Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
13 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
18 / 1
Average Mileage:
69,060 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Hyundai Sonata seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 8 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #159

Apr 102012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles


While turning corners the engine shuts down and unable to turn steering wheel. Restart car and it works again. Has happened numerous times. Airbag light has been on continuously. Brake lights replaced freq. Cruise control no longer works. ESC light comes on intermittently. Had to use shift lock release numerous times for 2 days at a time. I am unable to put the car into reverse or park and I have to use the shift lock release to move the gears. Heat and air conditioner stop working a few seconds at a time. Engine light comes on for a few days at a time. If I hit the brakes hard the ESC light will come on and do not go off for days. Cigarette lighters replaced and one still will not work. Head lights dim intermittently. I have brought back to dealership many times and have spent hundreds of dollars and time off work and problems return quickly.

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #158

Dec 102012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
The airbag light remains on: Code B1706. The passenger seat belt buckle tensioner failed and now the airbags will not work. Dealer cost is $400 to diagnose and fix with no guarantee.

- Lynden, WA, USA

problem #157

Aug 032011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 61,604 miles
Passenger right side airbag warning light is intermittently on. Diagnosis was "passenger side pre tensioner" since this time the problem has not been solved. The seat itself was replaced, but the problem still remains in December 2012. Service says that the occupant weight less than 110 may cause the warning, but the December 2012 diagnosis used 3 different people (100,120, and 170 pounds) and found no problem. When the light is on, there is no assurance that the airbag will function in a crash.after the December 28 check the warning light has not come on but only one short drive from dealer.

- College Station , TX, USA

problem #156

Apr 022012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles


My airbag light has been on for approximately 8 months. I had it to the dealer and they said it was a loose connection. They "re-connected" and the light went off. Now it has been back on for about 2 months. Also I have a hard time connecting my driver seat belt, one time I had to drive without it at all since I could not get it to snap in at all. Also the passenger seat belt display light flashes even when there is no one sitting in the seat. I called and apparently I am not a part of the recall for the airbag. My sister has the same car, same year and has the same issues. I find this hard to believe that this is an isolated problem.

- Hinckley , OH, USA

problem #155

Jun 232008

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 32,765 miles
Upon starting the vehicle, the dashboard "check airbag" light was constantly illuminated. Took vehicle to the dealer (23jul08) where they diagnosed code B1701 and replaced the front drivers seat belt buckle assembly. At 43,340 miles (03feb09) I needed the passenger seat belt buckle assembly (B1706 code) replaced. At 57,106 miles (06nov09) I needed the drivers seat belt buckle replaced (code not documented by dealer). Now (19dec12) the "check airbag" light is lit again (103,121) and the codes B1701 ad B1706 both show up. Most likely replace both driver and passenger seat belt buckle assembly. An unbelievable number of seat belt buckle replacements in the life of this vehicle. Since seat belt issues like this illuminate the "check airbag" indicator light, I have to believe this is a safety factor related problem.

- Kenosha, WI, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #154

Dec 112012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
Air bag light on the dash board will not go out it illuminates and goes out and stays on now.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #153

May 142007

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles


My airbag light comes on, it was fixed at the dealership in May 2007, it repeatedly goes on and off. The dealership has informed me that it is no longer covered under warranty. The airbag light prevents me from obtaining an inspection sticker from the state without a large expense.

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #152

Dec 102011

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
I was involved in an accident and noticed that the air bags never deployed. I noticed that the passenger air bag sensor light kept flashing and now it never comes on. Now my air bag sensor light in the dash came on so I took it in to have it looked at and the mechanic told me that there was a recall by Hyundai to repair the issue. I called the dealer to see if they were aware of the recall and they told me that not all of the cars were recalled for this issue. So now my air bags have been deactivated because of the bad sensor and is not safe to be driving. I'm looking to get this issue covered by a Hyundai dealer.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #151

Nov 112012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 123,500 miles
On or around 11nov12, the air bag warning light for the passenger seat became illuminated on my 2006 Hyundai Sonata. My local mechanic says the code represents a problem with the air bag sensor in that seat, and a recall was issued in 2008 for this problem. However, Hyundai claims that my vehicle is not covered by the recall despite its falling within the model years. The cost to repair could be in excess of $1,000us, and Hyundai will not cover this under the aforementioned recall notice. From reading online, this appears to be a prevalent issue with this model, and I submit that a new recall ought to be considered or the existing one ought to be expanded.

- Grand Prairie, TX, USA

problem #150

Oct 252012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 97,305 miles
Driver's airbag light on dash stayed on, and the pass airbag light goes on and off at varying times (w/pass in seat). In 2010, in the summer (?) the dealer replaced a brake light switch under recall. The car most likely had under 80,000 miles on it. At that time I told the dealer's (van horn Hyundai of fond du lac, wi) service person about the pass airbag light and I was told there was no warranty on it. When the pass light would come on I would stop the car and turn the ignition key to the off position. After restarting the car the light would usually stay off.

- Berlin, WI, USA

problem #149

Mar 012010


  • miles


The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while traveling at an unknown speed the air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was able to be driven to the contact's destination. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was confirmed that the passenger side air bag sensor had failed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was unavailable.

