Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,788 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 9 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #99

Dec 122006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated the vehicle had been on a waiting list for recall # F23 for the suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joint for over a month. The service dealer had not received any replacement kits in over a week and a half. There was noise coming from the front end of the vehicle, when making turns, that may be attributed to the lower ball joint problem. The manufacturer was notified. Updated 2/12/2007 -

- Chambersburg, PA, USA

problem #98

Dec 082006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
: the contact stated there were no problems with the vehicle. There was a NHTSA recall, #06V288000 on the vehicle regarding the front lower ball joint. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts were not available.

- Boyertown, PA, USA

problem #97

Dec 122006

Liberty

  • miles
I received a recall notice from daimler Chrysler about my 2004 Jeep Liberty about a safety recall F23-lower ball joints. This recall states that "ball joint separation can result in a loss of steering control and could cause a crash without prior warning". trying to make an appointment with the dealer to repair the problem revealed there would be an 8 week wait because the parts are not available. I learned from the dealer (and later verified by calling daimler Chrysler at 1.800.853.1403) that daimler Chrysler is making only 3 replacement parts available to dealers per week! if this is such a potentially dangerous situation, doesn't daimler Chrysler have an obligation to make more parts available to dealers of their defective cars" I understand that we are talking about a lot of cars, but that does not change the fact that I am driving a defective vehicle which I will have to continue to drive for another 8 weeks. How can such a huge corporation not insure that parts are available to their dealers in a more timely fashion? what happens if indeed a crash occurs without prior warning during that waiting period? what will daimler Chrysler say and do then? this is a shameful example of violating the public trust-and this car is not cheap-they are certainly not saying-hold your payments until the car is repaired. What can I do but wait"

- Ghent, NY, USA

problem #96

Dec 092006

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated a NHTSA recall letter #06V288000 was received regarding the front lower ball joint. The parts needed to repair the vehicle are not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts are not available. Updated 1/29/2007 -

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #95

Dec 112006

Liberty

  • miles
I received a safety recall F23-lower ball joints notice. This is case EA06008. I called my local dealer, hoselton in East rochester, NY. I was informed that the wait time would be approximately 40 (forty) weeks. This does not seem to be a reasonable time frame to me.

- Penfield, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #94

Dec 092006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
: the contact stated there were no problems with the vehicle. There was a NHTSA recall, #06V288000 on the vehicle regarding the front lower ball joint. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts were not available.

- Binghamton, NY, USA

problem #93

Dec 082006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated a NHTSA recall letter # F23, for the suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joint was received on 12/8/2006. In October, 2006, the independent mechanic informed the contact the ball joints were under a recall and the VIN was included in the recall. When the service dealer was notified, the contact was informed there was a wait list and the parts were back ordered. When the manufacturer was contacted, the contact was informed an appointment could be scheduled to inspect the ball joints but the parts were still back ordered.

- Liberty, NY, USA

problem #92

Dec 082006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving various speeds on rough road conditions, a squeaking noise was present within the front suspension. There was a NHTSA recall, #06V288000 on the vehicle regarding the front lower ball joints. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer was alerted, and confirmed the parts were not available. Updated 12/28/2006 -

- Franklin, PA, USA

problem #91

Dec 072006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,398 miles
: the contact stated while traveling 58 mph on dry road conditions, the vehicle hit a pothole, and a loud pop was heard from the front end. The vehicle landed in a ditch, and upon visual inspection, the front passenger fender was sitting on top of the front passenger tire. The vehicle was towed to an independent repair shop, who determined that the front lower ball joint had fractured in two. The contact encountered a NHTSA recall #06V288000 on the vehicle regarding the suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joint. The contact never received a recall notice, and planned to notify the manufacturer after filing a complaint with the NHTSA.

- Salem, IN, USA

problem #90

Dec 012006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,885 miles
: the contact stated there were no problems with the vehicle. There was a NHTSA recall #06V288000 on the vehicle regarding the front lower ball joints. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts were not available.

