Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Power steering problems are a major issue with the 2004 Mini Cooper, with hundreds of owners reporting complaints to the NHTSA about their power steering suddenly failing while driving.

Some power steering failures have caused crashes & injuries. Average mileage at failure is well under 100,000 miles & the repair cost is over $1,000. Not good.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,059 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Mini Cooper steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Mini Cooper:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Mini Cooper Owner Comments (Page 17 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #97

Nov 222010

Cooper 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 4,053 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 MINICooper S. the contact was traveling 35 mph when the steering became extremely tight. There was no warning prior to the failure. The contact stated that the failure had occurred before but not as extreme as the most current failure. The contact could barely maneuver the steering wheel. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the power steering cooling fan and electronic power steering pump were replaced. The dealer advised that the power steering failure was a known problem. The failure mileage was 4,053 and the current mileage is 4,509 updated 02/03/11 also, the driver side seat heater grid burned through the cover and the drivers jacket. The second seat cover burned through also and made a hole in the passengers coat. Updated 03/18/11

- Rockport, ME, USA

problem #96

Nov 252010

Cooper

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 MINICooper S. while the contact was driving approximately 50 mph, the power steering stopped functioning and it was difficult to turn the steering wheel. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000.

- East Renton Highlands, WA, USA

problem #95

Aug 012010

Cooper

  • 50,000 miles
The power steering on my 2004 MINICooper S fails intermittently. The car is extremely hard to steer when the power steering fails.

- Andover, MA, USA

problem #94

Sep 012010

Cooper 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 MINICooper S. the contact stated that when driving at low speeds, the steering shaft started to make odd noises. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the steering column and pum were defective. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 90,000. Updated 4/11/2011 updated 07/11/11

- Newtown Square, PA, USA

problem #93

Nov 192010

Cooper

  • 80,000 miles
While parking and while driving, steering function has been lost. The steering wheel gets heavy, seeming to be stuck and unable to turn. This happened twice, and I was able to stop the car or pull off to the side and stop without injury. The steering fluid was fine, an although the steering pump doesn't make noise or continue to run after the car is shut off, it is assumed the steering pump needs to be replaced (a common faulty part in MINICoopers). There is concern for safety over when and where I might lose steering again and whether this will cause an incident alone or with another car. I have read that my car might start on fire in connection with the steering pump, even with a replacement of the pump.

- Stevens Point, WI, USA

problem #92

Oct 302010

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 76,215 miles
I own a 2004 MINIcooper hard top and I was on my way home from state college when the power steering went out. This made the car extremely difficult to drive. Since this happened, I am all but terrified to drive the vehicle. I have done some investigation into this, and I see I am not the only MINIowner with this problem. I hope something will be done about this.

- Mt Pleasant Mills, PA, USA

problem #91

Oct 012009

Cooper

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The power steering assist on my 2004 MINICooper started failing very sporadically over one year ago becoming more and more frequent until finally I experienced complete failure of the power assist. Sometimes this would occur when I was first starting the car but then as the frequency increase, it would also just stop working while I was driving, sometimes going as fast as 50-60 miles per hour, making the vehicle very difficult to steer. I had the power steering pump replaced with a brand new one, which seems to have corrected the problem. The car only had 83,000 miles on it at the time the power steering pump had to be replaced, which, I believe, is unacceptable.

- Spring Grove, VA, USA

problem #90

Nov 162010

Cooper

  • 80,000 miles
Normal driving conditions. 2004 MINICooper power steering failed. No leaking fluids, no warning lights or abnormal sounds to hint that this was an impending issue. Car was very difficult to maneuver. We are concerned that this is a safety issue in parking lots, with pedestrians or at speed around other vehicles.

- West Bloomfield, MI, USA

problem #89

Nov 142010

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 MINICooper. The contact was driving 35 mph when the power steering failed. The contact steered the vehicle to a parking lot where he was able to turn the engine off. Once the vehicle was restarted, the steering resumed normal operation. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnosis or repairs. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 72,000. Updated 01/13/11 updated 01/24/11

- Ft Myers, FL, USA

problem #88

Nov 102010

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
My 2004 MINICooper S power steering pump just failed and has to be replaced after only 45K miles. Updated 08-29/11

- Des Plaines, IL, USA

problem #87

Feb 172008

Cooper

  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 MINICooper S. the contact stated that the power steering failed while driving approximately 45 mph causing limited steering capability. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop where the contact was informed that the power steering pump and column would need to be replaced. The repairs were performed at that time. The failure did not recur. The manufacturer offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 51,000 and the current mileage was approximately 70,000.

- Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #86

Jun 242010

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 60,668 miles
Near the end of a 500 mile trip from northern to southern California, the power steering failed. I completed the trip without the power steering. The next day I took the vehicle into an authorized dealer for repair. The power steering pump was replaced. The old part is not available.

- Oregon House, CA, USA

problem #85

Aug 272010

Cooper 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 MINICooper. While driving approximately 35 mph, the power steering suddenly malfunctioned; the failure lasted anywhere from a few minutes to 45 minutes. The failure occurred six times intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where different steering parts were replaced (the contact was unsure of which parts). The failure continued. The failure mileage was approximately 72,000 and the current mileage was approximately 74,000. Updated 2/17/11

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #84

Oct 162010

Cooper

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 MINICooper. The contact stated that the power steering intermittently malfunctioned causing a loss of power steering assist capabilities. On one occasion, the contact stated that the power steering cooling fan remained on after the vehicle was shut off and drained the battery. The vehicle was towed to a local repair facility where the contact was awaiting repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 58,000 and the current mileage was approximately 58,325.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #83

Jun 182010

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
I have a 2004 MINICooper S built in late September or early October 2003. At approximately 54,000 miles in spring of 2010, I left to go on a trip across town. After about 2 miles of the up to then normal drive, the power steering suddenly and without warning stopped working in the middle of a curve. Fortunately I was able to retain control of the car and make it to my destination a couple more miles away. After sitting about 15 minutes, upon restart, the car performed normally as far as I can tell. Checking the internet, it seems that this is a somewhat common problem with this vehicle and that it will continue on and off until the power steering does not function at all. This can also lead to a fire at the power steering pump that may lead to complete loss of vehicle and or additional property damage. Some with fires have not had any prior hints of an issue and some have had the intermittent pump going out. In speaking to the MINIservice center, they of course said they had never heard of the problem and refused to give me any help under goodwill warranty. I had them replace the pump at my expense to avoid the risk of fire.

- Morrisville, NC, USA

problem #82

Oct 242010

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
1. power steering started failing 2. occurs randomly throughout my driving ~ daily 3. repair/replace power steering pump.

- Maple Valley, WA, USA

problem #81

Sep 162010

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 88,650 miles
Power steering pump failed while driving.

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #80

Oct 102010

Cooper

  • 63,140 miles
The contact owns a 2004 MINICooper. While driving 5 mph, the contact stated that the steering failed when he tried to make a right turn. The contact was able to keep the vehicle under control and pulled over. The contact turned off and restarted it; the steering seemed to reset itself. The failure seemed to occur when the engine was hot. The dealer stated that the power steering pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were 63,140.

- Miami , FL, USA

problem #79

Mar 272010

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 63,100 miles
Power steering pump stopped working.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #78

Nov 102009

Cooper

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 MINICooper. He contact noticed an unknown fluid leak on the ground under the vehicle while parked. The contact inspected the vehicle and found that power steering fluid was leaking. The vehicle was taken to a local repair facility where the mechanic replaced the power steering pump, steering hose, pressure hose, return hose, and the suction hose. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 54,000 and the current mileage was 61,400.

- Orlando , FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?