fe 4-cyl

  • miles


We received a recall letter for the Santa Fe sports NHTSA campaign number 13V-355. We called our service office (universal Hyundai orlando). They were not very helpful. 1) the part is on back order and they have no idea when it will be available 2) when the part comes in it will take at least 4 hours to replace and we will have to leave the car with hem. 3) we live about 15 miles from the nearest Hyundai office. 4) they refused to offer a loanee car. They said we could rent a car from enterprise. If a car is recalled we would expect the part to be available and also we would not expect to be out of pocket because of the recall.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #5

Oct 072013

Santa Fe 4-cyl

  • 18,981 miles
I scheduled an appointment with fitzgerald lakeforest Hyundai in gaithersburg, md on 10/7/2013 for the campaign 112 recall, along with an oil change and tire rotation. When I picked the car up, I was informed that the part for the recall had to be special ordered and they would call when the part came in. A couple of weeks later, I received a call from [xxx] in the service department that the parts were in for the recall and for some switches they replaced in my console under a warranty repair. I took the car in again on 10/17/2013. The dealer talked me into a loaner car (as I was already late for work again for the second time in 2 weeks due to these appointments). They said the loaner car would be faster. The guy inside said I wouldn't have to put gas in the car, but the guy outside that went over the car said that I was responsible for filling the car back up. I ended up spending $8 in gas for the loaner. I received a call around noon on the 17th that my car was ready. I returned the loaner and picked up my car. I went outside and read my paperwork and realized they still did not do the safety recall. No one ever told me that the work wasn't done. I went back inside and all they could say is "sorry." The part is on a "nationwide back order" and they will call me when it comes in. I explained that I would have never brought it back in if they didn't have the part. I was advised for the second time that they did have the part. I still have not heard from the dealer. Hyundai and lakeforest fitzgerald Hyundai better hope that I am not involved in an accident due to this negligence. I've never had such a problem trying to get recall work performed. I've now missed hours from work and had extra fuel expenses for something completely out of my control. I still have not been contacted. I really don't trust lakeforest fitzgerald Hyundai anymore. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Gaithersburg, MD, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #4

Aug 072013

Santa Fe 4-cyl

  • miles
I bought 2013 Santa Fe sport 2.0T in September 2012 and after driving about 5K miles noticed that I constantly have to tilt steering wheel right to keep vehicle driving straight. I reported that to dealership, but they could not discover the root cause. They performed wheels alignment, but procedure did not help to fix this issue. If I do not correct steering wheel angle constantly, vehicle drifts left creating very unsafe condition. Driver's attention shall constantly be on correcting steering wheel angle.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #3

Oct 032013

Santa Fe

  • 2,100 miles


My wife purchases a new 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe 2T in June. She doesn't T drive much on the highway. I just came home from being away for a while. Drove the car on the highway. I thought something was wrong with it. So, I came to this website. Found out this is a problem. Control is horrible. Car drifts from side to side. You have to constantly move steering wheel to keep the car going straight. It's like in the old days when there is play in the steering wheel. Not safe. Car should not drift either way. Sometimes you over compensate to bring the car straight. I have never experienced this with any car in the last 20 yrs I have had.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #2

Jan 022013

Santa Fe 4-cyl

  • 1,018 miles
Below is the report sent to Hyundai on July 15, 2013 re: Hyundai Santa Fe SUV being probed for sudden power loss -- reported by associated press July 10, 2013. We purchased a Santa Fe sport at the end of November 2012. On January 2, 2013 with only 1018 miles on vehicle, our Santa Fe experienced essentially the same problem as described in the referenced article. A loud noise occurred (as if running over an obstacle), the engine lost all power and died. Upon restart, the vehicle would not move either forward or backward in reverse. After setting awhile, we were able to very slowly drive the car about 500 to 1000 feet to the dealership. Ruddell dealership was unable to repeat the experience. I now do not trust the vehicle and want it thoroughly inspected to determine if it too has a cracked axle as noted in the newspaper article. We have a road trip planned in early August and do not want to drive this car until it is thoroughly inspected. I took the car to ruddell auto on July 10 and showed them the associated press article but they did not offer to do anything about it. Ruddell said they would have to wait until Hyundai issued a campaign or recall but that is not satisfactory or acceptable. The car now has about 7400 miles on it. The dealership from which we bought the car is ruddell auto in port angeles, Washington 98362, usa. Please contact me and inform me what Hyundai intends to do regarding this serious issue. If I do not receive an acceptable reply from Hyundai, then I, too, will report it to NHTSA.

- Port Angeles, WA, USA

problem #1

Feb 282013

Santa Fe

  • 3,000 miles
I was making a right turn on red and my speed was approximately 5 miles an hour. There was a front curb, then a ramp for wheel chair access, and then a second curb which was further out. My right front wheel cleared the first curb, but caught the second curb. My car fell on its left side and slide a few yards. I was not injured, but the car was totaled.

- Conroe, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?