Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
38 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
72 / 1
Average Mileage:
75,171 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Liberty seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 4 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #248

Feb 062016

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V046000 (air bags), 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure), and 06V288000 (suspension); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was invalid. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Torrance, CA, USA

problem #247

Feb 112012

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was invalid. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 04/19/16 updated 07/25/16.

- Canoga Park, CA, USA

problem #246

Nov 022015

Liberty

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the recall repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Corydon, IN, USA

problem #245

Nov 302015

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a few issues and questions. I purchased my Jeep thru navy exchange sales in 2003, new. I lived in singapore 2007-2013, all recalls posted for these years were not performed on my vehicle as the car was in storage and no one drove it. How can I get these previous years recalls completed for my 2003 Liberty Jeep? I currently have a outstanding recall from Nov 2015 that was reviewed by the Jeep dealer southern Jeep, located on military highway and I have yet to receive any feedback wrt the status of the repair, evaluation etc... my rear window defrost mechanism is inoperable; it has been repair about 5 times by Jeep dealers, it was a recall a few years back and guess what, it still doesn't work and the wire is just hanging there in a non-working status. Help! I'm a loyal Jeep owner, I have (2), this may change....? pls advise@: samuel.fuller@navy.mil

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #244

Feb 062015

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was invalid. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #243

Sep 062015

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Wappingers Falls, NY, USA

problem #242

Nov 242015

Liberty

  • 180,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V673000 (air bags) however the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 180,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 04/07/2016

- Sunderland, MD, USA

problem #241

May 012015

Liberty

  • 220,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. While the vehicle was in park, the air bag deployed without warning on the front passenger side. The air bag and check engine warning lights illuminated. The dealer stated that because the light had approximately 1,000 hours on the air bag warning light, no repair was able to be provided. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 220,000.

- Debary, FL, USA

problem #240

Jun 132015

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. While the vehicle was parked, the passenger side air bag deployed inadvertently without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The failure mileage was unknown. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Debary, FL, USA

problem #239

Jan 222016

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V673000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #238

Jan 152016

Liberty

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. While driving 60 mph, the vehicle was involved in a crash. The air bags did not deploy. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The contact suffered from sore swollen ribs, a broken right wrist, and a swollen left hand. Medical attention was required and a police report was filed. The manufacturer was not notified of the air bag failure. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The failure mileage was 125,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 04/07/16

- Buffalo, MN, USA

problem #237

Jan 142016

Liberty

  • 100,000 miles
My daughter wrecked her Jeep Liberty on 1/14 and airbags did not deploy. She ran off road hit a drainage pipe that went under a driveway proceeded to hit a fire hydrant then a guide wire that went to a power pole then the car proceeded to roll several times. The airbags did not deploy.

- Jonesville, NC, USA

problem #236

Jan 092016

Liberty

  • 55,000 miles
Takata recall. I have received recall notices on my vehicle since July 2014. No Jeep dealer in san antonio tx area has the parts. My vehicle remains unsafe to drive.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #235

Jan 082016

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Bahama, NC, USA

problem #234

Jan 052016

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Batonrouge, LA, USA

problem #233

Oct 042015

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacture exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #232

Dec 212015

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 3 miles
I was slowing at a light when the airbag deployed. It hit my stomach and chest and the horn stayed on. I jumped out of my Jeep and the driver behind me got out to see what happened. There was smoke everywhere and he told me to turn on the Jeep to move it off to the side but I was too scared so he turned the key to put it in neutral and we pushed it off to the side. I waited outside for my husband to come and the horn continued to beep and my stomach was in pain. I was already bruising and my fingers were covered in black powder...updated 01/25/16.

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #231

Feb 062015

Liberty

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #230

Feb 062015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 77,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 04/04/16 the consumer stated the air bag recall, was rectified. However, he was never notified of recall # 13V252000. Updated 06/27/16.

- Pompton Lakes, NJ, USA

problem #229

Feb 062015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available......updated 02/10/16 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 02/23/16.

- Big Canoe, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?