Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,868 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Jeep Liberty drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments

problem #19

Aug 172016

Liberty

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Severe rusting of all suspension components. Rf and lf cv joints rusted beyond repair. Front brake rotors beyond repair. Jeep dealers said vehicle has severe rusting and unsafe to drive. Was told may not be worth repairing. Most Jeep liberties are covered under a recall except 2008. Dealer said repairs would be in the thousands.

- Grandy, NC, USA

problem #18

Aug 202015

Liberty

  • 80,000 miles
This vehicle has had the sunroof leak, the heat shield bracket rusted/broke and came loose from the auto and hit the drive shaft, and the air conditioner does not blow out on the correct vents, the air bag light comes on and off,

- Wheeling, WV, USA

problem #17

Jul 062015

Liberty

  • 86,100 miles
Driving on the freeway at 70mph when the ac compressor seized and blew the bearings out. Oil got on belt which caused it to slip on power steering pulley which slightly increased steering effort. Ac compressor is used to operate defogger. Since ac compressor is broken, defogger will not work and visibility may not meet federal standards depending on weather.

- Roseville, MI, USA

problem #16

Nov 012014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 36,110 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The parking brake failed to engage on my 2008 Jeep Liberty automatic transmission. While the parking brake was fully engaged with the Jeep in neutral the Jeep rolled backward and struck the wall causing minor right front fender damage. Fortunately the Jeep hit the wall stopping it from rolling down the driveway into traffic or running over pedestrians. Note; there is a recall on the 2008 Jeep Liberty, Chrysler recall #H28 with manual transmission but not on the automatic which uses the exact same parking brake system. Why isn't there a recall for this vehicle? emergency/parking brake system should be there when you need it and if the hydraulic braking system should fail. This is a vehicle safety alert that must be addressed.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #15

Jun 122014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The transmission pan is rotting out and leaking onto the exhaust, every morning when I leave for work I smell something burning. Well come to find out its been rusting for a long time now seeing I have only had this Jeep for two years now, but I have lots of problem with this Jeep, Jeep told me that they don't cover rust and corrosion. I feel its a manufacturing blemish, that they don't want to stand behind. I am and auto inspector for large auto auction. Back to the pan, the pan is painted but rusting under the paint, which means it was not prep right for painting, the exhaust pipe is less three inches from the pan, exhaust converter are on both side of the pan with the Y pipe right behind so there is extreme heat there.

- Bellingham, MA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Aug 262014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
There has been an intermittent issue where the check engine light comes on followed by the traction control light (usually after making a left hand turn.) when this first started the vehicle was still under warranty, and went to Jeep. They had our Liberty for several days and swapped out the cam and crankshaft sensors to "fix" this problem. The car again was acting up within a month or so, and when we called the dealer back to bring it back in they advised us that the extended warranty that we paid a lot of money for was now expired. I took it to a local auto parts store to have the codes read. It was again code C121C, in conjunction with the codes relating to faulty cam and crankshaft sensors. Since the service department stated that they replaced the cam and crankshaft sensors. I replaced the needed parts and this lasted maybe 20 miles, prior to the lights coming back on. I attempted to replace them a second time thinking I may have gotten a defective part or two, but it wound up being the same end result; about 10-20 miles in the check engine light and traction control lights came on. This prevented the vehicle from shifting into over drive, it prevents the vehicle from accelerating at a normal speed, and above 50 mph the whole vehicle will wildly shutter when you let your foot off the gas. Jeep will not warranty the drive terrain even though the state the vehicle should have a 100K mile warranty on the drive terrain.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #13

Jun 022014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Occasion 1. vehicle parked. Lights began flashing, horn sounding, washers squirting, door locks operating. Unable to exit vehicle. Trapped inside with 4 year old grandson for ten minutes. Ignition key inoperable. Finally managed to get vehicle ignition going, and drove home. Vehicle power fluctuating causing uncontrollable power surges. Occasion 2. vehicle approaching junction at 10 mph. Lights. Horn, washers, doorlocks operating - pulled vehicle over, unable to engage park, removed key from ignition - vehicle engine still running but managed to engage park, however then could not get it out of park. Exited vehicle, engine still running, lights, horn etc actuating, and could not re-enter vehicle. Numerous complaints of this on this website as well as various Jeep forums. Contact with Jeep gives no response other than vehicle out of warranty see your dealer. This is a systemic problem, not a spurious one off specific vehicle fault and could be a safety concern given the lack of control you have over basic vehicle powertrain and driveabiltiy functions. Jeep had already repaired the vehicle under warranty once before for same fault. Removing battery connections resets the system until the problem re-occurs.throws error code P0883 occasionally when in this malfunctioning mode.

