Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,469 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments

problem #17

Apr 302014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle would slightly vibrate. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated that the front upper ball joints needed to be replaced. The vehicle was being repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 53,000. Updated 7/16/14 the consumer also stated, the new ball joint/control arm caused the front wheel bearings to break, which caused the steering to wander and made the vehicle difficult to control.

- King, NC, USA

problem #16

Mar 132012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Jeep Liberty. Consumer requests reimbursement for towing and parts. The consumer stated the upper and lower ball joints were replaced.

- Rose Hill, MS, USA

problem #15

Feb 282012


  • miles
2004 Jeep Liberty. Consumer states vehicle front end fell to the ground while stopped at a light. The consumer had the vehicle towed where they repaired the lower ball joint and upper control arm and ball joint on the driver's side. The consumer stated a recall was issued. However, he never received a recall notice. Recall #06V288000

- Seminole, FL, USA

problem #14

Apr 012008

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,500 miles


Both left and right upper ball joints have failed and require replacement. The condition was originally evident by front end suspension noise and loose steering. The joints exhibit severe wear and corrosion.

- Draper, UT, USA

problem #13

Nov 242007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,761 miles
I took my vehicle in for a safety inspection and found that the right upper ball joint was 'very loose' and the left upper ball joint was 'loose'. my 2004 Jeep Liberty only has 51,761 miles and there should not be such a serious problem such as this given the age and mileage of this vehicle. This vehicle was already recalled in the spring of 2007 for the lower ball joints. Chrysler refused to pay for my upper ball joint repair.

- Ithaca, MI, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

Dec 072007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles
I own a 2004 Jeep Liberty, 46,000 miles. I preempted an incident. But, I took my car in for realignment and discovered that the upper right ball joint is extremely unsafe. Received two opinions. Both did not want to give the car back to me as I presented a safety hazard on the road. I just brought my car in for the recall and had the lower ball joints repaired about 7 months ago. Right upper is currently being fixed by a Jeep dealer.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #11

Jan 012007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles


- the contactstated that he received a recall 06V288000 for 2004 Jeep Liberty. Has called to make an appointment for repairs. The contact wastold that the parts will not be in to repair the car for a month or two. The contact would like to know what he could do to have this car repaired sooner. The contact has no other complaints concerning his car. The contact would just like to have the safety recall repaired. DaimlerChrysler's telephone number was 800-853-1403.

- Pittsville, NH, USA

problem #10

Dec 092006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
Used car 2004 Jeep Liberty, bought August 2005 with 17,000 miles and it now has 33000. October 2005 right rear axle needed to be replaced, contact was accused of hitting a curb. In early 2006 the left axle went out, and the contact was accused of hitting the left curb. 24,000 miles front rotors needed to be replaced. Contact accused of causing problems with car by driving to fast. Finally, contact received a recall notice for the front ball joint of car 12/09/06.

- Eaton Town, NJ, USA

problem #9

Aug 142006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Ball joint broke going 25 miles per hour. Only 35,0000 miles on car. There was no warning. Very violent stop. Only replacing broken part with same part. The car is a Jeep Liberty 2004.

- Schodack Landing, NY, USA

problem #8

Jul 082006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
Dropped kids at the movies after traveling on the saw mill parkway at 50 mph. Went to a shopping plaza and parked. Returned an hour and a half later and when I tried to put my Jeep Liberty in reverse and move out from the spot my front drivers side wheel fell forward while making a very loud grinding sound at the same time. I had the vehicle towed to the nearest dealership and the tow truck operator said he sees a lot of this with the 2003 and 2004 Jeep Liberty's. since I am under warranty they are fixing the problem. I investigated this online and there has been recalls on the 2002 and 2003 Jeep Liberty's but nothing on the 2004's. I found a site online where people have had the very same problem. Just by typing in the search box "problems with 2004 Jeep Liberty's." my concern is that there may be people driving this model and may have a wheel come off. I was lucky since mine occurred after I parked. The dealer called me today and said my Jeep is ready to be picked up and that the ball joint and the axle was replaced and that I shouldn't worry because they replaced it with an updated ball joint -- the best that they have and the same type that was used on the recalls for the 2002's and 2003's. so I guess they will replace if the warranty is still valid and if not, people will have to pay out of pocket. I want to know why they are not putting into place a recall for the owners of 2004 vehicles? someone may be seriously injured or even killed due to lack of knowledge of this faulty ball joint problem. As a result of the ball joint breaking - the axle broke and the brake line was punctured.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #7

Jun 112006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles


2004 Jeep Liberty sport 2wd - front right ball joint broken 1) regular driving with nothing out of the ordinary other than creaking from the front axle. Only 38,000 miles on the vehicle. We took a turn in a residential area at about 10 mph when a loud pop sound occurred and the vehicle skidded to a halt as the front right tire was lodged by the failing components. 2) right front ball joint failure. Car was rendered inoperable and had to be towed. If this had happened when we had been on the highway, it would have caused a (potentially fatal) crash. The car skidded to a halt at 10 mph, and it was luck alone that had us on a residential street rather than a highway at the time we were driving. 3) we had the vehicle towed to the dealer service location (klaben Chrysler, kent, oh) and are awaiting service. This issue seems very frequent after having researched on the internet! Chrysler/Jeep needs to be held accountable!

- Stow, OH, USA

problem #6

May 062006


  • miles
I own a 2004 Jeep Liberty. On May 6th while driving at 15 mph the front passenger wheel fell off and car was towed to dealer. The ball joint had broken and dealer wished to replace both ball joints. Since the car was no longer under warranty I would have to pay. After researching this problem, I found that there have many many complaints and occurrences of this happening to other Jeep Liberty owners. The 2002 and 2003 Jeep liberties have been recalled for the exact same problem. Chrysler said they would not pay for the repair as the car was not under warranty. My argument is that this is a safety issue and the ball joints are defective and it is dangerous to drive this car and the car will eventually be recalled. I am very unhappy with their response. If I had been traveling at a high speed and this happened there would have been a serious accident.

- Fairview Park, OH, USA

problem #5

Apr 202006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
I am very concerned about the upper and lower ball joints on my 2003 Jeep Liberty. I have 26, 000 miles on this vehicle and the ball joints seem to have failed. I am choosing to replace them with what I hope will be a better quality product.

- Las Vegas , NV, USA

problem #4

Mar 242006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
Ball joint failure. Vehicle pulling to the right. Squeaking/squealing noises. Took vehicle for wheel alignment and found out that the ball joints were bad. Black soot substance continually coating hub cab of front passenger side wheel.

- Barryville, NY, USA

problem #3

Jan 242006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,311 miles
Upper and lower ball joint failure.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #2

Dec 152005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,400 miles
Upper ball joint failure....upper controls needed to be replaced.

- Apple Valley, CA, USA

problem #1

Oct 102005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact stated that while driving 2004 Jeep Liberty the left front driver's side wheel fell to the right and was hanging on by lugs:nuts. Upon inspection the upper ball joint and the upper control arm and the axle broke. The vehicle speed was 20 mph. The vehicle was taken the dealership, and the dealer ship offered no explanation as to why this happened. The contact called Chrysler, and was informed that there was no recall. The vehicle currently has only 30,000 miles on. It. the vehicle was not involved in any accidents or hit any road hazard.

- Stanton Island, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?