Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,665 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Jeep Commander engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Jeep Commander Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #39

Oct 232016

Commander

  • 118,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Commander. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was repaired, but the issue recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 118,000.

- East Chicago, IN, USA

problem #38

Jul 062015

Commander

  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Commander. While driving 55 mph, the vehicle stalled and was able to be restarted. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 108,000.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #37

Oct 242015

Commander

  • 15,894 miles
After owning the vehicle for several months I had a car accident where a man ran into the back of my 2008 Jeep Commander due to the vehicle stalled on a street and then shut off. I took the vehicle to the dealer and they could not find anything wrong with the engine. I have driven the vehicle for years without major incident. However here lately the vehicle has stalled and then shut off while driving at speeds between 45-55mph. I have had 2 types of recall work done. However that has not corrected the problem and the car right now is back at the dealer.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #36

Sep 302014

Commander

  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Commander. While driving at 50 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. In addition, the vehicle failed to start. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact also stated that the engine warning light had previously illuminated and the cruise control was activated but independently deactivated and over time failed to function. The vehicle had been taken to a dealer but the contact was unsure about what needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 54,000.

- Conway, NC, USA

problem #35

Nov 182014

Commander

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Commander. While driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the spark plugs needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Lithia, FL, USA

problem #34

May 192015

Commander

  • 119,189 miles
I have been the owner of 2008 Jeep Commander limited edition for almost 5 years. When I first purchased this vehicle it was my dream truck.. however it has now become my bomb waiting to go off killing me and my children. This truck randomly shuts off during high speeds, doesnt allow me break sometimes for read lights and put my life at risk daily when I drive. I have continually contact the dealership and headquarter about how dangerous my truck has become. I have missed countless days of work and be left stranded when the engine wont turn over. I have begged for help and nobody seems to care. Will it take a me being killed or hurting another for some to finally help. They continue to tell me the recall ignition piece isnt in and that they cant help me. I'm at risk of losing my job because the truck I pay for monthly isnt safe to drive. Please can someone please help me.

- Sneville , GA, USA

problem #33

May 132015

Commander

  • 79,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After driving for about 10 minutes I shut vehicle off came out to start 2 minutes later vehicle would not start. After waiting for road service about half hour vehicle started without any assistance. All lights, gauges and windows worked as they should. This happened several more times after that.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #32

Jul 172013

Commander

  • 94,923 miles
2008 Jeep Commander, engine would repeatedly shut down while driving. It would happened at all speeds, from pulling out to driving on the highway. I received the safety recall P57/NHTSA 14V-567 over six months ago which stated "Chrysler is making every effort to provide the part as quickly as possible". this is an extremely dangerous problem that could end up killing somebody if it hasn't already. It is unacceptable that Chrysler can operate in this manner and take this long to fix the problem. It appears they could care less about the customers safety and that they are not taking the recall seriously.

- Pawleys Island, SC, USA

problem #31

Mar 092015

Commander

  • 145,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while attempting to make a right turn, the vehicle lost power. In addition, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to accelerate over 40 mph. The vehicle was towed to a dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 145,000.

- Troy, NY, USA

problem #30

Jan 152015

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
In Jan 2015 our key fob got stuck in the ignition of our 2008 Jeep Commander. A day later, we were able to free it. On 2/19/15 it would not start and we had to have it jump started twice. Once started it drove without issues for 3 days. Then on 2/23/15, the Jeep would not start and the key fob got stuck in the ignition. The Jeep could not move and could not be taken out of park. The only thing that worked were the lights. We tried to jump start the vehicle and tried everything we could think of to release the key from the ignition. The fob would not release so we had to have the Jeep towed to the dealership where we purchased it. The mechanic tested the Jeep (battery tested fine). They called Chrysler to see if they had any parts to fix the issue and discovered that the issue with our Jeep was a faulty ignition. The mechanic got the fob released from the ignition by unplugging the battery. He could not guarantee how long this would work. We called the recall hotline and confirmed our Jeep Commander was listed on recall P57. However, Chrysler has no fix at this time. The hotline advised us to get a hold of a Chrysler dealership and get a rental car free of charge through them until the Jeep could be fixed (at an unknown future date). The local Chrysler dealership refused to give us a rental and said they could not look at the Jeep for a few weeks. On 2/28 the Jeep would not start again so we had to purchase a new battery (at our expense). Because of the P57 ignition recall we are worried that we have an unreliable vehicle and that it could also stall while driving and cause an accident with injury or death. We feel unsafe in the Jeep! we want Chrysler to fix these unsafe ignitions immediately and in the meantime provide us free alternative transportation and reimbursement for our expenses.

