Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,493 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Lexus RX 350 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Lexus RX 350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Lexus RX 350 Owner Comments

problem #14

Oct 202013

RX 350

  • 69,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Lexus RX350. The contact stated that while traveling at unknown speeds, the vehicle erroneously accelerated. The contact crashed into another vehicle and then into a telephone pole. The contact sustained chest and knee injuries and the driver of the second vehicle sustained multiple fractures. The vehicle was destroyed and a police report was filed. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 69,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Williamsville, NY, USA

problem #13

Oct 202013

RX 350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Lexus RX350. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the engine rpms increased excessively as the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The contact also stated that the brakes failed to stop the vehicle. The contact crashed into the driver's side of another vehicle and then crashed into a pole. A police report was filed. The contact was transported to a hospital for treatment of chest and legs injuries. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not destroyed. The approximate failure and current mileage was 69,000...updated 12/03/13 updated 12/06/2013

- Williamsville , NY, USA

problem #12

Oct 182013

RX 350 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
Upon entering a parking lot and turning slowly into a vacant spot the car accelerated really fast and wouldn't stop when brake pressed as the speed came to halt when crashing very hard into a brick wall. Both air bags on driver side deployed and were smoking really bad. The impact to my knees and face caused temporary numbness for which I couldn't feel my legs or move. The police & paramedics were called. The entire front end do my car was damaged. Recently purchased used in May 2013. It has been towed to repair shop for inspection upcoming Monday. I suspect it will be totaled and judging by the numerous complaints similar in nature, this probably should have been addressed and recalled prior to being sold.

- Matteson, IL, USA

problem #11

Nov 072012

RX 350 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles


I was driving a Lexus RX350 that we purchased used in 2011. I was pulling into a parking space in front of a local business. When I put my foot on the brake nothing happened and the vehicle sped up and ran into an office in the building where a lady was sitting at a desk. My car came to rest against her desk. I lost consciousness for a moment due to fright I think. Therefore, an ambulance was called and I was taken to a local hospital where I had to have numerous xrays. Thank goodness I had only some stiffness in my neck and some soreness....the same for the lady in the office. I could have killed her or anyone in the vicinity of the office. My car was totaled by the insurance company. This was one of the most frightening experiences I have ever had.

- Livingston, TN, USA

problem #10

Sep 282012

RX 350

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Lexus RX8. The contact stated that while entering a parking space, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into a wall. There was extensive front end damage to the vehicle. No one was injured and the police were not notified. The vehicle was towed to an auto body shop for repairs. The manufacturer was notified who advised that the investigation of the failure would take thirty days to complete. The contact stated the vehicle was given back to her after the body damage was repaired but the memory card that was retrieved was not inspected to determine the cause of the acceleration failure. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #9

Dec 062011

RX 350 6-cyl

  • 355 miles
When I set the cruise control while driving the display on the dash indicating mpg, current mpg, average speed, etc. Goes bland. The dealer said he cannot fix this problem as there appears to be a "bug" in the electronics.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #8

Oct 152010

RX 350

  • 39,200 miles


RX350 Lexus, I experienced a sudden surge in rpms while traveling downhill. Rpms surged 1000 in seconds and dropped back down. Has happened twice in past 4 weeks. Scary, please look into this people all over internet are reporting same problem. Lexus service could not replicate and said nothing is wrong!

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #7

Mar 182010

RX 350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Lexus RX350. Upon placing the vehicle in reverse, it immediately bolted in reverse out of the driveway. At speeds of 40-45 mph. The brakes were applied, but with no effect. In an attempt to shift to shift into neutral, the vehicle was shifted into drive and the vehicle began to involuntarily accelerate leaving the driver no choice, but to crash into a tree. The police and ambulance were called to the scene. The consumer sustained injuries. The vehicle was destroyed. Updated 11/16/10

- Chesterbrook, PA, USA

problem #6

Mar 022010

RX 350

  • 24,980 miles
The contact owns 2008 Lexus RS350. While driving approximately 3 mph into his driveway the vehicle surged forward. The contact was unable to stop the vehicle. The contact depressed the brakes to the floor and the vehicle failed to stop. The vehicle crashed into a wall. The entire front end of the vehicle was damaged. The air bag did not deploy. The police was not called to the scene. The contact towed the vehicle to an authorized dealer. The dealer stated that estimated repair cost was $12,000. The inspector informed him that they were unable to offer him any assistance. The vehicle was at an authorized dealer to be repaired when the complaint was filed. The approximate failure mileage was 24980 and the current mileage was 25000.

