Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,151 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2016 Hyundai Tucson engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Hyundai Tucson:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2016 Hyundai Tucson Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Oct 122016


  • 6,100 miles


I took my 2016 Tucson into the dealership on 9/23/2016 to address the dual clutch transmission recall. Prior to that, my Tucson would randomly jerk, not accelerate when pressing on the accelerator, and the rpms would go haywire. Now, 10/12/2016, after I took it in for a recall, I am still experiencing the same issue. It's happened once in slow traffic, and just this morning on the highway on my way to work. This time however, the Tucson's rpms went from the 2X area to the 4X area without provocation, causing the Tucson to drastically accelerate, almost causing me to rear end someone. This was without me manually accelerating. At this point, I feel like I'm driving a deathtrap and am utterly disappointed that Hyundai has done nothing to truly correct this issue.

- Cheektowaga, NY, USA

problem #31

Sep 122016


  • 7,000 miles
Problems with vehicle since purchase. Brought cat back to dealer for repair 4 times, but problems still remain. Prior to last software upgrade, car would not accelerate after stopping, would jerk without warning, slow going up hill, would roll back, and would stop and then propel forward. Once last recall (3) done, the car still in not driving appropriately. Car runs rough, still jerks, still slow to go up hill and still intermittently stops. Transmission warning (over heated) came on, yet the computer did not make note of it when read for problems as if it never happened. Car is unsafe, is not driving as expected nor as it should. Gas mileage is also very low, considerably lower than what was promised upon purchase.

- Bethel Park, PA, USA

problem #30

Sep 032016


  • 300 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Hyundai Tucson. While driving approximately 25 mph, the contact noticed an odor inside the cabin of the vehicle. The contact became disoriented and drove home. The contact also experienced trouble speaking and coordinating words. The contact went to the hospital and was diagnosed as having carbon monoxide poisoning. The vehicle was diagnosed by an independent mechanic and it displayed high levels of an unknown toxin inside the cabin. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 300.

- Manhattan Beach, CA, USA

problem #29

Sep 092016


  • 12,000 miles


The dual clutch manual transmission "freezes" in neutral even though the car is in drive. The vehicle won't move. This is a dangerous situation. It happens sporadically. The engine is also very balky and sluggish on acceleration.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #28

Aug 242016


  • 2,800 miles
When I try to accelerate from a stop at at a slow speed this car has extreme lag. Sometimes it can take up to 3 seconds for the engine to respond and then all of a sudden the car jumps and accelerates too quickly. This problem has made it very difficult to judge when I can cross traffic because I never know when the car will actually accelerate.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #27

Jun 182016


  • 10,800 miles
There is a problem with the 1.6L turbo dual clutch transmission. On three or more occations, pressing the accellerator after being at a couple stop at a traffic light resulted in the vehicle revving to the redline and the car not moving. The last time it happened (June 18th 2016 ~2pm), the car began to roll backwards because I was on a slight incline. I almost hit the vehicle behind me. I tried tried putting it in park. I tried switching to manual mode. I tried turning the car off and on. Nothing worked. It would not move. It was as though it was stuck in neutral. Then without reason, it began to move again. When it did move, it was extremely jerky and lurched forward a couple of times. That was the worst and most frightening. Lately all it has been doing is once or twice a day on average it does the slow acceleration and lurch. This happens during my morning and evening commute. Once it has happened, it does not happen until the next day. I have been lucky that it has not happened while turning into traffic. But it is clearly a dangerous situation.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #26

Jul 092016


  • 13,845 miles


Unable to move from a stopped position with the car in drive. Dual clutch accelerator issue with this model with no current fix.

