Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.8

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,480 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #73

Oct 012015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 12V527000 (air bags), 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure), and 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Update 01/13/16 MA updated 02/05/16 updated 02/10/16.

- Bee, VA, USA

problem #72

Sep 012015

Liberty

  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle has several recall notices. The dealer informed the consumer, the parts were not available.

- Vallonia, IN, USA

problem #71

Oct 032013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:13V252000 (fuel system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The VIN was unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure. The consumer also stated the parts were not available for the air bag recall. Updated 12/15/15.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #70

Dec 182014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to fuel leak recall notice and vehicle frame corrosion problems. The consumer stated when the parts for the recall finally arrived, she was informed the recall could not be performed because the frame was corroded. The dealer stated to repair the frame would be an additional cost. Recall # 13V252000.

- Fort Ashby, WV, USA

problem #69

Feb 082015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the driver side air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was serviced under NHTSA campaign number:12V527000 (air bags). The vehicle was taken back to the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 95,000. In addition, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/15/15

- Brighton, CO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #68

Mar 022015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to parts not available to complete recall. The consumer referenced recall 15V046000, 12V527000 and 13V252000.

- Middle Island, NY, USA

problem #67

Aug 152014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Complaint against Chrysler group. Recall N46/NHTSA 13V-252: Re: "the fuel tank on your vehicle has a chance of experiencing a fuel leak during certain types of rear end collisions. Fuel leakage in the presence of an ignition source can result in a fire." I have called Chrysler group 1 X in August 2014 (beginning of recall), November, January and 02/16/15. They have failed to get my parts to the local dealer in a timely manner, therefore putting me at risk of a rear end collision ignition of flames. I need these parts sent to my local dealer immediately. My local dealer is only getting parts at the rate of 5 pieces per week, to fix the more than hundreds of thousands of customers. That is Chrysler fault. Not the dealers. I waited to speak w/Chrysler, on the phone for 1 hour & 25 minutes on 02/16/15, trying to get this resolved. It was the customer service dept, for this particular recall. I never got to speak w/a live person. This is unacceptable. I need my parts sent to my local dealer immediately....updated 05/14/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 05/28/15

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #66

Jan 072015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Hello I have an 2002 Jeep Liberty and I have a recall about the fuel tank on my vehicle has a small chance of experiencing a fuel leak during certain types of rear end collisions. Fuel leakage in the presence of an ignition source can result in an underbody fire. The recall was on Dec 11 2013 and I received the notice in Jan 2013. I called the dealership and stated call back when I get the 2nd notice which was in July 2013. I called and they said they will order the part. To this date I haven't heard from them. I didn't realize that the recall would take this long can you help me please. I did submit a complaint to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration but haven't heard from anyone back....updated 05/14/15

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #65

Jan 052015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty sport. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. Updated 02/18/15 the vehicle was repaired. Updated 02/19/15

- Mount Shaster, CA, USA

problem #64

Dec 012014

Liberty

  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty. Received three recall notices for vehicle needing a trailer hitch for safety. However, the consumer was unsuccessful at getting the vehicle fixed, due to lack of parts.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #63

Dec 092014

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The contact mentioned that the dealer only visually inspected the rear mounting bolts and failed to replace them. Both the dealer and manufacturer were made aware of the situation. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle had not experienced a failure.

- Tamarack, MN, USA

problem #62

Dec 012014

Liberty

  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty trailer hitch recall. Consumer unable to get part for vehicle through dealer. Recall has been issued. But, no response from the Chrysler group.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #61

Jul 132006

Liberty 4WD 66-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty consumer is seeking reimbursement the consumer stated the hitch was approved using a specific code. However, the reimbursement claim was denied under the pretext, the part was not an oem approved hitch, but at present deemed ok to do the job. The consumer stated when the hitch was installed, Chrysler did not have an approved manufactured hitch, as the recall did not exist back in 2006.

- Canandaigua, NY, USA

problem #60

Nov 012013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall notice several times over the past 1-2 years to get a trailer hitch put on ! after each notice I received I called a local Chrysler dealership, bernard's Chrysler of new richmond wi. Each time I called to set up an appointment, they told me they had to order the trailer hitch and when it comes in they would call and we will schedule an appointment! this has gone on for 1-2 years with them never calling back to say they have the hitch in! I just hope we are not involved in a crash where this will turn into a legal issue....updated 05/14/15 recall was completed on April 30, 2015, after waiting almost three years. Updated 12/22/2015

- River Falls, WI, USA

problem #59

Nov 122014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notifications for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags). The parts needed were not available for over a year. The dealer was uncertain when the parts would become available to service the vehicle under the recall. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #58

Aug 012014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the repair for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The manufacturer and dealer were made aware of the failure. The dealer stated that the parts were not available for repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bayamon , PR, USA

problem #57

Dec 272013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 12/9/14 updated 06/1/2015

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #56

Jul 252013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notifications for recall NHTSA campaign numbers: 12V527000 (air bags) and NHTSA campaign numbers: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). However, the parts needed were unavailable to service the vehicle under the recall. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the parts to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. Pam

- Chelan, WA, USA

problem #55

Aug 152013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification for the fuel system, gasoline, structure; however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The NHTSA campaign number was unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #54

Sep 252014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wellington, KS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?