Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2002 Oldsmobile Alero (Page 2 of 5)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,078 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Oldsmobile Alero electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Oldsmobile Alero:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Oldsmobile Alero Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #74

Apr 032010

Alero 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Oldsmobile Alero. Consumer writes in regards to ignition key recall notice and consumer seeks reimbursement for repairs. The ignition switch and lock cylinder were replaced on April 3, 2010.

- Germantown, WI, USA

problem #73

Oct 302014

Alero

  • miles
My ignition key comes out of the ignition while my car is running. Called on 10/30/14 @ 2:51 to schedule an appointment I spoke to [xxx] & was told they can't get me in until 12/1/14 and he also told me they have Saturday appointments but they only accept 35 cars and if I was number 36 I would be turned away. This is a vehicle safety issue & I'm having problems with the exact thing your company has recalled my vehicle for and this is not acceptable. Please call me at [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bellwood, IL, USA

problem #72

Oct 292014

Alero

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Oldsmobile Alero. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The VIN was unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #71

Oct 202014

Alero

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Oldsmobile Alero. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #70

Oct 202014

Alero 4-cyl

  • miles
Trying to get local GM dealer to respond to recall notice and say that it will be December before they can respond.

- Notre Dame, IN, USA

problem #69

Feb 172012

Alero 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Oldsmobile Alero. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle recall notice. The consumer is seeking reimbursement, for the ignition switch replacement.

- Belleville, PA, USA

problem #68

Jul 032003

Alero 6-cyl

  • 1,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Blinkers work sometimes and sometimes not.. most of the time they will work if you press the hazard lights if they work.. and keep playing with the blinkers eventually they turn signal will turn on.. extremely frustrating!! now I see.. some have been recalled..my make and model haven't"??? its the exact same problem!! I have this well documented as I bought this car new. GM had no problems taking my money for their car, now will not stand behind their product, go figure!!! I've had the 10 min reset going on now with the engine for about 3 yrs again extremely frustrating!!! but this time..my car died on the street in traffic and would not start would crank over but did not re- start and will not! this car has 117000 miles on it and is in perfect shape I have to take care of the things I own!!! how about GM giving me my money back, or at the very least fixing the safety features of this car???" god forbid someone dies and now, seeing all the complaints on line...I know GM has known about this issue for many yrs and will do nothing till some lawyers go after them and each of the people who trusted you get zip or 2.00 each.. this is wrong!!!!!! I hope you have the moral integrity to do the right thing and sooner rather than later!!!!

- Richland, WA, USA

problem #67

Oct 102014

Alero

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Oldsmobile Alero. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Keystone Heights , FL, USA

problem #66

Oct 022014

Alero

  • 213,500 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Oldsmobile Alero. The contact stated that the vehicle continuously failed to start. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 213,500.

- Mason City, IA, USA

problem #65

Sep 262014

Alero

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Oldsmobile Alero. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled on several occasions. Additionally, the key failed to turn in the ignition. The vehicle was towed on several occasions and repaired. The repairs were unknown, but the failure persisted. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was not available.

- Carencro, LA, USA

problem #64

Sep 142014

Alero

  • 232,550 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a problem with the signals not working.. they may come on and blink or not...I've almost had to accidents this week 9/30/2014 because they fail to work...I have taken my car to see if the bulbs are blown or wiring and nothing comes back as to why they stop and start...I have gotten 2 warnings from a police officer about the failure to work, it can get me tickets or killed.

- Athens, GA, USA

problem #63

Mar 122014

Alero 6-cyl

  • 71,165 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Oldsmobile Alero. The contact stated that the audible sound that accompanies the turning signal continuously chimed after the turn was completed. The sound would increase before stopping sporadically. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was approximately 71,165. Updated 12/2/14 the vehicle was repaired by replacing the combination switch for the turn signal. Updated 10/1/2015

- St Paul, MN, USA

problem #62

Sep 042014

Alero

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Oldsmobile Alero. While driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning, the vehicle spun out and crashed into a median. A police report was filed. The contact sustained a black eye and bloody nose from the impact of the air bag. There was no medical attention required. The vehicle was destroyed. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Miami , FL, USA

problem #61

Jun 102014

Alero 6-cyl

  • 185,000 miles
I was driving down a country road at 45 mph and my car shut off. I pulled over to the side of the road and then the car started up. This happened again, a couple days later, when I was driving down a city street at 30 mph. A couple days after this incident, the car shut down three times as I was driving out of a parking lot. I took the car to the mechanic (6/4/2014), they replaced the cam shaft sensor. ($395.58). A couple days later, the car was in the parking lot and would not start. It cranked over, but wouldn't start. I had it towed to the mechanic (6/13/2024), this time the mechanic replaced the ignition starter switch ($289.62). A month later, the car was sitting in the parking lot and again would not start. It was towed and the mechanic (8/25/2014) and the mechanic replaced the crankshaft position sensor ($194.09.) now I am crossing my fingers that this does not happen again. Look at the website car complaints.com and you will see numerous postings from people experiencing the same problems. The first incidents of the car shutting down while I was driving could have resulted in an accident. The recent incidents are inconvenient. GM needs to be held accountable for these issues. It appears from other users that as the car gets older with more miles, these electrical/sensor issues are becoming more prevalent.

- Maplewood, MN, USA

problem #60

Jul 082008

Alero 6-cyl

  • 27,363 miles
My car shut off while driving on downtown street. Tow was necessary. Ignition sensory assembly had to be replaced. I received recall for this today GM #14350. I was told there would be directions in the case that I already made repair. There are no instructions. I have a very specific receipt for the repair. How do I get reimbursed. Phone #'s are always busy...that's why I'm trying for information here. Thanks.

- Sunbury, PA, USA

problem #59

Jul 012014

Alero

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Oldsmobile Alero. While driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning and caused the contact to crash into the rear of another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and no injuries were sustained. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact also stated that the vehicle failed to start and was taken to an independent mechanic who was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 180,000.

- El Paseo, TX, USA

problem #58

Aug 012014

Alero 6-cyl

  • 100,200 miles
Known problem with anti theft system car wont start, safety system wont allow, repairs can be maid at dealer for 500. No long term fix. Online people say had repair to have problem happen over and over, dealer recharges for repair each time knowing its a defect in anti theft. Car will strand U cause GM refuses to recall defected system parts.

- Norwalk, OH, USA

problem #57

Aug 112014

Alero 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
I have had the same problem for a while! about 3 months ago I get in my car to go to school and work and guess what the car would not start and I waited and it still did not start. I called the towing company and they took it to the mechanic and it started 10 times and they could not find anything wrong. So for the last 2 months it has drove fine. Well last Monday morning it did it again would not start so I had to miss work and call a tow truck and took it to the dealership and the car would turn over but not start. I just paid $430 to put a cam sensor in and now it seems to be running. I put a new anti theft lock system in around 2011. I see my car is one that is in a recall and I hope they can get this fixed.

- Alabaster, AL, USA

problem #56

Jul 272014

Alero 6-cyl

  • 152,000 miles
I attempted to start my car to head home on an hour drive. It would not start, no cranking of any kind or power to the starter or starter solenoid. Attempted to start the vehicle again about a half hour later as I waited for my ride to arrive and still nothing. All of the lights worked, everything else worked but the car simply would not start. After reading every other complaint and review this issue is concurrent with the theft issue that many other owners have suffered.

- Taylor, MI, USA

problem #55

Jun 122013

Alero

  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Oldsmobile Alero. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle stalled and the security light illuminated. The vehicle could be restarted and the failure recurred ten times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing and the dealer stated that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 86,000.

- Williamstown, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?