Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,937 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Hyundai Sonata seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 6 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #56

Jan 212013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving home after work going South on I-65 and at 4:00 pm, approximately one quarter mile South of exit 179 prattville Alabama a deer jumped out of the ditch and I hit the deer going at 70 mph.I was in the right hand lane. The seat belt did not keep me from hitting the steering wheel and the air bag did not deploy fortunantly I only sustained bruising and pain that kept me out of work for 2 days.the car was atotal loss and I just finished paying for it on 1/17/2013.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #55

Nov 022011

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 59,353 miles
Driver side air bag failed when the vehicle was under manufacturer's warranty that was 5 years and 60,000. It was fixed by dealer and now within a year the air bag light came on again in November 2012. I contacted Hyundai to cover it under warranty as it is re-occurring problem. They refused to cover it under warranty. I think the bags should never fail at this age of the vehicle. Please help me to get this fixed with no charge to me. Thanks.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #54

Nov 052012

Sonata

  • 30,352 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 08V161000 (air bags) however, the air bag warning light continued to illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was awaiting the results of extensive testing. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 30,352.

- East Harford , CT, USA

problem #53

Oct 052012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 158,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The airbag light came on in my 2007 Sonata. Taking it to the dealer, they replaced the safety belt and then they said it was the cushion switch on the passenger's side. Looking on the internet, there are quite a few claims of exactly the same thing that is wrong with my car. If this is true, how come, there is no recall to fix it. This item is for safety!!!!

- Soledad, CA, USA

problem #52

Oct 022012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
My son took my car to the Hyundai dealer in high point, nc, when the air bag flashed off/on when his 5' 3", 105 lb. Girlfriend sat in the passenger seat. The service mgr, [xxx] informed my son that a mat under the passenger was defective & ad to be replaced at my cost to correct the airbag safety issue. I contacted Hyundai usa., case no. [xxx] was assigned. [xxx] is the case worker. [xxx] stated that my car was not subject recall no. 08V161000, manufacturing date start/end date:from 03/01/2005 to 01/11/2008; my car was manufactured in May 2006. Tsb 08-01-006 also indicates that my car should be remedied under the recall. [xxx]stated that I had to speak with [xxx] at the dealer. I called the auto dealer on October 12 and 15, left a voice message for [xxx]to call me. He has yet to return my call. There are hundreds of similar voq's for this safety defect issue. Please contact the dealer and Hyundai usa so that my car can be remedied under this recall & tsb. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hendersonville, TN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #51

Jul 312012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
2007 Hyundai Sonata air bag malfunction light illuminated, and has remained illuminated; took the vehicle to Hyundai dealer for service according to Hyundai technical service bulletin 08-01-006-1 for Hyundai recall campaign 083, "2006 - 2008 Sonata - occupant classification system (OCS) reprogramming". dealer, and then Hyundai regional service, refused to service the vehicle under their recall campaign despite repeated phone calls and escalation.

- Fort Collins, CO, USA

problem #50

Jun 182012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 59,989 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My air bag warining light came on and stays on. This has previously been recalled for my year make and model but not my VIN #!

- Kutztown, PA, USA

problem #49

Apr 252012

Sonata

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated upon starting the vehicle. An authorized dealer and the manufacturer were notified and stated that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 08V161000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Clinton, MS, USA

problem #48

Jan 092008

Sonata 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,942 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated, indicating a defect in the air bag. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer, where the seat cushions and air bag harness were replaced. The failure continued. The vehicle was taken to the dealer approximately nine times. The contact expressed concerns over being involved in a crash in which the air bags did not deploy. The failure mileage was 8,942. Updated 04/25/12 updated 6/15/2012

- Poplar Bluff, MO, USA

problem #47

Mar 232012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 50,150 miles
Air bag warning light went on and stayed on after horn was honked. Air bag warning light is still on. How is it that this is not a long-term warranty item similar to seat belts? after a simple web search, it appears these senor type systems do not last for the short warranty period allowed. I don't have $300 to fix this.