- Deposit, NY, USA

problem #12

Jan 212013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 89,180 miles
Manual transmission popped out of first gear into neutral so violently that it felt as if I had been rear-ended. Jeep dealership replaced first and second gear synchro on January 25, 2013. By May 2013 the problem was occurring intermittently and by August routinely. The Jeep dealership refused to repair on August 15, 2013 after having the vehicle a week and claiming they couldn't "replicate the problem." Thereafter, gear popping increased to the point that I was unable to safely turn left turn against traffic or move forward when stopped on an incline. On December 23, 2013, I delivered the vehicle to another Jeep dealership and left it for an entire month during which time it was driven 13 miles and a "complete diagnostic" performed, but once again the dealership was unable to "replicate." On January 21, 2014, I picked it up only to have it violently pop out of first gear just two miles from dealership. It happened again on the 23rd and even more violently the afternoon of the 24th. While driving home from work on January 24, 2014 via an interstate highway in very heavy traffic (I-25 in denver, co) the clutch completely malfunctioned leaving my husband unable to put the vehicle into any gear whatsoever. After slamming in 2nd gear with brute force, the vehicle would not move forward at all forcing him to coast to the shoulder. At the shoulder, he turned the vehicle off, restarted and was able to place into first and second gear. However, the vehicle simply rolled backwards with no ability to move forward at all. The vehicle was towed back to the same dealership this evening (January 24, 2014) for repair. Chrysler issued a revised service bulletin # 21-001-10 in April 2010 calling for replacement of first and second synchro; however, I am experiencing increasing problems despite that very repair in January 2013. This vehicle cannot be safely operated.

- Centennial, CO, USA

problem #11

Jul 222013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V121000 (power train). The contact stated that the dealer informed her that the parts needed to perform the recall service were not available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- El Paso , TX, USA

problem #10

Jun 132013

Liberty

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated while driving 55 mph the steering wheel became unresponsive and the vehicle crashed into a guard rail, flipped over twice and landed in an embankment. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact had to be cut out of the vehicle. She suffered a cut on her neck, several abrasions, bruises, and various other injuries to her back. Two days after the crash she received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V121000 (air bags, power train, structure). The failure and current mileage was 80,000.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #9

Jul 162013

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated she received a notice for NHTSA campaign number 13V121000 (air bags, power train, structure) several months ago but was informed by the dealer that the part was not available and no estimated time of arrival could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Georgetown, KY, USA

problem #8

Jun 032013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
Chrysler safety recall N10 / NHTSA 13V-121 underbody transmission tunnel shield may separate and rub driveshaft causing driveshaft to break. In turn this could cause a crash without warning. Original letter concerning the recall received over thirty days ago. Letter advising that dealers have parts and to schedule appointment received one week ago dealer in lexington, nc still does not have parts and is not sure when they will be received. Very concerned since teenage daughter drives car every day to work and school.

- Lexington, NC, USA

problem #7

Jun 162013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the vehicle overheated after running for a short time. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the engine needed to be replaced because the water pump had failed. The contact inquired about NHTSA recall campaign id number: 13V121000 (air bags, power train and structure) but was informed that the engine damage was not related. The failure and current mileages were 87,000.

