Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,391 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Liberty windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #63

Nov 032014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the front driver side window failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the window was repaired. The contact mentioned that all the windows were replaced on the vehicle on nine separate occasions. Also, the contact stated that a rubber plug also failed which allowed water inside the cabin of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, where the rubber plug was replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and did not offer any assistance. The failure mileage was approximatley 60,000. Updated 9/21/2015

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #62

Mar 042014

Liberty

  • miles
Same gas problem it overflows tank when filling it. ABS light, esp bas, and traction control lights came on and brakes go all the way to the floor at times. Window regulators keep going out making my vehicle unsafe for me to put my child in. As a single parent I cannot afford to keep paying for costly repairs (mainly the windows) to prevent my child from getting sick in Wisconsin winter. I do not have time in my day to sit and wait on repairs to be done. I hate risking frost bite when my window decides to fall and I'm trying to hold it up! it is now snowing and my drivers side window has fallen into my door yet again and it is 2 am and I really hope garbage bags keep it dry!

- Whitewater, WI, USA

problem #61

Dec 212013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
In 2010 I purchased a used 2007 Jeep Liberty from a dealership. Within the first month of the purchase the mechanism inside the front driver's side door broke causing the window to drop into the door rendering it unusable. I took the vehicle back to the dealership and they repaired the mechanism for free. In 2012 the same mechanism in the same door broke again. This time I was told that this is a common occurrence but was forced to pay for the repair myself as Jeep has not yet recalled the mechanism. Yesterday, December 21, 2013 the mechanism broke again this time in the front passenger side door. I have called the dealership again but have not yet scheduled a time to fix the unit. I do not feel as if I should have to pay for this repair as it is an on-going issue and obviously a defective product.

- Montclair, NJ, USA

problem #60

Oct 152007

Liberty

  • 3,999 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty 4X4. The contact stated that all four windows had fallen into the door panels. The vehicle had been taken to the dealer several times to have the window regulators repaired but the failure continuously recurred. The manufacturer was aware of the failure but provided no assistance to the contact. The failure mileage was 3,999 and the current mileage was 51,000.

- Shelbyville, TN, USA

problem #59

Feb 262012

Liberty

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the front passenger side regulator failed and the window could not be closed or opened. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the failure who advised that there were no recalls for the vehicle and offered no other assistance. The failure mileage was 84,000.

- Fairdale, KY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #58

Jan 132012

Liberty

  • 63,450 miles
I purchased this vehicle on December 1 2011 and about a month or a little more later (in January) the front passenger window started messing up (when you rolled it up it started going up crooked and you have to take your hand a straightened several times while rolling it up all the way. Also, the switches that are in the middle area between the seats, the one for the back driver's side passenger side, quit working all together. Toward the end of February or the beginning of March we were traveling down the road ( grandson was in the back luckily on the opposite side in his car seat) and the driver's side back passenger window started malfunctioning (when you went to roll it up the motor that rolls it up started making noise) and the window dropped and somehow jammed the door completely shut and we cannot open it. Today while we were out we noticed the driver's side window is starting to act up. That's three out of 4 messing up or messed up and one has caused us not to be able to open the door at all. We cannot afford to have all this fixed on our own and it is not that old of a vehicle and the mileage is not really that high and it is still in good shape otherwise and from what I have read from some of the other complaints filed on here for the 2007 Jeep Liberty this seems to be a repeating issue.

- Georgetown, KY, USA

problem #57

Jan 132012

Liberty

  • 63,450 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this vehicle on December 1 2011 and about a month or a little more later (in January) the front passenger window started messing up (when you rolled it up it started going up crooked and you have to take your hand a straightened several times while rolling it up all the way. Also, the switches that are in the middle area between the seats, the one for the back driver's side passenger side, quit working all together. Toward the end of February or the beginning of March we were traveling down the road ( grandson was in the back luckily on the opposite side in his car seat) and the driver's side back passenger window started malfunctioning (when you went to roll it up the motor that rolls it up started making noise) and the window dropped and somehow jammed the door completely shut and we cannot open it. Today while we were out we noticed the driver's side window is starting to act up. That's three out of 4 messing up or messed up and one has caused us not to be able to open the door at all. We cannot afford to have all this fixed on our own and it is not that old of a vehicle and the mileage is not really that high and it is still in good shape otherwise and from what I have read from some of the other complaints filed on here for the 2007 Jeep Liberty this seems to be a repeating issue.

