Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,348 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Hyundai Sonata seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 5 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #70

Jul 202013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the passenger's side air bag sensor was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 57,000 and the current mileage was 58,000.....updated 10-21-13

- Somerset, NJ, USA

problem #69

Jul 142013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • miles
Vehicle struck and totaled yet no air bags went off.

- Long Beach, NY, USA

problem #68

Jun 212013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 84,353 miles
From police report: The collision occurred as parties were traveling northbound on I-15 North of via rancho parkway in the #1 lane. P-1 (driver) was driving vehicle 1 (Mitsubishi) and traveling at approximately 65-70 mph behind vehicle 2 (Hyundai). P-2 (driver) was driving vehicle 2 (Hyundai) and was stopped behind vehicle 3 (Toyota). P-3 (driver) was driving vehicle 3 (Toyota) and traveling at approximately 5 mph. This collision occurred when due to vehicle 1's unsafe speed; P-1 (driver) allowed the front of vehicle 1 to strike the rear of vehicle 2. vehicle 2 was pushed into the rear of vehicle 3. vehicle 2 Hyundai per insurance claim is totaled. Airbags did not deploy.

- San Diego , CA, USA

problem #67

Apr 162013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 134,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who advised the contact that the passenger air bag occupant sensor malfunctioned and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance because the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 08V161000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 134,000 and the current mileage was 135,000.

- Erial, NJ, USA

problem #66

May 082013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 117,000 miles
There is an airbag light on in my 2007 Hyundai Sonata. I received a pamphlet regarding a class action lawsuit against Hyundai that my vehicle qualified for a "free" recalibration to "reset" the airbag light. I called my local dealer, got the car in. They said that the airbag light was on due to a faulty seatbelt, and they would have to remove the entire seat, send it to California and it would cost me $300. I said that I would need to speak to my spouse, and they charged me $70 for the visit for them to "diagnose" the problem.....I think this is absolutely ridiculous. I also see where there are several complaints online of the very same issue my car is having. Also....I intend to fill out another complaint form for a 2006 Hyundai Sonata we own, that is having the exact same issue. Something needs to be done about this, and not a the customer's expense either. Obviously it is an issue Hyundai should be taking care of.

- Saint Marys, OH, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #65

May 042013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the driver's side air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The dealer stated that the buckle for the seat belt tensioner caused the failure, which needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileages were 64,000.

- Saint Cloud, MN, USA

problem #64

Apr 202013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while parked, he noticed that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated that the front passenger buckle resistor would have to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 64,000.

- St Cloud, MN, USA

problem #63

Dec 032012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
My air bag light stays on all the time. Whenever I am driving alone, my passenger seatbelt light flashes not stop. This two things been going on for a while now. Also my lights stay on even after I switch my lights off, I have to turn them on and turn them back off until they shut off. A mechanic told me its the brake light switch causing the problem. I have had technicians look at these issues, and it will cost hundreds to repair. I believe Hyundai is missing out the point that the 2007 Sonata models have an air bag issue too.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #62

Mar 012013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
Air bag warning light comes on, stays on while driving. This happens intermittently. In the following weeks sometimes light comes on and stays on during a trip, on another day it stays off. Happens when nobody in front passenger seat, and also when an adult sits in passenger seat. Dealer inspected car on 3/25/13 and said that the control unit needs replacing at a cost of about $270. Thinks that when light is on, air bags may or may not deploy. Claims there has been no recall, but it seems to me I have seen a recall notice for that problem.

- Plymouth, MA, USA

problem #61

Mar 012008


  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 08V161000 (air bags) and attempted to have the vehicle repaired but was informed by the dealer that no such recall existed. The contact was denied repairs to the vehicle per the recall. The manufacturer was contacted and confirmed that the vehicle was included in and could be repaired under the recall campaign. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Bedford, MA, USA

problem #60

Mar 312008

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles


At about 5000 miles the drivers side air bag light came on. My wife took it to the dealership and was told that she would be responsible for the repair. ($1200).

- Bastrop, TX, USA

problem #59

Nov 022012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 62,500 miles
The air bag light on my car started to come on all the time. Also when no one was in the passenger seat, the seat belt light would continue to flash. Research on this problem brought me to this recall: NHTSA campaign number: 08V161000. I contacted Hyundai motor America and they said it was probably in the recall. As they directed, I took it to the dealer and they ran my VIN to see if it was in the recall set but it was not. They also checked the air bag system and confirmed it was the issue dealt with on the recall but they would not cover the cost of the repair ($1,200) because it was not recalled. About that time I received a class action lawsuit dealing with calibrating the air bag system. This lawsuit only covers calibration and not repair which my car needs. As I communicated my concerns to Hyundai motor America, they basically told me that because the car was out of warranty and because the class action lawsuit would only deal with calibration, it was my cost to repair. To me this issue is clearly in the area of defect in material from the manufacturer and not caused by my actions or neglect. And since hma repaired the recall vehicles with the same problem regardless of the warranty of the car, and mine was outside the VIN set, I request that the recall be examined and expanded to include my vehicle and any others that have the very same issue but fell outside the scope of the original set. I find it hard to believe that hma would turn it's back on a clear safety issue that has been described and repaired in so many other similar cars, just because it falls outside of a technical scope of VIN numbers.

