Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,733 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Lexus RX 330 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Lexus RX 330:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Lexus RX 330 Owner Comments

problem #17

Jan 032005

RX 330

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Lexus RX330 developed a brake booster problem.** answer required***. the consumer stated the problem with the brake booster, is that the brakes freeze.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #16

Jan 172005

RX 330 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,400 miles
On January 17, 2005 I was involved in an automobile accident in my 2004 Lexus RX330. This accident occurred less than 1 mile from my home, on my own street, 1-2 minutes after leaving my home. It had snowed the night before and the roadway was still snow/ice covered, it was a frigid morning. I was traveling approximately 15 miles per hour and the vehicle brakes failed to engage. I attempted to push the brake petal to the floor without result. The anti-lock brakes did not function. The damage to this vehicle exceeded $8000. Days after the damage to the vehicle was fixed my husband took the vehicle to the Lexus of towson dealership to have the braking mechanism looked at. During the drive to the dealership (in similar, snow covered/frigid conditions) my husband was able to reproduce this problem, again just after leaving our home. The dealership (a 40 minute drive from our home) was unable to reproduce this problem and told us to call back if the problem occurred again. Today, May 24, 2005, we were informed during a routine oil change that there may be a problem wth the brakes and that a campaign was underway to investigate. I wanted to formally add my vehicle to this list of compaints.

- Fork, MD, USA

problem #15

Apr 012004

RX 330

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
I have a Lexus rx 330, 2004. Starting in April 2004 right after I purchased it on March 31, 2004 I have had brake problems with this car. It would jolt when you were applying the brakes, and pull to the side. This was reported by phone, and during its first check up at 1000 miles. Told they could not find anything. Continued problem. Told same at 5000 mile check up, but they replaced brake booster anyway. While backing out of drive brakes failed, and vehicle ran into a yard. Then brake light came on. Lexus dealer sent car carrier to pick up. Driver saw there were no brakes and light was on. Told by dealership the brakes working and light on, but replaced brake boosters again. This time supposedly with another type. I was assured each time nothing wrong with car. Kept driving it, and car would continue to jolt, and pulled to side while steadily applying brakes. Even to the point it would break traction in rain. Had car picked up again, , and they told me this time it was a chip which controlled the baffle system that controlled the brakes. I refused to let them work on it, and asked Lexus at this time to buy the car back under the ga lemon law which was very clear about major system failure such as brakes. His buy back process has been going on since February. The car has been at the dealership unable to be driven. Signed a contract with Lexus to buy it back over 45 days ago and they still have not given me my money.

- Mineral Bluff, GA, USA

problem #14

Feb 012005

RX 330 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power brakes on 2004 Lexus RX330 failed in cold weather. Almost caused accident while backing out of garage. Warming up the vehicle for 15 min temporarily solved the problem. It failed again the next day. Dealer towed the vehicle for repair. Works fine since. I have heard complaints about this model and would like to register my own

- Chappaqua, NY, USA

problem #13

Jan 012005

RX 330 6-cyl

  • miles
Recently in the summer of 2004, I purchased a new 2004 Lexus RX330 SUV. This past January, my brakes failed and I reported this to the dealership (Lexus of englewood). The brakes would not work in stopping the car. The dealership informed me that the brake booster was broken, and they proceeded to change my entire brake system (?). now, the brakes do work, however, the "feel" is just different. I read in the NY times that this has happened to 10 other drivers of the same vehicle and I wanted to report this similar problem. The dealership didn't let me know it was a known problem. Thank you for your attention in this matter.

