Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
35 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
67 / 1
Average Mileage:
77,118 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Liberty seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 11 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #91

Mar 012012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles


Since the spring of 2012 my air bag light has been coming on at odd times. Sometimes it is during braking and sometimes it is not. I contacted the dealer and they said there was no danger and no recall. Earlier this year I received a recall notice from the Chrysler group. Safety recall M35/NHTSA 12V-527. My first call to the dealer was in February or March and I was told they didn't have the parts and asked me to call back in April. Since then I have taken may car over at least 3 times. The service manager, [xxx], insisted that I had to arrive no later than 7:30 am on a Monday morning. He refused to give me any other appointment time. At the 3rd visit they finally looked at my Jeep and confirmed there is an issue with the air bag. To date they have still not fixed it. Every time I call I get the same answer, "we don't have the part yet. We will call you when we do." I asked if I should go to another dealer in a different city, but he stated that they don't have the parts either. I have also called the Chrysler group recall assistance center listed in the recall notice only to be on hold for a very long time and then get disconnected without ever speaking to anyone. My air bag light continues to come on at odd times. I am concerned that it will deploy when I am not expecting it. Can you help me get my car fixed? the dealership in question is Dodge city of mckinney Texas located at 700 S. central expressway, mckinney, tx 75070. The service manager is [xxx]. he is the only one I have spoken with as the others in the office refer me to him and say he is the only one who can assist me with a recall. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #90

Aug 302013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 155,000 miles
My husband made a left turn out of our complex and less than a.5 miles; driver and passenger airbag deployed without any warning. Thank goodness there were no fatalities. My spouse became really sick, had a really bad asthma attack, burns to his right arm, and problems hearing.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #89

Jul 222013

Liberty 4-cyl

  • miles
My vehicle has a recall on the air bags and the vehicle can not be corrected. I was told the Jeep dealerships do not have the parts to fix it. Also, the PCM component of my vehicle needs to be replaced and the Chrysler dealership has discontinued the part, an aftermarket part can not be found and none are on back order. My vehicle is still under warranty and the warranty department is sending the PCM to have the part refurbished but will not guarantee the part. My concern is the cars safety is not guaranteed due to the recall on airbags and the PCM is the main computer part for the car, if it can not be guaranteed to be safe and running what are my options?

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #88

Aug 222013


  • 90,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that she had been waiting over a year for the parts needed to complete the service for NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Tallapoosa, GA, USA

problem #87

Aug 142013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact was driving 15 mph and attempting a right turn when the vehicle began to accelerate without the accelerator pedal being depressed. The contact depressed the brake pedal but the vehicle did not stop until he crashed into another vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was driven to the contact's residence and had not been repaired or diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the incident. The approximate failure mileage was 67,000. Updated 10/17/13

- Plymouth , MN, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #86

Jan 152013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
I received recall notice M35/NHTSA 12V-527 in January 2013, but when I called my dealer, they said parts won't be in until 2nd Q 2013. So I called in April. No parts. I called in may, June, July, and August and still no parts. This is a safety issue...why are there no parts?

- Cary, IL, USA

problem #85

Oct 042012


  • 102,000 miles


TL- the contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that when she contacted the dealer she was told that the parts were not available. There was no time frame given for part delivery. She has not experienced any failures. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The approximate current mileage was 102,000.-

- Port St. Lucie, FL, USA

problem #84

Jan 012002

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
In January 2013, I received a recall notice regarding the air bag system occupant restraint control module. I called the dealer in boise, id on July 13, 2013, and they said the parts weren't available to repair the problem so they took my name & number and said they'd call when the parts were available. I called again on July 10, 2013 and the parts are still not available and they don't have any idea when they will be. If this problem was urgent enough to send out a recall notice in January, why is it that in July they still can't fix the problem and, in fact, don't have any available parts to do so" if the airbag goes off while I'm driving 50+ mph, I can only guess at what injuries will be sustained by any passengers in the vehicle at the time. What can be done about this problem"

- Meridian, ID, USA

problem #83

Jul 262013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
I was driving 60 mph down sh 75 when the air bag light came on. A few seconds later the air bag deployed. It hit me in the chest and startled me. I had burns on my arms and it ripped a fingernail back. I thought I broke my thumb, the impact was so hard. Thankfully, I was able to keep my Jeep on the road. The driver side air bag is the only one that deployed and now the seat belt does not work properly either.

