Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
26 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
13 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,213 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Lexus ES 330 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Lexus ES 330:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Lexus ES 330 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #58

May 012014

ES 330

  • miles


The automobile seems accellerate just a little bit.when you are stepping on the gas it, kind of jumps forward some, without putting more pressure to the motion at any speed.

- East Walpole, MA, USA

problem #57

Mar 222016

ES 330

  • miles
The contact owned a 2005 Lexus ES330. While reversing into a parking space at a low rate of speed, the vehicle surged backwards at a high rate of speed, drove over a curb, and then accelerated. The vehicle crashed into a restaurant and three parked vehicles. The air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to a tow yard. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Lacey, WA, USA

problem #56

Sep 112015

ES 330 6-cyl

  • 73,874 miles
As car in front of me slammed on brakes to avoid two teenagers running across in front of her, I slammed on my brakes and the car accelerated from 20-30. The air bag did not deploy nor did the seat belt engage and lock to prevent me from slamming into the steering wheel. The ABS brakes were slammed and it felt like the brakes did not work like there was an air bubble in the system. I crashed into the Hyundai. Totaled my car and the front of the car frame was bent. Called the police, but did not take a report since no one was taken by ambulance. Went do my doctor and reported this to Lexus-incident number 150922-00272 on 9/22/15. Lexus will inspect the car on 10/9/15...updated 10/15/15...updated 12/03/15

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #55

Apr 062014

ES 330

  • 52,872 miles


I was driving slowly up an aisle in a parking lot and spotted a shady place on my left just next to a car already parked. I moved in slowly at 90degree angle to set the car into the parking space with my foot already on the brake. I pressed down the brake further as the car was about to be at the right place. Suddenly, the car accelerated at what seemed full throttle into a brick retaining wall 9-10 feet in front of me. The car backed down in the parking space where it immobilized. The acceleration was sudden and uncontrolable. The airbags didn't go out. The shock against the wall resulted in the front of the car being damaged and a passenger I had in the front seat (we both had our belts on) got a compression fracture to the lower spine and has been bedridden ever since.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #54

Mar 172005

ES 330

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Lexus ES300. The contact stated that while reversing into a garage, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed through the rear of the garage. The contact sustained injuries to the back. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was towed by the contact's insurance Agency, who deemed the vehicle as destroyed. The manufacturer was notified and ruled that the contact had erroneously engaged the accelerator as opposed to the brake pedal, causing the acceleration failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 12,000.

- Clarks Summit, PA, USA

problem #53

Feb 142014

ES 330 6-cyl

  • 108,575 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Lexus ES330. While driving approximately 5 mph, the brake pedal was depressed and the vehicle continued to accelerate. Due to the failure the contact crashed into the proceeding vehicle. There were no personal injuries. A police report was not filed for the incident. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who stated that the failure was contributed to the interference of the floor mat that was not properly installed and secured by the designed hooks. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 108,575. Updated 5/27/14 consumer handwriting is illegible. Updated 06/12/14

- Grand Rapids , MI, USA

problem #52

Mar 192014

ES 330 6-cyl

  • miles


My vehicle accelerates periodically resulting in close-call accidents. There is no warning sign of when this is going to happen. I reported this to the dealership (heyward allen Toyota) where I brought the used vehicle in 2008. One of the salesmen drove with me around the dealership and decided there was nothing wrong with the car. I learned 24-hours after the purchase that this vehicle was in an accident prior to me purchasing it which was not revealed. I am concerned that I am putting my life as well as others in danger.

- Athens, GA, USA

problem #51

Sep 052013

ES 330

  • miles
Driving South on Florida turnpike, car suddenly accelerated --unable to steer it or slow it down--had to get off highway to avoid collision --turned wheel to right and slid across swale into thicket of trees want to get a used Lexus to replace this be but am afraid of safety issues now.

- The Villages, FL, USA

problem #50

Jun 202013

ES 330 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
While driving in heavy traffic and traveling at a low speed, the car lurched forward and hit the car that was 6 feet in front of me. The sound of the engine was that of a spontaneous acceleration just like the incident we had on April 30, 2013. There was little or no damage to the car in front of me but the Lexus sustained over $10,000. Worth of damage and has subsequently been considered a total loss. The incident on April 30 consisted of our crawling forward into a parking spot, suddenly the car spontaneously accelerated, went over the cement parking barrier and hit a car approximately 5 feet away. Lexus looked at the black box after the 4/30 accident and determined that the car was safe to drive.

- Rossmoor, CA, USA

problem #49

Jan 032013

ES 330 6-cyl

  • 78,557 miles
Contact owns a 2005 Lexus ES330. The contact was driving approximately 10 to 15 mph two blocks away from home. While approaching and preparing to stop at a stop sign, noticed the inability of the brake system when applied pressure to the brake paddle, vehicle would not stop. At this point, vehicle began to accelerate unintended (without input on accelerator), causing to rapidly surge and launch straight ahead uncontrollable at a high speed of approximately 55 to 60 mph, which resulted the contact to crash though a cul-de-sac block (brick) wall, bricks exploded and landed on top of another party?S parked vehicle, causing damage to fender. Airbag was deployed. Contact was taken via ambulance to local hospital for examination of injuries, released same day. A police report was filed on the incident. For vehicle was towed to a storage facility. Insurance company determined vehicle to be totaled due to major body damages. The failure mileage was 78,557.

