CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
43,980 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 34 of 43)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #193

Apr 012011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 67,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2011 Hyundai Sonata veers to the right. I have to keep more pressure on the left side of the steering wheel in order to keep the car straight. I have taken the car three times to the dealership but the problem has not be fixed. I have been told that the car steering goes slightly to the right but was not guaranteed that it could be fixed.

- Lynwood, CA, USA

problem #192

Jul 212011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata 2.0T pulls to left at normal speeds during normal driving. This is not a "torque-steer" issue (the tendency of front-wheel drive cars to veer under acceleration due to uneven torque to the front wheels). Even on cruise control, if you don't apply constant "right" correction, the car will veer left. The crown of the road does not stop this, nor is it a wind issue. If you let the wheel go, the car will change lanes to the left (or veer into oncoming traffic!) within 10 seconds. This is an extremely dangerous condition. I have had the car in the shop 3 times and while they are very aware of the issue, have no solution. This is unacceptable and a significant public safety hazard. Please initiate a formal inquiry.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #191

Apr 182010

Sonata

  • miles
The car is pulling hard to the left, it requires my constant correction. It has done this day 1 of owning the car, and as you go faster, it pulls harder. I brought it back to the dealer to have them fix the alignment, but that didn't do anything except now my wheel isn't centered and it's cocked to the right and still pulls left.

- Medford, NY, USA

problem #190

Jul 162011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 15 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2011 Hyundai Sonata SE 2.0T on 07/15/2011. During driving on highway speeds, the car is constantly pull to the left and its a quit significant pull. I took it to the dealer on 7/22/2011, their technition test drove it, it was pull to the left but he kept telling me this is normal. A lot of people having this issue and it is a major concern but Hyundai dealers are not recognizing it. Please try to address this issue as soon as possible. Thank you

- Hamilton, NJ, USA

problem #189

Mar 132011

Sonata

  • 3,200 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated while driving 55 mph or more the vehicle pulled to the left. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer four times and made several attempts to remedy the failure. The dealer also performed and alignment to the front end of the vehicle, stated that it was functioning normally and that it was also driving within the specifications of the design. The manufacturer stated the dealer informed them that the vehicle was performing within the correct specifications and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 3,200.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #188

Jun 242011

Sonata

  • 4,500 miles
The car pulls to the left and the steering is slightly tilted left in normal driving position. Also have to apply a constant force to keep the car straight. At high speeds the steering feels free.

- Edison, NJ, USA

problem #187

Jul 052011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 166 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2012 Hyundai Sonata gls pulls right. Took the car for inspection a few days after purchasing the car. They re-aligned the wheels but the problem still remains. I have contacted Hyundai motor company they have suggested that I take the car to 2nd dealership for 2nd inspection before they can act on the issue. Note:this complaint is for 2012 model. In the pull down menu there was not an option to select 2012 Hyundai Sonata.

- Texas, TX, USA

problem #186

Jan 012011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 100 miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata has pulled to the left almost continuously since we took possession of the car. The car has been taken back to the dealer 4 times and has never been corrected. It is so constant that my left shoulder hurts after just a few minutes of driving the car.

- Dover, FL, USA

problem #185

Aug 302010

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 5 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the vehicle would pull towards the left or right while driving at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that he would have to get used to the driving of the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure continued. Later while driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle pulled sharply toward the left and the contact lost control of the vehicle. The brakes were applied and the contact noticed that the power steering was no longer functioning. The vehicle was carefully driven to an authorized dealer where the steering column was being replaced. The failure mileage was 5. updated 09/07/11 the consumer has since traded the vehicle. Updated 09/14/11

- North Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #184

Jul 012011

Sonata

  • miles
It seems more and more Hyundai model cars are exhibiting a very severe shift to the left (or right) when traveling at highway speeds. A recall should be issued. Please see the following example: www.youtube.com/watch?V=kolqvbpp3_A&feature=channel_video_title [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Huston, TX, USA

problem #183

Jun 252011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 2,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car (2011 Hyundai Sonata )starts drifting to the left when going over 60 mph. I contacted the Hyundai dealer where I purchased this vehicle in February and was told "it's a defect in the 2011 Hyundai Sonata, but Hyundai does not have a fix for it yet."

- Smyrna, GA, USA

problem #182

Mar 012011

Sonata

  • 43 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 to 65 mph, the vehicle would pull towards the left. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was advised to have the wheels realigned and the sensors repaired. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 43.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #181

Jun 022011

Sonata

  • miles
My 2011 Hyundai Sonata limited is pulling right. Noticed it after driving home. Went back within the week to dealer service center. The pulling right is still there, not as severely, but still there. Took it in 3 weeks from purchase, their machinery says there is no alignment problem, but every time road test drive was done, it still pulls to the right. Now, I have been given a rental car and they are keeping it for 2 days just to fix an alignment pulling to right.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #180

Jun 102011

Sonata

  • miles
There is a problem with the steering in my 2011 Hyundai Sonata limited. At speeds above about 45 mph, the vehicle drifts randomly left & right. The higher the speed, the worse it is. The vehicle is also very sensitive to wind and even the wake of passing vehicles pushes the car around on the highway. It also is hard to steer on grooved pavement, which causes the car to squirm around erratically. I am constantly "correcting" the steering to maintain a straight track. The vehicle often pulls strongly to the left. This occurs especially when on the left side of a "crowned" highway. Pulls very strongly to the left, but tracks straight when on the right side of the road.