- Huntsville, TX, USA

problem #82

Jul 182013


  • 53,500 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated while driving 35 mph the air bag light illuminated and seconds later the passenger side air bag deployed. The vehicle was driven to her home and parked. The next morning when the vehicle was started, the drivers side air bag deployed. The driver suffered a burn on his thumb. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) eight months prior to the failures but the dealer had repeatedly informed her the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 53,500.

- Saint Thomas, VI, USA

problem #81

Jul 192013


  • 110,000 miles


The contact owns 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while the vehicle was parked, the driver's side air bag erroneously deployed. The contact suffered injuries to the left hand, face, and chest. The contact was taken to the hospital. The contact called the manufacturer who filed a complaint and sent a specialist to inspect the vehicle. The manufacturer stated the occupant restraint control module caused the air bag to deploy. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Broadalbin, NY, USA

problem #80

Dec 312012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
The occupant restraint control (orc) module has a chance of experiencing an electrical overstress condition. Part has not been shipped to my dealer as of 7/29/2013. M35/NHTSA 12V-527 notified close to 6 months ago.

- Livingston, NJ, USA

problem #79

Nov 142012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
The airbag control module recall was publicized in November of 2012 (safety recall M35/NHTSA 12V-527). As of today, 7/23/2013, the dealer still has not received the corrective parts. An 8 month delay in correcting a defect that has the potential to cause injury or death goes beyond negligence.

- Lake In The Hills, IL, USA

problem #78

Jul 192013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
The air bag sensor went off and the air bag light came on. The light stays on until I turn the car off. When I start the car again, within 5 minutes or less the alarm goes off and the light comes on. I am afraid it will deploy.

- Henrico, VA, USA

problem #77

Feb 012013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) and stated that the dealer advised that the remedy part was no longer being manufactured. The contact left several messages with the manufacturer in regard to the recall but they failed to respond. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 08/27/13

- Baldwin Park, CA, USA

problem #76

Sep 012012

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2003 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to air bag system occupant restraint control module recall notice. The consumer stated he received a recall notice, last September. However, as of June 25, 2013. The recall has not been resolved.

- Southport, CT, USA

problem #75

Nov 012012


  • miles
A recall was issued for defective airbags that could cause the airbags to deploy without warning. The case number is 12V527000 this was issued almost 8 months ago and still the part to fix the problem is not available. This needs to be looked into. This is ridiculous. It should not take this long for an automobile company that manufactures parts to produce these parts.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #74

Jul 262012


  • miles
June 26,2013 I heard a beep from dash thinking it was letting me know I am low on wash fluid though I noticed my air bag light was on.a minute later while driving it went off, as of today it turns on for a min than back off. I received a recall letter about the airbag issues. I called the dealership and asked about it again, I got a response that they are waiting for replacement parts to come in, this been months ago.

- Clute, TX, USA

problem #73

Jun 272013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 157,365 miles
On June 27 2013, my family and I were going to dinner approximately 6pm. We were about 1.5 miles from home heading West on ok state hwy 51 (approximately 5 miles East of wagoner, ok) as I got to approximately 60 mph the dashboard airbag warning light flashed and dinged twice then the airbag deployed. I maintained control of the vehicle and only suffered an abrasion and bruise on the underside of my right forearm from the bag deployment. I immediately came home and contacted the Chrysler recall hotline number and have been assigned a case number and I was notified today (7/1/2013) that an investigator will be in contact with me within 24 hrs.

- Wagoner, OK, USA

problem #72

Nov 122012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
In November 2012 I received a safety recall, M35/NHTSA 12V-527. States that there is a possibility of the airbags deploying. At the time of the notification Chrysler stated that the parts required to do the repair were not available and when they were there would be a follow up recall notice. It has been over 6 months and I have still not heard anything more from them.

- Salem, NH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?