Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,783 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Jeep Liberty fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #52

Oct 012011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles


At the end of filling gas tank, gas backwashes out of the filling tube down the side of the car and onto the ground.

- Wappingers Falls, NY, USA

problem #51

May 132011


  • 27,355 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated the while refueling the vehicle, fuel spilled from the pump and onto the ground. The failure was experienced numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnosed that located the failure at the fuel tank and advised that it would need to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted (case number 21321679) and advised that they would cover fifty percent of the cost for repairs. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 27,355 and the current mileage was 29,000.

- Lakewood, CO, USA

problem #50

Apr 152011


  • 60,000 miles
During fueling at the end of the process the fuel pump will "click" off. After the click, a fair amount of fuel spills from the fuel tank down the side of my vehicle and the ground. This is a dangerous condition to the environment and a waste of fuel.

- North Little Rock , AR, USA

problem #49

Feb 012011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles


When filling the gas tank on a 2008 Jeep Liberty, fuel will overflow out of the tank filler tube on to the vehicle and ground after the fuel pump has shut off. Fuel overflows out of the filler tube after the fuel pump is shut off, even when filling it at a low flow rate. It started occurring when the vehicle had approximately 55,000 miles.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #48

Sep 102011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 13,836 miles
After fueling the vehicle, a substantial amount of fuel splashes back out all over my hand, the vehicle, and the ground. This is not due to over filling, even if I try to stop it early, fuel still splashes back out. This is very dangerous and needs to be addressed by Chrysler-Jeep.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #47

Feb 252011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
When filling the gas tank with gas it over fills everytime. The pump is stopped when full, but it will over fill enough to where it will come spraying out.

- Whitesboro, TX, USA

problem #46

Sep 072011

Liberty 8-cyl

  • 29,000 miles


Every time I go to fill my tank with gas there is a spill over. I have been to multiple different filling stations and get the same result every time. Gasoline always runs down the side of the car as the tank reaches fuel capacity. Gasoline spills out of the tank, down the side of the Jeep, on to the ground, and even gets on my hands, clothes, and shoes. This is totally unacceptable! I have never had such an issue with something as simple as fueling a vehicle. I have owned this vehicle for less than 2 months. I purchased the vehicle used from carmax. I plan on contacting them regarding this problem. I have read other complaints online for the same year and model as my Jeep. I feel that this is a major defect that warrants a total recall on all 2008 Jeep Liberty models. I don't like having to worry about ingesting gasoline when I eat because my hands were covered in gasoline. I don't like breathing the noxious fumes while I'm inside my car because fuel from a defective fuel tank has spilled on to my clothes and shoes.

- Oakland, TN, USA

problem #45

Dec 012010

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated while adding gasoline to the fuel tank the fuel would spill out. The dealer was contacted but offered no assistance. The manufacturer informed the contact to talk to NHTSA regarding the failure. The failure mileage was 64,000. Updated 9/13/11 updated 09/30/11.

- Sagamore Beach, MA, USA

problem #44

Dec 152010


  • 45,000 miles
I bought the car in 2009 as the second owner with 18,000 miles on it. About 6 months ago every time I fill up the gas tank it overflows and sprays gas all over the place. At first I thought it was the station but after using multiple stations I now have to estimate how much gas is left in the tank and then try and fill it up. This needs to be fixed as it is a major safety issue.

- Old Saybrook, CT, USA

problem #43

Jun 012011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
2008 Jeep Liberty limited 4X4, "burps" gasoline out of the gas tank every time I fill up with gas. I have filled up at multiple gas stations and every time the pump stops filling when full, but the Jeep spits out gas after the pump stops. I can't believe there is no recall on this problem, since I see this as a very serious safety concern.

