Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,166 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Commander engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Commander Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Aug 202016

Commander

  • 168,934 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

For a number of years now I intermittently receive a "transmission over temp" message in my dash and the car won't start for about 24 hours later. This usually happens after a good rain. I will drive to somewhere and then park for about 10 minutes. When I try to start the vehicle, it doesn't start until about 24 hours later. I replaced the battery and still have the same issue. Auto shops were not able to fix this issue and no one seems to have a clue how to fix this. Right now the vehicle is unreliable as if I go somewhere there is a risk that I will be stranded.

- Oakville, OH, USA

problem #28

Jul 042016

Commander

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that the vehicle was previously repaired according to a recall for the final drive module, which was reprogrammed and re-flashed. After the repair and driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle would downshift without warning, which caused the final drive module to overheat. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the final drive module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and opened a case regarding the failure; however, a decision of the repair was not finalized. The approximate failure mileage was 89,000.

- Wyalusing, PA, USA

problem #27

Mar 212016

Commander

  • 115,000 miles
It is the second time this happens to us when on a highway. The first time my husband was driving and we have our child with us. We thought it was a part of the latest recall we received in the mail regarding the key ignition. This time I was driving on a highway, going about 60-65 mph when the engine light came on, I starting losing power, tachometer starting going down and the accelerator pedal was completely unresponsive and significantly hard to push down on it, the speed continued to go down as I was trying to get to the shoulder as fast as I could but with an unresponsive engine it was very difficult. It was also difficult to move the steering wheel as this got harden. I managed to pull over on the shoulder and had to turn the engine off. After waiting 10-15 minutes, I turned the engine back on and was able to get to my destination which was not far from where I had to pull over. The engine light is still on and I'm afraid this would happen again next time I drive my vehicle which is every day. This was not a pleasant experience at all and it is very frightening when you are on a highway and all of the sudden have no control of your vehicle, it is definitely not safe at all. This Jeep has gone through all the recalls that I have gotten in the mail.

- Perry Hall, MD, USA

problem #26

Jun 082015

Commander

  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while idle with the brake pedal depressed, the engine RPM's rapidly increased and the vehicle jerked forward without warning. In addition, the vehicle failed to accelerate when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000.

- Lemon Grove, CA, USA

problem #25

Nov 192015

Commander

  • 112,000 miles
While in motion on an interstate, going about 70 mph the vehicle began to decelerate. The electrical warning panel flickered. When the accelerator pedal was depressed the vehicle failed to respond. The vehicle would only go 30 mph with accelerator pedal depressed completely. Needing to get off of interstate, the vehicle continued to only go 30 mph on a city street. Occasionally, the vehicle would shake, jerk, and the electrical warning panel would flicker. Transmission over temp warning light then came on. Took vehicle to a transmission repair shop. Unable to put vehicle in reverse, vehicle will not respond. Waiting to be inspected to determine the problem.

- Sissonville, WV, USA

problem #24

Oct 012011

Commander 6-cyl

  • 51,968 miles
Right after purchasing this car in 10/2011 the Jeep would randomly cut off or lose power, not sure if this an electrical issue. Due to the randomness of the issue, they could not duplicate the problem when I brought in the car. After going back to the dealership the manger at the time wrote/promised that his establishment (reliable auto) would repair/fix the issue if it occurred again (within a year or 12,000 miles). After a years time the issue still continued, but now I cannot bring it in to be fixed w/out being charged. Whenever I pushed down on the pedal to accelerate, the car could not accelerate past 25- 30 mph! this would occur while I was already in motion, or at a light. Felt like the car was, "stalling" and the service park assist message would appear. I would try to shift the gear but nothing changed, the car still would not accelerate. This happened on multiple occasions. Sometimes the next day the car would drive just fine, other times the problem, "fixed itself" within a few days. Every time I took the car in they had a difficult time duplicating the problem. My check engine light would also illuminate but when checked no codes could be found. Super frustrating and scary to deal w/ this. In July/Aug 2013 the problem got worse when I was involved in an automobile accident. Took the Commander to Chrysler/Jeep and they were able to identify an electrical/shiftmodule problem. One of the reps. At Jeep told me this been common w/ Jeep Commanders. Before I had the Commander, I owned a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee, purchased brand new in 2005. Great car but had some electrical issues, when on, my headlights would randomly start flashing. In my experience, Jeep look good but come w/ too many issues. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #23