- Stockbridge , GA, USA

problem #6

Apr 302012

Liberty

  • 53,000 miles
I received a recall letter from Chrysler regarding a recall stating that "the transfer case heat shield may drop down and rub on the drive shaft, weakening it and potentially causing the drive shaft to break.". Chrysler's recall letter fails to mention what is outlined in the NHTSA letter: The first potential cause of an accident resulting from the above referenced defect: "if the drive shaft breaks, a section of it can strike the transfer case tunnel with enough force that the airbag computer will believe the vehicle is in a crash and thus deploy the airbags.". I lodged a complaint with Chrysler that they are unwilling to provide 2008 Jeep Liberty owners with alternative transportation while they "fix" the "problem". customers need to be informed about all the possible consequences and Chrysler only mentions this the transfer case heat shield may drop down and rub on the drive shaft, weakening it and potentially causing the drive shaft to break. In addition, I spoke to Chrysler "recall help desk" about whether I should be driving my Jeep or not and I was told "you've been driving your car for 53,000 miles and nothings happened so probably nothing will happen but let us know if it does." He said that the "head honchos" were meeting about the fix as we spoke. I asked him to let the CEO know that if they really cared for customer safety they would get us rental cars and that I would take the cheapest rental on the market. Would the CEO of Chrysler continue to drive a 2008 Jeep Liberty until the fix"? would he have his son, daughter or wife drive one in its present condition". NHTSA in the spirit of transparency, where is the information that tells 2008 Jeep owners how many and at what mileage accidents have occurred. I am unable to easily access this information on the NHTSA web site and am an intermediate computer user.

- San Rafael, CA, USA

problem #5

Jun 062013

Liberty

  • 59,000 miles
Every single time I go to fill up the vehicle, it spews gas all over the place (the vehicle, me, ground) it doesn't matter how fast or slow you fill it up, it goes all over everything. Its dangerous and very irritating! I hate this vehicle very much, its an epic fail of a SUV! they drive awful and the transmission seems off all of the time!

- Greenville, KY, USA

problem #4

Jun 042013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that they received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V121000 (air bags, power train, structure), but the manufacturer stated that the remedy for the defect was not yet available. The current mileage was 30,000. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Victoria, TX, USA

problem #3

Oct 222011

Liberty

  • 35,260 miles
Sudden engine acceleration incident. My wife and I were leaving a parking lot. After backing out of my parking space I drove for about 1 minute to a stop sign. I put the manual transmission in neutral and waited for a car to exit the intersection and for some pedestrians to cross. Suddenly, without touching the accelerator, the engine began to race. I looked at the tachometer. The engine that normally idles at about 600 RPM was running at 2500 RPM. I sat at the stop sign for a few moments and decided the throttle must have stuck. With the stick shift in neutral I tapped the accelerator hoping to unstick the throttle. The engine roared to 3500 RPM and stayed there for 10-20 seconds. Then the rpms started to drop back down to normal idle.. weather was clear and dry temperature 60 degrees, time 3 pm. It was scary. If the transmission was in gear when the engine took off, I would have taken off. I'm afraid to drive this car.

- Shrewsbury, NJ, USA

problem #2

Jan 012009

Liberty

  • 1,850 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Liberty 4X4. The contact was driving 30 mph as transmission fluid began abnormally leaking from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnostic test that located the failure at the transmission seal. The dealer replaced the transmission seal and housing extension but the failure persisted. When attempting to shift gears, the transmission would exhibit an unusual knocking. On one occasion while driving 30 mph, the vehicle abnormally accelerated and the contact was able to stop the acceleration by abruptly applying the brakes. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 1,850 and the current mileage was 45,000.

- West Roxbury , MA, USA

problem #1

Mar 012009

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 0 miles
2008 Jeep Liberty chatters when backing up slight incline. Problem since new. Still under warranty. Dealer installed torque converter and new rear drive shaft on two different visits. Neither solved issue. Dealer and Chrysler told me that this is "...the nature of the beast." Local service rep. Told me that he's driven several with same problem. Chrysler refuses to go any further with solving the issue, basically, telling me to "...live with it." If, indeed, it is "...the nature of the beast...," shouldn't there be a recall to address this? at this point, I'm looking into litigation for breach of contract, as their warranty assures me a flawless product. The consumer stated the vehicle would shudder or jerk while backing up on an incline. The consumer was advised by a chrsyler rep to take the vehicle to a local transmission shop to get a diagnosis only. The repair shop believed the problem was the front U-joint on the rear driveline which was very stiff in one direction, the slip yoke was a little stiff and the hill brake did not release quick enough. The driveline was installed. However, the problem continued. Updated 01/12/11.

- Eugene, OR, USA

Not what you are looking for?