- Casper, WY, USA

problem #29

Dec 012010

Commander

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is a repeat problem problem still not solved I keep bringing into the dealership. It has been towed, driven, etc. Data recorder. New ignition installed, new wires installed, relay switch installed now they want to try to replace the fuel pump. They are just guessing they have no solution to this problem. Time to go drive my death trap....doesn't start sometimes, and they can't figure that out...today, while I was sitting in traffic on 95 my Jeep just accelerated out of no where; and I had to slam on the brake and skid off the highway to avoid hitting another vehicle. Now I have no headlights, and no turn signals. No digital speedometer, thankfully, cars still have the traditional speedometer. Lets see what happens this time around. Your right route 1 Jeep there is nothing wrong with my vehicle and its safe to drive...maybe Chrysler will get there act together and learn from GM! reading me instructions on how to pull my car off the road in case of engine shut down is unacceptable! how do I handle the sudden acceleration and lack of blinkers and lights? I have had ignition/starting issues for years now; I have them dealt with at the dealership on multiple occasions and have also spent money at a private garage to fix the "problems"

- Ewing, NJ, USA

problem #28

Nov 272014

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
The first incident occurred on 27 Nov, as we were driving down a 2-lane highway. We were traveling approx. 60 mph when the Jeep made a "clunk? sound, suddenly the engine lost power and became difficult to steer. I was able to get the vehicle over to the side of the road, got out and did a quick external check to try and see what was wrong. Nothing appeared to be wrong. I got back in and tried to start the Jeep again, and it did start up. We cautiously proceeded back to our hotel and I immediately looked up the nearest Jeep dealer to have the vehicle checked for any mechanical problems. The Jeep dealer told me that there were no mechanical problems with the Jeep, but that there was an open recall for problems with the ignition switch. The tech told me that the ignition switch on our Jeep was loose, which could allow it to slip from the on position to the acc position which would cause the engine to stop while driving. They said there were no parts available yet to fix the problem. They advised that we remove all key chains from the key, but there was nothing else they could do. Just two days later, on 29 Nov, we had another dangerous incident. This time, we were on the middle lane of a 3-lane interstate. We were traveling at approx. 70 mph when I again heard the loud ?clunk", the vehicle suddenly lost engine power and became difficult to steer. I immediately put the hazard lights on and tried to get off the highway. We were extremely lucky that there was no vehicle in the lane to the right of us, as I could barely get the Jeep off the highway onto the shoulder. If another vehicle would have been close behind us or coming up on the right of us, we would surely have been rear ended. I have contacted both my local Jeep dealership and the Chrysler corporation regarding a solution to this problem with no assistance from either.

- Glenn Dale, MD, USA

problem #27

Sep 192014

Commander 8-cyl

  • 70,100 miles
My wife was driving to work driving approximately 45mph when, engine sounded as if it were in fuel saver mode, she started up a slight grade and engine wouldn't accelerate nor the transmission down shift then the engine shut off with out any warning. She was able to pull over to the side of the road and put the car in park and restart the engine. As of today's date 10/02/2014 this has happened twice.

- Tunnel Hill, GA, USA

problem #26

Sep 202012

Commander

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 55,000.

- Fort Walton Beach , FL, USA

problem #25

May 292014

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Commander. While driving 20 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure occurred numerous times. The dealer could not duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 77,000. Updated 11/14/14 updated 8/12/2015

- Sayreville, NJ, USA

problem #24

Aug 012014

Commander 6-cyl

  • 62,670 miles
Driving on straight residential road at 35 mph. Abrupt power loss to vehicle occurred. Gas gauge went from half full to below empty. Difficult steering and braking. Vehicle coasted enough to make right hand turn into a side street. Stopped vehicle, removed key from ignition, put the key back in, and the vehicle started. Exact scenarios reported in the news. This vehicle is a 2008 model and is not subject to the recall that was recently announced whereby the recall year stopped at 2007..

- Shaker Heights, OH, USA

problem #23

May 242014

Commander

  • 101,862 miles
Ignition was very loose and would even start with just touching the key without turning it. Would also turn off with just a touch of the key. It soon got to the point where it was not making connection and would not start from time to time. Which stranded me and my family several times far from home. After changing many things on the Jeep I decided to take it on a family vacation where it would not start and we had to have it towed back home took it to the dealership and they said it was the ignition module which they replaced for $600. The Jeep is running great now. And I am not afraid to drive it anymore. It sat in the garage here at home for months and I thought about trading it in but I did not want someone else to get stuck or hurt from it.

- Freeport, PA, USA

problem #22

Jul 012014

Commander 8-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
While driving on the highway, the entire dashboard went black and the car went completely dead. This has happened 3 times since the first incident. No lights, power steering or brakes, no power windows to put my hand out to wave cars around me. Car also stalls immediately upon starting up. Also another recurring issue is the entire dashboard lighting up and flashing, total power loss--no power in gas pedal, car stops, and then suddenly kicks back in. I called the dealership and they said I must pay $99.50 for a diagnostic test.

- Harrison, NY, USA

problem #21

May 062014

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while attempting to pull forward out of a parking lot, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 86,000 and the current mileage was 89,000. Updated 8/27/14 the consumer stated the vehicle the key would switch to the accessory position. Updated 09/11/2014

- Gregory, MI, USA

problem #20

Jun 062013

Commander

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Commander. The contact stated while driving at low speeds and before coming to a stop the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact indicated that the failure occurred multiple times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Enola, PA, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?