Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,348 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Hyundai Sonata seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 4 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #90

Aug 102011

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles


I had not had very many riders in the front passenger seat of my 2007 Hyundai Sonata until I went to upstate NY for a family reunion. During my 2 week stay in NY I had passengers riding in the front seat on numerous occasions. When I was returning home to ct I noticed that my red "air bag" light was on. From that point it has been on continuously. I called lia Hyundai in hartford, ct and they said they would have to do a diagnostic test to determine the cause and since my vehicle was not under warranty, I would have to pay for the test and any repairs. I opted to not have the test and repairs done. In 2013 I received a notice from Hyundai about a recall involving the front passenger seat and air bag deployment and warning light. I had moved to fl in April of 2013 and after I had settled in, I called cocoa Hyundai in cocoa, fl. The service department told me that if my air bag light was on continuously, any repairs would be covered under the recall. On 7-25-13 I brought my car to cocoa Hyundai to do a diagnostic test. After a wait of around 2 hours, the service manager told me that the cause of the air bag light staying on continuously was a sensor in the front passenger seat's seat belt buckle. He said this repair was not covered under the recall and it would cost me $481 to repair. I opted not to have the repair done because the quote to repair a seat belt buckle ($481) was outrageously high. I have since been notified by Hyundai that cocoa Hyundai did not follow the protocol for this air bag/passenger seat recall which required the dealer to remove the seat, have it sent out for testing and provide the owner with a loaner car. I am on a 4 month waiting list to have the proper test at cocoa Hyundai.

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #89

May 172014


  • 182,000 miles
On May 17th, 2014 I was in an accident on interstate 95 in broward county, fl. A drunk driver hit me on the left side of my trunk then hit the cement median then came back and hit me in the middle of my driver side and back driver side door, then hit the median again came back towards my car and flipped and hit the front left side of my vehicle. So basically the whole left driver side of my car is smashed in. I was wearing my seat belt when this accident did occur. What my concern is, I did some research and it states the notable features included on this vehicle is six airbags standard. Not one airbag deployed and if I wasn't wearing my seat belt I would have been through the front windshield and probably lost my life. My entire left side of my body is damaged and the more severe injury is to my left leg and foot. With the exception of my left big toe, all other four toes have no feeling in them and my foot is deformed. I do plan on taking this issue to my attorney that is handling the accident case for me and hopefully Hyundai has a very clear explanation for why not one of the 6 airbags deployed.

- Lauderhill, FL, USA

problem #88

Mar 082010

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
The car started with various electrical problems so I took it into the dealership to be repaired. After 3 fuse boxes it was fixed but they blew the windshield washer motor. Due to a move I wasn't able to have it repaired at that time. The brake lights first the drivers side now the passenger side are scorched and brake lights bulbs last only about 6 months. These were replaced due to a recall but have again scorched since. Now the driver side air bag light is on in the dash. No results yet for repair since my appointment isn't until Monday.

- Rancho Cordova, CA, USA

problem #87

Mar 252014


  • 125,690 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the seat belt buckle needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 125,690.

- Kent, WA, USA

problem #86

Sep 302013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
I have been having ongoing problems with the front passenger seat belt, since I first noticed that the air bag light was on constantly. This started in Sept. 2013, when the mileage was 82000. The scan test found code B1706 (buckle assembly open short). I went to the dealer (autonation Hyundai mall of Georgia) and I was told the buckle had to be replaced (aprox $280), and it was not covered under the warranty. I told the service rep. That I couldn't afford the repairs at that time, so refused to have the buckle replaced. I don't see what replacing the buckles would do, if there is an open short that is causing them to shorten out. Hyundai currently has a recall for airbag light (issue with the passenger air bag being de-activated). I took my car in to the dealership for the recall today, and they are going to ship the front passenger cushion seat to California to fixed the problem for free. However the issue with the front passenger seat buckle assembly is still not being covered. After reading all the complaints from owners of the 2007 Hyundai Sonata, for the same issue, how can there not be safety recall regarding this issue" there is no guarantee the airbags will deploy in an accident while this problem exists. Does someone have to be seriously injured or killed before action is taken" many thanks for your help!

