Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
13 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
18 / 1
Average Mileage:
69,068 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Hyundai Sonata seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 9 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #146

Aug 152012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the passenger seat air bag sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 08V161000 (air bags) and was not repaired. The failure mileage was 68,000 and the current mileage was 68,300. Updated 10/11/12 updated 10/16/2012

- Eagan, MN, USA

problem #145

Aug 092008

Sonata

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bags lights warning lights were constantly illuminated. The passenger seat cushion air bag sensor in was defective. The dealer was notified who advised the contact that the vehicle was not under warranty and offered no assistance. The manufacturer was notified of the failure who confirmed that the failure was a safety issue but offered no assistance. The contact stated that the vehicle was previously repaired for the same failure. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 121,242.

- Waterloo, IA, USA

problem #144

Aug 012012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Hyundai Sonata. Consumer writes in regards to recall vehicle airbag issues shortly after taking possession of the vehicle, the passenger air bag light illuminated even when a 160 pound person was sitting in the seat. The dealer was unable to duplicate the problem. The dealer informed the consumer the air bag would not be a problem unless the light was on and the vehicle was in an accident. The passenger air bag off light activated intermittently over the course of ownership, but not frequently enough to warrant the loss of the vehicle for days. The consumer returned to the dealer to have the vehicle inspected. The dealer stated there was nothing visibly wrong with air bag system and the code was cleared. The consumer returned to the dealer the next the day, where the dealer recommending replacing or repairing the seat at a cost of $1100. The consumer discovered a recall had been issued for the same problem. However, the consumer was informed his VIN and model year were not included in the recall. The consumer then contacted Hyundai customer service and was informed his model year was included and a case file would be opened. Recall # 08V161000

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #143

Jun 132008

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 24,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

June 2008, seatbelt light & airbag light come on intermittently for passenger seat. Code B1706, passenger buckle pretensioner. Part was replaced by Hyundai, under warranty. August 2012, mileage 45,000 airbag warning light on intermittently, then permanently. Code B1706 passenger buckle pretensioner, again. Contacted both corporate Hyundai and dealer and told no warranty on this item and no known problems with it. Seems that repeated failures of a component of the SRS is a major safety issue. Vehicle has low mileage and passenger seat is rarely used, yet buckle pretensioner has failed twice!! I have noticed repeated entries regarding this problem on the 2006 Sonata. If you are experiencing this issue be sure to file a complaint here, even if you have resolved the problem.

- Saint James, NY, USA

problem #142

Aug 062012

Sonata

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel as the vehicle was started. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the dealer did not diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was contacted but provided no assistance. The failure mileage was 78,000 and the current mileage was 79,000.

- Aurora , CO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #141

Oct 082010

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 78,870 miles
Air bag warning light-remains on. Separately the passenger seat belt sensor light flashes until the passenger seat belt is connected-cinched. My auto mechanic reports that Hyundai vehicles have a problem with the seat belt connection sensor. Another mechanic reports that a defective seat occupant sensor may be defective. Both mechanics advise that this should be a Hyundai safety recall. It is possible that I have had defective air bags since prior to 10/8/12 at which time I reported to Hyundai motors usa and a local dealer that the airbag warning light remains on. Hyundai motors usa at that time denied responsibility. Hyundai motors today 7/23/12 continued to deny responsibility. This now has come to special attention as the vehicle, registered in Vermont, due to the air bag warning light remaining on, will not pass new Vermont inspection regulations. A complaint today has also been filed with Hyundai motors usa; case #[xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Port Washington, NY, USA

problem #140

May 172012

Sonata

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car started having problems in may that when I look them up, are listed as issues that have been recalled by Hyundai yet when I contacted Hyundai these were not open recalls on my vehicle. My ABS/ESC light comes on and off. If I turn my car off and re-start it then the light will be gone, only to come on again at some point when I'm driving. I just got new brakes in January and my brakes seem to be working fine. The only time I was concerned was during a road trip when the light was off, but came on when I slammed on my brakes on the highway. My air bag light came on around the same time the brake light started consistently coming on. This light does not go away. I have also been told that I have a back break light that is out yet when I took it to get a new bulb it was working just fine. Then the next day when backing up, I could see my car's reflection in a window and that light was out, indicating some sort of electrical short. To top it all off, my check engine light came on today and I will be taking my car in this afternoon to see what that is. My car is up to date on all maintenance. In the last 7 months I have had new brakes, new spark plugs, and a new battery. I'm not sure why these lights are on but it is very frustrating to see recalls for some of these issues, and they just aren't on my car specifically.

- Norcross, GA, USA

problem #139

Apr 022012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
Air bag light is on and so is the passenger seat belt light is on.

