Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
273,619 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Lexus GS 300 lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Lexus GS 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Lexus GS 300 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Feb 222011

GS 300

  • 56,000 miles


My 2006 GS300 has been having the same problem, intermittent headlight, for over a year. Dealers do not want to admit the issue. It is scary when both lights go off in the highway at night. I am trying to find out how I can get the Lexus to issue a recall for this problem. I am thinking to got my lawyer involved. My email is [xxx] I am thinking to create a list of owners who are experiencing this issue and collectively request for a recall. Please feel free to contact me with any comment or suggestion. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #16

Jun 042008

GS 300 6-cyl

  • miles
I bought a brought new Lexus in December 2005. The headlights go off intermittently. Most of the time, it is the passenger's side. However, the driver's side will occasionally turn off, too. I have had both of them go off at night which was very scary since the road we were traveling was dark. I had to drive about a quarter of mile without lights. When I reached a lighted area, I flicked the light switch on and off and the lights came back on. I now know why I got honked at when I was traveling at night (rarely do I travel at night because of this problem, since I never know when the lights will go off). Before I knew this was happening, I took it to the Lexus dealership and a switch was replaced because at that time the headlights would not turn off automatically. I mentioned to the service manager that the driver's side light was out sometime ago and that my husband, thinking it was just the lamp, was going to replace it. But when we went to buy the lamp, both lights were on. We dismissed as a fluke. The service manager told us that we needed to bring it back when it did it again so it could be checked. Well, it is hard to do so because you never know when the lights will go off. If you turn the lights on and off, the lights will come back on. So it is impossible to determine when that will happen. It is scary. If we have to travel at night, we make sure both headlights are on. However, that does not guarantee that one of the headlights will not go off afterwards, because it has happened. At times one of them will be out by the time we get home. Took it to a mechanic and he says, "hard to repair what you cannot determine what it is".

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #15

Dec 012006

GS 300

  • miles
Hello, I have a Lexus GS300 AWD. Purchased brand-new. The headlights are very low. I took in the first week and they said adjusted them, but still the same troubles. Then the headlight completely turns off. I again take in it under warranty and they replace the light bulb. Still the same problem. I complained over and over. Still nothing. I still drove the car since new with the faulty headlights until this day. Last week on Monday Oct. 3 2011.. I went out to get milk for kids around 8pm, I drove up to the a local store and turning into the parking lot, mind you my headlights only let me see only about 6 feet in front of the car. I started to turn and almost hit a kid riding his bike home. I slammed on the brakes and steered towards the curb. I freaked out!! I almost hit a 12 year old boy because my headlights!! these headlights are the worst I've seen on a car! I had over 15 cars and never have I seen this problem before. What if I hit this kid or even worst, killed him! who's to blame? the dealer who fixed them 3 times and they still factory setting. Factory setting is wrong. These headlights are dangerous ! we owned 9 Lexus cars and trucks and only the GS300 has the problem. I don't understand why there isn't a recall. Every Lexus form has every complaining about the headlights! I refuse to drive this car at night. I'm planning on selling it or trading it in., regardless if someone gets my car they will same the problem. I have 2 kids, what if my kids are riding bikes or your kids and someone else doesn't see them due to poor headlights. I honestly don't believe this car isn't safe to be on the road. Headlights are very important. The dealer adjusted them 3 times. Please help us the people, your friends and loved ones be safe. God bless us all! thank you !!

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #14

Sep 202011

GS 300

  • miles


For about 5 months now I have noticed the driver's headlight going off by itself. At first I thought if I just turn on the light I wouldn't have that problem because the problem seem to happen when I twist the light on all the way to auto. If I turn the light switch off and on the headlight does turn back on. It mostly happens with the front driver's light but last week my passengers side turned off!!! I had just taken my car to the dealership today to get maintenance done. I told them to look into that problem I was having hoping I would get good news in return. However I didn't. they said I would have to bring the car in when the headlight goes out in order for them to access the issues. But how can I bring my vehicle in when the service department closes at 5:30pm?!! it's been very frustrating dealing with this problem. I love my car but I don't want put my life in danger should my headlights go out or get pulled over by chp!!! please someone help!! I feel like I can't be driving my car at night if this problem keeps happening!!! do a recall please!!

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #13

Nov 012010

GS 300 6-cyl

  • miles
While driving, the headlights on either the driver side or passenger side (sometimes both) intermittently turn off. Most of the time, it is the passenger side. This has been going on for 6+ months. I have found out that if I turn the lights off and back on they work, but I have to repeat the process a number of times.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

Aug 042010

GS 300

  • 75,000 miles
When driving at night with low beams on, the driver side and passenger side intermittently turn off. Sometimes they both turn off at the same time. Went to Lexus for service and they said they cannot assess the problem or know what is wrong until the headlamp doesn't turn on again and their suggestion would be to change the entire headlamp. Went for a second service and was told it is the light bulb going out by another service associate. Replaced light bulbs on driver and passenger side and problem still persists.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #11

