Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,301 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Lexus ES 350 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Lexus ES 350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Lexus ES 350 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #80

Jun 092016

ES 350

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Lexus ES350. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Elgin, TX, USA

problem #79

May 232016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Lexus ES350. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Lithia, FL, USA

problem #78

Jul 012016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Lexus ES350. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags). The contact stated that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Georgetown, TX, USA

problem #77

Jun 092016

ES 350

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall "recall incomplete remedy not yet available" as a result of this recall our passenger seat is not available for safe Transport of passengers.

- Masassas, VA, USA

problem #76

May 302016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Lexus ES350. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags) was received in May. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Rio Verde, AZ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #75

Dec 152016

ES 350

  • miles
Potentially fatal hazard regarding the airbag inflator has been identified since May 2016. There is still no remedy as of December 15, 2016. Lexus and takata are not doing all that that should be required to do in a timely matter. This is a matter of safety and life.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #74

Jul 142016

ES 350

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall - I received my recall notice in July 2016 telling me not to allow any front seat passengers to ride in my car due to the airbag safety issues. It has been almost six months and I still can't use the passenger seat in my car. I asked the dealer to disable the airbag but they said they cannot legally do that. So now, I have a car which is only partially usable. If I have someone ride with me I have them sit in the back seat due to the danger. It is a little weird having co-workers or clients sit in the back of my car. This changes my use of the car substantially. I have been told it may be summer of 2017 before the replacement airbag will be available. That is not a timely fix to this very dangerous situation. If takata can't make the airbags in a timely manner can't they subcontract the work out to someone who can do the job? very frustrated. Please do something to hurry this along so that I can fully use my car again.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #73

Dec 112016

ES 350

  • miles
Problem identified in may of 2016 has yet to be rectified as of December 2016. This does not qualify as " timely" resolution of the problem. My car poses a hazard to me and passengers and is far less marketable in this condition.

- Murphy, NC, USA

problem #72

Dec 112016

ES 350

  • 120,000 miles
Takata recall - after almost 2 years, Lexus has not provided a recall for the defected airbags in my vehicle.

- Palmetto, GA, USA

problem #71

May 232016

ES 350

  • 26,000 miles
Takata recall - I was contacted by the car dealership on May 23, 2016, that our car had defective air bags and would be notified when a remedy was available. After seven months of waiting to hear when the remedy would be available, I called the dealership on Nov.01,2016, to inquire when the problem would be fixed. The answer was "we don't know, but we think parts will be available in late December 2016. I have read that some 90% of Honda cars with the same airbag problem, have been repaired. Seven months of having to drive an unsafe Lexus product seems totally excessive and irresponsible. More accurate fix dates and alternatives should be provided to the vehicle owner by the dealership.

- Richardson, TX, USA

problem #70

Jun 102016

ES 350

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

''takata recall'' I have asked cool springs Lexus dealer to replace my air bag and he tells me he don't know when it will be done.I can not afford to buy a new car. The dealer is at cool springs brentwood tn. Thank you.joanne pembleton E-mail tookerbb30@comcast.net

- Brentwood, TN, USA

problem #69

Jul 162016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. We receiced notice of recall July 2016. It's now 6 months later, without any additional notice. This is an older model car and we live in hot Florida. We know this is a high risk car for this defect. We are afraid to use it for threat of death to the passenger. Please contact us immediately with information as to getting this problem rectified. Thank you much.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #68

May 232016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall Lexus has failed to provide a remedy within an acceptable period of time

- Miami Beach, FL, USA

problem #67

May 012016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall- recall has been since May 2016 and still no remedy. We are a family of 5 and haven't been able to use this family car. This is are most economical car of the two we own. I had called to get a loaner but I just got the run around and no one was able to help me. I am extremely frustrated that there's neither a timely remedy nor help to us car owners.

- Valencia, CA, USA

problem #66

May 232016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Lexus ES350. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V34000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Bellville, TX, USA

problem #65

Nov 282016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Lexus ES350. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags) was received in May. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Newtown, PA, USA

problem #64

Nov 252016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall I just need my airbags to be checked and remedy so I don't have a problem. The information says there is no remedy yet. Recalll# 16V340 manufacturer recall #G2G. Phone 813 562 7932 or 813 458 0865.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #63

Nov 232016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Lexus ES350. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Riverdale, GA, USA

problem #62

May 162016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall: Received the recall notice in May 2016. Told not to use passenger seat and it is now November 22, 2016 with no "remedy" available yet. I blame takata but am very frustrated that this very serious recall has not been corrected yet. I don't let anyone sit in the passenger seat and we are in Texas and supposedly going to be in the first group receiving the fix.

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #61

Jul 222016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Lexus ES350. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?