- Valley Stream , NY, USA

problem #138

Jun 012012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag sensor malfunctioned. The contact also stated that the defective air bag sensor could prevent the air bag from deploying in the event of a crash. Also, the passenger side seat light illuminated when a passenger had the seat belt buckled. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer for a diagnostic test. The dealer reset the codes to the air bag sensor, but that did not remedy the failure. The dealer stated that the air bag sensor needed to be replaced. The failure mileage was 61,000. Updated 08/27/12

- Iowa City, IA, USA

problem #137

Apr 022012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
While on highway, dash board air bag light illuminated in early April. Did not go out. Took it to dealer in early may, they gave me a code B1448. Said needed to have $2200 repair done. Found tech service bulletin on line that got the seat reprogrammed in mid-may at dealer cost. "fix" was to remove seat and send it back for reprogramming. Early June: Now, both dash air bag light and flashing passenger seat light are on when no one is in the passenger seat. Only way to get the flashing to stop is to hook the seat belt. Second visit to dealer documented that code is the same for the dash light. No explanation for passenger light. No path forward from Hyundai corporate, according to dealer. Now what?.

- Los Alamos, NM, USA

problem #136

Jun 122012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 67,817 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I just had to get the driver side seat belt buckle replaced because the check air bag light was on. I've seen many other reports similar to the one I'm reporting here. A year and a half ago I had to get the passenger seat belt buckle replaced for the same issue. I was told that without getting these replaced when I did the air bag would not deploy, which is a huge safety issue. Searching NHTSA found quite a few similar reports, and searching the internet found a ton more. This appears to be a defect impacting the safety of at least this car's make and model as the air bags would not deploy, and potentially other makes or models (I only checked my own). I urge the NHTSA to investigate the issue due to the frequency of complaints and the impact to the passengers' safety.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #135

May 052012

Sonata

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the air bag indicator illuminated and remained illuminated throughout the duration of the vehicle being operated. The manufacturer was notified and stated they were not obligated to repair the vehicle and referred him to the dealer with instructions to ask for a discount on repairs. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 65,000 and the current mileage was 66,000.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #134

May 192012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Airbag light on dashboard was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a local hyundal dealer shop. The technician performed diagnostics and found that occupant classification system (OCS) in passenger seat was defected. Technician indicated that this can be fixed by replacing a whole passenger seat, which will cost about $1100. I don't see why I should have to pay for something that was not due to wear. 85% of the time, passenger seat is not in use. I find it curious that there are so many complaints about this exact problem, on this model, and that the failure has occurred for many at between 50K and 75K miles. Please investigate!

- Amherst, NH, USA

problem #133

Apr 022012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Airbag light on dashboard was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a local Hyundai dealer shop. The technician performed diagnostics and found that occupant classification system (OCS) in passenger seat was defected, which resulted in failure of all airbags system in the car. Technician indicated that this can be fixed by replacing a whole passenger seat, which will cost about $1065.07 + tax. Previously, a recall was issued for the problem of OCS (recall number 08V161000). There are so many same complaints made here. There should be urgent investigation on this issue because this is safety issue and this problem is not caused by owner/driver. Hyundai motor company in us should be responsible for fixing this safety issue (it's air bags!!! not some exterior or interior issue). This hasn't been repaired yet.

- Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #132

May 072012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 77,648 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA recall campaign id number: 08V161000 (air bags) however, the contact continued to have issues with the air bag warning sensor. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that the seat would be replaced under the recall. The contact was concerned because the failure was still present and the manufacturer would not repair the vehicle. The failure mileage was 77,648 and the current mileage was 77,708. Updated 06/29/12 the consumer stated the vehicle was fixed on May 31, 2012. Updated 07/09/12

- Pittsfield, MA, USA

problem #131

Mar 102012

Sonata

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the warning lamp was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop, who diagnosed that the passenger seat air bag sensor was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 56,000.

- Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA

problem #130

Apr 042012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
Brought my vehicle to dealer due to 'air bag' warning light remaining on continuously. Dealer states that it is the passenger seat belt tensioner that needs to be replaced for approximately $350+. they did not have the part in stock. Came home and googled problem and found that this is a very common safety issue with this vehicle. I do not see any recall listed for this issue yet. It is a safety issue that is discovered quite often with this year, make, model car in that with this problem the air bags will not deploy. Is there any research going on now related to this problem and will a recall be issued in the near future?

- Holbrook, NY, USA

problem #129

May 102011

Sonata

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The contact later discovered NHTSA campaign id number: 08V161000 (air bags) and the vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs. The dealer advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The manufacturer was then contacted who confirmed that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 58,000 and the current mileage was 71,000.

- Vincennes , IN, USA

problem #128

Mar 092011

Sonata

  • 78,920 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 55 mph, the contact noticed the air bag warning indicator was illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the front passenger detection system would need to be replaced. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 08V161000 (air bags) however, the VIN was illegible under the recall repair. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 78,920.

- Beavercreek, OH, USA

problem #127

Apr 022012

Sonata

  • miles
Hyundai Sonata 2006 about 89K miles that failed mass state inspection because airbag warning light on dash board was illuminated. The vehicle not in any accidents. Brought car to dealer for diagnostics and after approximately $100 fee was told the seatbelts needed to be replaced at $700 total and sensor pad on passenger front seat needed to be replaced for $1000. I inquired if known issue for this vehicle and was told no and these things happen. I am quite leery of making these types of replacements when dealer cannot tell me why it happened and chance it will just reoccur. I have noticed same complaints filed for this model and year and this mileage. I bought preowned after 1 owner when car less than a year old and have never been in any collisions with this vehicle. Pretty big replacement parts that I would never think to research prior to purchasing a vehicle.

- Walpole, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?