- Yuma, AZ, USA

problem #25

Sep 302015


  • 1,000 miles
Brought brand new August 2015. Many times the car lurches into gear. Several dct transmission hesitates noticeable when accelerating from dead stop. Car has 16,000 miles (but started around 1000 miles),. dct clutches periodically when at a dead stop will not engage, but once RPM's drop it will start to move, but prior it's like the car is in have to wait until the RPM's come down and push accelerator again and then it will engage. Of course the dealer can not duplicate, so they say there is nothing wrong.. many times I was almost hit when turning due to the car not moving.. very dangerous and someone is going to get hurt or die!!! will Hyundai do something then, because its seems that after 167 complaints they still don't care to do a thing about it!! shame on you! since about 12,000 miles the car has been making a hissing type noise when accelerating, brought to dealer, they said its normal & that its the fuel pump finally being broke into the engine and that is very normal..they also lied on my work order that they compared that noise to a like vehicle with the same amount of miles and it did the same thing, however they told me on the phone that they would find me the same car with the same miles to show me its normal. Well that didn't happen, so they lied on the work order to cover their butts and to work against me when I contact lemon law attorneys. Who the heck are they kidding?!! brought to another mechanic & he said that is not the problem at all, but can't seem to figure out what it im spending money to have them try & diagnosis it even tho I have a warranty. Tires (I think) causing the car to shimmy shake all the time at high speeds. They have been rotated & balanced 5 times & the passenger seat shakes like crazy, but again that is all normal they say. Shame on Hyundai for doing nothing about all these complaints!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #24

Jul 192016


  • 2,300 miles
Last week while driving this vehicle, I was stopped at a red light on university pkway, heading to utc mall, in sarasota Florida. When it was time to move the car would not! when I took my foot off the brake it would not move! it would not roll forward, it would not do anything!! the RPM's jumped on gauges and ac cut out. I shut off the ac, but the same issue was repeating itself. I also tried a different drive mode. Nothing worked, until I applied max acceleration, as I had to get out of the intersection, somehow, at which point the tires squealed, and the car took off! I found a parking space and turned the car off. I called my service advisor at the lakewood store in bradenton and he told me to have it towed in. I chose to drive it in. Lakewood service techs, in bradenton, fl. Performed Hyundai multi point inspection and I was told, and it is written on my service order, "tech unable to duplicate issue. No issue found. Vehicle functioning as designed!" I have contacted Consumer Affairs, per my service advisor's recommendation, and his service manager, and I have a case number, however I have not heard back, at this writing. I left the car there! I will not drive this, again! that was two weeks ago! I've also been in communication with the operations manager for the gettel Hyundai dealerships in Florida, and he informed me yesterday, that I would be hearing from Hyundai motors in atlanta, ga. With a resolution. I did not! this car is unsafe, and I want them to buy it back! it only has 2300 miles on it, purchased 4 months ago! I have googled this vehicle, and have found many complaints, of the same nature. I would like to put this nightmare behind me, and be able to go and purchase another vehicle. I cannot, until this one is resolved, and I am reimbursed. I am paying $400 a month, currently to Hyundai motor Corp., for a vehicle I cannot drive!

- Bradenton, FL, USA

problem #23

Jul 222016


  • 1,900 miles
I had a half dozen incidents where the dct either does not engage or only moves the car very slowly which indicates that it is slipping badly. I also have had 2 incidents where the car accelerated at first and then stopped accelerating as I was trying to make a left hand turn from a stop sign. The speed limit is 40 mph there and it left me wondering whether I would into the right hand lane before I had an accident, I have driven this car 1500 miles on local rural and city streets since I purchased the car in April 2016. I have had the vehicle back to the dealer twice with the latest being told that Hyundai is working on a dct software upgrade to be available in 3 to 6 weeks.

