Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Poor side crash test ratings from the IIHS are really no surprise.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,670 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Jeep Wrangler drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Wrangler Owner Comments (Page 6 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #146

Jan 012014

Wrangler

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact was concerned for his safety because the parts needed to complete the repair under NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) was still not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. The failure mileage was unknown. The current mileage was 20,000.

- Palm Beach Garden , FL, USA

problem #145

Jan 092014

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that she received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) in January 2014. The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle serviced but the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Magnolia, TX, USA

problem #144

Aug 012013

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
I received a recall notification from Chrysler several months ago regarding the transmission oil cooler tube. Recall N28/NHTSA 13V-234. I have called river oaks Jeep and Chrysler every month since receipt and they said they do not have the parts to make the repair. They said that Chrysler has not sent them the tube and they have such a long running list that they quit taking names. My 17 year old drives this car and if it is in any way unsafe this is a huge problem! if this will cause a transmission problem after the warranty is out, this will be another issue. Please advise.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #143

Jan 152014

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received recall for a potential transmission cooler line failure. Multiple dealers have been unable to get the parts needed from the manufacturer, with backlog at my current dealer of almost a year. As this could potentially cause transmission failure and potential fire, it seems Chrysler is not sufficiently pursuing efforts to improve part availability, limiting each dealer to one part every 7 - 10 days.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #142

Nov 072013

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number:13V234000 (power train, steering) and was made aware that parts were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced the failure...updated 05/09/14

- Suprise, AZ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #141

Jan 012014

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 13V234000 (power train, steering) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The local dealer informed the contact that the part was not available and a second dealership stated that they are going to repair the new models first. The vehicle did not experience the failure.

- Fairhaven , MA, USA

problem #140

Apr 042014

Wrangler

  • 15,535 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Under 16,000 miles regular maintenance through the dealership and having to replace a cylinder head.

- Novato, CA, USA

problem #139

Feb 142014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles
I have received notices from Chrysler regarding my Jeep Wrangler recall N28/NHTSA 13V-234. I have contacted Chrysler on numerous occasions and ordered the replacement part on Feb 14, 2014. As of this morning it was still not available and the dealer told me directly that they are only allowed to order 1 part every 2 weeks and that there were about 50 people waiting. If this is the case and my safety is in jeopardy I'm curious as to how serious Chrysler is taking this if at this point 50 people have to wait about 2 years to have this resolved? please let me know.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #138

Sep 102012

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received NHTSA recall campaign id number 13C234000 (powertrain, steering) September 2013; however, the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified. There are no failures at this time.

- Avon, CT, USA

problem #137

Jan 092014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
This complaint is being marked for deletion because it is an inadvertent duplicate of ODI number: 10578276. TL-the contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) in January 2014. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired but the parts were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Ap updated 06/10/14

- Glenns Falls, NY, USA

problem #136

Jan 092014

Wrangler

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) in January 2014. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired but the parts needed to complete the recall service were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Glenns Falls, NY, USA

problem #135

Jul 022013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V234000 (power train, steering) and stated that the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The dealer stated that there was only one remedy kit being sent to the dealer per month to service the recalled vehicles. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hammonton, NJ, USA

problem #134

Mar 012014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
Safety recall N28/NHTSA 13V-234 transmission oil cooler tube I have been contacted twice by Chrysler about this recall to date no parts are made available to my dealer.

- Lakewood, CO, USA

problem #133

Feb 012014

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (powertrain, steering) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The dealer advised that the vehicle could not be repaired in 2013 because they were allowed only one recall kit every fourteen days. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Juan , PR, USA

problem #132

Mar 252014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles
Regarding Chrysler recall N28 / NHTSA 13V-234 transmission oil cooler tube. Recall was issued in September 2013, as of 3/25/2014, I am still unable to get an appointment for repair due to lack of parts available. One dealer told me they have a waiting list until at least the end of the summer, as they are only allocated one part per week. Another dealer just tells me they don't have the parts and to try back in a couple of weeks.

- Rogers, AR, USA

problem #131

Mar 252014

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact attempted to have his vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) but was informed that the parts were not available and the dealers were receiving one part every two weeks. The contact stated since the failure was reported in June of 2013, there should be a remedy available before March of 2014 and that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. There are no failures at this time.

- Stoughton , MA, USA

problem #130

Sep 022013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V234000 (power train and steering) but was advised by the dealer that the parts needed to complete the repair were not available. The contact received the notice months ago. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide a reasonable date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact was told to wait up to a year for the parts. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sante Fe, NM, USA

problem #129

Mar 242014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 19,450 miles
I received a safety recall notice (N28/NHTSA 13V-234) for this vehicle from Chrysler. When trying to schedule an appointment to remedy this with a Chrysler dealer, I was told that Chrysler was releasing a small number of parts (1 part every 14 days), and as a result was told it would take 2 to 3 months before I could schedule this repair. This seemed unbelievable to me for a safety recall that Chrysler indicates could result in a fire under my vehicle. I called another dealer to confirm and was told the same story. Obviously I am not filing this complaint as a result of an accident, injury, or death. I would hope my complaint could spur some type of action on Chrysler's part before any catastrophe occurs.

- East Bethel, MN, USA

problem #128

Oct 102013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering). The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired but the needed parts were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Coram, NY, USA

problem #127

Oct 162013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) had surpassed a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the part was not available because the manufacture was only issuing one repair kit per week. The manufacture was not alerted of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Knoxsville, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?