Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
147,836 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #62

Dec 202016

Liberty

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The engine of this vehicle died without warning. It's computer never picked it up, or gave me a warning that anything was going bad. It was not making any bad sounds or loose sounds of anything. The vehicle simply died in me when I accelerated going up a hill, imagine the horror that was having vehicle also accelerating behind me. I've been hearing the same complaints from thousands of Jeep Liberty users and this is dangerous. I don't understand why they're refusing to address this issue, this is something that's life-threatening and could lead to a fatal crash. Please, for hundreds more of the similar complaint, please visit: www.carcomplaints.com/Jeep/Liberty/2002/engine/engine_failure-2.shtml

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #61

Dec 172016

Liberty

  • 130,000 miles
A year ago while highway driving for several miles, the engine wire harness from starter to battery caught fire. The harness was destroyed. A replacement from a salvage yard went about 100' and it also caught fire destroying itself. Another harness was installed and a year later the same fire on the same harness occurred yesterday.

- Nine Mile Falls, WA, USA

problem #60

Aug 262016

Liberty

  • miles
Well where do I start. Since I have purchased this vehicle in may of 2016 I have replace multiple parts, but they weren't part of any recalls. But now my concern reviewing recalls for this vehicle and trying to address these numerous defects. I'm almost fed up. My main cover is the J17 recall for the upper control arm ball joint of which a Chrysler representative advideo my my vehicle was part of, which I clueless on how as the recall doesn't specify other than 2002 to 2003 Liberty vwhiles. Now I show that they were replaced in the past and now they since are worn in the same description they were recalled in. And Chrysler denies responsibility (?).. also other concerns with the catylic converter causing a sulfur smell when the vehicle is going up hill aso well as towing. One more thing is numerous online forum about the engine ticking being normal and unfixable other then to replace the engine. Now all this plus the multiple parts I have already replaced a vehicle less then 15 years on the market needed a in other words fully restoration is unacceptable. Especially when I have stock 1948 Jeep that need less repairs than this.

- Cold Brook, NY, USA

problem #59

Jan 012016

Liberty

  • 168,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Number 3 and 6 cylinders blew. Found broken rods and bearings in the oil pan. Bearings were twisted around the studs for the crank cover. Seems to be a common issue in this year 3.7L engine. This happened while driving in traffic on a city street and I can't imagine what I would have done if I had been driving on I95 when it occured.

- Huntingdon, PA, USA

problem #58

Apr 052016

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 147,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact heard an abnormal noise associated with the 3.7 liter engine. The contact noticed there was a strong hesitation without warning and the vehicle later stalled more than once. The vehicle was parked at the contact's residence due to the failure. The contact indicated that the number two cylinder may fail and cause the valves to drop onto the pistons, which could cause the motor and cylinder head to fail. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and suggested that the dealer perform diagnostic testing. The approximate failure mileage was 147,000. Updated 05/31/2016 the consumer stated two spark plugs were pulled and broke due to impact, inside the cylinder head. Updated 06/14/16.

- Fitchburg, MA, USA

problem #57

Feb 122016

Liberty

  • 142,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving at 45 mph, the speedometer failed to read the vehicle proper speed as the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. In addition, the contact stated that the ABS sensor wires were fractured and rubbing against the emergency brake cable. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 142,000. The VIN was not available.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #56

Jun 192013

Liberty

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated the vehicle had a burning odor near the engine. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V046000 (air bags) and 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) however the parts to do the repairs were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for recall repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 30,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #55

Nov 232015

Liberty

  • 163,000 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the vehicle caught on fire near the engine. The vehicle was destroyed. No further details were available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 163,000.

- Morristown, TN, USA

problem #54

Oct 262015

Liberty

  • 130,000 miles
Was driving down the highway and quit. Had towed to shop and they said the engine was shot.