- Boulder, CO, USA

problem #22

Jul 182016


  • 500 miles


Went to a Hyundai dealership to buy the Hyundai Santa Fe model. They didn't have one in stock but told me that the Hyundai Tucson model was just like the Santa Fe but a smaller version. I got the Tucson vehicle and in 2 days the air conditioner only blew hot air while on the highway. When I called the Hyundai service agent I was told to only use the air conditioner on the lowest fan. If I put it on a higher setting it will freeze up and blow only hot air. It was 95 out side. Later I came to a stop and when I stepped on the gas the engine revved up but the car would not go forward. I let off on the gas and tried again. The engine again revved up for about 6 seconds then the car lurched forward. The next day I had parked on a small incline. When I went to leave I: put my foot on the brake - released the parking brake - put it into drive and stepped on the gas. The engine revved up but did not go forward, instead it rolled backwards about 6 to 12 inches then it popped into gear and lurched forward. Every time I drove the car I had problems with that Hyundai Tucson. I felt unsafe and was worried that there would be an accident with the car acting like it did. Took the car to the dealership and they could not find anything wrong with the car. I looked on line and found hundreds of reviews of this vehicle all stating the same problems I was having. So, I traded in my 6 day old Tucson for a Santa Fe - and I am very happy now. The Tucson I felt was the most unsafe and unreliable vehicle that I have ever owned or driven. No one at the dealership told me about these known problems and/or issues with the duel transmission system. All I can say is this car is a potential life threatening vehicle and if Hyundai does not take care of these issues then there is a high probability of fatalities occurring.

- Banning, CA, USA

problem #21

Jul 032016


  • 25 miles
I have a 2016 Hyundai Tucson sport 1.6 turbo. It has a dual clutch transmission. Everytime I press the accelerator slowly the car takes 5 seconds to start moving. When it does move the transmission chatters and is not smooth. As I am slowing down, stop, then proceed to go the trans either does not engage or there is a 5 second delay, chatters, and then takes off. It happens every time I drive the car and my wife is afraid to drive it. I afraid to drive it because I think it is going to get stuck in the middle of the road when I am turing. Which it has done at least 10 + times. I almost got hit 6 times. If you look on Hyundai forums and youtube it is a widespread complaint. I have called Hyundai about the problem and they do not have a fix. It is going into the dealership this Thursday 7/28/16. I have over 25 years experience in the automotive industry, and have 15 yrs dealership experience.

- Forked River, NJ, USA

problem #20

Jul 012016


  • 2,500 miles
Transmission fails to engage. It happened the first time right in the morning from my driveway. Put the car in drive and car was inching forward while giving it plenty of gas/rpms. Car finally went into gear and started to move and was driving normal for the rest of the day. Thought nothing of it since it only happened once. Then about 3 weeks later, stopped at red light, once it turned green I stepped on the gas and the same thing, inching forward, high rpms, finally took gear after about 30 seconds and many upset people behind me. This bring me to yesterday, stopped at a stop sign to cross a busy non-stopping cross traffic, waiting to cross the street, found an opening and stepped on the gas expecting the car to make it through the intersection. I had plenty of time to move through, but suddenly my car just decided to not move while stuck right in the middle of the street. Oncoming car had to swerve and nearly hit my hood. Finally car started to move to barely make it out of the way for the 2nd oncoming car, scary stuff. Took it to the dealership for service and told them about my 2 incidents and was told this was "normal for the turbo". also, I noticed that when I drive up an incline (say a parking garage) when I get to the top and level out, my car gets a huge rush of rpms and im not even stepping on the gas. Not sure if this is at all related, but just assuming that it is part of the bigger problem with the transmission. Car is 2016 Tucson, limited, ultimate package, AWD I don't feel safe in this car at all. I hope there is a fix for this soon.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #19

Jun 042016


  • 8,000 miles
On 4 separate occasions my car would not accelerate from a stop. The first time it was after driving the vehicle for over 20 miles (so warmed up), stopped at traffic light, took my foot off the break and tried to accelerate, and the car would not engage, I was in eco mode at the time, I shifted it to manual and apply the gas nothing, shifted to sport still nothing, finally turned off car waited, turned car back on (while traffic piling up) and finally slowly started to move. I had a scheduled appointment with my dealership (as I had less than 5000 miles on it), and told them the problem, they said never heard that before (which I come to find was not a true statement). They said unless they can replicate it or the engine triggers the alarm nothing they can do. Car continued to act up, last time was after remote starting it and tried to leave the parking lot, would not engage. Called the dealership again and they advised still never heard of this being an issue, and unless it triggers a warning nothing they can do. Upon communication with other owners who are experiencing the same issue, I called the national office to log complaint, they told me to take my car in, as this is known issue and hopefully will be able to fix it, that was 2 weeks ago and haven't heard anything since. I turned it in because it is a safety issue not knowing when the car will not engage when pressing on the gas. Concerned for my safety and my passengers safety.