Apr 012014

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • 52,815 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am 74 years of age and at the time of my husband's death four years ago purchased a 2007 Chrysler Jeep Commander which now has 53,815 miles. I began experiencing problems with unexpected complete loss of power on both interstate highways and residential streets over the last year. These occurrences have increased in frequency at varying times when driving within the last six months, and most terrifying on the interstate where I was faced with the realization of deceleration and cutoff at the speed limit of 55 mph. I received a safety recall notice (P41/nhtsa14V-38), round or about April 2, 2015 from Chrysler group llc informing me of the vehicular problems described I am experiencing, Chrysler group's recall notice makes a clear and specific representation that repairs would performed to correct the vehicle's defects free of charge when it is returned to the dealership. Accordingly, southfield Chrysler was contacted to schedule an appointment to diagnose the problem and ordered parts on or about April 6, 2015. I have been waiting for the part(s) for nearly three weeks. On April 24, 2015 I again contacted southfield Chrysler after the vehicle hesitated to accelerate and was informed the manufacturer: "Chrysler either will not, or has not, sent the parts need to fix the problem, " contrary to the language of the notice. Southfield Chrysler will not perform repairs without payment for the parts. Southfield Chrysler has taken the position: "if I pay for repairs the manufacturer will reimburse me, " which continues to leave me subjected to injure and/or death. I do not have the available funds to pay for repairs, relative to living on a fixed income and specific and very limited budget. It is clear to me that the manufacture and dealership will not perform responsibly to address a serious life and death that they are clearly aware exist. A complaint is proper.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #22

Jul 012014

Commander

  • miles
It has been happening since at least July 2014. Vehicle will stall without warning. Will accelerate with out being able to stop. Sometimes we are even unable to get it started for a few minutes. Even after taking everything off the key ring it is continuing to get worse.

- Lehi, UT, USA

problem #21

Nov 162014

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
I was traveling with the cruise control engaged and I disengaged to work around some slower cars. When I re engaged the speed control it caused the vehicle to shift down to lower gears and sped ahead to around 80 mph before I was able to disengage it. Has there been a recall for this problem?

- Bayview, ID, USA

problem #20

Sep 102007

Commander 6-cyl

  • 100 miles
I called the dealer (walnut creek Chrysler Jeep) in 2007 that my engine made a stalling noise when I started the engine, and they said not to worry about it (I purchased the vehicle in May 2007, so only a few months later). I moved the car to ct, and to tx (warranty companies continue to track my address, no word of recalls, they almost stalk me, I have the mailings to prove it, which I would like to opt-out from; only use an E-mail for recalls). For months, and years, I have been complaining that my vehicle has been accelerating usually while stopped at a traffic light, it stalls while driving, the front panel lights flicker even shut off (seems running on auto Pilot), the engine self-shuts off for no reason. I even asked dealers if there were any recalls, they said no. I heard that many people had their front panel vehicle lights flicker erratically, also the self-accelerating and self-stalling problems with their vehicles. The thought that my car had been hacked crossed my mind (many studies show that this can happen); I contacted my insurance company, and also the state police Agency regarding a drivers license and Agency documentation fine print about research. No accidents, but the above problems continue to affect my vehicle (the panel lights "some what" slowed down, but the self-acceleration, self-stalling continue, and self-shut down continue. I have driven my vehicle for approximately 35,000 miles, and purchased it new in May 2007. Is this a safety issue? note: Do not post or distribute my personal information, or upload to a public database. Please keep my personal information private. In addition, I do not want to be pestered with more warranty offers; I have no idea how they obtained my physical address.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #19