- Cayuta, NY, USA

problem #53

Mar 122014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
My Jeep currently has 42,000 miles as of Nov 1, 2015. It is 14 years old. However, the 3.7 L engine has a history (1 in 200 as best I can tell from the internet) of somehow coagulating oil into sludge around the 50,000 mile mark. This Jeep is part of the trailer hitch and airbag recall, but as you know dealerships never got parts to update. However, it also seems the engine was designed to fail on these models. Mechanics that work on these engines just shake their heads and tell you Chrysler updated the engine to fix this but that doesn't help anybody who has an originally designed engine. Again, these engines were designed to sludge. It usually starts with rocker arms cracking/breaking and even after replacement and cleansing the oil sludges up again. Of course, Chrysler dealerships act like every occurrence of this is isolated, but third party mechanics know better. Mine has two Jeep right now that are sludged. Basically the social safety concern is that your engine can break when you're driving. And also that Chrysler sold batches of these engines that they knew were defective, if not at the original design then soon after; when they decided they had to change the original design. I'm only being affected by it now because I have so few miles on my Jeep.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #52

Jul 122014

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that after the vehicle was started, a fuel odor emitted from the vehicle. In addition, the contact mentioned that after the vehicle was parked, the check engine warning light illuminated. The contact also mentioned that after turning the ignition key to the on position, the vehicle failed to start without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags), 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure), and 15V046000 (air bags) however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Cottage Hills, IL, USA

problem #51

Aug 122015

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owned a 2002 Jeep Liberty. While driving approximately 35 mph, the contact heard a noise emerging from the bottom driver side of the vehicle. The vehicle also started to hesitate and all the warning indicators illuminated. The contact slowed down to approximately 10 mph into a parking lot. The contact parked and exited the vehicle. She was alerted that the vehicle was on fire. The fire department extinguished the fire. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 12/29/15

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #50

Jul 232015

Liberty

  • 103,498 miles
On July 23, 2015, while driving on the interstate highway, at approximately 55 miles/hour, the odometer, speedometer and cruise control simultaneously stopped working for no apparently known reason. When arriving at my destination in another state, (approx. 60 miles), I researched the internet for potential problems. A number of other 2002 Jeep Liberty owners had experienced similar problems. Additionally, several owners had experienced engine stalling when braking at a stoplight or intersection. On July 28, 2015, when traveling on an interstate highway, I pulled off to the safety lane to take a telephone call. While I was slowly pushing on the brake pedal to move safely to curb lane, the engine stopped working, as did my steering. Quick thinking - having read prior owners' comments - told me to put the car in neutral and turn the ignition key on. That worked! I got the car safely to the side lane. I am in the process of getting problems corrected; however, other owners have stated that the problem of stalling persists.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #49

Jun 182015

Liberty

  • 90,380 miles
I was pulling out of my driveway and the car just shut completely off and I was stuck in the middle of the road. About 10 mins later, it started back up again and drove normally. This is not safe at all and if I was driving on the road, I could have died. I'm scared to drive this car now and I can't afford to go to a mechanic and pay thousands of dollars. From looking online, this is a recurring problem with this car. There should be a recall on this issue. Someone can really lose their life over this.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #48

Jan 032015

Liberty

  • 143,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact mentioned that the failure was experienced after the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags). The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 143,000.

- Paragould, AR, USA

problem #47

Apr 292011

Liberty

  • 81,000 miles
2002 Jeep Liberty - engine - cylinder misfires, overheating causing coolant to overflow, coolant got in cylinder?, new engine required - quoted $5,500 plus $120 per hour labor from Jeep dealer.

- Addison, IL, USA

problem #46

Nov 042013

Liberty

  • 211,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that when accelerating, the vehicle jerked forward as the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the CO2 filter needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 211,000.

- Robinsonville, MS, USA

problem #45

Sep 012014

Liberty

  • 98,986 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle but the problem occurred several times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that there was an electrical shortage on the rear hatch module. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 98,986. Updated 11/24/14

- Williamsburg, PA, USA

problem #44

Jul 012014

Liberty

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the check engine light remained illuminated. The oxygen sensor was replaced several times however the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 112,000.

- Baltimore , MD, USA

problem #43

Aug 162012

Liberty

  • 120,000 miles
The engine is blown because the valve issue that Chrysler is very well aware of. Regular maintenance and proper oil changes took place. The engine they put in this vehicle is known for this issue. The valve breaks off and destroys the engine. Thanks guys. Way to own up and fix your mistakes.

- Cleveland , OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?