Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
36 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
28 / 4
Average Mileage:
21,980 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Lexus ES 350 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Lexus ES 350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Lexus ES 350 Owner Comments (Page 5 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Jun 012007

ES 350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Here is the description I gave my local Lexus dealer along with the photographs of the witness marks of the impact to the door. Lexus is evaluating the car. I have asked for a factory assisted replacement car of a different model. They have not responded yet: Dave, attached is the extract from the NHTSA on this problem with the ES350 model along with the measurements on the garage door and photos of the car. There is the description: I was watching my wife slowly (3-5 mph) approach our garage door when the car suddenly lurched forward and crashed into our garage door at 10-15 mph. My wife said her foot was hovering over the brake after transitioning from the throttle as the car was coasting toward the door. She jammed on the brake but couldn't get it stopped fast enough to keep from hitting the door. I'm a licensed professional mechanical engineer and own a drive a ferrari F355 spider for fun so I am very familiar with how a car suspension and body angle responds to acceleration and braking. It looked to me like the car launched but was immediately forced into a nose down attitude as my wife was desperately trying to stop. Unlike like the Audi problem of a few years ago had she mistakenly hit the throttle she would have never been able to hit the door in a nose down attitude and there wouldn't have been time to take her foot off the gas and onto the brake - as a result - it had to be an uncommanded acceleration. The car launched in a way that would be consistent of at least 2500 RPM minimum. I made some very careful witness mark measurements on the broken garage door and the impact point for the license plate screw is 3/8 of an inch lower than its normal free standing height on the car indicating she must have had her foot on the brake by the time of the impact thus ruling out the Audi scenario. Make no mistake this is not the floor mat problem and we restarted the car to confirm the cruise control was off.

- Maple Valley, WA, USA

problem #18

May 182007

ES 350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,700 miles
My daughter and friends were driving in my 2007 Lexus ES 350 on a 2 lane hwy. As they approached a speed zone the driver noticed the cruise control light was on without being engaged. She turned it off, it came on again. She tapped the brakes to turn it off and the car lurched fwd. She tried to slow the car but when she braked the car accelerated. She continued to brake but the car kept speeding up. She shifted the car into neutral but the car sped up. She tried the emergency brake, pushing the start/stop button, but the car would not turn off. She kept repeating these actions but the car continued out of control. The driver was standing on the brake with both feet trying to stay on the road as it approached speeds of 90mph with no brakes. As they approached a 4 way stop the front passenger seat desperately threw the car into park at 90mph. The car lurched and skidded approx 150 ft to the side of the road. When I arrived at the scene I called our salesman to inform him of the incident and our car would be towed in. He asked me how many floor mats I had in the car, and I told him only the two they sold me, the carpeted one and the all-weather rubber mat. He told me they had just issued a recall on the rubber mat as it was sliding fwd and jamming accelerators. I checked and our mat was jamming the accelerator. After my car was examined by Lexus field tech's they determined the car had acted as designed and the expenses for a replaced transmission and new brake system would be mine- not covered by warranty. I disputed this and they offered to repair the car at no charge. If floor mats were contributory to this potentially fatal incident they were not the only dangerous element. The cruise control issues, inability to stop the car in an emergency situation by pressing the stop button, and the throttle seemingly overriding the other systems in a "sudden acceleration" pattern are all very strong concerns I have.

- Centralia, IL, USA

problem #17

Sep 212006

ES 350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 400 miles
Car gained speed, could not brake the car, with foot on brake pedal it went even faster, hit other vehicles and smashed through a garage door, stopping only when it ran into a tree. Car was repaired at a cost of over $33,000. The vehicle had 400 miles on the odometer.

- Mahwah, NJ, USA

problem #16

Apr 042007

ES 350

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle owner claims that the vehicle suddenly accelerated and that she applied the brakes but the vehicle did not slow down. She also tried the emergency brake but that did not slow the vehicle either. She then hit another vehicle and that stopped her vehicle. The vehicle then started on fire after the collision.

- Brookfield, WI, USA

problem #15

Apr 202007

ES 350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,300 miles
Intermittently, but not often, when taking my foot off of the gas, the car would increase in speed and the engine would speed up, but would quit when I braked. When accelerating to pass vehicles, I noticed that on occasion the engine would hesitate and then grab suddenly and then shoot off, but would slow down when I took my foot off of the accelerator. On April 20 my car had about 2,300 miles on it when I gave the car some gas to get up to speed to enter the busy freeway. As soon as I did the accelerator locked and felt like it was in passing gear. It was at 85 mph while braking as I entered the freeway. The engine was revving loudly after I got it into neutral. After about mile, it slowed enough so I shoved it into park but it would not shut off. As it finally did disengage, the engine was still revving at a high speed while entire car shuttered, shook and made loud noises. I kept my feet on the brake while I called Lexus 24 hour road service. I was very lucky that no one was injured. The car has been at Lexus for 11 days at this point.