- Georgetown, KY, USA

problem #56

Jan 132012

Liberty

  • 63,450 miles
I purchased this vehicle on December 1 2011 and about a month or a little more later (in January) the front passenger window started messing up (when you rolled it up it started going up crooked and you have to take your hand a straightened several times while rolling it up all the way. Also, the switches that are in the middle area between the seats, the one for the back driver's side passenger side, quit working all together. Toward the end of February or the beginning of March we were traveling down the road ( grandson was in the back luckily on the opposite side in his car seat) and the driver's side back passenger window started malfunctioning (when you went to roll it up the motor that rolls it up started making noise) and the window dropped and somehow jammed the door completely shut and we cannot open it. Today while we were out we noticed the driver's side window is starting to act up. That's three out of 4 messing up or messed up and one has caused us not to be able to open the door at all. We cannot afford to have all this fixed on our own and it is not that old of a vehicle and the mileage is not really that high and it is still in good shape otherwise and from what I have read from some of the other complaints filed on here for the 2007 Jeep Liberty this seems to be a repeating issue.

- Georgetown, KY, USA

problem #55

Feb 022012

Liberty

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. While driving approximately 35 mph, the contact noticed that the rear driver side window was falling slowly into the door panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics where the technicians advised that the window regulator would have to be replaced. The failure also occurred on the rear passenger window. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.

- Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #54

Mar 012009

Liberty

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the driver side brake light failed intermittently. The dealer made six attempts to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was taken to private mechanic who was also unable to duplicate the failure. In addition, the contact stated that the window regulators were faulty and she was unable to close the windows once they had been opened. The driver side window was replaced twice. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but no repairs were performed. The current mileage was 98,120 and the approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Bloomfield, IN, USA

problem #53

Oct 212011

Liberty

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the front driver side window detached and fell down into the door panel while driving 25 mph. The contact also stated that the rear driver side window was beginning to fall down into the door panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that a regulator cable broke. The contact was also informed that a new regulator assembly needed to be installed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The failure and the current mileages were 45,000.

- Beloit, WI, USA

problem #52

Sep 202009

Liberty

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact returned to her parked vehicle and noticed the drivers side window was inside the door panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that the motor for the window needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The failure had since recurred on two occasions, once on each rear window. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 35,000.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #51

Aug 062011

Liberty

  • 45,000 miles
3 of 4 power window in car have dropped inside the door. 2007 Jeep Liberty.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #50

Nov 252010

Liberty

  • 36,768 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the front driver side and both the front and rear passenger side window regulators failed. The dealer advised that all three window regulators would need replacing after performing a diagnostic. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised that they would have a representative return his call at a later date. The failure mileage was 36,768.

- Chicopee, MA, USA

problem #49

Feb 062011

Liberty

  • miles
Jeep Liberty: Due to a disability, I cannot reach snow on roof to clear. Driving about 35 mph, braking to slow down for stop sign, all the heavy snow on roof slid forward, completely covered windshield. I was a blind driver for at least 100 feet. No one in front of me this time, thank god. Had to stop in middle of a busy road to clear windshield. Never had this happen with any car I have ever owned. I am 62 and owned a lot of cars. I am so upset, I may sell this car, I am afraid to drive it with snow on roof. Contacted dealer, he said clean the snow off the roof. I am disabled, I told him. He did not do anything, offer advice, etc. Have you had any complaints like this?

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #48

Dec 022010

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 42,030 miles
I have owned my 2007 Jeep Liberty since June 2007. Today my right rear passenger window regulator failed. This is the 6th occurrence of this happening since I've owned my vehicle. The driver's side has failed 3 times. The front passenger side has failed once and the left rear has failed twice. Now this is actually the 7th occurrence. Why hasn't Jeep done a recall about this?

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #47

Oct 012008

Liberty

  • 1,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. While driving approximately 30 mph, the front driver side window fell down into the door panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the window regulator was repaired. The failure occurred five additional times on different windows and replaced. The failure mileage was approximately 1,500 and the current mileage was approximately 32,000. Updated 01/11/11

- San Bernardino, CA, USA

problem #46

Dec 092009

Liberty

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns 2007 Jeep Liberty 4X4. While the vehicle was stationary, the contact stated the rear passenger side automatic window released in a downward motion without assistance. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired at the dealer. The identical failure occurred previously with the front driver side automatic window in which the window regulator and glass were replaced. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- Easthampton, MA, USA

problem #45

Oct 102010

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
Window has dropped 4 inches will not go up have to physically push up with hands and the window is taped to hold in place. In my state, a vehicle will not pass state inspection if the windows do not work especially the drivers side which is where my problem is. Considered a "safety" issue.

- Middletown, DE, USA

problem #44

Oct 032010

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
My 2007 Jeep Liberty has yet again had another window break due to their faulty brackets installed by Jeep. This is the second window of mine to go out in less than a year. At first the window was having trouble go up by itself and then yesterday it made a popping noise and the glass fell down completely and will not come back up. This should be recalled there is no doubt about it.

- Sandy, UT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?