- Buford, GA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #85

Mar 062012


  • miles
1. air bag is on constantly. Have had it fixed by dealer but to no avail; it's not off for very long. Have had this problem for over 12 months. 2. sun visor on both driver and passenger side are broken, won't stay up. I am using make shift alternative to support them. It creates a safety hazard when the visor unexpectedly drop when driving. Have spoken with other Hyundai owners with the same concern.

- Johnson City, TN, USA

problem #84

Sep 262007

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 4,332 miles


The airbag light stays on constantly. It has been supposedly fixed several times by the dealer. After its fixed, its off for a while, and then goes on again. Soon after I bought the car, I called the dealer and spoke to a salesman who told me it was nothing to worry about. I have since learned it is something to worry about. I contacted Hyundai to ask if they would fix it again without charge. They refused because the airbag light is not under warranty. This is a safety issue and Hyundai should be required to fix this problem, free of charge, every and any time because something is obviously wrong with their cars.

- Manchester, NJ, USA

problem #83

Nov 202010

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 34,089 miles
I have been having ongoing problems with the front driver and passenger seat belts, since I first noticed that the air bag light was on constantly. This first happened in 2010, when the mileage was 34089, and then again in 2011, when the mileage was 40356. The cause for this that was listed on the repair bill was, scan test found code B1701, buckle assembly open short. I was at the dealer for the same problem on 11/11/13, when my car's mileage was 57912. At that time, I was told both buckles had to be replaced. I was told this was not covered under the warranty. I argued that my car had less than 60,000 miles and should still be under warranty. I was told it was not because it was purchased in Nov. 2006. When I asked why this is constantly happening, I was told by the advisor, "it happens." (?) what he should have told me, was to leave the car with them to diagnose the problem further. I told the advisor I couldn't afford the repairs at that time, so refused to have the buckles replaced. I don't see what replacing the buckles would do, if there is an open short that is causing them to shorten out. After reading all the complaints from owners of the 2007 Hyundai Sonata, for the same issue, how can there not be safety recall regarding this issue" there is no guarantee the airbags will deploy in an accident while this problem exists. Does someone have to be seriously injured or killed before action is taken".... updated 08/05/14 updated 08/18/2014...updated01/07/15 the consumer was involved in an accident. She stated the driver's air bag did not warrant deployment. However. The air bag located by her head should have deployed. Updated 01/13/15

- West Babylon, NY, USA

problem #82

Jan 212012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 97,624 miles
I noticed the air bag warning light was constantly on several weeks prior to servicing. 1/21/12 (97,624 mileage), code causing air bag light was cleared (code not indicated to owner). On 8/18/12 (111,685 mileage) the air bag warning light was constant again. Dealer reset the light. On 1/17/14 (141,400 mileage approximate) vehicle was brought in for OCS and brake light recall. Again air bag light was on code B1706 (passenger pretensioner) was scanned. Dealer said air bag light issue is not covered under any recall and repair of this essential safety item would be the responsibility of the owner. I believe any safety related issue with the voluminous amount of complaints and issue as this one should be subject to a safety recall.

- San Dimas, CA, USA

problem #81

Dec 252013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Hyundai had recall for airbag light. I took it in for the recall November 2013 and they supposedly fixed the problem. Less than a month later-December 25, 2013 my air bag light went back on. Took it back to dealer who said it's not the airbag problem, but seat belt-code B1706 for passenger seat belt-said the seatbelt needed to be replaced. Asked if this was covered as part of their recall as it seems to be safety issue? I was told no-I was responsible to replace it-approximately $250. Airbag light is now off-seems like it is working, but tech said they did not guarantee the airbag would deploy if in an accident! I told him it should be a safety issue then and they should be responsible for this. He said no--my problem. I have grandchildren who ride in my car sometimes and I have no choice but to fix it, but again-it seems to be related to the air bag recall since it triggers that light and they will not guarantee the airbag will deploy if in an accident--I feel Hyundai should be responsible for this. If people do not fix this and have an accident, there could be a loss of lives due to this problem. I feel Hyundai should be responsible-seems to be a large defect from what I see on line-lots of problems with airbags/seat belts.