Jul 072013

Commander 8-cyl

  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle engine shut down suddenly while driving on the interstate. I was able to turn on the hazard lights and coast through traffic to the shoulder of the road. Upon investigation I noticed that the ignition switch had turned off which led to a hazardous situation.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #18

Jan 012010

Commander 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Early 2010 I experienced issues with the engine light, "service park assist' and all my gears lighting up at once, and not being able to accelerate in the middle of 65mph traffic!. after researching the 'symptoms' and talking to several mechanics it was discovered the esm 'was bad' and was replaced. It began at approx 55,000 miles. I went thru quite a process with Chrysler over this issue. Long story short, now...amazingly after another 60,000 miles (coincidence"?") I need to have it replaced again as all the same things are happening" Jeep usually last a long time, and this is not an issue with maintaining my vehicle or how I drive...so I will have to potentially replace it again and again? of course Chrysler tells me its not a known problem with the vehicles yet just on this site and looking for the exact complaints I find no less than 45 of the same complaint and at least another 100+ that are probably the same just worded differently. How many complaints does it take to have a company pay for and replace defective parts? does it take a certain number of fatalities?" I honestly don't understand how it just gets ignored fort years and years. On top of that, the work has to be done at a dealer due to certain tools needed, and its no less than $1000 to replace. How convenient for the company.

- Waite Park, MN, USA

problem #17

May 072013

Commander 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I was making a left hand turn on to a busy road and the vehicle would not accelerate - there was no response to the gas pedal regardless of how far I pushed it. The vehicle would not go above 40mph, nor was there any increase in rpms. I tried shifting to neutral and the engine revved and the rpms responded to the gas pedal. When I shifted back to drive there was no response once again. I managed to make it home at 40 mph. The vehicle has done this periodically and shows no service engine code. I also have had the problem where the lights on dash show [P][R][N][D] and the Jeep appears to go into a "limp" mode with no response...this happens while driving - usually shifting to neutral and back to park corrects the situation. I am very concerned that this is a safety issue. I have two children and I Transport them in this vehicle. No can figure out the problem although you can read for days about it on the internet!!! very frustrating and don't want to see someone get hurt or killed before action is taken!!!!

- Clio, MI, USA

problem #16

Nov 162012

Commander 6-cyl

  • 67,522 miles
I was driving home from picking up my daughter from a school event when suddenly my car slowed down on its own down to 10 mph. Then the car completely stopped. On the control console it only read "service park assist" and the drive position controls where all highlighted and boxed out (drnp). I lost all control of the vehicle other than turning the wheel. I tried to accelerate by pressing the gas and it just revved the engine and did nothing else. I swerved off the road and hit a median that took out the tire and left damage to the left of the car under carriage. I had to shift the gear into park and back to drive in order for the car to start up again. I took the car to a local Jeep Chrysler Dodge service depot and had it ran for a diagnostic for at which time they told me that it was a common issue found in this model and earlier models and that it wasn't covered by the power train that the vehicle would need $1100 in repairs to fix an electronic transformer shift modulator. I had just purchased the car on October 31 from a Jeep Chrysler Dodge dealership and less than three weeks later the car is for crap. And the dealership refused to fix the problem and Jeep has not issued a recall for this issue but they have for the 2006 model. This problem is life threatening. It can occur at anytime at any speed. If I were on a expressway my children and I would probably be dead. Jeep needs to be pursed for this issue and forced to fix the damage on any vehicles reporting this issue. You can also refer to claims 10379415 10381239. There are also hundreds more complaints online at sites like jeepcommander.com.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #15

