Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
88,658 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Mercury Sable suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Mercury Sable:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Mercury Sable Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

Nov 062012

Sable 6-cyl

  • 147,000 miles


Front left coil spring fractured when I got into my car. Car was parked. Coil spring penetrated the front tire and ruptured it. This is identical to the failure reported in 04V332000, but my car is about 6 months older than the manufacturing range of that recall.

- Northbrook, IL, USA

problem #21

Mar 192011


  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph in snowy weather, the contact heard a loud noise from the front of the vehicle. After inspecting the vehicle he noticed that the front driver side tire was deflated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where they advised him that the coil spring had fractured and punctured the tire. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 90,000. The VIN was not available.

- East Ice Land, NY, USA

problem #20

Jan 202012

Sable 6-cyl

  • 99,510 miles
I was backing out of my garage when I immediately became aware the vehicle was not moving normally, the front drivers side tire was completely flat. When I was changing the tire I noticed the spring had broken and punctured and ruined the tire. This evidently happened while the car was parked in the garage as I heard no noise from the breaking spring or escaping air. I feel fortunate this happened in the garage and not at highway speeds.

- Holland, MI, USA

problem #19

Jan 122012

Sable 6-cyl

  • 84,500 miles


The following addresses an issue I encountered with my vehicle, a 2002 Mercury Sable. On January 12th, 2012, I was driving on a two way road during a heavy snowstorm. I was traveling about 35 miles per hour, which was below the speed limit, due to the road conditions. At this time, I heard a loud noise and experienced a loss of control over my vehicle. After pulling over, I investigated the noise and discovered that the front right tire was completely shredded and partially off the rim. I towed the car to a repair shop and learned that the suspension spring broke and punctured the tire and damaged the strut. This is also a year and a half after I had a similar problem with the front left spring. Neither the strut nor the tires were damaged during this event at that time.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #18

Jan 022012

Sable 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
Driver backing out of parking space when heard metallic grinding sound followed by a bang. Then we heard the sound of metal on pavement. When got out of car the drivers side of the car was sitting so low that I could not get a jack under it. The driver front tire was completely shredded on the inside of the wheel well. It is costing us $700 to repair. As per ODI resume ea 08-18 document under reason for closing the following sentence appears, "the coil springs in the subject vehicles are defective." Even if there is no real danger to traffic safety it is still and issue that Ford should be required to address, we as the driving public should not have to pay hundreds of dollars to repair it. Also if Ford wants to keep their customers they should address problems such as this. We are thinking of looking to Toyota or Honda for our next car after driving Ford since 1997.

- Saint Paul, MN, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

Nov 282011


  • 123,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. The contact stated that the vehicle was parked when he noticed that the front driver's side tire was flat. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop and the contact was informed that the front driver's side coil spring fractured and punctured the tire. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 123,000.

- Mahanoy City, PA, USA

problem #16

Dec 122011


  • 113,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable gs. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, there was a loud bang and the front passenger tire blew. The contact almost lost control of the vehicle as she merged onto the shoulder and rolled into a ditch. There were no injuries and the vehicle was not damaged. The tire was removed and the spare was installed. The vehicle was then taken back to the dealer where the tire was originally purchased and after inspection, the technician advised that the coil spring caused the tire damage. The dealer was notified of the coil spring failure and advised that there were no recalls for the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted who confirmed that there were no recalls and offered no further assistance. The failure mileage was 113,000.

- Little Canada, MN, USA

problem #15

May 012007


  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. The contact stated that the vehicle was not balanced and dropped to the floor abnormally. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the technician advised that the front coil spring was fractured and caused damage to the brake pad and blower. The front coil spring, brake pad and blower were replaced. After the repair the front coil spring fractured a second time. The vehicle was not further repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 59,000.

- Greenville, MI, USA

problem #14

May 252010


  • 50,657 miles
On May 25, 2010, the left rear strut and spring broke, and punctured my tire. One year later, almost to the date, the left front strut and spring broke and punctured that tire also. Luckily for the second incident, the car was parked. I would hate to think what might have happened had I been driving the car at the time. The rod was right inside the tire, and I'm sure it would have created an accident! Ford/Mercury has no recall on my VIN, although there are recalls on the Ford Taurus, which is basically the same car. It is also not part of the Ford customer satisfaction guarantee as some of the Taurus' are. I think Ford/Mercury should have taken the appropriate action to have these repaired.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #13

Apr 292011


  • 75,000 miles
Left front spring broke gouging an 8 inch tear in tire side wall causing a blowout and damage to anti-lock brake system. Transmission mount was also damaged. If this had happened at highway speeds, loss of steering control and braking could have caused serious injuries. Ford denies any responsibility. I was told that Ford had admitted frequent spring failure on its 1999 to 2001 Taurus/Sable vehicles and installed guards to protect the tires from blowout. This is second spring failure in 2 years. The first time was the right rear spring broke damaging strut and gouging tire but not causing deflation. Two spring failures on the same vehicle in 2 years indicate that it is not an isolated incident. This is time bomb waiting for someone to get seriously injured.

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #12

Jan 142011


  • 83,000 miles


While attempting to back out of my garage, the coil spring on the front driver side strut broke and shot into my front tire, puncturing and immediately flattening my tire. The spring was embedded in the tire so far that they were unable to remove the tire to put on the spare. The car had to be forced in reverse far enough back to be able to hook it onto the tow truck which shredded the front tire. Had to have front springs, struts, ABS speed sensor, alignment and new tire put on the vehicle. Very lucky that this incident happened in my garage and not out on the roadway.

