Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,689 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Mercury Sable suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Mercury Sable:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Mercury Sable Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #77

May 312010

Sable

  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. The contact stated that while driving at approximate speeds of 70 mph, the front drivers side coil spring failed. The vehicle was carefully driven to the contacts place of residence and the coil spring punctured and caused the front driver's side tire. Both front coil springs and the driver's side sway bar were replaced by the dealer at the contacts expense. The contact stated there were hundreds of complaints online pertaining to the failure for his year, make and model vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted and the contact was awaiting a decision from the manufacturer if he would be reimbursed for the repairs. The failure and current mileages were approximately 97,000.

- Gross Point Farms , MI, USA

problem #76

Mar 232010

Sable

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. The left and right rear coil springs failed in March 2010 while the contact was driving. On May 23, 2010, while reversing out of the driveway, the left front coil spring broke. The contact called the manufacturer who advised her to take the vehicle to an authorized dealership. The contact planned to take the vehicle to a repair shop for repairs at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was approximately 98,000. The current mileage was approximately 102,000.

- Carle Place , NY, USA

problem #75

Apr 032010

Sable

  • 127,991 miles
I have a 2002 Mercury Sable that broke a front coil spring and noticed that 2001 Mercury Sable were recalled for the same problem NHTSA campaign id # 04V332000 action #PE04044 should this recall be updated to include year model 2002?

- Constantia, NY, USA

problem #74

Feb 252010

Sable 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. While exiting a parking space, there was a loud banging noise. The consumers daughter discovered the front driver's side tire was punctured. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where they found the suspension coil spring snapped and punctured the front driver's side tire. There was currently an open investigation for the described failure (see NHTSA action number EA08018: Component :suspension:front:springs:coil springs) however there were no recalls. Updated 04/13/10. Updated 10/12/10

- Lackawanna, NY, USA

problem #73

Jul 092008

Sable

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. While driving approximately 5 mph into his driveway; suddenly, a loud noise came from outside of the vehicle and the front end of the vehicle collapsed. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer. The failure was contributed to a broken front driver side coil spring. The vehicle was repaired per the service warranty. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #72

Jan 022010

Sable

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. The contact stated as he was driving the front passenger coil springs broke and ripped the tire opened. Contact had to replace the tires with the spare and drove it home. The dealer or manufacturer have not been contacted in regards to the problem. There is a defect investigation NHTSA# EA08018, component : suspension:front:springs:coil springs, opened since August 28, 2008 and is still opened. VIN number is unknown. The failure mileage is 102,000....mw

- Columbia City, IN, USA

problem #71

Dec 282009

Sable

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. While attempting to drive he noticed that the driver-side front tire was flat. Upon further inspection he noticed that the coil spring had fractured and then punctured the tire. The vehicle was taken to the dealership in which the technician stated that both front coil springs needed to be replaced. The current and failure mileages were 70000.

- Mooerf, NY, USA

problem #70

Aug 242009

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable which was purchased in 2006. He stated that the front driver's side coil spring broke on the vehicle while in the reverse position at a speed of less than 5 mph. The sharp end of the coil spring punctured the tire and flattened it. The manufacturer was notified and although there were no recalls an engineering analysis (NHTSA action number : EA08018) was opened to assess the frequency, scope and safety consequences of the alleged defect. The VIN was not available. The current and failure mileages were under 77,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 10/5/09 updated 10/07/09

- Gardener, MA, USA

problem #69

Jul 312009

Sable

  • 55,900 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. While backing out of the driveway at an unknown speed, the front driver's side tire flattened. The contact examined the vehicle and noticed that the front driver's side coil spring punctured the tire. The current and failure mileages were 55,900.

- Laceyville, PA, USA

problem #68

Jul 012009

Sable

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. While driving 10 mph, the front driver's side coil spring failed and punctured the front tire. The vehicle was towed to a local repair shop and the mechanic stated that the coil spring failed. The vehicle is currently being repaired. The estimated repair cost has not been disclosed. The contact is in the process of notifying the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- West Port, MA, USA

problem #67

Nov 222008

Sable

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. In November of 2008, while driving 10 mph, the rear coil spring failed and punctured one of the rear tires. The vehicle was repaired at a tire dealer. There were no injuries. In March of 2009, the contact believed that he had a flat tire while driving. Aaa arrived and inspected the vehicle. The contact was informed that the front coil springs failed and caused the tire to flatten. The dealer stated that there were no recalls for his model vehicle. The manufacturer has not been notified. The current mileage was approximately 105,000 and failure mileage was approximately 98,000.