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #179

Nov 282010

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 10 miles
Purchased 2011 Hyundai Sonata ltd turbo in Nov '10. Car pulls to the left when driving at any speed. First service: Dealer performed 4 wheel alignment. Car still pulls. Second service: Dealer checked alignment and balanced on road force balancer. Dealer recommended replacement rim due to mild scratch and tire replacement because it flat spotted. Car now pulls harder than before, dangerously so as to cause the car to change lanes at the slip of the wheel on a straight road. Took car to independent wheel and tire alignment and rotation specialist, inspected "scratched" rim, stated it was balanced and any damage cosmetic. Third service: Dealer and regional field service engineer (fse) re-calibrated steering sensor, adjusted rear camber. Recommended replacement of rear wheel due to scratch. Fse drove the car and was satisfied with the alignment. Car still pulls exactly as before.

- Agoura Hills, CA, USA

problem #178

Jun 132011

Sonata

  • 5,000 miles
Steering on 2011 Hyundai Sonata pulls to the left. Problem is worse at higher speeds. Technician at oil change shop noticed feathering of tires @ ~5000 miles. Took it to dealership and was told the alignment was within factory specs. About 9 months later tire noise and handling were bad enough I took it back. At first, I was told they couldn't reproduce the issue. Complained in survey and dealership called and asked to look at it again. I was told the tires were pretty badly chopped up at this point.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #177

Jan 262011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 38 miles
Steering left pull - occured before buying while test driving dealer said it was air need for the tires. At pickup same thing happened brought it back reallignment was done 3 times improved slightly but car feels like 'driving a boat' have to keep realigning.

- Parsippany, NJ, USA

problem #176

Jan 102011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 500 miles
One of my relatives died in an auto accident in her new 2011 Sonata, which was manufactured on 10/28/2010 by Hyundai motor Alabama. The accident was reported on a community website. www.northjersey.com/news/transportation/ridgefield_park_accident_kills_woman_closes_route_80_detoured_milk_truck_overturns.html in a nutshell, she was driving in the eastbound local lanes of route 80 when she lost control of her car. The vehicle rolled up onto a divider between the express and local lanes and hit the end of the guardrail to the left of her car. The impact spun her vehicle into the path of a tractor-trailer. The trailer struck the driver's side door, and she was pronounced dead at the scene. The subsequent autopsy report could not identify any medical conditions causing her to lose control of the vehicle. On the other hand, there are numerous complaints about the power steering of 2011 Sonata on various websites. One of them is the website of auto recalls for consumers 177 out of 266 complaints (67%) on 6/12/2011 are related to the steering column. This is a safety concern, because it pulls the vehicle to the left stronger and stronger as the speed accelerates above 25 mph. Sadly, the underlying cause is hard to detect, because the power steering of this vehicle is electronically controlled. Those consumer complaints appear to be consistent with the evidence at the scene of this accident. The police report indicated that the car ran into the guardrail on the left side of road. The national highway transportation safety administration (NHTSA) once announced the Hyundai Sonata recall on 9/23/2010 in connections with the steering column. The recall affects 2011 Hyundai Sonatas manufactured between 12/11/2009 and 9/10/2010. However, it appears that the defect of the power steering column affects Sonata vehicles manufactured even after this recall period.

- Hopewell Junction, NY, USA

problem #175

Mar 282011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 500 miles
Upon immediately driving my brand new 2011 Hyundai Sonata, I noticed the vehicle pulls drastically and unsafely to the left. If I let go of the steering wheel, I will be in the next lane within 2 seconds. It is dangerous, especially if the road is curving to the right. Then I will be in the next lane in less than 1 second. Have brought it to dealer 3 times, they changed tires, replaced strut, realigned, and did a special wheel balance, to no avail. They send a factory engineer to look at it and he said that there is nothing wrong with it. He is lying. I sent video to Hyundai corporate, and filed a lemon law claim. I am supposed to have an area manager drive it with me this week.. I have owner several new cars in my life, this is dangerous a recall is needed.

- Pompton Lakes, NJ, USA

problem #174

Nov 222010

Sonata

  • 10 miles
I have a turbo limited Sonata. It has a severe left pull. If I am driving on a flat surface and let go of the steering wheel, I would be off the road to the left in about 5-6 seconds. If I am accelerating, I would be off the road within 1-2 seconds. It is a real problem. My dealership does not have the specs to fix the issue. I called the next closest dealer and they also do not have a fix. I am constantly assured that Hyundai is working on the issue, but lets face it, it has been over six months. I have lost faith that they are working on a fix. The newly sold 2011 Sonata limited turbos are being sold with the 17" wheels, not the 18" wheels I have. Therefore, it looks as though they are trying to change it to fix the problem. But what about those of us with the 18" wheels" do we have to wait until someone dies before this gets fixed" that is not acceptable to me. There are already over 165 complaints and I hope more are added daily. I am a repeat Hyundai Sonata buyer and very discouraged with the quality of safety in this car. Please investigate the problem and force a recall!

- Independence, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?