- Mattydale, NY, USA

problem #80

Sep 182013


  • 100,000 miles


I received a letter from Hyundai that my car was under recall (issue with the passenger air bag being de-activated) & urged me to visit the dealer if OCS light was on. Hence I took it to the dealership based on this safety recall notice, there I was informed that they will perform the inspection and conditionally charge me $110 for it which I agreed and later my only options to get the car back after the inspection were either pay $110 inspection fee or the $350 to fix the issue which they deemed was not related to the recall and hence not covered. If Hyundai has a manufacturing defect should it not be their responsibility to inspect it to see if the recall is applicable instead of charging the customer for it? secondly, having critical safety features (that disables the entire OCS!) fail on the car just after warranty is very unfortunate, in this case the seat buckle pre-tensioner failed and disabled the OCS system (although I believe the seat belt and airbag would have worked fine with slightly less function if pretensioner added feature is not available). Please advise what I need to do since Hyundai refused to refund my payment. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Ventura, CA, USA

problem #79

Jul 252013


  • 76,533 miles
Passenger front seat air bag buckle/sensor assembly has failed. After seeing so many similar reports, I want to make aware that I have similar issues. I am also wondering if this has anything to do with the recall on the OCS? I have yet to have the recall fixed, because they have refused to do so, until I received another letter and called Hyundai. Who then called the dealer. Am still waiting for the results.

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #78

Dec 072010


  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that she attempted to park when the vehicle slid across an ice patch and crashed into a pole. The contact stated that upon impact, the air bag warning light illuminated but the air bags failed to deploy. There were no injuries. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection however, they could not determine the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Lowell, MA, USA

problem #77

Nov 222013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 132,800 miles
The red air bag light is on steady since about 22 November and does not go out. We had this same issue in May 2010 and it was the driver side seat belt buckle sensor costing about $350. Looking at this issue on the internet it appears this is a known and very common malfunction. As such it should be something the company pays or reimburses consumers for in a recall for these issues.

- Stoughton, WI, USA

problem #76

Nov 272013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 83,340 miles
Red "air bag" instrument panel light came on and has not gone off in 5 days. I am currently planning to make an appointment with a Hyundai dealer to address another air bag issue with the passenger air bag system under a recall initially released on 4/2008, but which I have only recently received notice in the past few months. This recall does not address the current problem as I understand it from various consumer forums. However there are a substantial number of people complaining about this similar issue that appears to be all part of a defective OCS system overall. Since the red lamp indicates that the air bag system is now deactivated, this raises a more serious issue than the passenger sensor issue, since now the driver as well is unprotected.

- Massapequa Park, NY, USA

problem #75

Oct 102012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 38,500 miles
Air bag light would come on for a few days then go off. Now it is continuously on. Dealer said that both seat belt buckles need to be replaced. I though any seatbelt issues had no warranty end date. They want $550 to repair. I hope my air bags work if/when needed. There seem to be many such complaints. Seems this should be a recall issue.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #74

Sep 022013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The air bag warning light comes on intermittently also the passenger air bag off light comes on when an adult is seated in the passenger seat, also the fasten seat belt light comes on when no one is sitting in the passenger seat.

- Cedar Bluff, AL, USA

problem #73

Oct 012012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
The air bag light on the dash above the steering wheel was coming on and off for several months and is now permanently on. In May 2013 I called the Hyundai assistance center and was told there was a recall and to schedule repair with the dealer. When I called the dealer, they informed me that there is no air bag recall for my vehicle. After another 30 minutes on the phone and on hold with the assistance center, I was informed that there was indeed a recall but that it applied to the light above the radio indicating that there is an issue with the passenger seat air bag and the detection of a small child. After a $60 diagnostic test, I've now learned that my air bag light is due to some sort of seat belt issue, which will have to be repaired at my expense. This appears to be a common issue and should be addressed by Hyundai.

- South Haven, MI, USA

problem #72

Jun 152013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 67,500 miles
Airbag warning lamp on the dash constantly lit after engine start. Failure of airbag system.

- Clarksville, MD, USA

problem #71

Aug 012013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
The air bag warning light stays on constantly. The dealership said the sensor was triggered due to a faulty passenger seat belt assembly and needed to be replaced ($385). This was not covered by our extended 100,000 mile bumper to bumper warranty. Must have been front bumper to front bumper coverage. Fortunately, we did not have to wait for an accident to see if the air bags would deploy or not. Regardless, the company has failed to stand by its safety features.. even with repeated complaints, Hyundai has still failed to recall the vehicles for this issue.

- Sunbury, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?