Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Service Brakes, Electric Problems Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague Notes: The 2005 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2005 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2005 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for power steering problems, up to 10 years/100k miles.

As of early 2013 the NHTSA had 300+ steering complaints on file for the 2005 G6, with 12 crashes & 4 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2005 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2005 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
30,826 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Pontiac G6 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments

problem #5

Nov 202009

G6 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles


Rotor problems on Pontiac G6. I have had my rotors on my G6 either turned or replaced at least 4 times if not more, I cannot even tell you how many times this has been done and how much money has been spent! GM claims that there are no problems with the brakes on their G6 model, however if you go to google and type in this issue there are many many complaints. I can produce receipts for how many times they have been serviced. This seems to be a safety issue as people cannot afford to keep putting brakes on these cars and sooner or later they are going to fail. This is something that definitely needs to be looked into by a third party. Thanks for your time!

- Pace, FL, USA

problem #4

Jun 012007


  • 0 miles
In order to shift from park to drive you have to press the brake pedal so hard it is almost impossible. I do not now when this began, nor do I know what it is more specifically than the brakes are impossible to press down in order to shift gears and I cannot diagnose the problem. You ask later in this form to specify the problem. My answer is clearly stated above.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #3

Jul 082009


  • 72,600 miles
Brake lights failed and would not work when depressed, actually turned off all rear tail lighting when depressed and car was in drive. Dealer fixed the problem with dielectric lubricant...apparently this has been part of a recall, but my car was not included in the recall.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #2

Feb 252009


  • 29,000 miles
The brake lamps illuminate when the brake pedal has not been depressed, or the lamps may not illuminate when the brake pedal is depressed. In addition, the cruise control does not engage, and greater brake pedal force is required to shift the vehicle out of park.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #1

Apr 102008


  • 40,528 miles
In May 2008, my father was following me to my new apartment and noticed that my brake lights were remaining on while I was driving. He noted that the brake lights remained on after I had taken my foot off of the brake pedal, and remained on through many stops and accelerations. I first took my vehicle in for service on April 10, 2008. At that time, the service department told me that the brake lights were operating correctly and they sent me home. The second time I brought my vehicle in, on May 23, 2008 it was for the same problem, which clearly existed, despite being told there was no issue in May. This time, they recalibrated the brake pedal position sensor. Yet again in June, my father was following me again and my brake lights were still remaining on. I took my car in for the third time June 25, 2008. This time, they replaced the brake light position sensor. I then noted in recent weeks that my brake lights were still not operation properly, so I brought my vehicle in for the fourth time on October 24, 2008 and they replaced the bpps yet again. One day later, my brake lights were back on.

- West Chester, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?