Oct 122012

Commander

  • 82,858 miles
This has happened to me. I am a mother, wife, daughter. The bad thing of this situation is that I had this replaced once before I had 31,505 miles on it and the ems electric transmission shift module had to be replaced. 4 yrs later mileage at 82,000 miles the same part has to be replaced. I have contacted Chrysler and all they can say we are sorry there is nothing I can do for you. This part is no longer under warranty and informed that the part (68021352) was not included in a recall. This malfunctions has caused me to no longer feel safe in my car. I don't want to drive my car with my daughter in it. With out warning this has happened one to many times. This part should be recalled when I had the vehicle serviced back in 2008 I paid $100 now today when I had it repaired it cost $1000. Funny isn't it that over 4 yrs this part has doubled in price. And the mechanic at Chrysler says to me oh yeah I've seen this alot on this model.

- Augusta , MI, USA

problem #14

Nov 132008

Commander 6-cyl

  • 31,505 miles
While driving my assistance system brake light came on I was driving 30mph and had to pull over the car would not shift or go over 30 mpr at 31,505 miles on it and the ems electric transmission shift module. Has to be replaced. 4 yrs later mileage at 82,000 miles the same part has to be replaced.this time I was on interstate 94 driving 60mpr and the lights came on I pulled off interstate and when I pulled into gas station the car pulled and lunged I turned it off waited and turned back on while I was driving at 30mpr it would not go past 30mpr. I have contacted Chrysler and all they can say is hold on to your receipts as this part is no longer under warranty and informed that the vehicle was not included in a recall. This malfunctions has caused me to no longer feel safe in my car. I don't want to drive my car with my daughter in it.

- Augusta, MI, USA

problem #13

Aug 142012

Commander 8-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
Vehicle appeared to hesitate and eventually stalled loosing power. All instrumentation lights came on during this event. Driver was able to coast to the side of the highway; place the car in park/neutral; and restart the engine. The same event has happened at least 4 other times since the first at varying speed (I.e. 35 to 65 mph) and there were no warning lights making this a very dangerous and unpredictable event. I took the vehicle to an authorized dealer and he stated that it could be the power control module; but was unsure. I'm very concerned with the safety of my family. The symptom of this problem (engine stall) is unpredictable and is a recipe for a serious and life threatening accident. I've reviewed hundreds of complaints reporting similar conditions. There needs to be a global recall on all 2007 Jeep Commanders reporting this problem to have this issues repaired before there is a loss of life resulting from this event. Nhtsb please respond to this complaint and compel Chrysler to issue a recall before it is too late and life threatening injury occurs.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #12

Aug 112012

Commander 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Accelerated from stop light and vehicle stalled and would not accelerate.

- Bimble, KY, USA

problem #11

Oct 232008

Commander 6-cyl

  • 23,900 miles
This problem began in the fall of 2008. Typically, after shifting the car into drive, the car would not accelerate past idle speed, have a moderate bucking, all gear selector lights on the dash were boxed in, and an error message would read "service park assist system". the problem was serviced under warranty. The dealership checked wires and connectors, and replaced the bezel assembly on shifter. This seemed to solve the problem until recently. Beginning a few months ago, around the beginning of 2012, I am having the same problem with the exact same symptoms: All gear selector lights illuminated, no acceleration for 10-15 seconds, and service park assist system message. The problem occurs almost always in the morning on the way to work, school, etc.. it has never lasted longer than 15-20 seconds on any day, and seems to occur approximately one to two times per week, over the last 4 weeks. I have an appointment later this week at a dealer to check out the problem. But reading several internet sources, this obviously not an isolated issue, as there are many accounts of the same problem.

- Gadsden, AL, USA

problem #10

Nov 112011

Commander 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
Doesn't accelerate sometimes." Service park assist system " appears on the panel. I've had the oxygen sensor replaces and still have the same problems from time to time. I pull into traffic and it won't go. This could very well do harm to my family in the vehicle. I'm worried!

- Pgh, PA, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?