- North Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #66

May 302009

Sable

  • 94,112 miles
Left front spring broke and punctured left front tire. Occurred as vehicle was being backed out of driveway at low speed. Vehicle was towed to repair shop. Replaced both front strut springs, both sway bar links, and left front tire at a cost of $570.

- Clarkston, MI, USA

problem #65

May 302009

Sable

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. While backing out of the driveway at an unknown speed, the front driver's side coil spring failed. The coil spring created a loud explosion as it punctured the tire. The tire was repaired. The current and failure mileages were 90,000.

- Hibernia, NJ, USA

problem #64

Feb 232009

Sable

  • 70,300 miles
When backing my car out of the garage I heard a grinding noise which sounded like the front pads were grinding on the rotor....I tried tapping the brakes to no avail..I drove about 1/4 mile and the noise was continuing...I stopped and noticed the tire was going flat...I chgd the tire and put on my donut spare and drove to work about 4-5 miles...at lunchtime I drove to my tire dealer and was going to have the flat fixed...when they took my donut off they informed me my left-front coil spring broke and had punctured my tire....they said to leave donut on until I could get broken spring broke..they also said to call my Mercury dealer because this was such a big problem there was a recall....I called my dealer South hills linc-mer in smcmurray, penna. And gave them my VIN # and was told my car didn't qualify...2002 Mercury Sable ls...I then made an appt with my body shop and paid &532.29 for new springs/struts for the front end....they also told me my left rear spring in presently broke also..

- Washington, PA, USA

problem #63

Dec 222006

Sable 6-cyl

  • 83,650 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. Two years ago, the coil spring on the driver's side of the vehicle failed and the front tire exploded while the vehicle was parked in the garage. While driving at an unknown speed, the passenger side coil spring also failed and punctured the front passenger side tire. The vehicle was towed to a mechanic and repaired. The dealer was not notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 83,650. Updated 04/21/09. Updated 04/24/09.

- Clayton, MI, USA

problem #62

Jan 022009

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,773 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. While changing the front passenger side tire, the contact did not realize that the coil spring failed and punctured the tire. He was able to replace the tire with a spare and drove the vehicle to the dealer to have the tire changed. The dealer stated that the two front coil springs failed and punctured the tire. The front tire and front coil springs were replaced at the cost of $735. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle was out of warranty and he would not be reimbursed for the repair costs. The failure mileage was 70,773 and current mileage was 70,793. Updated 01-26-09 updated 01/26/09.

- Dunkirk, NY, USA

problem #61

Dec 222008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,965 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. While backing out of the driveway at an unknown speed, the contact heard a loud noise outside of the vehicle. She immediately turned off the engine. She inspected the vehicle and noticed that the front driver's side tire was flat and the strut spring was sticking out of the tire. The vehicle is in the process of being repaired. The failure and current mileages were 24,964. Updated 2/23/09 updated 02/25/09.

- Mckeeysport, PA, USA

problem #60

Jan 282008

Sable

  • 97,975 miles
Front right coil snapped puncturing the tire and resulted in flat tire and new coil having to be put on along with 2 new tires., 2 new struts it took to fix it. Ford needs to pay me the$742.93 I had to pay. I could have been going 60 on the highway with my kids in the car.

- Marion, OH, USA

problem #59

Sep 052008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,026 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. After placing the vehicle into reverse and driving approximately 2 mph, the contact heard a loud pop. Air released from the front driver's side tire and the front end of the vehicle lowered to the ground. The front tire was removed and it was discovered that the coil spring failed and ruptured the tire. There is a recall on the 2001 Mercury Sable regarding this issue. The current and failure mileages were 60,026. Updated 10/03/08 updated 10/15/08.

- E. Aurora, NY, USA

problem #58

Aug 252008

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. While driving between 65-70 mph, the contact heard a loud banging noise. He continued to drive until he heard another loud bang. The tire flattened immediately and he lost control of the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic and repaired. The contact was informed that there was a recall for the failure; however, his vehicle year was exempt. The mechanic also stated that the spring damaged the sway bar linkage and tire which caused it to flatten. The dealer advised the contact to notify the manufacturer; however, the NHTSA campaign id number 04V332000 (suspension:front:springs:coil springs) recall ended for the 2001 Sable. Ford also recommended that he have the front springs repaired at his own expense. The failure and current mileages were 112,000. Updated 092308 updated 09/26/08.

- Fowlerville, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?