- Hudson, OH, USA

problem #148

Sep 272012


  • 80,000 miles
The air bag light on dashboard stayed on while driving. The front passenger seat belt light blinked on and off. The only way to make it stop was to fasten the passenger side seat belt. I took the car to dealership and was told that the OCS (occupant classification system) sensor in front passenger seat had "burnt" itself out. Failure to replace sensor would cause airbags to fail. Did some investigating and found that a recall had been issued for this sensor back in 2008. The dealership informed me that my car was "not" part of the recall. My VIN number was not "on the list". same make, same model--not part of recall"??? the repair cost $1000 for a new seat. How many other owners of Hyundai vehicles are "not" part of recalls"

- Windsor Locks, CT, USA

problem #147

Sep 132012


  • 137,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated constantly (code B1706). The vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised the contact that there was a recall for the failure under NHTSA campaign id number: 08V161000 (air bags). The contact was advised however that her vehicle was not included in the recall campaign. The dealer advised that they could repair the failure at the contact's expense. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 137,000.

- Castro Valley, CA, USA

problem #146

Aug 152012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the passenger seat air bag sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 08V161000 (air bags) and was not repaired. The failure mileage was 68,000 and the current mileage was 68,300. Updated 10/11/12 updated 10/16/2012

- Eagan, MN, USA

problem #145

Aug 092008


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bags lights warning lights were constantly illuminated. The passenger seat cushion air bag sensor in was defective. The dealer was notified who advised the contact that the vehicle was not under warranty and offered no assistance. The manufacturer was notified of the failure who confirmed that the failure was a safety issue but offered no assistance. The contact stated that the vehicle was previously repaired for the same failure. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 121,242.

- Waterloo, IA, USA

problem #144

Aug 012012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Hyundai Sonata. Consumer writes in regards to recall vehicle airbag issues shortly after taking possession of the vehicle, the passenger air bag light illuminated even when a 160 pound person was sitting in the seat. The dealer was unable to duplicate the problem. The dealer informed the consumer the air bag would not be a problem unless the light was on and the vehicle was in an accident. The passenger air bag off light activated intermittently over the course of ownership, but not frequently enough to warrant the loss of the vehicle for days. The consumer returned to the dealer to have the vehicle inspected. The dealer stated there was nothing visibly wrong with air bag system and the code was cleared. The consumer returned to the dealer the next the day, where the dealer recommending replacing or repairing the seat at a cost of $1100. The consumer discovered a recall had been issued for the same problem. However, the consumer was informed his VIN and model year were not included in the recall. The consumer then contacted Hyundai customer service and was informed his model year was included and a case file would be opened. Recall # 08V161000

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #143

Jun 132008

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 24,400 miles
June 2008, seatbelt light & airbag light come on intermittently for passenger seat. Code B1706, passenger buckle pretensioner. Part was replaced by Hyundai, under warranty. August 2012, mileage 45,000 airbag warning light on intermittently, then permanently. Code B1706 passenger buckle pretensioner, again. Contacted both corporate Hyundai and dealer and told no warranty on this item and no known problems with it. Seems that repeated failures of a component of the SRS is a major safety issue. Vehicle has low mileage and passenger seat is rarely used, yet buckle pretensioner has failed twice!! I have noticed repeated entries regarding this problem on the 2006 Sonata. If you are experiencing this issue be sure to file a complaint here, even if you have resolved the problem.

- Saint James, NY, USA

problem #142

Aug 062012


  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel as the vehicle was started. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the dealer did not diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was contacted but provided no assistance. The failure mileage was 78,000 and the current mileage was 79,000.

- Aurora , CO, USA

problem #141

Oct 082010

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 78,870 miles
Air bag warning light-remains on. Separately the passenger seat belt sensor light flashes until the passenger seat belt is connected-cinched. My auto mechanic reports that Hyundai vehicles have a problem with the seat belt connection sensor. Another mechanic reports that a defective seat occupant sensor may be defective. Both mechanics advise that this should be a Hyundai safety recall. It is possible that I have had defective air bags since prior to 10/8/12 at which time I reported to Hyundai motors usa and a local dealer that the airbag warning light remains on. Hyundai motors usa at that time denied responsibility. Hyundai motors today 7/23/12 continued to deny responsibility. This now has come to special attention as the vehicle, registered in Vermont, due to the air bag warning light remaining on, will not pass new Vermont inspection regulations. A complaint today has also been filed with Hyundai motors usa; case #[xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Port Washington, NY, USA

problem #140

May 172012


  • 72,000 miles
My car started having problems in may that when I look them up, are listed as issues that have been recalled by Hyundai yet when I contacted Hyundai these were not open recalls on my vehicle. My ABS/ESC light comes on and off. If I turn my car off and re-start it then the light will be gone, only to come on again at some point when I'm driving. I just got new brakes in January and my brakes seem to be working fine. The only time I was concerned was during a road trip when the light was off, but came on when I slammed on my brakes on the highway. My air bag light came on around the same time the brake light started consistently coming on. This light does not go away. I have also been told that I have a back break light that is out yet when I took it to get a new bulb it was working just fine. Then the next day when backing up, I could see my car's reflection in a window and that light was out, indicating some sort of electrical short. To top it all off, my check engine light came on today and I will be taking my car in this afternoon to see what that is. My car is up to date on all maintenance. In the last 7 months I have had new brakes, new spark plugs, and a new battery. I'm not sure why these lights are on but it is very frustrating to see recalls for some of these issues, and they just aren't on my car specifically.

- Norcross, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?