- Mansfield, OH, USA

problem #11

Jul 152010


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. The contact was driving approximately 15 mph attempting a turn when suddenly there was a loud noise coming from outside of the vehicle. The contact pulled over to the side of the road and noticed that the rear of the vehicle slightly collapsed in a tiled position towards the passenger side. The vehicle was driven at an extremely low speed rate to the nearest dealer for diagnosis. The rear passenger side coil spring fractured, and was replaced. Most recently, the contact stated that the front driver side coil spring completely fractured and caused the tire to explode. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired by an independent mechanic. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000. Updated 3/14/11 updated 12/14/11

- Iron Mountain , MI, USA

problem #10

Jun 092010

Sable 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Back springs both broke on 2002 Sable..had to get fixed to pass Jan 2009 front spring broke and punctured my left front tire..I understand Ford had recalls or safety issues w/springs for 1999,2000,2001 & 2003 but not my 2002..I have tried w/Ford to no avail for resolution with this issue to no avail....I have read many complaints on internet for same exact problem I have had w/2002 did Ford skip the 2002 models?

- Washington, PA, USA

problem #9

Apr 092010

Sable 6-cyl

  • 63,905 miles
2002 Mercury Sable ls premium, 64,000 miles. The springs broke in the front wheel assembly. Caused tire rip and cost $1,100 in repairs.

- Providence, RI, USA

problem #8

Mar 192010


  • miles
I drive a 2002 Mercury Sable that was purchased a few months ago. We are a family of three that doesn't drive often or like a nascar driver. But last week while reversing, my tires blew. We were going to put the spare on when we noticed that the strut/spring that punctured and blown the tire. We are so thankful that we were not on the interstate when this happened because we could've been killed. Not only that, but we are spending hundreds of dollars on this issued that should be recalled! I have done some research on this car and noticed that this is a common problem for many owners of the Mercury Sable anad Ford Taurus. It is not right for a company to think that they can get away with this. Our family was hit head on, on the interstate a year ago adn could've died!! we are still disabled and will be for the rest of our lives. The last thing I want in my life is to have another close call to death! this needs to be addressed! I now have to purchase 2 brand new tires, even though I just got new ones! need new strut/spring combos on each side, otherwise they wear differently and could have more issues later and new ball joints on each side. Not only that but I have to get these tires balanced and rotated at another fee. Didn't have a car for over a week, and missed school. Fix this issue! do some research yourself and you will see we have a big problem on our hands!!! why should I have to pay and suffer for thier mistake" can you answer these questions for me"

- Grand Forks, ND, USA

problem #7

Feb 262010

Sable 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Hi I am writing about my 17-year-old son's car. It is a 2002 Mercury Sable. He had a blow-out 4 nights ago which prompted him to call aaa to change it at 11:30 P.M. the next day we went to get a new tire for the front passenger side, they put a new tire on it, we paid them and proceeded to back out of the driveway and the tire went flat. The mechanic then took the tire off and told us we had a broken coil spring that was puncturing the tires. We then took the car to the garage to have this spring replaced for $150 and upon driving the car into the shop the other side broke and punctured the left tire. So now my bill is up to $300 already and he hasn't even checked the rear coils yet. It is very frustrating to me to see that they had recalls for the 2001 Sable and obviously they haven't fixed the problem. This was a very terrifying thing for me to drive to stay with my son while waiting for aaa and to see this tire that was split in half. My son was only minutes from getting onto the highway where this could have been a horrific accident. I have read lots of complaints on the internet about the 2002 having problems so my question is why hasn't anything been done yet. I sure hope it doesn't have to come to someone getting hurt or even worse before this problem is fixed.

- New Bedford, MA, USA

problem #6

Mar 202009


  • 108,000 miles
I drive a 2002 Mercury Sable. I was turning left into a gas station driveway and I heard a loud metal sound, as loud as a gunshot. I got out of the car and looked underneath and all around the area adjacent to the car but I could not see anything. I was able to drive the car to a repair shop without incident, but every time I went over the slightbest bump, the car sounded like it was going to fall apart (lots of metal scraping noises). The repair shop said that my front coil springs had broken and that I was lucky that the spring had not punctured my tire. The mechanic called Ford to check on a recall for the springs because he said that this was a very common problem for Ford/Mercury cars. Ford informed him that my car was not included in the recall. I went ahead with the repair which was a complicated mess because of twisting, rust, etc. My bill was close to $900. I was just thankful that no one in my family was injured as a result of this faulty equipment. As stated in many of the complaint forums relating to this spring problem, I agree that Ford is just waiting until there are deaths involved with this problem before they will take any action. Just another example of what is wrong with the american automobile industry. I owned a Saab for 18 years until my husband totaled it. I owned a Toyota before that. This Mercury was forced upon me because of my economic condition at the time. I will never own another Ford/Mercury vehicle again. Just an added note: My husband just found out yesterday that his rear coil springs on his 2001 Ford Taurus are broken. I am anxious to see if Ford will take responsibility for this spring failure.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #5

Aug 062008


  • 83,736 miles
While having tires rotated at sam's club, the technician notified me that both rear springs were broken.

- Cold Spring, MN, USA

problem #4

Jun 162008


  • 130,000 miles
My husband merely sat in our car and we heard a terrible noise from the back - it was the springs breaking. We spent $400 to repair both rear springs. A month later, I took the car in for new tires and the drivers-side front spring broke. We ended up replacing springs, shocks, and mounting hardware for a total of $650. Ford has recalled the 1998-2001, but this problem obviously is still not fixed and the 2002 should be recalled as well.

- Belding, MI, USA

problem #3

Jun 062008

Sable 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
Regular driving. Both of the rear suspension coils snapped and the front coils appear to be on their way as well.

- Hartford, CT, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?