- Brookings, OR, USA

problem #89

Jul 152006

Liberty

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2004 Jeep Liberty. It is still covered under warranty. First I had trouble with the transmission. It is not shifting properly. I took it to two dealers who told me that there was nothing wrong with it. I then found out from my local mechanic that my ball joints were bad. He took me right under the car and showed them to me...they are loose. I took it to one dealer for this, and once again I was told that there was nothing wrong with it. I was told that it met their "factory specs". I now suspect that this is why my transmission was deemed O.K...it met their "factory specs". why bother having a warranty if your not going to take care of problems with the vehicle"?" I now find out that my vehicle is included in a recall for....surprise, surprise....bad ball joints!!! only problem is, I have to wait (and drive around with bad ball joints) until they get around to sending me the notice. Totally unsafe and not good for my tires. This could of been taken care of 3 months ago when I originally took it in.

- Fort Atkinson, WI, USA

problem #88

Oct 252006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
: the contact stated no problem had occurred with the vehicle. There was a NHTSA recall, # 06V288000, regarding the front lower ball joint. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts were not available.

- Massapequa Park, NY, USA

problem #87

Nov 012006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I brought my 2004 Jeep Liberty into milford Jeep for safety recall F23. The recall was to replace the lower ball joints. When I asked if a wheel alignment was going to be done, they said it would not be done. In checking with DaimlerChrysler, I found out that they do not approve a wheel alignment and, if one is done, it would be at the owner's expense. I know the alignment was good prior to the ball joint replacement as my tire wear was even. But, now I will have to have a wheel alignment done as there is indications in my steering that suggest it needs an alignment. I can not believe that a ball joint replacement shouldn't include a wheel alignment. Even if I was experiencing the problem that the safety recall addressed, it would be because of the defective ball joint assemblies that were in the Jeep Liberty.

- Stratford, CT, USA

problem #86

Oct 172006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,222 miles
: the contact stated on October 17, 2006, the lower ball joint fractured while the vehicle was traveling 40 mph. The vehicle was towed to the service dealer and both lower ball joints were replaced according to recall # 06V288000 regarding, suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joint. The manufacturer was notified.

- Middleport, NY, USA

problem #85

Oct 042006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,700 miles
: the contact stated that conflicting information was received regarding the status of the vehicle and whether or not the VIN was included in recall# 06V288000 pertaining to the lower ball joint. The manufacturer notified the contact that the VIN was not included, however another staff member at the manufacturer was contacted, and stated that the VIN was included. A service dealer was also contacted, who stated that the VIN was included. No recall notice was sent to the contact. Updated 12/15/06.

- Woodside, NY, USA

problem #84

Sep 012006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
The front passenger side ball joint separated from the steering knuckle. My tire then crashed into the pavement while I was driving causing my tire to blow out & break my wheel (rim). No repairs have been done to my vehicle as of yet. Daimler Chrysler is denying that my vehicle is part of the recall.

- Bradenville, PA, USA

problem #83

Aug 292006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,240 miles
: the contact stated while braking at various speeds, there was a violent shaking in the steering column and the brake pedal caused a moderate loss of control. The vehicle was taken to a private repair shop who determined that both lower ball joints were worn to the point of separation. There were no immediate repairs made. There was a NHTSA recall # 06V288000 pertaining to the lower ball joints that was due to begin in September of 2006. Updated 09/13/06. 8jb

- Southbridge, MA, USA

problem #82

Aug 222006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,370 miles
I recently brought the recall information up to my dealer, bertera metro Jeep, during a routine oil change. They told me there was no such recall. On 8/22/06, I was driving my 2004 Jeep Liberty when all of a sudden my whole car just stopped and my front suspension dropped. I contacted bertera metro Jeep and they still stated there was no such recall. I was shaken up and scared not to mention the damage to my vehicle. Now they are telling me that they will only fix the ball joint and are not responsible for my tire damage or any other damage. What should I do?

- Spfld, MA, USA

problem #81

Aug 222006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
From a parking spot I was pulling forward and to the right. After about three feet the right front tire of the vehicle separated from the lower control arm. I stopped the vehicle in place and called for a tow truck. I believe this incident is related to NHTSA campaign number: 06V288000 involving Jeep liberties of my year, make and model. Pictures are available upon request.

- Niagara Falls, NY, USA

problem #80

Aug 142006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,422 miles
Driving 25 miles per hour in a 2004 Jeep Liberty and the right front lower ball joint broke off. There was no warning. The suspension fell and the tire fell in. The car had to be flatbeded to the repair shop where it was fixed under warranty but they did not replace the driver side which they should of because there is a recall in 2 weeks.

- Schodack Landing, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?