Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
42,514 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 33 of 39)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #139

Apr 152011


  • 230 miles


New 2011 Hyundai Sonata steering problem. The vehicle feels very unstable at highway speeds. Driver must constantly fight to keep the vehicle in lane. At a minimum it is distracting. Worst case this car could drift into another lane. There is something wrong this electronic steering. Dealer tells me its fine.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #138

Mar 152011


  • 500 miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata steering problem - car constantly pulls left - dealer did realignment - not effective.

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #137

Apr 092011


  • 18,000 miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata left pull issue. I must apply a pressure to keep the car going straight on a flat/straight highway. This youtube clip is an excellent description of what I see. also I found another site w/ a similar listing:

- Hinckley, IL, USA

problem #136

Apr 012011


  • miles


Car pulls to the left since brand new. Very noticeable when driving at a high speed for a length of time. Constant right pressure must be maintained on steering wheel to prevent car from moving to the left. At a slow speed on back roads the pull is not that noticeable. For some reason, when taking a right turn off a highway ramp, the left pull increases, which requires increased right pressure on the steering wheel. Have had car checked at dealer, alignment was checked, and told everything is fine. Researching the Hyundai forums, it appears my Sonata is not the only car experiencing this problem, and as of this date, Hyundai/Kia have no fix, or even acknowledge their is a problem.

- Boonsboro, MD, USA

problem #135

Mar 282011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 350 miles
I purchased a new 2011 Hyundai Sonata SE turbo. It pulls badly to the left. It requires constant concentration or you will be in the oncoming lane. Dangerous!

- Billings, MT, USA

problem #134

Mar 282011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,350 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the steering wheel would abnormally pull to the left when driving at highway speeds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed an alignment but did not repair the problem. They stated that the next step would be to replace the vehicle strut. The manufacturer was contacted who stated that they were aware of the problem and were currently working with the dealers to have the problem fixed. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 3,350 and current mileage was 3,400. The consumer stated the strut was replaced. However, the problem continued. Updated 05/31/11

- Trumbull, CT, USA

problem #133

Apr 032011


  • 100 miles


2011 Hyundai Sonata pulls left sharply when when I let go of the wheel. After researching online, this appears to be a common and major problem. Alignment doesn't help and the dealership won't fix it.

- Santa Clarita, CA, USA

problem #132

Apr 022011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 10 miles
I purchased a 2011 Hyundai Sonata turbo on February 19, 2011 and immediately noticed that this vehicle pulls very hard to the left, especially at highway speeds. Constant pressure to the right on the steering wheel is necessary to keep this car on the road. I have taken it back to the dealership (glassman Hyundai, southfield, Michigan) for a front-end alignment on 2 occasions. This helps for approximately 2 days and the problem returns. I've since learned that this is not an uncommon problem with this vehicle but at the time of purchase no mention of this was made by the salesperson.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #131

Mar 162011


  • 16,000 miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata pulls heavy to the left. This has not created an injury to date but it pulls so much to the left I have to be sure to apply pressure to the right to counter-act the pull into the lane to my left. I have had it back to the dealer and after doing everything they say they can do (alignment, etc.) it still pulls to the left. I have 16K miles on the care and it has done this since I first had it. Dealership (suntrup Hyundai, St. Louis mo) says they have done everything they can do.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #130

Mar 282011


  • 0 miles
2011 Sonata 2.0T SE left pull while driving at highway speeds

- Quakertown, PA, USA

problem #129

Nov 212010

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 1 miles


I purchased a 2011 Hyundai Sonata turbo in December 2010 and from the time of purchase it pulled to the left especially on the highway. I waited to see if it would work itself out but it did not. I took it to a dealership and they rotated the tires and performed a full alignment. This did not solve the problem. Now after reading 100's of similar claims I am extremely disappointed that no action has been taken to hold the manufacturer accountable. I am encouraged that so many people have stepped forward, this will save me from repeated visits to the dealership when it is obvious that alignments, strut replacement and tire rotations are not going to blanket this obvious defect. I shouldn't have to fight to keep a brand new 2011 car on the road.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #128

Mar 252011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 236 miles
Off the lot our new 2011 Hyundai Sonata limited turbo constantly pulled to the left. Worse at higher speeds. The dealer originally reported a "bulletin" on the front struts and replaced the left one. After that did not fix the problem an "all-wheel-alignment". no better. The dealer suggested driving for 1K miles to see if it resolved itself----that didn't work either. I contacted the dealer and Hyundai Consumer Affairs department for the second time on 3/17/2011 and re-opened the "case number". the service manager at the local dealership consulted with Hyundai's regional engineers and subsequently performed a recalibrating of the electronic steering module on 3/24/2011. The car now drives perfectly. No more pulling to the left. Hallelujah!! thanks to good folks at Hyundai, locally and regionally.

- Aztec, NM, USA

problem #127

Mar 122011


  • 65 miles
The vehicle is a 2011 Sonata turbo limited. The vehicle has a steady pull to the left during acceleration which affects the vehicles ability to maintain a straight line on the roadway. At higher speeds it is more noticeable and in my opinion a safety hazard due to the vehicles quick jerky motion and strong pull to the left if you should let go of the steering wheel. It is not an alignment issue as the vehicle drives straight when you are not accelerating. It's constant fatigue on the driver's arms maintaining proper steering as a result of the pull.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #126

Mar 162011


  • 200 miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata limited pulls left. Pull occurs at all speeds and road types, but is strongest at highway speeds in middle or left lanes. Right lane has a slight drift right, which feels normal due to crown of road. But with crown on right, there is hard pull to left. Vehicle will pull sharply to the left and change lanes in approximately 3 seconds or less. Vehicle needs a constant and forceful pressure on the steering wheel to right of center to maintain a straight track and not veer left. This pull was evident immediately. Vehicle was purchased new with approximately 200 miles on it, and pull was evident immediately. As of this time, repair has not been attempted.

