Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
43,937 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 28 of 43)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #308

Aug 012012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

With car running looseness in steering column. There is tsb on it but if out of warranty customer is responsible.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #307

May 152013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 58,230 miles
The gear shift got stuck and move out of park.brake lights does not work when pressing break peddle, which resently accured, that is to it brake lights.also four months ago I begin to have problems with my brakes.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #306

Aug 122014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
The steering column feels as though it will fall off any moment and the noise is clunking and rattles terribly when going over bumps or any slight moment. This is a huge safety issue and could cause a fatality.

- Richmond Hill, GA, USA

problem #305

Aug 152014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 82,357 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I brought my 2011 Sonata into the local dealership for an oil change. The service associate explained that my steering column would need to be replaced as it was making a clunking noise when turned left or right. I inquired as to what would cause this and they did not know. They wrote up an estimate to have the steering wheel and column replaced. They instructed me to get this repaired as quickly as possible as this was a safety hazard. If this is indeed a safety problem I think that Hyundai needs to recall these models and fix them.

- Hahira, GA, USA

problem #304

Jul 012014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that when making a left or right turn, there was an abnormal noise coming from the steering wheel. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was confirmed that the failure was related to NHTSA campaign number: 10V457000 (steering) however, the VIN was not included in the recall. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000. Updated 10/7/14

- Boynton Beach , FL, USA

problem #303

Jul 192014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
When driving the car, there is a clicking/rattling noise coming from the steering wheel. Any bumps or shaking to the car causes the noise.

- Wylie, TX, USA

problem #302

Jul 212014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Loose steering column shaft detected by clunking when turning or going over small bumps. Notified that there is an existing recall for this issue on vehicles manufactured between 11 Dec 2009 and 10 Sep 2010. This vehicle was manufactured 12 Oct 2010.

- Rapid City , SD, USA

problem #301

May 122014

Sonata

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated while driving there was a popping sound in the steering column and the vehicle veered to the left. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Milledgeville, GA, USA

problem #300

Jul 012014

Sonata

  • 30,000 miles
Very load clicking sound when moving steering wheel right or left. See video https://www.youtube.com/watch?V=M0ltckljvj4 I know they had a recall on the steering and suspension. It was recall serviced but this has just gotten worse. The sound is progressively louder.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #299

Jul 152014

Sonata

  • 71,100 miles
I am still noticing issues with steering I hear knocking in steering wheel when turning and sometimes it shakes as if it is loose. I have taken vehicle to have it fixed per recall, but there still appears to be issues.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #298

Dec 232011

Sonata

  • 23,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I put car in drive and start to drive off it comes completely out of gear, I then have to power off car and then restart and it may work or I may have same issue a few times before it goes in gear. This has cause my car to stall, jerk when it does go in gear, steering wheel shakes when driving, and check engine light has come on. Separate issue is the front bumper is poorly made if you barely tap anything when parking the clamps break and bumper starts to come apart.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #297

May 252014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,300 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the steering column shook and made a rattling noise. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 15,300 and the current mileage was 15,900. Updated 8/28/14 updated 09/16/2014

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #296

Oct 292013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 14,423 miles
Popping noise when turning and backing up. Noise is been heard after you park and then start up again when backing up. Also when turn in my yard. This has been an ongoing problem. I have carried it back for the same reason several times and it has not been fixed.

- Auburn, AL, USA

problem #295

Jun 012014

Sonata

  • 61,570 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated while driving approximately 35 mph, a loud noise emitted inside and outside of the vehicle. The vehicle began to travel out of lane independently and the steering wheel vibrated violently. The vehicle was driven to a parking lot where the engine was turned off. Upon restarting, the vehicle resumed normally. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 61,570.

- Petal , MS, USA

problem #294

Jun 032014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
Steering rattle over bumps and washboard type surfaces. Vehicle sounds like a steering component inside the steering column is broken. Hyundai acknowledges there is a problem but refuses to cover repairs under factory or aftermarket warranty which they also sold me.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #293

Jul 162013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Dear sir/madam, I'm contacting you to report what I strongly believe is a defect in the steering unit of Hyundai Sonata, 2011. In an article that was published in September 2010 at yahoo news, a recall problem of the Sonata was reported after "complaints have come in about feeling looseness while driving or abnormal sounds coming from the steering columns." (voices.yahoo.com/Hyundai-recall-2011-Hyundai-Sonata-sedans-steering-6864748.html) my problem with Hyundai matches the description of the complaints, with more complication: 1) when I start the car, without driving, if I steer the steering wheel left and right, I could hear an obnoxiously loud noise in the form of "clicking." One consumer videotapes this problem in this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?V=otkcp-8xhsw 2) when I drive on a road that is less than perfectly smooth, I can hear a loud rattling noise, a noise that appears to be coming from loose parts in the column. The noise becomes most obvious and loudest when I drive slowly on brick roads. 3) the problem becomes most dangerous when I drive on the freeway. As I slow down to take an exit, the steering wheel goes viciously vibrating, making it hard to control or keep stable. This vibration is associated with a loud rattling noise coming from the steering column. I took the car to the Hyundai dealer and talked to Hyundai usa, both parties distanced the problem from campaign 97 (a steering intermediate shaft recall). The dealer says that I need to replace the entire steering column on my expenses. If the dealer is right that the problem is not related to the recall, then it is a new problem that needs to be addressed and investigated. Please take into account that the safety of Hyundai Sonata drivers could be endangered by this problem if not fixed. I hope to hear from you soon regarding this matter.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #292

Feb 032014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Steering column makes clunk/rattle noise driving down rough road, bumps, and small potholes at high and low speed, it more noticeable at low speed. While at standing it makes no noise.

- Edison, NJ, USA

problem #291

Apr 022012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
Steering too tight, wrist and hands get very stressed in short time, keeps pulling to a side, need to put force on steering to stay in lane, very stressful to make turns at all speeds, steering set to low stiffness by dealer, yet very painful, no fix from dealer, says thats how it is since its electronic steering. I see several blogs about the same issue, surprising that there is no remedy. Turbo failed twice before 50K.

- Saint Peters, MO, USA

problem #290

Mar 312011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 0 miles
On going steering drift issues. Hyundai did a service bulletin 927. Car still wants to veer mostly left. Wrist fatigued hold car in a line. Dealer blew me off when I came in with concerns. www.consumerreports.org/cro/news/2011/03/2011-Hyundai-Sonata-steering-update-new-strut-similar-alignment-issue/index.htm.

- Federal Way, Wa, WA, USA

problem #289

Apr 232014

Sonata

  • 84,450 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that when making a turn in either direction, an abnormal knocking was heard from the steering wheel without warning. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was diagnosed that the steering coupler needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified and stated that the vehicle was inspected already under NHTSA campaign number: 10V426000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 84,450.

- Coco , FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?