- Sanford, FL, USA

problem #58

Oct 162012


  • 90,000 miles
We took the car in for a recall on the OCS and the dealer found two fault codes B1701 and B1706 indicating that both passenger and drivers side belt pretensioners resistance is too high.I see there are many 2006 and 2007 Sonatas with a similar issue. Dealer wants a total of $871.74. With the number of repeated complaints I think there should be a safety recall.

- Great Mills, MD, USA

problem #57

Oct 112007

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
We bought this vehicle brand new in 2007. With about 5000 miles the air bag light came on. We took it to the dealer and they could not find a problem and turned the light off. It came back on I think around 11,000 miles. Same thing happened, the dealer said they could not find the problem & turned the light off. In October 2010 we took it in again with the air bag light on at 47,458 miles. The dealer repaired a passenger seat belt. In May 2011 with 58,640 miles the air bag light comes on again. This time they repair passenger seat cushion. The air bag light came on again in 2012 but we've been driving it this way for a while. The airbag light has been on more often than off it seems, and it always is some minor issue or can't be found. In Feb 2013 with 87,725 miles I took the car to the dealer and now they say it is a driver's seat belt issue and is not covered under warranty. Clearly Hyundai is having major issues with the seat belts and the OCS system. Something should be done about this.

- Matthews , NC, USA

problem #56

Jan 212013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
I was driving home after work going South on I-65 and at 4:00 pm, approximately one quarter mile South of exit 179 prattville Alabama a deer jumped out of the ditch and I hit the deer going at 70 mph.I was in the right hand lane. The seat belt did not keep me from hitting the steering wheel and the air bag did not deploy fortunantly I only sustained bruising and pain that kept me out of work for 2 days.the car was atotal loss and I just finished paying for it on 1/17/2013.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #55

Nov 022011

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 59,353 miles
Driver side air bag failed when the vehicle was under manufacturer's warranty that was 5 years and 60,000. It was fixed by dealer and now within a year the air bag light came on again in November 2012. I contacted Hyundai to cover it under warranty as it is re-occurring problem. They refused to cover it under warranty. I think the bags should never fail at this age of the vehicle. Please help me to get this fixed with no charge to me. Thanks.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #54

Nov 052012


  • 30,352 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 08V161000 (air bags) however, the air bag warning light continued to illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was awaiting the results of extensive testing. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 30,352.

- East Harford , CT, USA

problem #53

Oct 052012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 158,000 miles
The airbag light came on in my 2007 Sonata. Taking it to the dealer, they replaced the safety belt and then they said it was the cushion switch on the passenger's side. Looking on the internet, there are quite a few claims of exactly the same thing that is wrong with my car. If this is true, how come, there is no recall to fix it. This item is for safety!!!!

- Soledad, CA, USA

problem #52

Oct 022012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
My son took my car to the Hyundai dealer in high point, nc, when the air bag flashed off/on when his 5' 3", 105 lb. Girlfriend sat in the passenger seat. The service mgr, [xxx] informed my son that a mat under the passenger was defective & ad to be replaced at my cost to correct the airbag safety issue. I contacted Hyundai usa., case no. [xxx] was assigned. [xxx] is the case worker. [xxx] stated that my car was not subject recall no. 08V161000, manufacturing date start/end date:from 03/01/2005 to 01/11/2008; my car was manufactured in May 2006. Tsb 08-01-006 also indicates that my car should be remedied under the recall. [xxx]stated that I had to speak with [xxx] at the dealer. I called the auto dealer on October 12 and 15, left a voice message for [xxx]to call me. He has yet to return my call. There are hundreds of similar voq's for this safety defect issue. Please contact the dealer and Hyundai usa so that my car can be remedied under this recall & tsb. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hendersonville, TN, USA

problem #51

Jul 312012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
2007 Hyundai Sonata air bag malfunction light illuminated, and has remained illuminated; took the vehicle to Hyundai dealer for service according to Hyundai technical service bulletin 08-01-006-1 for Hyundai recall campaign 083, "2006 - 2008 Sonata - occupant classification system (OCS) reprogramming". dealer, and then Hyundai regional service, refused to service the vehicle under their recall campaign despite repeated phone calls and escalation.

- Fort Collins, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?