- New York , NY, USA

problem #5

Dec 012009

RX 350

  • 19,700 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Lexus RX350. He experienced sudden acceleration twice while driving 30 mph and attempting to stop at an intersection and again when he tried to park. During both incidents his foot was on the brake pedal; however, the accelerator pedal stuck, the vehicle continued to accelerate and it failed to stop. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be diagnosed. The dealer was unable to locate the failure. A report was filed with the manufacturer who stated that someone would contact him. The current and the failure mileages were 19, 700.

- Austin , TX, USA

problem #4

Jan 082010

RX 350

  • 19,000 miles


Accelerator sticks. I had a 2002 Lexus RX300 and the accelerator kept sticking. I took it to the austin tx Lexus dealer in spring 2008 and reported it. They said there was nothing wrong. I sold the car and bought a new 2008 RX350 and it does the same thing. So Lexus has known about this problem for a long long time and that makes me mad for them to knowningly jeopardizing my safety. Tw*

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #3

Sep 212009

RX 350 6-cyl

  • 20,800 miles
As a Lexus owner and international journalist (Washington, DC) I hereby lodge a formal complaint against Lexus usa/tms offices in torrance, ca. My mother and I survived death, sustained traumatic serious injuries (which led to my miscarriage) due to my Lexus car manufacturer defects and mechanical malfunctioning resulting in a loss of control collision on 09/21/2009. Since 09/22/2009 up to date 11/30/09 I have been cheated, scammed and lied to by my car manufacturer and sales offices corporate leaders, who contacted me and gave me false promises of my car re-purchase, stating that my defective car is subject to a buy-back and replacement in addition to legal liability issues related to our medical bills. Up to date I have been cheated, lied as being a victim of a chain of liars, cheaters and fraud masters from Lexus-usa. Proof of all communications will be provided to your office upon request. Please handle an expedited and extensive investigation in this matter. My car is abandoned by Lexus usa headquarters those who contacted me a few times and cheated about prompt resolution of my claim for all damages resulted from my car defects. As journalist and victim of fraud, I will prepare a special news coverage with my colleagues that will disclose and expose Lexus usa deceptive business practice and fraud. I will seek recovery to the fullest extent of laws. Lexus usa office fraud masters who have been assigned to my claim, caused me punitive and monetary damages. As a result I sustained medical, rental and other expenses. All wrongdoers shall be held accountable due to violations and non compliances with federal, state and local laws and regulations. Please contact me and advise me of the status of this case. Updated 03/23/2010

- Burbank, CA, USA

problem #2

May 072008

RX 350 6-cyl

  • 1,871 miles
As I put the vehicle in reverse, it rapidly and suddenly accelerated out of control and hit a light post. Trying to regain control, I put on the brake and shifted to drive, where it suddenly and very rapidly sped forward and hit a fence before I could stop the vehicle. When this occurred, the couple I was dining with heard the car backfire twice which caught their attention. I could not hear the backfire inside of the vehicle. The acceleration was extremely rapid and dangerous. The vehicle did this on its own. This is not a case of where I accidentally hit the gas pedal instead of the brake. In this particular situation, no one was hurt, and the vehicle only has minor scratches. However, as you might surmise, this could have been a potentially dangerous and deadly situation had someone been in the path of the car. Vehicle was brought to westside Lexus to check on 5.13.2008. They were unable to identify the problem and said the vehicle was safe to drive.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #1

Nov 102007

RX 350

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle was being driven by denica gordon-mandel (wife). Driver was on top floor of a parking garage adjoining a department store. Driver applied gas to pull into parking space, then driver applied brake to slow down, then driver took foot off brake. Car lurched forward and slammed into wall of parking structure.

- Los Angels, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?