Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,465 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Commander engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Commander Owner Comments

problem #20

Feb 202012

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • 59,800 miles


Vehicle has lost all power while driving, engine shuts down, no electrical power and had to coast to a stop. Vehicle restarts after turning key to off and then restarting. This has happened twice now, the first time on Feb. 20th, 2012 and yesterday Mar.10th, 2012.

- Decatur, MI, USA

problem #19

Jun 082011


  • 47,700 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while driving at highway speeds, the engine stalled. The vehicle was taken to a local shop where they were unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 47,700 and the current mileage was 48,000.

- El Dorado Hill , CA, USA

problem #18

Apr 032011

Commander 8-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
When driving vehicle it stalls at times and when parked at stop it seems like the engine is choking and wants to shut off.

- Tx, TX, USA

problem #17

Dec 192010


  • 39,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start and was towed to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was contacted who did not offer any assistance and the vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 39,000 and current mileage 40,000.

- Kettering, OH, USA

problem #16

Feb 172011


  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact stated while driving 40 mph, the vehicle stalled and all the doors locked. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted who informed her that the vehicle was included on two recalls and referred her to the dealer. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer and not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 54,000.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #15

Oct 112010


  • 52,000 miles
2007 Jeep Commander has stalling problems. It has been quitting unexpectedly while driving, causing steering and brakes to go out. Very close to having a head on collision in an intersection and other close calls. Dealer has been trying to fix for almost 3 months.

- Roswell, GA, USA

problem #14

Jan 272010


  • 45,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle would stall sporadically and restart after it was turned on and off within a minute; the failure was intermittent. After the latest occurrence, the vehicle had to be towed to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that there were no related recalls. The failure mileage was approximately 45,000.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #13

Sep 152010

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
I own a 2007 Jeep Commander and in the last 2 months, it has suddenly stalled twice while we are driving on the highway, driving 65-70 mph. We have almost gotten in an accident twice now, since the car completely shuts down in the middle of a highway...and we have to coast over to the breakdown lane, across several lanes of traffic, with our hazards on. I can find thousands of people with this same problem online...but there is no recall on it for some reason?? I cant drive my 6 month old around in a car that is this unsafe! please help!

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #12

Jul 272010


  • 38,100 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact was driving 65 mph when the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle as it resumed normal operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 38,100.

- Inola, OK, USA

problem #11

May 012010


  • 79,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. While driving 65 mph, without a warning the vehicle stalled. She was able to drive onto the emergency lane and turn the vehicle off. When the vehicle was turned back on, it began to drive normally. The dealer was contacted and stated that they have had other complaints with the same year, make and model vehicle; however, they are unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 79500 and the current mileage was 81001.

- Penn Valley, CA, USA

problem #10

May 282010


  • 51,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. While driving 50 mph, the contact stated that the vehicle suddenly shut off. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who performed a minor tune up; however, the failure continued to occur. One month prior to the initial failure, the contact noticed that the vehicle would stall occasionally. The current and failure mileages were approximately 51,000.

- Scott Air Force Base, IL, USA

problem #9

Nov 202007


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander purchased brand new. She stated while traveling at various speeds of anywhere over 10mph, the vehicle would stall without warning. The vehicle was taken to her local dealer where they could not duplicate the failure. The dealer stated due to the cold temperatures, the vehicle computer would erase the diagnostic codes that were needed in order for them to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was left with the dealer because the contact did not feel it was safe to drive. There were no repairs made to the vehicle and there were no recalls. The failure and current mileages were 30,000.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #8

Oct 082007


  • 50,000 miles
When I bought my 2007 Jeep Commander 2 years ago, a problem occurred 2 months after buying the car, where it would slow down when I was driving at a fast speed. This only occurred once, so I let it slide; however, this recently started becoming a frequent problem. There are even multiple times when the engine just completely shuts off in the middle of the highway. This is very dangerous for me and my kids' safety. There was even a time when a car almost crashed into me because the stop was so sudden. The problem ranges from my car just slowing down automatically to completely shutting off. The engine also starts shaking which ends up shaking my entire car. I do not understand why this is happening, but I do know that it is not safe. I took my car to the dealership I purchased the car from 1 year ago, but they only told me that I should not worry. I then recently returned to the dealership again when I noticed the problem was becoming gradually worse, and they wanted to charge me 1000 dollars for damages that they were not even sure about. I did not find this to be just because I was not going to pay that amount of money for something that is not my fault. I researched online that the feds are actually involved with engine stall problems for Jeep Commanders because more than 135,000 people have the same complaint as I do. This is very dangerous and something needs to be done. So far, I have not received any significant help.

- Peachtree City, GA, USA

problem #7

Mar 052009


  • 40,800 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. While driving between 20-50 mph, the vehicle loses complete power without warning. When accelerating from a stop, the vehicle is unresponsive. On one occasion, the engine lost power in the middle of the intersection and then lunged forward seconds later. The contact attempted to accelerate, but the vehicle lunged twice before responding. The dealer and manufacturer stated that there were no recalls for this failure. The contact has an appointment to have the vehicle inspected on March 9, 2009. The failure mileage was 40,800.

- Randolph, NJ, USA

problem #6

Dec 172008


  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle shut off. The road conditions were not a factor. While decelerating, all of the indicators on the instrument panel flashed and the vehicle shut off. The contact was able to maintain control of the vehicle. The failure occurred intermittently and the dealer could not find any failures. After the failure occurred, the vehicle would immediately restart. The vehicle is currently at the dealer and they still cannot determine the cause of the failure. The manufacturer could not seem to troubleshoot the issue. The failure mileage was 33,000. Updated 02/10/09 updated 02/11/09.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #5

Nov 012008

Commander 6-cyl

  • 13,901 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. While driving 60 mph, the vehicle shut off in the middle of the road. The failure occurred more than once. The most recent failure occurred without warning. When the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle would not move. The vehicle then immediately restarted. There was no warning before the vehicle shut off and no codes appeared afterwards. The vehicle is very difficult to maintain control of when attempting to pull off the road. The dealer kept the vehicle for a week, but they could not determine the cause of the failure. They also hooked up a scanner to the vehicle, but there were no error codes. The failure mileage was 13,901. Updated 03/12/09. Updated 03/16/09.

- Albany, GA, USA

problem #4

Jun 162008

Commander 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle loses power and shuts off. When she restarts the vehicle, it runs sluggish and with less power. She is unable to accelerate over 30 mph. The contact called the dealer and they advised her to bring in the vehicle to the service department. The dealer could not duplicate the failure on two separate occasions. NHTSA campaign id number 08V203000 (power train:automatic transmission:control module (tcm, PCM)) was found for the 2006 Commanders. The mileages were unavailable. Updated 10/03/08 the dealer updated the PCM. Updated 10/06/08.

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #3

Nov 122007

Commander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles
The vehicle has stopped 2 times and stalled 3 while driving. My children were inside the vehicle it was scary.

- Laredo, TX, USA

problem #2

Dec 312007


  • miles
I purchased my 2007 Jeep Commander N auguest of 2007. Every since October, my truck will sometimes stall out on my when I'm at a red light or when I in idle with the car running. I then have to put the car in park, turn car off, and then re start car. This has happened numerous times, and I have nearly avoided being in an accidents. I have went to the dealership twice to report the problme, they claim they can not find the problem and they have not have any complaints. However, this is not true because numerous Jeep owners have experienced this problem as well. Please help before someone is seriusly injuried or killed.

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #1

May 282007

Commander 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Rolling to a slow stop the vehicle stalled unexpectedly. There was a loss of power brakes. The vehicle was restarted successfully.

- Oceanside, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?