10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,356 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Hyundai Sonata seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 6 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #58

Oct 162012

Sonata

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We took the car in for a recall on the OCS and the dealer found two fault codes B1701 and B1706 indicating that both passenger and drivers side belt pretensioners resistance is too high.I see there are many 2006 and 2007 Sonatas with a similar issue. Dealer wants a total of $871.74. With the number of repeated complaints I think there should be a safety recall.

- Great Mills, MD, USA

problem #57

Oct 112007

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
We bought this vehicle brand new in 2007. With about 5000 miles the air bag light came on. We took it to the dealer and they could not find a problem and turned the light off. It came back on I think around 11,000 miles. Same thing happened, the dealer said they could not find the problem & turned the light off. In October 2010 we took it in again with the air bag light on at 47,458 miles. The dealer repaired a passenger seat belt. In May 2011 with 58,640 miles the air bag light comes on again. This time they repair passenger seat cushion. The air bag light came on again in 2012 but we've been driving it this way for a while. The airbag light has been on more often than off it seems, and it always is some minor issue or can't be found. In Feb 2013 with 87,725 miles I took the car to the dealer and now they say it is a driver's seat belt issue and is not covered under warranty. Clearly Hyundai is having major issues with the seat belts and the OCS system. Something should be done about this.

- Matthews , NC, USA

problem #56

Jan 212013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
I was driving home after work going South on I-65 and at 4:00 pm, approximately one quarter mile South of exit 179 prattville Alabama a deer jumped out of the ditch and I hit the deer going at 70 mph.I was in the right hand lane. The seat belt did not keep me from hitting the steering wheel and the air bag did not deploy fortunantly I only sustained bruising and pain that kept me out of work for 2 days.the car was atotal loss and I just finished paying for it on 1/17/2013.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #55

Nov 022011

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 59,353 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driver side air bag failed when the vehicle was under manufacturer's warranty that was 5 years and 60,000. It was fixed by dealer and now within a year the air bag light came on again in November 2012. I contacted Hyundai to cover it under warranty as it is re-occurring problem. They refused to cover it under warranty. I think the bags should never fail at this age of the vehicle. Please help me to get this fixed with no charge to me. Thanks.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #54

Nov 052012

Sonata

  • 30,352 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 08V161000 (air bags) however, the air bag warning light continued to illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was awaiting the results of extensive testing. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 30,352.

- East Harford , CT, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #53

Oct 052012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 158,000 miles
The airbag light came on in my 2007 Sonata. Taking it to the dealer, they replaced the safety belt and then they said it was the cushion switch on the passenger's side. Looking on the internet, there are quite a few claims of exactly the same thing that is wrong with my car. If this is true, how come, there is no recall to fix it. This item is for safety!!!!

- Soledad, CA, USA

problem #52

Oct 022012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My son took my car to the Hyundai dealer in high point, nc, when the air bag flashed off/on when his 5' 3", 105 lb. Girlfriend sat in the passenger seat. The service mgr, [xxx] informed my son that a mat under the passenger was defective & ad to be replaced at my cost to correct the airbag safety issue. I contacted Hyundai usa., case no. [xxx] was assigned. [xxx] is the case worker. [xxx] stated that my car was not subject recall no. 08V161000, manufacturing date start/end date:from 03/01/2005 to 01/11/2008; my car was manufactured in May 2006. Tsb 08-01-006 also indicates that my car should be remedied under the recall. [xxx]stated that I had to speak with [xxx] at the dealer. I called the auto dealer on October 12 and 15, left a voice message for [xxx]to call me. He has yet to return my call. There are hundreds of similar voq's for this safety defect issue. Please contact the dealer and Hyundai usa so that my car can be remedied under this recall & tsb. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hendersonville, TN, USA

problem #51

Jul 312012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
2007 Hyundai Sonata air bag malfunction light illuminated, and has remained illuminated; took the vehicle to Hyundai dealer for service according to Hyundai technical service bulletin 08-01-006-1 for Hyundai recall campaign 083, "2006 - 2008 Sonata - occupant classification system (OCS) reprogramming". dealer, and then Hyundai regional service, refused to service the vehicle under their recall campaign despite repeated phone calls and escalation.

- Fort Collins, CO, USA

problem #50

Jun 182012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 59,989 miles
My air bag warining light came on and stays on. This has previously been recalled for my year make and model but not my VIN #!

- Kutztown, PA, USA

problem #49

Apr 252012

Sonata

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated upon starting the vehicle. An authorized dealer and the manufacturer were notified and stated that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 08V161000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Clinton, MS, USA

problem #48

Jan 092008

Sonata 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,942 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated, indicating a defect in the air bag. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer, where the seat cushions and air bag harness were replaced. The failure continued. The vehicle was taken to the dealer approximately nine times. The contact expressed concerns over being involved in a crash in which the air bags did not deploy. The failure mileage was 8,942. Updated 04/25/12 updated 6/15/2012

- Poplar Bluff, MO, USA

problem #47

Mar 232012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 50,150 miles
Air bag warning light went on and stayed on after horn was honked. Air bag warning light is still on. How is it that this is not a long-term warranty item similar to seat belts? after a simple web search, it appears these senor type systems do not last for the short warranty period allowed. I don't have $300 to fix this.

- Miami Springs, FL, USA

problem #46

Feb 062012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 117,373 miles
Airbag light can after 20 minutes of driving. Found out that the seat buckle on the right passenger side of the car was the problem. As a rule that seat is empty except for my briefcase. Don't understand why the seat buckle was the cause of the problem. The car has never been involved in an accident. In 2009 the car was recall for problem with the airbag sensor for that seat.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #45

Dec 202011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
Airbag light stays on.

- Leonia, NJ, USA

problem #44

Apr 112011

Sonata

  • 55,000 miles
The air bag light on the driver's console is continuing to stay on. Squirming on the driver's seat, on occasion, would cause the light to turn off. The light seem to stay on without an obvious reason.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #43

Sep 102008

Sonata

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 55 mph, the air bag warning indicator illuminated and remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was previously repaired in October of 2008 under NHTSA campaign id number: 08V161000 (air bags). The identical failure recurred six months after the recall repair was performed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer twelve times for the similar defect and repaired each time. The vehicle was not repaired for the most recent air bag malfunction. The manufacturer was notified of the recurring failure. The approximate failure mileage was 17,000.

- Reidsville, NC, USA

problem #42

Sep 032011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,356 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact noticed that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The dealer informed the contact that the OCS sensor in the passenger seat was faulty and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. No repairs were performed. The current mileage was 72,396 and the approximate failure mileage was 72,356. Updated 11/23/11 updated 12/19/11

- Dumphries, VA, USA

problem #41

Oct 122008

Sonata

  • 31,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag light was constantly illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised that there was nothing to repair because each time the vehicle was taken in, the light was not illuminated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure who stated that when the light illuminated that the contact should take the vehicle to the dealer. They offered no further assistance. The failure mileage was 31,000.

- Nashville, TX, USA

problem #40

Aug 242011

Sonata

  • 142,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the a local mechanic who diagnosed that the driver side air bag was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 142,000 and the current mileage was 142,692.

- Lake Worth , FL, USA

problem #39

Jul 272011

Sonata

  • 77,534 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag sensor was disabled with the contact illumination of the air bag warning light. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who advised that the occupancy sensor was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted and advised having the seat cushion replaced at a cost of $800. There were no recalls for the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer offered no further assistance. The failure mileage was 77,534.

- Minot, ME, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?