Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,875 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Lexus ES 350 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Lexus ES 350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Lexus ES 350 Owner Comments

problem #4

Sep 162014

ES 350

  • 149,500 miles


I had an accident that was very severe and airbags did not deploy. I filed a complaint with Lexus and did not get a satisfactory answer. I felt the impact through the steering wheel. All I want to know why airbags did not deploy. Please help me with that.

- Homestead, FL, USA

problem #3

May 122014

ES 350 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Oil dumped out crossing a very long bridge & engine froze up/steering hard to control...due to a defective vvti_oil hose rupturing..both Lexus & Toyota were aware of this problem & had issued a "limited service campaign" that ended on March 31, 2013..both refused to fix my car that with rental cars, cost me aprox. $7,000..this was a rubber hose, that both mfgs. Knew about and both co.continued to replace these faulty hoses, with another "rubber hose", even tho' there was & still is a metal hose that is recommended!! I had posted this problem with ya'll, shortly after, but, do not find records of.. but, approx. 2 weeks ago, I received a notification from Lexus stating, " they had decided to re-open this "limited service campaign" to extend to Dec. 31, 2021..a day too late & alot of $$$$& time spent..even tho' Lexus said they would consider reimbursement on cars, like mine that already had been repaired. Lexus is only doing this, again, because I am 100% sure that all the many many Lexus & Toyota car owners that had their hoses replaced back in 2013 and prior are now experiencing what I had to go thru: Engine died, almost ran off the bridge and spent weeks without a car..had to rent. I ask for you to please go back and research this faulty vvti_oil hose on both Lexus & toyata cars..there are thousands, especially with Toyota!!! all you have to do is google vvti-oil hose and you will see.. thank you in advance!!

- Santa Rosa Beach, FL, USA

problem #2

Aug 312012

ES 350 6-cyl

  • miles
Below are excerpts of a letter sent on July 16th, 2013, to which I have not received a reply. I am writing to you on behalf of my client, _____________, concerning a problem in the steering of her 2007 Lexus ES350. The Lexus dealership, freeman Lexus in santa rosa, California, has refused to reimburse my client for repairs that were made to deal with the shudder and clicking problems in my client"S car. Now, my client is requesting reimbursement in the amount of $420.46 plus repair at no additional cost to her of the recurring problem in the steering ?intermediate shaft? in her car. Freeman should have known of and corrected the problem before selling the car to my client, as I explain below. At the time my client purchased the car on September 7, 2007, certified previously owned, the car was subject to technical service information bulletin ST001-07, steering intermediate shaft noise? on Lexus model ES 350. That bulletin had been issued on April 25, 2007. The problem had not been corrected or disclosed at the time of purchase. Furthermore, freeman Lexus serviced the car on January 9, 2008, at which time the problem was not disclosed. On August 31, 2012, when the problems appeared and were reported to my client?S mechanic, __________________________________________, [mechanic] found bulletin ST001-07 and duly replaced the steering shaft assembly, part no. 45220-06114 according to the service bulletin. [excluded from this email is a recounting of similar complaints] as the above posts indicate, the steering shaft is defective. Had the defect been disclosed, my client would not have purchased the car. Instead, my client relied on the certified previously owned" believing such certification to be reliable. Evidently, it is not. Please contact me if you have any questions regarding this matter.

- Ukiah, CA, USA

problem #1

Aug 312012

ES 350 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Lexus ES350. Attorney representing consumer writes in regards to dealership refused to reimburse consumer for vehicle repairs due to the shudder and clicking problems. The lawyer stated the dealer should have known of and corrected the problem before selling the vehicle to her client. The consumer purchased the vehicle on September 7, 2007 and the vehicle was subject to technical service bulletin ST001-07 steering intermediate shaft noise. The bulletin was issued on April 25,2007. The problem had not been correct or disclosed at the time of purchase. The dealer serviced the vehicle on January 9, 2008, at which time, the problem was not disclosed. On August 31, 2012. When the problem appeared, the consumer reported it to her mechanic. He found the bulletin and replaced the steering shaft assembly, at a cost of $420.46.

- Ukiah, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?