Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.9

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,515 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Jeep Wrangler electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Jeep Wrangler Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

Dec 012012

Wrangler

  • 50 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A continuous issue with a delay or complete non operation of the horn when horn button is "tapped". the problem is easily reproduced, but two dealerships state the horn is working as designed. The horn always operates when the horn button is depressed for more than 1/2 second. Less than 1/2 second and intermittent operation results. Occurs in all operating conditions, including engine off. Difficult to warn pedestrians in a timely manner at times when inoperable.

- Pahrump, NV, USA

problem #22

Feb 272015

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V631000 (electrical system, visibility); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #21

Jun 012015

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V631000 (electrical system, visibility); however, the recall part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Carlsbad, NM, USA

problem #20

Dec 152014

Wrangler

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a vehicle recall notification about 8 months ago and despite my constant communication with my dealer, all I have received from them are vague excuses and the deficiencies have not been corrected yet. As a former military officer, these type of poor attention to recalls is unacceptable. Please asist at your earliest convenience.

- Juncos, PR, USA

problem #19

Mar 122015

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V631000 (electrical system, visibility); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sandy Lake , PA, USA

problem #18

Dec 012014

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V631000 (electrical system, visibility); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #17

Feb 152015

Wrangler

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V631000 (electrical system, visibility); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cayey, PR, USA

problem #16

May 202015

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
May 20, 2015 Chrysler customer assistance P.O. Box 21-8007 auburn hills, mi 48321-8007 attn: Customer complaints re: Recall notice #P61/NHTSA 14V-631 Jeep Wrangler unlimited VIN [xxx] customer service gentlemen: Evidently a service appointment means very little to you. Back in December last year, you sent me two recall notices concerning the heated mirrors on Jeep Wrangler. At the time, I removed the fuse from position M35 to disable this feature per the notices, and waited for the letter announcing that parts were available to correct the condition. That letter came sometime in March and I called the number to schedule an appointment sometime in mid-April and was scheduled for repairs on 5/20/15 at 7:00am. I specifically told the girl making the appointment that I did not have a ride and would have to wait on my vehicle. She told me that would not be a problem if I got there on time and they could move it through pretty quickly. Yesterday (5/19/15) a recorded message was left on my voice mail reminding of the appointment today. So far so good. This morning is where the inconvenience occurred. After arriving at the dealer at 7:00am, I was informed that they were running behind and still had 11 vehicles left over from yesterday. They said they could probably get to mine late this afternoon, or possibly tomorrow morning. Since this Jeep is my only vehicle, that is virtually an impossibility for me. I had already rearranged my schedule to be there this morning. Now I still have the same problem with no resolution. Needless to say, I view this as very poor customer service at least at the dealer level and I'm not happy about it. [xxx] cc: Benchmark Chrysler Jeep Dodge NHTSA

- Hoover, AL, USA

problem #15

Jan 132015

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V631000 (electrical system, visibility); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Vancourer, WA, USA

problem #14

Jan 092015

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
My truck has been brought in for service twice for repeatedly stalling while in motion. It has been at the dealership service department for a combined 56 days. I first brought the vehicle in for service on 1/13/2015, after the vehicle stalled on 1/9/2015 while driving 70 mph, and 1/13/2015 when accelerating to 50 mph. My vehicle was cleared to pick up on 1/24/2015 following service that included computer updates, physical inspection, and road testing. My vehicle stalled again on 2/5/2015 while driving on a highway entrance ramp. In all three cases, the vehicle started without assistance in about ten minutes. I immediately returned my vehicle to the dealership for service. I was informed that the service department would contact the manufacturer to send a technician to inspect my vehicle. They never did. On 3/6/2015, I contacted Jeep customer service requesting additional help. My case was referred to a special case manager where my concerns were rudely dismissed. I have been contacted multiple times by the dealership to pick up my truck since 3/11/2015, despite the failure of the service department to identify what is causing the vehicle to stall. I do not feel the truck is safe to drive. I have a family and will not put them at risk because the dealership and manufacturer are being negligent. I will not pick up the vehicle until the problem is identified and repaired, or the vehicle is replaced. I have seen a similar case involving a 2013 Jeep Wrangler that stalls for unidentified reasons posted on the NHTSA web site. This also sounds similar to the recent GM recall due to defective ignition systems that resulted in stalling and caused numerous fatalities. Thank you in advance for your assistance.

- Nutley, NJ, USA

problem #13

Mar 162015

Wrangler

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V631000 (electrical system, visibility); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #12

Mar 132015

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V631000 (electrical system, visibility) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tewksbury, MA, USA

problem #11

Mar 132015

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V631000 (electrical system, visibility); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Quincy , MA, USA

problem #10

Mar 072015

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V631000 (electrical system, visibility) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/20/15 the consumer stated the parts arrived. Updated 04/23/15

- Bedford , NH, USA

problem #9

Feb 182015

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V631000 (electrical system, visibility); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kent, WA, USA

problem #8

Oct 312013

Wrangler

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. While driving approximately 60 mph, the temperature control knob was adjusted but it failed to respond and the vents began to blow extremely hot air. As a result, the windshield fractured and the cigarette lighter fuse blew out. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the temperature gauge, the windshield and the fuse needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. In addition, the contact stated that the check engine warning light illuminated and both the front driver and passenger side windows became inoperable. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V631000 (electrical system, visibility). The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 13,000.

- Dundalk, MD, USA

problem #7

Sep 052014

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 5,900 miles
While driving my 2013 Jeep Wrangler, at cruising speed of 45 mph, the instrument panel started flashing random emergency icons. This flashing of the vehicles cluster along with speedometer and RPM gauge moving erratically continued for about 5 minutes until it stopped and only the traction control light remained on. I pulled over and turned off the vehicle. I restarted the vehicle, which seemed to fix the issue because the traction light turned off and everything seemed to be working. This is the first incident in which the lights flash continuously for several minutes, prior incidents had only flashed the cluster lights a couple of times and then they went back to normal. I contacted my dealership and they indicated they have only received reports of this issue on the Jeep Cherokee.

- Alton, TX, USA

problem #6

Feb 112014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 11,000 miles
Right hand drive sport unlimited. Cruise control failed to set until after multiple attempts, cruise control disengaged, cruise control refused to disengage when applying brakes. Windshield wipers intermittently turn on by themselves. Turn signals turn on intermittently without driver input.

- Lockhart, TX, USA

problem #5

Apr 072014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 12,100 miles
After disconnecting the battery for a period of 24 hours, reconnected the battery positive terminal then negative terminal. Tried to start the Jeep and dash reads hotoil, check tpm system, sway bar light and check/service engine light on and engine will not start/ even crank over. The key fob will not unlock or lock doors. The last thing is that cant disarm Jeep security system.

- Clinton, UT, USA

problem #4

Apr 012014

Wrangler

  • miles
2013 Jeep Wrangler. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle electrical problems. The consumer stated when a tone sounded, the brake light, ABS and stability lights illuminated. Also the speedometer and tachometer needles went to zero, and the cruise control shut off, slowing the vehicle down instantly. The stability and brake switch were replaced.

- Ely, NV, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?