- Carson, CA, USA

problem #48

Dec 052012

ES 330 6-cyl

  • miles


On December 5th, 2012 around 1:50 pm in the afternoon, I drove the car to pick up our nephew from school. While I was slowing down and looking for a parking place suddenly the car sped up and accelerated! even though I applied hard on the brake the car kept running very fast and only stopped when it hit bushes and the house on the right of the road. I was lucky that no kids came out from school yet and no other cars were nearly so damages only caused to the car and the property.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #47

Mar 262008

ES 330

  • 49,000 miles
When I accelerate, the car hesitates and actually slows down before accelerating. This is extremely dangerous when needing to avoid other cars or changing lanes or making turns.

- Roklin, CA, USA

problem #46

May 112012

ES 330

  • 61,203 miles
When I press the accelorator there is a hesitation in the car speeding up and while driving there is sometimes that same hesitation.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #45

Sep 042011

ES 330

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Lexus ES330. The contact stated that the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning while the vehicle was in park gear and the brake pedal was engaged. The dealer nor manufacturer were notified. The failure was not diagnosed and the vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileage was 83,000.

- St Augustine, FL, USA

problem #44

Mar 172011

ES 330 6-cyl

  • 132,000 miles
Lexus accelerated from 70 to 85 mph. On freeway brake and emergency brakes would not work or slow the car down. Put the can in neutral and went up elevated a freeway transition road. Car was at 4rpms.

- El Segundo, CA, USA

problem #43

Dec 122010

ES 330

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Lexus ES330. The contact was reversing5 mph when the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning crashing into a steel pole and damaging the entire rear end of the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnosis and repairs. The vehicle was inspected and the contact was advised that she would be notified at a later date of the results of the investigation. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 105,000.

- Framingham, MA, USA

problem #42

Oct 112010

ES 330 6-cyl

  • 74,400 miles
I was leaving a car wash (at a busy intersection in penfield, NY), the "car wash" light turned green, I put it in gear and lightly pressed on the gas pedal to approach the workers for them to dry and vacuum the car. There was no floor mat in the drivers front side so that they could vacuum that area. The car speed forward out of control I tried to steer between 2 steel safety post, missed the workers, crossed the sidewalk and 5 lanes of traffic toward a telephone pole, hit the curb, flipped over, I lost consciousness. The car stopped right side up pointing toward the car wash. Car wash employees (and other witnesses) rushed across the street and when I woke up one of the attendants was removing my seat belt and pulling me out through the broken window, there were many witnesses who thought it was a miracle that I was still alive and that the car did not hit any workers, pedestrians or drivers of other vehicles which had now all stopped. No air-bags were released? I was rushed to the hospital. I was released 4 hours later stiff, sore, bruised, minor concussion and told to stay around for a week (we were planning to return to fl the next day) to make sure that there are no serious problems. Police were on site, did a report, fireman were there to clean up the leaks. My insurance co. Has totaled the car. I feel that Lexus should evaluate this car to determine the actual cause, it was not the floor mat, it was in the back seat, nor was it operator error, the car was accelerating out of control and very hard to steer. If the "Lexus" had a mind then it had gone crazy" I have talked to the local Lexus dealer who told me that there are no recalls on this vehicle and read me the party line that there are no problems with the 2005 ES330 Lexus, it's operator error" I guess the other 38 owners of the 2005 ES330 that have postings on this site are all wrong. Based on Toyota (Lexus) attitude I will never buy another product made by Toyota. I am happy to be alive, thank god.

- Canandaigua, NY, USA

problem #41

Aug 232010

ES 330 6-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Lexus ES330. While driving approximately 5 mph, the contact took her foot off the accelerator pedal and the vehicle suddenly surged forward crashing into a curb. A police report was filed. There were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where an investigator sent from the manufacturer stated that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The vehicle had not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were approximately 33,000. Updated 01/14/11 the consumer stated his/her foot was still on the brake, when the vehicle suddenly accelerated. Updated 04/19/11

- Milpitas, CA, USA

problem #40

Jul 242010

ES 330

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Lexus ES330. The contact was pulling into a parking space with the brake pedal depressed when the vehicle abnormally accelerated and jumped a curve. The vehicle was towed to the nearest authorized dealer where the contact was advised that the issue would need to be escalated to the manufacturer due to damages to the undercarriage. The contact was awaiting a decision from the manufacturer. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 28,000.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #39

Jan 282005

ES 330 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Lexus ES-330. The contact stated when shifting gears, the vehicle would abnormally jerk. When accelerating, the vehicle was hesitant to respond. In addition, the vehicle would intermittently lose power as if it were attempting to stall. The dealer advised they were aware of the failure in his year and model vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 25 and the current mileage was 20,000. Updated 10/25/10 the consumer also stated the vehicle stalled in traffic. Also, the vehicle would move forward on its own at times. Updated 10/27/10

- Peadody, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?