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #18

Jun 182016


  • 13,000 miles
Have had four instances where the vehicle encounters an issue with moving forward after coming to a stop. First instance at a stop light, was unable to move forward at all. Engine would rev when applying gas, but there was no forward movement at all. Vehicle was not placed into park, or had brake engaged. After a few minutes of "playing" with gear shift, was able to move forward again. Three other instances, after coming to a stop, vehicle would only creep forward at slow speed for a few moments even if fully "stepping on the gas". in these instances I noticed that the engine was stuck revving high (was audible while at stop) and after driving slow for a few minutes it sorted itself out. The engine stopped being stuck at high rpms and the vehicle regained its ability to drive forward with usual handling. Have taken it twice to dealership while mentioning this issue, was told that unless there was an error message or if it could be duplicated by their tech, nothing could really be done. Fourth and most recent issue, was in a drive through, and the issue came about upon exiting. Engine was revving high from a complete stop, but would only creep forward when applying gas. After driving slow coming out of the parking lot for a few moments, the issue "sorted itself out." Engine rpms dropped and acceleration returned to normal.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #17

Jul 122016


  • 3,000 miles
We are noticing a major problem with transmission. Randomly at red lights after we stop...once the green light appears and we press down on the pedal to accelerate...the car does not go anywhere...the engine just keeps reving. It's starting to be more frequent. This almost caused us an accident over ten times now. We do not feel safe behind the car anymore and considering trading it in already.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #16

Jun 162016


  • 100 miles
When in driving, coming to a stop, the car lunges forward, must keep foot on brake, Hyundai says this is normal for the Tucson. I think this is a problem. Reported it in my first service and told it's Hyundai's problem. If I hit something it's my problem.

- Clermont, FL, USA

problem #15

May 282016


  • 6,000 miles
Just as many others have reported on three occasions I have not had movement to the wheels when in drive. It feels as though you are in neutral and hitting the gas. Lucking two of the times this occurred while leaving my garage, the other time was while at a red light that turned green. The car would not move. It is an accident waiting to happen, I am very scared to drive it. It is now in the shop for a second time. However, they can't reproduce the problem and nothing shows up on the vehicles computer. I'm nervous they are going to want me to take it back when it is so unsafe to drive. This started happening around the 6,000 miles mark.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #14

Jun 232016


  • 1,015 miles
Update to complaint 10876205... the day after I posted the complaint, I was taking a left hand turn pulling away from a stop sign, it slowly slipped into 1st gear and as there was a car coming crossways rapidly, I stepped on the gas pedal a little more, the engine revved up ~ 4000 RPM in 2nd gear but wasn┐T moving any faster, jerked into 3rd, was almost hit. I took my Tucson back to the dealership the next day (06/24/16) and they still have it (06/28/16). Is anyone going to step in before someone gets killed?

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #13

Jun 172016


  • 3,863 miles
When the vehicle is in drive and you are stopped at a light or waiting to make a turn and then you go to accelerate, the car acts as if it's in neutral or limps along. This only happens when the car is stopped and you go to accelerate from a stop. Clearly in my video, you can see that the car is at a stop, the car is in drive and this time the car didn't even move until the engine was producing 4500rpm's and then only achieved 7mph. It almost seems like the car has neutraled out or the gear is slipping. We took the vehicle to Hyundai two times concerning this issue, the first time the tech was able to reproduce our concern and they performed a 'relearn' on the transmission. The second time they weren't able to reproduce the problem and we were sent on our way as if everything was ok. This concern is dangerous and we are scared, literally terrified to drive this vehicle because I was almost T-boned while making a left turn through an intersection and vehicle didn't respond. Our concern is intermittent and Hyundai just sends us on our way as if nothing is wrong with the vehicle. If anything happens to me, myself or my family because of this vehicle, please investigate the powertrain. Hyundai has declined my request to repurchase or replace under the Arizona lemon law. This vehicle is dangerous and now Hyundai is not helping to resolve this issue. I have a couple off videos showing the car demonstrating the concern. Please help

- Mesa, AZ, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?