Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 6
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,061 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Jeep Wrangler electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Jeep Wrangler Owner Comments (Page 6 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

Oct 192012

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles


Airbag light came on intermittently at low driving speed. Eventually stayed on permanently whenever vehicle was in gear. Failed clock spring was diagnosed. This vehicle is the more common left hand drive.

- Wilmington, MA, USA

problem #17

Nov 262012

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Dodge dealership has inspected my Jeep for an airbag warning light illuminated. I have an extended warranty from millennium and the will not cover the repair. The problem has been diagnosed as a faulty clock spring. This is a lhd vehicle. The recall id 94030 is for the RHD Jeep. If left hand drive Jeep are having the same problems, how can this just be on the right hand drive only? recall id # 94030 - air bags:frontal component air bags:frontal model affected Wrangler potential units affected 5437 recall date: Nov 02, 2011 model affected: 2008 Jeep Wrangler summary: Chrysler is recalling certain model year 2008-2012 right hand drive (RHD) Jeep Wrangler vehicles manufactured from February 1, 2007, through October 10, 2011. Some vehicles may be equipped with driver's airbag clockspring assemblies that could experience a compromised airbag circuit resulting in an airbag lamp illumination, which indicates that the airbag may not deploy. Consequences: A broken electrical circuit in the airbag clockspring wiring assembly can lead to non-deployment of the driver frontal airbag and will not be able to properly protect the driver in the event of a crash, increasing the risk of injuries. Remedy: Chrysler will notify owners and remedy the vehicles as necessary free of charge. Chrysler will mail to owners an interim notification during March 2012. Owners may contact Chrysler at 1-800-853-1403. Potential units affected: 5437.

- Walters, OK, USA

problem #16

Sep 172012

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
Air bag light came on during driving. Took it to the dealer where they told me the clock spring needed to be replaced for $525. After researching the issue I discovered that Jeep has recalled the right hand drive clock springs for 2007-2012 but not on the left hand drive Jeep. They are the same part and a recall should be issued across the fleet. This is a safety issue as it can cause the air bag to deploy on its own, or not deploy in an accident.

- Providence , RI, USA

problem #15

Aug 162012


  • 76,000 miles


Intermittent problem starting the car. When the problem occurs, you turn the key and you just hear a dull click. The engine does not crank. After 2 or 3 tries, it will start. This has happened about a dozen time in the last 6 months. The starter relay switch has been changed but the problem persists. A new starter was put in but the problem continued. So far $350 has been spent but nothing has been resolved.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #14

Jul 172012


  • miles
After 3 yr, the car would not start. Battery was replaced and car would not start. After 3 days the car started and now intermittent the car would not start. Dealer does not know why.

- Cerritos, CA, USA

problem #13

Aug 012012

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 49,285 miles
The head lights will not stay on when turned on. When the head light switch is turned on the come on then off and will not come back on. The horn will blow with out pushing the horn button and at the same time the horn blows the windshield washer sprayer sprays water. After the Jeep as sit for several days without being started the motor will not turn over. The battery is fully charged and all the warning lights on the dash lights up when key is turned on but the starter will not even try to turn over the motor. After attempting to start the motor several times the starter will eventually start the motor. I have researched this problem on the internet and there was a recall for the totally integrated power module "tipm" in 2007. The problems that are occurring with my Jeep are the same problems that were occurring with the Jeep recalls in 2007. Please investigate this issue and recall this tipm as well. Thank you for your time.

- Tennessee Colony, TX, USA

problem #12

Jul 232012

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles


Clock spring has failed, this has been recalled on the RHD models. Horn no longer works and I am unsure if the airbag will deploy. Why is it not in recall on the lhd vehicles as well?

- Middle River, MD, USA

problem #11

Nov 072011

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
The sound in the dashboard for check engine light, all other lights door and seatbelt sounds do not work 90 percent of the time. 10 percent they will make a sound but then shut off. It is a mail Jeep. I'm concerned thta something might have shorted out or will catch my vehicle on fire. When I told the dealership they told me it would cost a lot of money because they would have to take the dash out to find the problem. The reason so many miles is my postal route. This car should be reltively new for this to happened.

- Erwin, TN, USA

problem #10

Nov 012011

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
Airbag warning light in instrument panel consistently goes off during irregular speed, steering wheel operation, and temperature. There is no pattern that correlates with the timing of the airbag warning light. When it first started, it would only come during at brief moments and turn off again. Now, April, it turns off after vehicle start (like normal operation), comes back on immediately, and only briefly does it turn off at random times. The majority of the time the warning light fluctuates is during steering wheel turning. Turning to one particular side does not alter the light more than the other. Sometimes hard bumps in the road or off-road scenarios will change the light too. Knowing very well this could be the clockspring, no other lights or functions involved with this device confirm this is the problem. The horn works at all turning angles, esp and ABS all function normally. There are also no dtc codes from the computer. All visible electrical plugs in the cabin and behind dash have been unplugged, cleaned from debris and reconnected. I find the current recall for only the 2007S and right hand drive 2008S very frustrating! the assumption that only rhds will have their windows down more on dirt roads might be factual; however, there are numerous of 2008 Jeep Wrangler owners that use their vehicle for work, or off-road scenarios that will easily bypass the RHD assumption. This is a very scary problem to have. I do no feel safe that any accident I have the airbags will deploy properly. The faith of my vehicle saving my life is completely lost.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #9

