Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,689 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Mercury Sable suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Mercury Sable:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Mercury Sable Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #57

May 012008

Sable

  • 118,951 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. While driving approximately 25 mph, the front driver side coil spring failed and punctured the tire. The tire and coil springs were replaced and repaired. Approximately a month and a half later, the rear driver side coil spring failed and punctured the tire. The current mileage was 119,400 and failure mileage was 118,951.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #56

Mar 132008

Sable 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Mercury Sable. Consumer experienced a tire blowout. Consumer states that while changing the tire it was noticed that the spring snapped. She noticed that the broken spring was also rubbing against the spare tire. The consumer stated 12 hours later, the same thing happened to the left front tire/spring.

- Sanborn, NY, USA

problem #55

Apr 202008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. While pulling out of the driveway at an unknown speed, the contact heard a rumbling sound coming from his vehicle. When he made it to the highway, the vehicle suddenly dropped to the ground. The contact was driving 20 mph at the time of failure. He was able to get the vehicle off the road and have it towed to bill wilson's auto body shop. The vehicle is currently at the shop being repaired at the cost of $570. The repairs consists of a new strut, spring, and alignment. The failure and current mileages were 73,000. Update 05/13/08 updated

- Lewistown, PA, USA

problem #54

Apr 122008

Sable 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,650 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. While driving approximately 60 mph, a tire blew out. The failure was attributed to the suspension:front:springs:coil springs. The dealer confirmed the failure and is currently repairing the vehicle. The failure mileage was 81,650 and current mileage was 81,660.

- Epsom , NH, USA

problem #53

Feb 052008

Sable

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,608 miles
2002 Mercury Sable recall for front coil springs. Consumer states that the front coil spring snapped and shredded the front tire. Consumer would like reimbursement. Recall was for 1999 to 2001.

- New Berlin, WI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #52

Mar 152008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,655 miles
On March 15th, 2008 we proceeded to enter our vehicle a 2002 Mercury Sable, upon putting the vehicle in reverse, the front driver side suspension coil busted our tire. Luckily no one was hurt. I called the dealership after finding this website of the same complaints. After a few wrong numbers I got a hold of the recall department and so far there aren't any recalls on this issue. I would like to see something done about this, because if we were en route somewhere when this happened, there very well could have caused an accident.

- Batavia, OH, USA

problem #51

Mar 022008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. In an attempt to back out of the garage, the front driver side coil spring failed and punctured the tire. The current mileage was 90,680 and failure mileage was 90,600.

- Cresson , PA, USA

problem #50

Feb 122008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,100 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. The vehicle shook and veered off the road. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic and they stated that the front coil spring failed and damaged the tire. The current and failure mileages were 45,100. Updated 03-18-08

- Snethport, PA, USA

problem #49

Feb 142008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,792 miles
While backing my 2002 Mercury Sable out of my driveway the front passenger side coil spring snapped puncturing the tire. The car has been inspected by a Ford dealer and I am supposed to call Ford customer service tomorrow to try to resolve this. The driver side spring snapped under the same circumstances almost exactly two years ago, Feb. 23, 2006. The car had 44,000 miles when the first one broke, and now has only 52,000 miles. I will have the old parts available. I wish I had known about this complaint site when the first one broke. I would have pushed Ford to cover it. I am pursuing the second one.

- Rocky River, OH, USA

problem #48

Dec 242007

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles
Front drivers side spring snapped causing puncture and immediate bursting of tire. This happened when I got into the car, but had not yet pulled out of the garage (I am not that heavy). If this had happened while driving, it would have definitely caused an accident, as the tire popped like a balloon. The tow-truck driver and Ford service people informed me this is a common problem for this make/model. If so, a recall should be issued. It is very unsafe and I am worried about the spring on the front passenger side.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #47

Dec 242007

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. In an attempt to drive the vehicle, the front driver's side coil spring failed and punctured the tire. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for repair. The speed was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 93,000.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #46

Feb 042008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,811 miles
Front left coil spring failure on 2002 Mercury Sable sedan. Occurred in my driveway, so thankfully no human or property damage other than the car. The failed spring also cut through and destroyed the tire. I will be making another complaint for a 1998 Taurus sedan - with identical circumstances. How lucky for me to have one on each side of a recall range.

- Tiffin, OH, USA

problem #45

Jan 182008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My 2002 Mercury Sable suffered a tire blowout caused by the front coil spring breaking and penetrating the drivers side tire. I called Ford Motor Company to report this incident. There was no recall issued for the model year 2002 but there were recalls issued for later model Sable for the same problem. The representative from Ford told me that they thought the issue was resolved for the 2002 model year and thus there were no recalls for it. When I expressed my concern, they only offered me to pay a partial amount for the repair. I felt that this was totally unsatisfactory and told the Ford rep. That not only should the total repair be paid but that another recall should be issued since the design change did not fix the problem. Luckily the incident occurred while the car was in my driveway. The night before we were on the Maine turnpike traveling at 65 miles per hour. Had the spring broke at that point we could have been seriously injured. I told the Ford rep. That I was going to file a complaint with the local news media consumer hotline. He told me that I had that right but that he was going to revoke the amount of assistance Ford was willing to pay for the repair. I said fine. A life is worth more than the cost of the repair. Updated 3/20/08

- Old Orchard Beach, ME, USA

problem #44

Dec 252007

Sable 6-cyl

  • miles
The front spring on my car broke and nearly punctured the tire. I was just pulling out of a parking space after leaving work, and it made a loud bang, thankfully I wasn't going 30mph or more. It may have caused a crash.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #43

Nov 302007

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. While driving 1-5 mph, the left front coil spring broke and punctured the left front tire. The mechanic stated that the vehicle needed a wheel alignment, a new tire and a new coil spring. As of January 3, 2008, the mechanic had not repaired the vehicle. The current and failure mileages were 85,000. The purchase date was unavailable. Updated 01/29/08 the consumer stated the repairs were completed on 01/03/08. 01/29/08

- Hammonsport, NY, USA

problem #42

Dec 172007

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Went out to my car and noticed a flat front, left tire. Tried to replace tire but noticed that the coil spring popped and went into my tire! had to have it towed to repair shop where I needed new springs, tire, and sway bar which cost me $1,200. I am very upset about no recall on 2002 models and will attempt to get reimbursed by Ford.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #41

Dec 112006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. While driving 2 mph, the front suspension spring cracked and as a result, it punctured the right front tire. The contact stated that the suspension spring was replaced last year. The failure mileage was 93,000 and the current mileage was 100,000.

- Hartland, WI, USA

problem #40

Dec 242007

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The front coil spring on my 2002 Mercury Sable broke, puncturing and shredding the tire while driving. Had the vehicle been on the freeway I am certain anyone in it would have been killed. I have learned that this is a common problem and Ford has agreed to fix model years 1999-2001.

- Brecksville, OH, USA

problem #39

Dec 202007

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,700 miles
2002 Sable driver side front coil spring broke while driving at low speed. The broken spring then punctured left front tire.

- Dodgeville, WI, USA

problem #38

Dec 142007

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles
The day after a snow storm I backed up my 2002 Mercury Sable and the right front spring broke and punctured the adjacent tire. During repair of the vehicle a rear spring was found to also be broken. I needed to have four new springs and two new tires.

- Marlborough, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?