Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.4

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,119 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Jan 022011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving 30 mph the transmission failed without warning. The consumer is concerned that "the vehicle will be rear ended as a result to the failure".

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #26

Feb 062010

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty ltd edition. The contact stated that the driver was on a dirt road driving approximately 15 mph when she crossed over a creek. The vehicle came to a complete stop; however, the engine was still on. There were 3 people in the vehicle and one of the passengers in the back seat noticed that sparks were coming from underneath the vehicle. The vehicle caught fire and was destroyed. The failure and current mileages were 78,000. Updated 02/07/11 updated 02/11/11

- Koshkonong , MO, USA

problem #25

Oct 092009

Liberty

  • 135,000 miles
2002 Jeep Liberty speed sensor failure causes speedometer to stop working, engine to die while driving, loss of powersteering, loss of brakes, steering wheel locks up.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #24

Dec 042008

Liberty

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Dec 8, 2008 I picked up my Jeep Liberty from my mechanic, he had replaced the transmission oil pan that rusted out and drained all the transmission oil out. On January 6, 2009 on my way to work early in the morning the transmission blew out totally, I was able to get back home and once again the mechanic has the Liberty replacing the transmission. I feel the transmission oil pan rusting out and leaking caused the transmission blowout a month later. The check engine light did come on in December and I had an appointment to have the engine looked at when the whole pan blew out. The transmission totally dropping in January could have caused a major accident if I were driving later, and I feel this could cause major accidents on the roadways across the nation. I have complained via the webpage at Jeep to no avail, this should be at least a recall on these vehicles.

- North Pitcher, NY, USA

problem #23

Aug 202007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. While driving 50 mph, the vehicle would not shift into third gear. The dealer stated that the plate sheared the bolts off the transmission, which caused the metal to enter the transmission. The dealer stated that the transmission needed to be rebuilt. As of August 31, 2007, the vehicle has not been repaired. The VIN and engine size were unknown. The current and failure mileages were 89,000.

- West Seneca, NY, USA

problem #22

Jan 012007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
- the contact received recall 06V288000 for the 2002 Jeep Liberty concerning lower ball joints. The contact complained about the effect that the ball joint had on the tires. The contact stated that no matter what speed she was driving at, but usually at about 15 mph she felt and heard the suspension in the car shifting whenever she hit a bump. The contacts complaint was that after one and a half years the tires were completely bald. The contact stated that this was directly related to the safety recalls on the ball joints. Also, the contact stated that on 11/2005 she lost control of the vehicle after making a turn. After taking the vehicle for service, the contact learned from the dealer that all of the steering fluid leaked out, and the power steering belt split in half. The contact would like to have the tires replaced under the recall as well. Updated 2/7/2007 - the consumer's vehicle experience extended crank time to start. The dealer replaced eh fuel pump and fuel pump reservoir. The lap belt in the rear seat became twisted. When the vehicle was put into reverse the consumer hear a noise. The dealer made repairs to the transmission. The lighter was inoperative.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #21

Jul 052005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Jeep Liberty pulls to right, will stop dead in its tracks while in drive, hard to control, thumping noise, metal to metal grinding from front end, seat belts do not work properly, hard to start, front seat covers rippled, paint peeled on hood, tailgate, breaks only work some of the time, shakes and hard to control on speed above 35 mph, all interior weather stripping came off. Same complaints from 1/7/03 ball joints replaced on recall on 1/10/03 still had pulling to right problems, shaking, . weather stripping all fell off on interior of car, acts like wheels are binding. 3/4/03 same complaints pulling to right, stops dead in its track, hard to control, wheels bind, dealer could not duplicate complaints (did not write up work order) 3/27/03 dealer installed interior weather stripping, same complaints as 1/10/03,3/4/03. Again on 6/2/03 took Jeep Liberty to dealer took a test drive could not verify complaints. Did not write up a work order. 1/16/04 Jeep Liberty hard to start, pulls to right, Jeep shakes & vibrates hard to control, seat belts do not work, seat rippling, car stops dead it its tracks, dealer fixed lower ball joints again on 2/13/04 at 23,850 miles. 2-13-04 picked up car from dealer still had same problems" dealer stated " this is how Jeep drive" they are nuts! 11-04 dealer took test drive was still having problems claimed everything okay. Did not right up a work order. 5/27/05 had massive problems brakes would go to the floor, sometime would work and other time not. Took to nearest brake place pads, okay, but wheel cylinder leaked. Claim it could be a intermittent failure of master cylinder, called dealer ship no part available. 7/5/05 took to dealer again with same problems, R they had not even looked at it. Removed Jeep and took to private auto placed, ut with intermittent problems you could replace most of the parts on the car & you may not cure the problems.