Mar 012012

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
I was turning out of my driveway and heard a snap in the steering wheel. Air bag light came on and the horn no longer worked. The next day I heard another little snap and the cruise control stopped working. When turning the steering wheel I can hear things scraping inside it. I have been informed that the clockspring is broken.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #8

Oct 302010

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles


The first of many times happened one morning as I was getting into vehicle. The horn, windshield wipers, lights and instrument indicator lights all activated. The wipers sprayed all the fluid in the reservoir. I could not turn these off. After disconnecting the battery, the engine would not crank for some time and the horn no longer worked. The dealership diagnosed the problem as a faulty horn and replaced the clockspring, horn and a fuse. A few weeks later, while driving, the horn, wipers and lights all came on and I could not turn these off! even after removing the key, the engine and all the above would not shut off! once again, I had to disconnect the battery in order to shut these components off. This has happened numerous times since! now the airbag light comes on periodically! the dealership is now saying the problem is with the tipm. There seems to be a backorder of more than 400+ of these components. Every week that goes by, the dealership says that the eta has been moved back a week and they will call me when it gets in. To the dealer's credit (after I went a little crazy in the manager's office), they have agreed to pay for the est. Cost of $600. But, in the meantime, is this vehicle safe to drive" shouldn't there be a recall since there are 400+ of these parts on backorder" today, I called Chrysler customer service and they told me that they would document this. Not good enough! after insisting that something else be done, I was told that a service manager would be contacting me tomorrow. We will see. In the meantime.......I am somewhat fearful of driving my Jeep for the simple reason of the unknown. Not to mention the embarrassment that this brings when stopped at a busy intersection and my horn and wipers start blaring uncontrollably. This must be stopped and Chrysler should declare a recall!

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #7

Oct 192010


  • 38,000 miles
I put in a new battery in my car at the dealer and it corroded again. They told me they forgot to spray it. I have had cars for 6 years and the battery never corroded.I feel there is something wrong someplace and the dealer is not being honest with me.

- Pt Jeff. Statyion, NY, USA

problem #6

Oct 112011

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
After months of overnight stays with the dealership; a number of electrical parts were replaced in an attempt to resolve intermittent starting issues. During the last visit the tipm stopped responding while the tech was checking for error codes. The tech determined that it needed to be replaced and was the likely source of the issues given it's complex build and it's roll in the electrical system. The vehicle is an 08 Wrangler unlimited with 60,000 miles.

- Danbury, CT, USA

problem #5

Jan 012009

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
Vehicle would randomly not start. It was finally resolved 62,000 miles later by the dealer replacing the transmission range sensor. This is a right hand drive vehicle used for postal service and this problem is all over postal message boards on the internet.

- Pleasant Prairie, WI, USA

problem #4

Aug 182011


  • 35,517 miles
I own a Jeep tour company and this is the third clockspring I have had to replace in two different Jeep. While traveling at 5mph or under the airbag light illuminated. After having the dealer check it out I was advised it was a clockspring issue. I replaced this one on my own. They charge $1450 just to check what part, then $280 for the part. This has been done at tto seperate local dealer ships. I have saved two clocksprings, one done from a 2007 Jeep and one from this 2008.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #3

Apr 012011

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that while the air conditioner was activated, a burning rubber odor emitted from the vents as the ignition failed. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle would frequently fail to immediately start. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis but the dealer was unable to locate a failure code. The dealer wiped and sprayed the vents, but the burning odor was still present and the starting failure persisted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 44,000. Updated 09/15/11 the consumer stated she noticed a chemical, fuel like burning rubber smell. The vehicle fails to start occasionally. The smell emits even when the air conditioner is off and the vehicle is running regularly. Updated 09/16/11

- Sparks, GA, USA

problem #2

Oct 182007


  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that intermittently, the vehicle would not start without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised that the ignition switch was not properly connecting in order to start the vehicle. The ignition switch and ground wires were replaced. The failure did not persist however, the contact stated that the vehicle would exhibit signs of hesitation and stuttering intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times but to no avail. The vehicle was not further repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and was able to reach a settlement to repair the vehicle. The failure mileage was 35,000.

- Sunbury, PA, USA

problem #1

Nov 092008

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Wrangler. The contact attempted two or three times before the ignition would start. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on four different occasions for the similar failure. The technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The battery was replaced by an independent mechanic. The failure continued to occur. The failure mileage was approximately 200. Updated 01/26/11 the vehicle was taken to 3 different dealers a total of 4 times. Updated 02/14/11

- Toms River, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?