Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,307 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Jeep Patriot drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Jeep Patriot:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Jeep Patriot Owner Comments

problem #11

Jun 042016


  • 91,000 miles


Little by little the electrical to my car has been going. Im the first owner and first the front power windows, then the horn and then the lights stopped working. Then my car started stalling out of no where when I would accelerate. They say its the PCM but I never abused and always took care of my car.

- Elmwood Park, NJ, USA

problem #10

Mar 182016


  • 87,878 miles
Takata recall: Use SUV purchase in 2014 from korner Ford. Air bag light is coming on every 30 seconds for know reason. This should be covered under all warrenties as a safety hazard and not wear and tear. Stationary in public parking lot as I started the ignition. Has been on for 1 week as of to-date 03/31/2016. Verbally told that I had bumper to bumper coverage. Person is no longer there and my coverage is limited.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #9

Mar 182015


  • 102,000 miles
Had a very noticeable vibration while driving car. Took into dealership and mechanic was able to stick his fingers through the "K" frame and noticed 3 giant holes in the frame from corroded metal. Upon investigation it was noted that on 5-19-14 that the 2007 Jeep Patriot was recalled for the exact same thing (23-012-14) due to corrosion of the K frame which ended up extending the warranty indefinite. I contacted Chrysler and explained my frustration with the situation and asked that since there was a recall for the same exact situation for the 07 if there was anything they could do for me. They proceeded to tell me there was nothing they could do because my year was not recalled even though it was the same issue. Due to this I will have to buy a new vehicle on short notice due to the safety of driving my family in an unsafe vehicle I bought brand new 6 years ago. I feel that Chrysler should take responsibility for something they documented as a problem even thought it "only affected" vehicles 2 years prior to mine instead of just ignoring the customer's concerns and worries. Due to this I will never purchase another Chrysler vehicle for the way the treat their customers.

- Richfield, OH, USA

problem #8

Nov 122014

Patriot 4-cyl

  • 25,497 miles


My Jeep came with a lifetime powertrain warranty at the time I purchased the Jeep in April 2009. I was verbally told at the time of purchase to have the transmission checked before 50,000 miles. I have taken my Jeep into a local dealership a few times over the last few years to have minor things repaired and for normal maintenance. At those times I asked the dealership to check the transmission so I could comply with the warranty. I took my Jeep to the dealership again on 11/12/14 to get a minor problem fixed and I was told that my lifetime powertrain warranty had expired. I was told that since I did not bring my Jeep into the dealership on the 5 year anniversary of purchase (April 2009 - April 2014) to have the transmission inspected, that I failed to comply with the terms of my warranty. I was not aware that I was required to bring my Jeep into the dealership in April 2014 for the inspection. I was told that I could have it inspected anytime before 50,000 miles, which I did multiple times. I called Chrysler and was told that they should have sent me a notice by mail. I never got such a notice. Chrysler failed to properly notify me ahead of time to have my transmission inspected before April 2014. Chrysler told me that it was all my fault for not thoroughly reading my owners manual. They denied having any responsibility in this. According to Chrysler, it is not their responsibility to notify their customers about such things. It is the responsibility of the customer to read through the owners manual and remember to schedule service 5 years in the future. I am upset with Chrysler over this. Now my Jeep does not have any warranty on the powertrain. Chrysler has no concern for customer service. Only about making and saving money at the cost of the consumer. By canceling my warranty, they avoided having to pay for any powertrain services I may have in the future.

- Winter Park, FL, USA

problem #7

Oct 162014


  • 127,000 miles
I purchased the vehicle on Sept 27, 2014. On Oct, 17, 2014 after driving for about 30 min. My transmission became overheated and slowed down to 40mph. The same thing happened today 11/1/2014 after driving 60 min. One way 1 X. on the way back my Jeep stopped 3X in 60 min.

- Lake Providence, LA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #6

Jun 242014


  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Jeep Patriot. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the transmission and power training control module light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle decelerated to 40 mph and the steering wheel became difficult to steer. The contact shut off the vehicle and restarted ten minutes later, and the vehicle resumed normally. The failure recurred on ten different occasions. The manufacturer was contacted and did not offer a remedy. A local mechanic diagnosis on the vehicle was that the power train control module was faulty and needed to be replaced. There were no repairs completed on the vehicle. The failure was 80,000 and the current mileage was 87,000.

- Ocoee, FL, USA

problem #5

Jan 022012

Patriot 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles


Vehicle will stall with no/little warning. Stalls generally occur during wet and/or humid weather conditions, however does also occur during dry conditions. Stalls usually occur during idling while the vehicle is in gear (stopped at intersections or in traffic), but can also occur during initial acceleration from a stop. This issue has been occurring since early 2012 and is increasing in frequency. Chrysler has a related recall (08V528000, "power train:automatic transmission:control module (tcm, PCM)"), which seems to exactly describe this failure, however Chrysler claims that this specific vehicle is not included in the recall.

- Aberdeen, MD, USA

problem #4

Oct 102012


  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Jeep Patriot. The contact was driving approximate Y 40 mph when the transmission emitted an abnormal noise as the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle and resume as normal. In addition, the rear end of the vehicle began to shake continuously. The failure recurred constantly. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on six occasions for the failure. The technician advised the contact that the central computer system needed to be updated. The vehicle was also taken to an independent mechanic for a second opinion and the mechanic advised that the rear lower control arm, PCV and the power train module would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 68,000.

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #3

Sep 152012


  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Jeep Patriot. While stopped at a traffic stop, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure recurred while driving at different speeds. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 08V528000 (power train:automatic transmission:control module (tcm, PCM)) that could have been related to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised the contact that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.

- Pataskala, OH, USA

problem #2

Jan 112012


  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Jeep Patriot. While driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to three different independent mechanics for diagnostic testing. The fuel injector was flushed and the throttle was cleaned twice yet the failure persisted. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 08V528000 (power train:automatic transmission:control module (tcm, PCM)) but was advised by the manufacturer that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 77,000.

- Palm Coast, FL, USA

problem #1

Nov 022011


  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Jeep Patriot. The contact was driving 40 mph when the brakes were applied but the vehicle did not respond. The contact mentioned that the vehicle did not recognize which gear it was in and she had to quickly shift to park in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection and the manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 69,000.

- Denver , CO, USA

Not what you are looking for?