- Cape May Court House, NJ, USA

problem #20

Nov 042005

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle was purchased new. Mileage as of this date, 11/13/2005, is 50,035. At some point between 45K and 50K miles noticed a clunk which can be felt and heard when vehicle is moving forward and downshifting to low gear. Took vehicle to Lincoln trail Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge in marshall, il. Mechanic who test drove vehicle admitted hearing and feeling hard downshift. Service manager, nick corey, recommended transmission flush. Also said problem could be caused by a sensor going bad. Checked transmission computer for codes, none found. Transmission flush did not alleviate problem. Will return to dealer for further service. I feel daimler/Chrysler should resolve and repair this problem before failure of the component(s) cause a crash and before the power train warranty expires. As noted from other complaints on this website, the problem has been experienced by numerous other Jeep Liberty owners of 2002, 2003 and 2004 models. At this point daimler/Chrysler should be aware of the problem and solution.

- Marshall, IL, USA

problem #19

Mar 252005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,600 miles
2002 Jeep Liberty limited 4WD automatic transmission, loss of third gear due to breakage of valve body bolts in transmission accessible by removal of transmission pan. Shop foreman at hertich Jeep/Nissan (dover, de) stated that the bolts were not of the correct strength, and that the new bolts supplied with the new valve body (still under warrantee) would be of the correct strength.

- Dover, DE, USA

problem #18

Aug 132004

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
Hard downshifting of transmission, shifts to hard.

- Richland Hills, TX, USA

problem #17

Dec 192004

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving, the vehicle felt as if it was in neutral. Upon getting up to 25 miles per hour, the consumer stated when she placed the vehicle in second gear she was able to go a little faster. The vehicle has 32000 miles on it. Consumer contacted the dealer and the manufacturer however, they are not willing to help.....

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #16

Nov 012004

Liberty

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles
Consumer stated transmission slipped. As a result, vehicle hesitated in oncoming traffic.

- Chatham, VA, USA

problem #15

Sep 292004

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,150 miles
First of all, I only have 39,100 miles on my Jeep Liberty. Having said that, on the date listed below it was found that my Jeep had a faulty valve spring in the 2nd cylinder. Cost me quite a bit of money to repair. How in the world does this happen to a brand new car with only a little over 39,000 miles on it? sound like faulty parts to me.

- Little Elm, TX, USA

problem #14

Jun 192004

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,174 miles
When driving down the highway, the transmission would occasionally surge, even with the cruise on. On June 19 the transmission would shift from first to second properly, then when it shifted from second to third, it would act like it was in neutral. Dealer says with 69000 miles on a 2002, it is not covered under warraty. Vehicle has never been taken off road (like designed) and not overworked.

- Tecumseh, MI, USA

problem #13

May 202004

Liberty

  • 46,000 miles
While driving 40 mph the transmission failed without warning. The consumer is concerned that "the vehicle will be rear ended as a result to the failure". please provide additional information.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #12

Nov 152003

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles
Automatic transmission failed in November 2003 at 57,000 miles. Clutches in the center of the clutch pack were destroyed while the remaining clutches were like new.

- Roxboro, NC, USA

problem #11

Mar 272004

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,300 miles
Transmission disengages when in reverse. When vehicle is put into reverse, it will move a few feet and then disengage as if in neutral. I have to put it back in park or in neutral, then back into reverse, go a few feet, it disengages again. I repeat this stupid process until I get where I need to be and then shift into drive. Dealership says they have no idea how to fix the problem, and Chrysler is aware of problem and working on a fix. I have been dealing with this on a daily basis for over a month (at least 3 times each day I have to put the vehicle in reverse).

- Augusta, GA, USA

problem #10

May 052004

(reported on)

Liberty

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving 45 mph vehicle stalled. Consumer tried to restart vehicle vehicle but was unable to do so. Vehicle was pushed home by another vehicle. Consumer will contact dealer in the near future.

- La Porte, TX, USA

problem #9

Jan 122004

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
I have a 2002 Jeep Liberty with automatic transmission. When slowing down the transmission downshifts very hard. We have taken it to the Jeep dealer (johny roberts-altus ok) and they cannot find the problem. I see the 2003's have this problem noted but not the 2002's.

- Altus Afb, OK, USA

problem #8

Jan 062004

Liberty

  • miles
Vehicle kicks when downshifting from 3rd to 2nd or 2nd to 1st gear. Almost rear-ended a vehicle due to defect. Car has been in shop repeatedly for this issue and no dealership can fix it. Transmission has been replaced. Computer has been reset and sensors have failed 3 times and replaced. Vehicle left us stranded.

- Miami Lakes, FL, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?