- Miami Springs, FL, USA

problem #46

Feb 062012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 117,373 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Airbag light can after 20 minutes of driving. Found out that the seat buckle on the right passenger side of the car was the problem. As a rule that seat is empty except for my briefcase. Don't understand why the seat buckle was the cause of the problem. The car has never been involved in an accident. In 2009 the car was recall for problem with the airbag sensor for that seat.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #45

Dec 202011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
Airbag light stays on.

- Leonia, NJ, USA

problem #44

Apr 112011

Sonata

  • 55,000 miles
The air bag light on the driver's console is continuing to stay on. Squirming on the driver's seat, on occasion, would cause the light to turn off. The light seem to stay on without an obvious reason.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #43

Sep 102008

Sonata

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 55 mph, the air bag warning indicator illuminated and remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was previously repaired in October of 2008 under NHTSA campaign id number: 08V161000 (air bags). The identical failure recurred six months after the recall repair was performed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer twelve times for the similar defect and repaired each time. The vehicle was not repaired for the most recent air bag malfunction. The manufacturer was notified of the recurring failure. The approximate failure mileage was 17,000.

- Reidsville, NC, USA

problem #42

Sep 032011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,356 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact noticed that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The dealer informed the contact that the OCS sensor in the passenger seat was faulty and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. No repairs were performed. The current mileage was 72,396 and the approximate failure mileage was 72,356. Updated 11/23/11 updated 12/19/11

- Dumphries, VA, USA

problem #41

Oct 122008

Sonata

  • 31,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag light was constantly illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised that there was nothing to repair because each time the vehicle was taken in, the light was not illuminated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure who stated that when the light illuminated that the contact should take the vehicle to the dealer. They offered no further assistance. The failure mileage was 31,000.

- Nashville, TX, USA

problem #40

Aug 242011

Sonata

  • 142,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the a local mechanic who diagnosed that the driver side air bag was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 142,000 and the current mileage was 142,692.

- Lake Worth , FL, USA

problem #39

Jul 272011

Sonata

  • 77,534 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag sensor was disabled with the contact illumination of the air bag warning light. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who advised that the occupancy sensor was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted and advised having the seat cushion replaced at a cost of $800. There were no recalls for the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer offered no further assistance. The failure mileage was 77,534.

- Minot, ME, USA

problem #38

Jun 152011

Sonata

  • 75,000 miles
Jun 28, 2011 - savannah, ga air bag light on June 1, 2011, I took the car to the dealship because the red "air bag" light came on. Dealer diagnostics found that the occupancy sensor in passenger seat was defective. Technician reset the bit fault for the light, but the Hyundai service center that diagnosed the car informed me if it illuminated again, they were not allowed to reset it more than once and it will cost approximately $900 to replace the passenger seat sensor. If it is not replaced, the airbag system will not work. Prior to the red light "air bag" light illuminating, the amber "passenger air bag off" light has illuminated sporatically over the past year or so, sometimes with the passenger seat occupied by an adult, sometimes without a passenger at all. This amber light has also mysteriously flashed on/off at times, again regardless if seat was occupied or not. Research shows numerous amounts of 2007 Sonatas with same problem. On June 25th, the red "air bag" light re-illuminated. At both times, the passenger seat was occupied (by an adult). The dealer informs me that nhsta campaign 08V161000 is not applicable to this VIN, but the description of the recall summary sounds exactly like the problem demonstrated.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #37

Jan 012007

Sonata

  • 5 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated the headlights did not illuminate brightly and caused a decrease in visibility. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the headlights were adjusted. The repair did not remedy the failure. The contact was also informed that the vehicle was not included in either related recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 08E021000 (exterior lighting:headlights) or 09E012000 (exterior lighting). The contact also stated that the air bag light intermittently illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the air bag light trouble code was cleared. The contact was then informed that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 08V161000 (air bags). The failure recurred and in addition, the contact stated that the anti-lock brake light intermittently illuminated on the instrument panel. The failure mileage was 5 and the current mileage was 48,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Humble, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?