Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Poor side crash test ratings from the IIHS are really no surprise.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,670 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Jeep Wrangler drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Wrangler Owner Comments (Page 5 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #166

Apr 292014

Wrangler

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V234000 (power train, steering) and stated that the part need was unavailable to perform a repair. The dealer stated that one remedy kit was being sent every two weeks by the manufacturer. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #165

Sep 012013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
I was notified of a safety recall regarding the transmission oil cooler tube notice N28 back in September 2013. I immediately contacted multiple dealers to try to schedule an appointment to have the repair done. I was told there is a waiting list because parts are not available. It has now been almost 8 months since we tried to get our Jeep repaired. I asked the status numerous times without any luck of getting any answer except the parts are not in and we have you on the list. Your help in holding Chrysler Jeep accountable for any damages including personal injury and death. I plan on filing a law suit in the near future and will subpoena the national traffic safety on this topic if not resolved within a month of this submission. Ignoring this request puts us at risk very similar to the ignition switch recall GM is going through right now and that several people died. I thank you in advance for any help you can provide. Updated 10/22/2014

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #164

Aug 012013

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a safety recall notice in August 2013 (safety recall notice) N28/NHTSA 13V-234. Jeep has still not made parts available to fix the problem. After 9 month it hard for me to believe they are still waiting for parts to fix my Jeep. I afraid to take to Jeep out in fear I will get stranded.

- Mesquite, NV, USA

problem #163

Jun 102013

Wrangler

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number 13V234000 (power train, steering) and was informed by the dealer that the part was not available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. The approximate current mileage was 37,000.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #162

Apr 292014

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that he attempted to have his vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Algonquin, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #161

Nov 062013

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 4,012 miles
Went to dealer for repair after receiving notice. Only inspected unit and would order parts. Then call me. Called on 3-6-14 and said only had 1 of two required parts.. I re-called on them on 3-24-14 and they said did not have both parts..

- Solon, OH, USA

problem #160

Apr 282014

Wrangler

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that he received a notice for NHTSA campaign number 13V234000 (power train, steering) and was informed by the dealer and manufacturer that the part was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Canal Fulton, OH, USA

problem #159

Apr 282013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number 13V234000 (power train, steering) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The dealer informed the contact that the remedy part would not be available for 72 weeks. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Ray, MI, USA

problem #158

Jan 062014

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received the recall notification related to NHTSA campaign id number 13V234000(power train, steering). The contact stated that repairs were not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. The dealer indicated to the contact that the parts were not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not contacted.

- Burnardsville, NJ, USA

problem #157

Oct 232013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) had surpassed a reasonable amount of time to repair. The dealer continuously stated that the parts were not available for repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Grand Juction , CO, USA

problem #156

Apr 282014

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received the transmission oil cooler tube recall notice in September 2013. I have been trying ever since to get the part replaced, but each dealership receives only one part per week because the "parts are on restriction." Last month I was told I was number 76 on the wait list - if they get one part per week, I will get my part in October 2015, more than two years after the recall notice was issued. This demonstrates a complete lack of commitment to safety on Chrysler's part -- they are comfortable with thousands of people driving with a faulty part for more than two years. Please do whatever is possible to force Chrysler to produce all of the parts necessary to satisfy the recall immediately.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #155

Apr 282014

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) but was informed that the parts were not available and that the dealer was not receiving the necessary parts. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in June of 2013, there should have been a remedy available before April of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Glen Carbon , IL, USA

problem #154

Nov 152013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles
Jeep recall this vehicle, ask me to came in to replace the part on Nov 15, 2013, one problem as of April 27,2014, the part has not come in, dealer can't get the part one can order one a week and they may or maynot get it. What can be done to get the Jeep company to fix the problem without wait for months or years.

- Kailua Kona, HI, USA

problem #153

Sep 112013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that he was very concerned for his safety since the parts for NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) were still not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced the failure. The current mileage was 13,700.

- Louis, DE, USA

problem #152

Apr 012013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) but was advised by the dealer that the parts needed to complete the repair were not available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for the parts. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #151

Apr 172014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
On hill with pedestrians all around I stopped vehicle, placed it in park, turned key off. Then I rotated out the door releasing the brake. Vehicle rolled backwards down hill with people diving out of the way. Managed to rotate back into position and stop vehicle in about 20 feet. Started motor moved vehicle forward, engaged park which then worked and set emergency brake. After that I made sure that park correctly engaged before getting out of position. On a second occasion on the same day park failed to engage, however I was prepared and it only rolled backwards a few inches. Since the failure to completely engage park nearly injured people behind me, and if I had failed to get to the brake was headed off a cliff with my wife in it, my first stop was to the Jeep factory warranty station at home. Vehicle was trailered back home. The dealership could not duplicate the failure so fixed nothing. Both times park failed you could hear the parking pawl ratcheting.

- Fair Oaks, CA, USA

problem #150

Sep 232013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall notice, N28- power train: Automatic transmission: Cooling unit and lines, from Chrysler in early October 2013 I believe. Since that time, I have contacted my local dealership numerous times, fair oaks Chrysler Jeep Dodge, and they continue to say that Chrysler is only providing a small number of replacement parts to each dealership every few weeks. So I have been put on a customer waiting list, who are at the mercy of Chrysler to send parts. I may not know much about cars, but I have to say I'm very concerned about the recall of a transmission hose that may cause a loss in fluid and transmission function. It has been 7 months since this recall was announced by Chrysler and there still aren't nearly enough parts to fix all the Jeep affected, which is completely ridiculous and unacceptable!

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #149

Nov 212013

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number:13V234000 (power train, steering) but was made aware that parts were not available. The contact felt that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced the failure...updated 06/04/2014 the contact stated the dealership only receives 3 parts a month to repair vehicles. Updated 06/06/2014

- Utica, MI, USA

problem #148

Apr 222014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 11,262 miles
I am still attempting to get recall N28 (trans oil cooler tube part cbran281aa) and am told there is no longer a list (too long) and that Chrysler now only releases one part every 14 days to the dealer for the recall. I am told to call the dealer every 14 days to check, but they said it will be a long time. How is this an acceptable recall fix to NHTSA? at this rate the recall will outlive the vehicles and the safety risk (fire) is assumed totally by the consumer. From the online forums it appears this is happening all over the country. I think this is unacceptable and needs regulatory intervention.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #147

Dec 142013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact was concerned for safety because the parts needed to service the vehicle under recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) were still not available. The dealer was contacted and the manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Austin, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?