- Central Point, OR, USA

problem #14

Dec 212006

ES 350

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
Unexplained acceleration / timing cover seal to the engine block my 2007 ES350 accelerated out of control reaching the speed of 95 miles per hour. The only way I was able to slow the car down was to put the car in neutral. And then it began to slow down. I took into to my local dealer and they where not able to diagnose the problem. In April of 2207 I notices my ES350 had a small oil link when the dealer inspected the vehicle thy found that the timing cover to the engine block was poorly sealed and would need to be repaired. I was told there was a service bulletin out on the seals and my car would need to be in the shop about a week to repair.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #13

Jan 252007

ES 350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,563 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving my new Lexus ES350 on the interstate in January 2007, the car suddenly accelerated out of control. As I applied the brake initially with one foot and then both feet. I also pushed the ignition button and tried everything I could think of to slow the vehicle-nothing seemed to help. The engine continued to power the car forward. Eventually the car ran off the road into a snow bank. Lexus and the dealer (Lexus of portland Maine) claimed they could find no problem with the car. We are hopeful for some type of resolution either from Lexus or the dealer. We would be interested in hearing from others who have experienced similar problems with a Lexus.

- Falmouth, ME, USA

problem #12

Mar 222007

ES 350

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On 3/22/07 at approximately 6:30 P.M. I was exiting the parking lot of island 16 cinema. As I was driving to the stop sign that merges with I495 East bound service road my 2007 Lexus ES 350 suddenly accelerated on its own. I immediately stepped with both feet on the brakes. The car's engine continued to race. I then put the car into neutral in attempt to stop the engine from racing. This also did not work. I was now stopped on the side of the entrance ramp with the engine still racing in neutral and my feet on the brakes. I then put the car into park and the engine stopped racing after a few seconds. I immediately called Lexus of smithtown and I had the car towed to the dealership as I was afraid to drive the car. On Thursday 3/29/07 I was informed by bob martinez the manager of smithtown Lexus that the car was inspected by rick holden a Lexus field rep who ran two system checks on the brakes and acceleration and stated that the vehicle was operating O. K. Mr. Martinez then stated that I could call the Lexus headquarters to lodge a complaint which I did. I spoke with eric ordemann who stated that someone would contact me in two days.

- Farmingville, NY, USA

problem #11

Feb 062007

ES 350

  • 700 miles
Driver was injured when driving her new (six weeks old) Lexus ES350 with approximately 700 miles on the odometer. Due to a defect with the automobile, the car, while proceeding on a roadway, suddenly and unexpectedly accelerated. The car would not stop even though the driver had fully applying the brakes. The driver, jamming on the brakes, was able to slow the car. The driver, unable to turn off the engine by pushing the ignition button and unable to stop the movement of the car by the application of the brakes, intentionally crashed the car into a parked automobile to stop. After the car finally stopped, driver was unable to turn off the engine even after moving the stick into the "park" position.

- Roslyn, NY, USA

problem #10

Nov 232006

ES 350

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,638 miles
I had a life threatening experience in my 2007 Lexus ES350 on thanksgiving day 2006. I was driving with 3 other family members to payson, AZ from fountain hills, AZ. Payson is in the mountains at higher elevation. I like to use the cruise control when I am driving any distances. While in heavy traffic going up a mountain grade, the car started accelerating by itself. The first thing I did was hit the brake, when that did not disengage the cruise or acceleration, I stomped on the brakes with both feet. The vehicle was now accelerating at over 100 mph in heavy traffic, then I finally put the car in low which did finally disengage the cruise and accelerator. This was a very scary event. The following day I immediately took the car in with this complaint to scottsdale Lexus service department. I had no doubts that they would immediately take care of this life threatening problem. To make a very long and time consuming story short, I was told to drive the car until it happened again and that they had never heard of this problem before. Perhaps the next time I want be able to miss all of the cars that were in my way and could just go over the edge of the mountain. I have spoken to a lot of Lexus people with no results and finally decided to drop it until I had time to try and deal with the situation. I did not get a new Lexus so I could be consumed with my time wasted with innumerable phone call and repetition of stories. I put $6000 down on my new Lexus lease that is for 3 years and now have a vehicle that I do not feel safe to drive. I certainly would never set the cruise control again.

- Fountain Hills, AZ, USA

problem #9

Jan 252007

ES 350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,658 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving the car on the falmouth connector with the toll booth in sight, I lifted my foot from the accelerator to decelerate and suddenly the accelerator just took off. I immediately applied the brake but the car continued to try to accelerate, I then applied both feet to the brake as I tried desperately to stop the car while the front wheels were spinning and burning rubber. I tried to shut down the ignition with the pushbutton on the gear shifter and also desperately tried to move the gear shifter from drive but could not. Neither the ignition button nor the gear shifter would respond. The car continued to try to accelerate but I was able to steer the car into the snow banking off the road and it finally stalled in a black cloud of rubber and smoke. The dealer did an inspection of the car and could find nothing wrong and denied knowing of any problems. I have been traumatized by this event and continue with medical attention in recovery.