- Leominster, MA, USA

problem #125

Apr 122010


  • 1,100 miles
The vehicle continuously pulls to the left from speeds of 40 mph to 80 mph. Dealership cannot figure how to fix issue. You need to constantly hold the steering wheel at 20 degrees off center in order for the vehicle to drive straight line. This is a constant issue and Hyundai is not doing anything about it. There is something wrong with the vehicles power steering!

- Texas, TX, USA

problem #124

Mar 062011


  • 6 miles
I purchased a brand new 2011 Hyundai Sonata turbo limited with 6 miles on it. As soon as I drove it off the lot, it pulled to the left at highway speeds. I've brought it back to the dealer 4 times for this issue. First they replaced a front strut so now I have mismatched struts, then aligned it so that the left front wheel was set at a camber of -0.8 degrees while the right front wheel was set at -0.2 degrees. After all these bandaids, the car still pulls to the left, although the dealership and Hyundai keep telling me the car is in spec and drives straight.

- Needham, MA, USA

problem #123

Feb 182011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 35 miles
Steering component- on 2/17/2011 I purchased a 2011 Hyundai Sonata 2.0T limited turbo. Shortly after my purchase, when driving on highways, I noticed the vehicle consistently pulls to the left, even when driving on completely level and flat road surfaces. I spoke with the manager of the service department at the dealership where I purchased the vehicle who advised me that Hyundai does not have a definite fix for this issue, but are currently working on one. He said that in the interim there are several items they can perform in an effort to remedy the problem, but there would be no guarantee that they would fix the issue either completely or even nominally. The way I left it with him was that he would have to contact their regional Hyundai service representative to see what steps they would have to take, as he had done with numerous other customers already and get back to me to set up an appointment to begin a regimen of repairs that would hopefully at the very least improve it somewhat, but "again" pointed out that there was not a definite fix for this issue to date, leaving me totally afraid to even drive it on the highway, in the event I (even for a second) don't totally concentrate on holding the steering where in a method that would keep the car from veering to the left into another lane potentially causing what could easily become a serious and even fatal accident.

- Belleville, NJ, USA

problem #122

Mar 012011


  • 1 miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata (new in November 2010), from day one excessive drifting to the left that is more noticeable at 60 mph or higher, but occurs at all speeds. Dealership has aligned it 3 times and rotated wheels to no benefit. They claim it is normal. I have filed this safety concern and defect with Hyundai customer relations on 03-16-11. They claim to have no other complaints like this, which has to be a total lie because of the many forums on the internet squawking about the same or similar issue. There videos now posted of the problem. I was told I would be contacted by 03-22-11. This extremely dangerous, as you need only remove your hand from the wheel for a split second and the lane drifting starts. I have been able to take left handed highway exits without having my hands on the wheel an please note-these are not gradual sweepers but 30 to 40mph ramps!. my recently licensed 17yr old drifted slightly and started to cross into an oncoming vehicle traveling the opposite direction that was riding close to the center line. Thank god my wife was with her to provide corrective directions. Hopefully no one as been injured or killed due to this defect! help!

- Ballston Spa, NY, USA

problem #121

Mar 012011


  • miles
I bought a Sonata limited turbo in December, 2010. Right from the start it pulled hard to the left. I took it to the dealer, they checked the alignment and said they wanted it back to replace a camber bolt. Also they said that Hyundai was aware of the issue. Before the bolt came in, they told me that Hyundai was not recommending the camber bolt any more, but the latest version of the left front strut. They replaced the strut but that did not fix the problem. I finally came to the opinion the problem is not in the suspension at all. It is clear more power is being sent to the left wheel. This is clear under several conditions: On acceleration it will be pulling hard but if the accelerator is released the car straightens out. When braking and thus little or no power is being applied to the wheels, there is no noticeable pull. With the cruise control on and going downhill ┐ coasting, basically ┐ the pull is light, but as the road changes and starts to go back uphill, it pulls harder and harder, varying in relation to how hard the car is working to get up the hill. The worst is when passing another vehicle on the highway. It pulls so hard that if the steering wheel is released, it literally 'snaps┐ five to ten degrees to the left and the car is on the shoulder in two seconds. The steering wheel in this car is very ┐dry┐ and it is easy to lose grip. One has to grip so tightly that it is quite fatiguing to drive this car. If a person lost grip of the wheel they could easily be in an accident before they recovered, or even due to the recovery, as it would be very easy to over-recover and go too far right. The tires are wearing abnormally with only a few thousand miles on them. One day, a tire is going to burst and there is going to be a major accident. This car is unsafe as is, and Hyundai needs to take corrective action. If that means they need to be forced into it by NHTSA, then NHTSA, please get to work on this before someone gets killed.

- Waukee, IA, USA

problem #120

Nov 012010


  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the vehicle would drift to the right and the steering wheel was hard to control the vehicle was taken to the dealer who test drove the vehicle and performed a front end alignment on four occasions; yet, the remedy did not work. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 3000 and the current mileage was 7,150.

- Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?