Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Visibility: Power Window Devices And Controls Problems

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

4.8

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,701 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Pontiac Bonneville windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Pontiac Bonneville:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Pontiac Bonneville Owner Comments

problem #11

Aug 202007

Bonneville 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,212 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Problems with window regulator design. 3/30/2005 33,212 miles, driver's side window shudders and stopped working, would not open. Window replaced under warranty. 3/13/2007 65,600 miles, rt front passenger window, would not open, required replacement, cost to repair $500 8/20/2007 drivers window again barely working, and will need replacement for $500. Obviously a flaw if design of window regulators. Posing danger if can not open window.

- Lyndhurst, OH, USA

problem #10

May 072007

Bonneville 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
Late March 2007 rear driver window would not work. Electric motor cable twisted. Cost $400. At this time back passenger window will not work. Fell off track, possible motor cable problem. Front passenger window will not work. Froze in position.

- Pine Knot, KY, USA

problem #9

Feb 102006

Bonneville 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Window on 2002 Pontiac Bonneville fall down, when problem was located the window regulator guide wire was twisted. Regulator was replaced and the wire twisted on it also. Car seams to have electrical problems, seat warmers will not turn on when turned on. Windows also will not let down at times.

- Sparks, GA, USA

problem #8

Oct 102006

Bonneville 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have owned a 2000 Pontiac Grand Prix and a 2002 Pontiac Bonneville. The window motor on both vehicles seem defective. On my Grand Prix, 3 of the four window motors stopped working. On my Bonneville, all 4 window motors stopped. The window would not move up or down. Very often it has been stuck down (window open) and I could not "roll" it back up. Each time I got it fixed, they said it was the motor. I have discussed this problem with other Pontiac owners and they have all experienced. 8jb

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #7

Jan 102004

Bonneville 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have had both rear window go down and won't come back up. I have done a lot of reading of complaints with the same problem, but why is nothing being done to correct the problem. It is really a shame for such a nice looking car to have so many problems. Why won't the manufacturer stand behind there work. And fix the problems??

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #6

Aug 032005

Bonneville 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
On 08/03/05 for no apparent reason, the front passenger window on my 2002 Bonneville SSEI failed to go up. The button didn't work on that door nor on driver's door. I took my car into the Pontiac dealership and it cost me $458.25 for a regulator and motor assembly to fix it. Then on 08/23/05, less than 3 weeks later, again for no apparent reason and while sitting on the carport not running, the rear passenger window came down all by itself and would not move up or down. That window cost me another $440.51 at the dealership. Please note that I am female (not that gender makes a difference), the sole driver of this car, and all windows other than the driver's window, have rarely been used. It's quite evident that the problem is due to a defect in these windows. Now I am out nearly a thousand dollars to fix something that should be the responsibility of Pontiac. Now I'm wondering how long it'll be before the other two go out. Also note that even though the 36 month warranty expired in March 2005, my car has less than 32,000 miles. Out of curiosity, I have conducted an internet research to see if anyone else has experienced the same problems as I have with the window failures and have found that my case is definitely not an isolated one. Quite a few others have had the same problem. This is totally unacceptable. The NHTSA needs to conduct an investigation. My loyalty to and confidence in Pontiac is now somewhat compromised and I hope something is done about this situation soon.

- Starkville, MS, USA

problem #5

Nov 102004

Bonneville 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The consumer lost steering control while driving at 45 mph. The consumer was able to bring the vehicle under control without being involved in a vehicle crash. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, who informed the consumer that the high pressure hose for the power steering assist erupted. The consumer was concerned since a similar incident occurred before. The intermediate steering shaft was replaced, both front window lift motors were replaced, water leaked in the front passenger door, there was an extreme amount of engine noise as well as heat and exhaust entering the passenger compartment, there was two inches of play in the steering wheel, the steering locked up, there was a lack of power steering fluid in the reservoir, high pressure hose fluid leaked all over the underside of the vehicle and throughout the engine, the upper nut and the bolt that held the intermediate steering shaft to the steering wheel assembly was extremely loose.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #4

Dec 042004

Bonneville

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The power windows failed without warning. As a result, the consumer had to wire the window in order for the window to stay shut. The dealer stated the parts were on national back order. Please provide additional information.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #3

Mar 122004

Bonneville

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
1. this is a failure that has take place over a span of six months. After only using the windows a couple of times the motor or regulator fails. The first failure was in March of 2004, the second in April of 2004 and the most recent was in August of 2004. 2. there has been a failure in the motor or window regulator in all four of our windows. The consequence of the failure is the inability to roll-up the windows. In addition, we are unable to use the vehicle which is a problem when it is the only one that has a car seat. We also feel it is unfare for the consumer to have to keep paying for something Pontiac should take care of. 3. our vehicle is under warranty until December; therefore, the dealership fixed the parts that failed. We also contacted Pontiac's customer service and they acknowledged there is a design flaw with the window sash and that is causing the failure in the motors and regulators. However, they are not planning on a recall until there are enough complaints filed with NHTSA. This is unacceptable when our warranty is up in December and we have to keep paying to have something fixed that is clearly a desing failure. We fell that NHTSA needs to examine this problem and pressure Pontiac to recall the window sashes on their vehicles. Especially since they will not take action until they are notified by you.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #2

Jul 272004

Bonneville 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I've had three windows repaired on my vehicle since 01/04. The right back window came down all on its own this morning while driving to work. I've managed to get the window back up. The button doesn't do anything. Has anyone else had defective windows? this is the 5th Bonneville I've owned since 1992. The 2002 has had more things wrong with it than all the other Bonneville I've owned.

- Crawfordville, FL, USA

problem #1

May 222002

Bonneville

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Left outside rear view mirror vibrates, causing a blurry vision. Contacted dealership. Replaced mirror and motor mounts however, problem reoccurred. Inside trunk panel keeps falling, window controls/left front door door panels are loose.

- Los Fresnos, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?