- Falmouth, ME, USA

problem #8

Oct 122006

ES 350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles
While merging onto I-40 interstate in my 3 month old 2007 ES 350, I accelerated to 65 mph, but the car continued to accelerate on its own. The cruise light came on by itself. I disengaged the cruise, applied the brake with both feet, and shifted into lower gears, including neutral. I applied the emergency brake & shifted into reverse, as the car was now approaching 100 mph. I traveled almost 6 miles at 110+ mph with the gearshift in reverse before the brakes took hold. Toyota motor co. Denies this can happen, but this car needs to be recalled. I will never drive this car again and am thankful to be alive everyday. Updated 05/24/10 updated IVOQ 09/02/10

- Sevierville, TN, USA

problem #7

Jan 182007

ES 350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,250 miles
While driving my 2007 Lexus ES 350 on a very busy P'way the vehicle accelerated on its own. The car just took off. I applied the brakes once, then again and again I had my foot on the brake pedal all the way to the floor and the car did not slow down. It was a horror. I had no control of the speed and ultimately caused a six car collision. People including myself were hurt and hospitalized. The purpose of my purchasing this vehicle was due to the 5 star rating and safety. After researching I found too many other complaints of this nature. The vehicle is much to dangerous and should H be recalled. Very disappointed an its a miracle I'm alive.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #6

Nov 042006

ES 350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2007 Lexus ES350. Excessive rpms during start up cause the car to sharply accelerate when put into reverse. RPM stays at 1700+ for up to a minute after engine start. When putting the transmission into reverse at this high RPM, causes the car to lurch backwards as if the accelerator pedal had been floored. Has caused car to hit a pole and a tree on 2 separate occasions. Dealership says this is normal. Lexus customer satisfaction has not returned calls.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #5

Sep 022006

ES 350

  • 4,100 miles
Consumer request for investigation on the 2007 ES350 speed control. The consumer stated the vehicle suddenly accelerated, after attempting to apply the brakes. The unwanted acceleration caused the vehicle to crash into the highway guard rail and consequently the vehicle rolled over. The consumer suffered serious back, neck and pelvic injuries. Update (February 21, 2007): Ms. Hodges said that she was traveling on I-75 for 15 minutes and the cruise control was not turned on. She was merging onto route 59 and applied the brakes. However, the vehicle not only not slowed down but actually accelerated to what she believe was 75-80 mph. To avoid crashing the vehicles ahead, she moved from the right lane to the left lane and hit the guard rail. The vehicle rolled over and totaled. She was cited by the police but the citation was later dismissed. Toyota sent her a letter saying that their investigation found nothing was wrong with the vehicle. See also 10174732.

- Melvindale, MI, USA

problem #4

Aug 022006

ES 350

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
: the vehicle stated while traveling 65 mph on dry road conditions, the vehicle began to accelerate uncontrollably to 70 mph. The cruise control was activated when this occurred. The vehicle was placed in neutral, and the brake pedal was depressed, which slowed down the vehicle. On another occasion while traveling 20 mph, sudden acceleration recurred, the vehicle was shifted into park and the ignition was turned off. The dealer was contacted, who determined that the floormat could have depressed the accelerator pedal. On 12/05/06, the problem recurred while traveling 30 mph. The brakes were depressed, which did not stop the vehicle. The automatic transmission was shifted into park, which completely shut the vehicle off. Smoke was noticed coming from the engine compartment. On 12/06/06, the manufacturer was contacted, who provided no assistance.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #3

Sep 022006

ES 350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,369 miles
While traveling North bound at approximately 55 mph on interstate I-75 / M-59 with in oakland county / state of Michigan my automobile suddenly accelerated, after attempting to apply the automobile brakes, to approximately 85 mph. This sudden unwanted acceleration caused the vehicle to crash into the highway guard rail and go into a roll over. As a result of the sudden acceleration and roll over the vehicle was damage beyond repair and I was injured with serious back, neck and pelvic injuries. See also 10176450

- Melvindale, MI, USA

problem #2

Nov 212006

ES 350

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
: the contact stated while driving 20 mph, the vehicle accelerated without warning. The vehicle was shifted into neutral and back to drive before it would slow down. The dealer was alerted. The vehicle was a 2007 Lexus ES350.

- Chesterfield, MO, USA

problem #1

May 022006

ES 350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80 miles
: the contact stated while traveling 30 mph, the vehicle began to accelerate uncontrollably. The vehicle would not slow with both feet depressed on the brake pedal and in neutral. The vehicle stopped once in park. The vehicle was towed to the dealership, but they are unable to determine the problem. The manufacturer has sent technicians to look into the problem. The vehicle is a 2007 Lexus ES350.

- Chicago, IL, USA

Not what you are looking for?