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #42

Nov 222010

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 8,000 miles


I own a 2008 Jeep Liberty. I am the second owner and purchased in late November 2010. The mileage at purchase was only 8,000 miles. When I filled the tank for the very first time, it overflowed, spilling gas down the side of the Jeep, on my feet, clothes, hands, etc. Every time I fill the tank, it over flows. I feel that this is highly unsafe as well as an inconvenience. I have to constantly shut off the pump early to avoid an overflow. I took it to the dealership and they informed me that I need a new gas tank at $730. I am now at 17,000 miles, well under the 3yr/36,000 mile warranty but due to the date, the warranty is expired. This is unsafe and ridiculous. A vehicle with 8,000 miles should not have gas spilling out of the tank at every fill. I understand that there is a current recall on Wrangler for the same issue but nothing is being done about the Liberty.

- Fuquay Varina, NC, USA

problem #41

May 312011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 13,335 miles
Every time I fill up my 2008 Jeep Liberty the gas tank does not shut off properly and gas spills out all over my Jeep and the ground. This happens every time I get gas and it doesn't matter what gas station I go to.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #40

Apr 172011

Liberty 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while refueling the vehicle with gasoline, the fuel spilled back out onto the side of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated they would repair the vehicle if the contact would pay a $250 deductible fee. The manufacturer was contact who stated they would replace the fuel tank, but at the contacts expense. There were no recalls for the vehicle. The failure mileage was 43,000. Updated 06/16/11 updated 02/03/2012

- East Hampton, NY, USA

problem #39

May 052011


  • 31,000 miles
When filling with gas, when the pump shuts off, gas spits back out the filler neck, runs down the side of our vehicle and makes a puddle on the ground.

- Grand Blanc, MI, USA

problem #38

May 092011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 45,375 miles
Just bought a 2008 Jeep Liberty. Everytime I fill the gas tank up it spits gas out all over the place. Both automatic and manual operation (fill up), it does not matter. Why"?"

- Old Town, ME, USA

problem #37

Apr 012011


  • 32,000 miles
I just bought a used 2008 Jeep Liberty with 32,000 miles. This did not happen until after a few fill ups, but now gas spews out after filling the tank. I gets all over the car, the ground and my shoes.

- Canal Winchester, OH, USA

problem #36

Jan 072011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
2008 Jeep Liberty. I have owned the vehicle for 3 years and 5 months. It has 43,000 miles. Four months ago the issue began while filling the car with gas. The gas pump does not turn off when the tank is full causing an overflow of gasoline onto the car and ground. This happens every time we refuel. Several people have refueled just to ensure it was not user error and the same thing happens. We have also used many different gas stations. I have contacted the dealer and their response is that an issue has not been found and a recall has not been issued. The consumer stated Chrysler agreed to pay for the fuel tank replacement and therefore request to delete this complaint. Updated 06/07/11

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #35

Nov 242010

Liberty 4WD

  • 25,000 miles
I purchased my 2008 Jeep Liberty 4X4 in November 2010, and every single time I have filled up with gas, the fuel spills out of the tank just as the nozzle shuts off. This has happened at every gas station and every type of pump I have used. It is very frustrating because the gas runs down the side of the vehicle (near the exhaust), onto the ground, and often gets on me. I cannot imagine this is safe. Not only is the spill harmful to the environment, it is also a fire hazard. And, with fuel prices creeping up, I become more and more frustrated at this wasted fuel that I am paying for. I have contacted my dealership about the issue and they informed me that a similar issue was found in 2007-2008 Jeep Wrangler, but there was no recall. Please make Chrysler take responsibility for the faulty valve that is supposedly causing this issue - for the safety and piece of mind of all loyal Jeep owners.

- Navarre, OH, USA

problem #34

Apr 162011


  • miles
While filling 2008 Jeep Liberty, past 6 times, the gas tends to seep out. Mileage when started ~43K miles. Even when the rubber cover over the gas nozzle fits snug with the throat of the gas inlet, gas has leaked.

- Jeannette, PA, USA

problem #33

Apr 132011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
I have a 2008 Jeep Liberty that will not shut off the gas valve when I am pumping gas. I previously had a 2005 Jeep Liberty that had the same problem. I feel this is a safety issue since gas drips down the side of the car, tire and eventually on the person pumping gas creating a very large puddle of gas that requires cleanup from the gas attendant. This has happened with 2 different styles of Jeep at various gas stations.

- Geneva, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?