Oct 202008

GS 300 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles


Low beam headlights (afs) will start flickering and then turn off without no apparent reason. Sometimes it will be only one, sometimes both. Dealer says it could be either the bulbs, the ECU unit in the headlight or the control system. This started happening way before the 50K warranty but dealer denied any repairs as they could not "reproduce" the problem. A few nights ago I ran over a dog because of the poor visibility. I have stopped using this car at night because of the hazard to me and my family.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #10

Dec 202010

GS 300 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
Low beam headlights aim too low. Dealer states nothing they can do.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #9

Jan 182011

GS 300

  • 50,000 miles
I own a 2006 Lexus GS300 with currently 69,000 miles and for the past year, the headlights seem to turn itself off while driving..sometimes it would be the driver side, other times it would be the passenger side, and often it would be both headlights-a complete blackout..I would have the flick the light switch off and on for it to work again (for another few minutes and it would turn itself off again)..I've been high beamed and honked at several times..I've also been pulled over twice and last night was the last straw..I replaced the bulbs but to no avail...I've taken it to 2 different Lexus dealership and have been given the run around with no reasonable explanation offered because they were not able to duplicate the problem..a buddy of mines has the same problem on his '06 GS350..something needs to be done!!..I cant afford to risk my kids and family life over defected headlights.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #8

Nov 032010

GS 300

  • 152,000 miles
Jan 06, 2011 - san diego, ca. - exterior lighting the driver and passenger front headlamps turn off intermittently. They can be turned on again by switching them on and off. This is happens for no apparent reason, in dry or wet conditions. I replaced the driver side headlamp assembly which was turning off very frequently. Problem still exist as seems to be getting worse.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #7

Nov 012010

GS 300

  • 60,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Lexus GS300. While driving approximately 45 mph with the headlights illuminated, the headlights began to illuminate off and on independently. The failure persisted intermittently. The contact stated that sporadically, the headlights would fail altogether. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 62,800.

- Burtonsville, MD, USA

problem #6

Oct 212010

GS 300

  • 77,000 miles
Passenger side headlamp goes out periodically.

- Pascagoula, MS, USA

problem #5

Mar 262008

GS 300

  • 50,000 miles
While driving at night, either headlight (and sometimes both) will go out. Most of the time its the passenger side headlight. I've take it to the dealership to troubleshoot the problem and to correct it. They have not been able to replicate the problem, so are unable to fix it. This has been going on for 6+ month. It doesn't matter if the headlights are in automatic or manual mode. What I have found out that if I turn the lights off and back on, they work. It could be for 5 minutes or the next 200 miles. If anyone has figured out what the problem is, I sure would appreciate knowing. I don't need getting a ticket because 1 or both lights go out prior to passing a policeman.

- Germantown, TN, USA

problem #4

Sep 212010

GS 300

  • 69,000 miles
Driver side headlight continues to go out while driving at night. Rattling noise when car starts up. Truck won't release from key or from truck release inside car.

- Charlotte Nc, NC, USA

problem #3

Feb 092010

GS 300

  • 95,000 miles
The driver and passenger front headlamps turn off intermittently. They can be turned on again by switching them on and off. This is happens for no apparent reason, in dry or wet conditions. I replaced the passenger side headlamp assembly which was turning off very frequently. I am considering replacing the driver side headlamp assembly, as well, since this is getting worse.

- New Paltz, NY, USA

problem #2

Jun 012008

GS 300

  • 40,000 miles
Lexus gs 300: Headlamp goes out! vehicle was serviced four separate times by the dealer. With each repair visit the dealer responded the same way. We cannot replicate the problem, can't fix it until we can. The vehicle has been returned four times to the owner with the headlamp not working. Four separate visits to the Lexus dealerships during a nine month period generated the same response. First the headlamp was replaced. Two days later the same problem occurred. The headlamp went out while the vehicle was being driven at night. Headlamp problems are known to exist, however Lexus keeps no records of owner reported headlamp problems on their maintenance records. My dealership record shows no record of the vehicle ever being serviced for problems beyond the original headlamp replacement. All attempts to have Lexus corporate re-purchase the vehicle has been refused, first by vaughn wendelstaph, then paulette criss, vp. How many fatal crashes due to a Lexus failed headlamps are required before Lexus takes responsibility for the defect, recalls the vehicles, and removes the safety hazard from the road? Lexus has offered to waste more of my time and continue to guess at what the problem might be and replace random parts until they get it right. In the meantime I'm told to continue to drive this moving hazard and putting myself, my family, and all other passengers at risk. I urge all Lexus owners having a Lexus lemons headlamp safety or other road hazard problem. Blog your response to Updated 09/04/09

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #1

Oct 152008

GS 300

  • miles
Driver side headlight goes out shortly after being turned on. I had this same issue about 3 to 4 months ago with my passenger side headlight. The dealer says that they replaced the wires and housing on the passenger side headlight since they could not verify the exact issue. I am concerned that this is a electrical issue. My car is a 2006 Lexus gs 300.

- Allen, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?