- Fort Lee, NJ, USA

problem #12

Dec 222004

RX 330 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20 miles
Started car in parking lot in clarence, NY on or about Dec 22 in the pm. Weather cold and icy. Drove off and applied brakes to stop at stop sign and car would not stop. Brake pedal would not push down. Made a turn back into parking lot and finally got car to stop with hand brake. Called the Lexus dealership immediately and spoke to service person who said he could not think of any reason for this to happen. He asked me to turn off engine and start again. I did this and car and brakes reacted normally. I was very shaken and told him so but he assured me that this was just a fluke and there was nothing wrong with the car. After reading article in New York times with regard to some complaints about failure with the power brakes in the Lexus RX330 which is the model of my car (year 2004) I feel this was no fluke and that there is a problem which should be addressed with Lexus. I was fortunate to have this happen in a parking lot at a low rate of speed and had the space to maneuver.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #11

Aug 182004

RX 330 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchase a Lexus RX330 in April 2004 in larchmont, NY. This past summer, as I was pulling out of a parking space, the power brakes failed. I had to push my foot down very forcefully all the way to the floor to get the car to stop. After a few minutes, the power was restored. I had the brakes fixed that afternoon at the Lexus dealership. I was not aware that this was a potentially widespread problem until I read the 2/16 NY times article. I doubt that Lexus is telling you the full story about all the brake failures and repairs that they are encountering.

- White Plains, NY, USA

problem #10

Nov 132004

RX 330 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,143 miles
Complete loss of brakes while driving, pedal went completely to floor. Car had to be towed to dealer, in shop for 10 days awaiting parts. Brake booster replaced. Note: 5 others in shop at same time with same exact problem.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #9

Dec 162004

RX 330

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
While in motion brakes power assist function failed.

- Queens Village, NY, USA

problem #8

Dec 252004

RX 330

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
My brakes failed while traveling down a mountain road in Vermont. Fortunately my husband was driving and was able to stop the car with much force. We called the Lexus road emergency phone and were told to not drive the car anymore, they were aware of the brake problem and would have the car towed to a dealer. We then arranged to have the car towed to our home dealer 170 miles away - but the car took a month to repair because of a backorder on the part and we were left in Vermont without a car. When we arrived home, a rental car was provided by Lexus.

- New Haven, CT, USA

problem #7

Mar 152004

RX 330

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Add my name to the list of people with brake problems in the 2004 Lexus RX300. We have already had 2 major problems with damaged rotors and pads as well as severe vibration and shimmying when braking, especially at high speeds. Lexus has quietly been fixing the brake problems at their own expense in an effort to keep customer complaints to the NHTSA down and to hide the problem. I am sure after you do your research you will find many other people like me with major brake problems who didn't contact the NHTSA because Lexus fixed the problems for free. As a result you will probably issue a safety mandated recall to fix this problem. (the braking problems are frequent and not just on one date as offered below)

- Briarcliff Manor, NY, USA

problem #6

Dec 292004

RX 330 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
Brake and ABS warning lights came on. Dealer towed car in for repairs. It is a failure of the brake booster system which could have led to total loss of braking.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #5

Dec 202004

RX 330

  • 3,200 miles
I have had two problems. One being yesterday I came out to my car in the parking lot started up my car and there were no brakes. Had to put car in park to stop car. The brakes were rock hard. They said it was the booster that had to be repaired. The second problem is I had almost 2 accidents when trying to accelerate from a stop sign. I hit the gas and the car doesn't go it lags and then goes. This hesitation is very very serious and has me very worried about driving with kids. I bought this car for the safety features and now I'm scared to drive it. What if my brakes failed on the highway I was on" what if my car lags in front of a truck"

- Pewaukee, WI, USA

problem #4

Nov 262004

RX 330

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,500 miles
Consumer entered the vehicle, and upon exiting the parking lot, vehicle would not stop. Consumer had to place the vehicle into park in order to stop. Vehicle was towed, and the master cylinder and brake booster were replaced....part was on back order. Mechanic at dealership reported that he has seen a couple of cars with the same problem.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #3

Dec 042004

RX 330 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,100 miles
No warning, had braking failure nearly got into an accident. Dealer told me this is a big problem parts on backorder no loaner car had to rent a vehicle.

- Pottsville, PA, USA

problem #2

Nov 202004

RX 330 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles
Brake booster failure while backing out of driveway at less than 5mph. Dlr advises replacement boosters are on back order.

- W. Newton, MA, USA

problem #1

Nov 092004

RX 330

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Whike driving at 10 mph power brakes failed.

- New Rochelle, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?