Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
51 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
69 / 2
Average Mileage:
54,564 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 5 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #378

Feb 062015

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall there is an issue with the air bag dash light staying on. The Jeep dealership does not have an answer why the light is on and does not have the air bag module to fix the recall. Is this a sensor problem or a module problem.

- Vidor, TX, USA

problem #377

Nov 142015

Liberty

  • 168,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. While the contact's daughter was driving approximately 25 mph, another vehicle crashed into the front passenger side of the contact's vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. There were no warning indicators or injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a tow yard. Upon notification of the failure, the manufacturer sent a private investigator to assess the damages on the vehicle. The failure mileage was 168,000.

- Gladwin, MI, USA

problem #376

Jun 012015

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Waianae, HI, USA

problem #375

May 192015

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the recall repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available....updated 02/04/16

- Spencer, OH, USA

problem #374

Feb 012015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 02/18/16 updated 02/23/16.

- Flagstaff, AZ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #373

Jul 152015

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (electrical system, air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to do the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Junction City, WI, USA

problem #372

Feb 062015

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall: TL* the contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags) however the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #371

Nov 112015

Liberty

  • 150,000 miles
On 11/11/2015 at approximately 05:00A.M. I started out for work. The airbag indicator light started blinking and about 5 seconds later the airbag deployed for no reason. I was traveling in a straight line going about 40mph. The vehicle is being serviced at this time.

- Palm Bay, FL, USA

problem #370

Jul 182015

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available....updated 02/04/16

- Mount Laurel, NJ, USA

problem #369

Apr 012013

Liberty

  • miles
Airbag light stays

- Portsmouth, OH, USA

problem #368

Nov 092015

Liberty

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This compliant is to inform NHTSA that my local Chrysler dealer (centennial Chrysler Jeep, 9980 E arapahoe rd, englewood, co 80112, 877-216-2706) indicates that they have not received and do not have the repair parts to perform Chrysler recall no. 6 R06 / NHTSA recall no. 15V-046 that was released on January 27, 2015. This recall is for replacing the airbag system occupant restraint control module. The dealer reported that they do not know when the repair parts will be available. This delay is unacceptable, especially considering the recall date is over 10 months old. I respectfully request NHTSA inform Chrysler to expedite release of these repair parts immediately to rectify potentially unsafe vehicles.

- Centennial, CO, USA

problem #367

Nov 092015

Liberty

  • miles
Recall occupant restraint control module R06 / NHTSA 15V-046 recall is dated 2/6/15. It is now November 2015 and the parts are not available to get this safety recall issue corrected. I have contacted by dealer since Feb 2015 to be told the same thing that Chrysler has not sent them the parts. How much longer do I need to wait putting myself at risk??

- Mechanicsburg, PA, USA

problem #366

Feb 012015

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (air bags) was received in February of 2015. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #365

Mar 152015

Liberty

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. When the vehicle was started, the air bag warning indicator was consistently illuminated. The failure recurred each time the vehicle was started. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags), however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 82,000.

- Milton, DE, USA

problem #364

Nov 182013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Gastonia, NC, USA

problem #363

Jul 252015

Liberty

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that after the vehicle was started, the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 140,000.

- Terra Haute, IN, USA

problem #362

Mar 042015

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags) however, the part for the recall was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure....updated 02/04/16

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #361

Oct 242015

Liberty

  • 127,000 miles
I have an open recall notice R06 for the occupant restraint control module from February 2015. My "airbag" indicator light has come on. I contacted a dealer today and was told that parts are still not available, but that I could make an appointment and have the indicator light investigated at my cost. This is unacceptable. I contacted the fca recall number today and was told that parts will not be available until the first quarter of 2016, somewhere between 2 1/2 and 5 1/2 months from now. I mentioned the airbag indicator light and the fact that my pregnant daughter-in-law drives the vehicle. The advice I was given was that I should contact my dealer about a loaner until the parts arrive. Again, unacceptable.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #360

Oct 232015

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags) however the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Alton, IL, USA

problem #359

Mar 112015

Liberty

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated constantly. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 95,000....updated 02/19/16

- Wheeling, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?