Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Exterior Lighting Problems

2005 Pontiac G6 (Page 2 of 3)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2005 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2005 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for power steering problems, up to 10 years/100k miles.

As of early 2013 the NHTSA had 300+ steering complaints on file for the 2005 G6, with 12 crashes & 4 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2005 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2005 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,331 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Pontiac G6 lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #26

Jan 152012

G6

  • 132,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving my 2005 Pontiac G6, the brake lamps go off when I actually press the brake pedal. They will stay on or sometimes flash at random times the entire time I drive. It is a well documented problem with these cars and it is related to corrosion on the BCM. This has happened twice to me in this car. Pontiac has never issued a recall, their way of fixing it is putting dielectric grease on the connectors and calling it good. It worked for me for about a year, and the problem has resurfaced....while driving down the interstate at 65mph. Faulty brake lamps are an extreme danger to anyone driving the vehicle.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #25

Jun 232011

G6 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
When the brakes are applied, the tail lights go out. While driving the brake lights are on causing cruise control not to engage. The brake pedal position sensor has already had the dielectric grease put in the connector but still malfunctions.

- Stanley, NY, USA

problem #24

Aug 082012

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the rear brake lights erroneously illuminated without the brakes being applied. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the brake pedal switch shorted internally and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 75,000..... updated 02-20-13 the consumer stated the cruise control would not engage and the traction control would randomly turn on. The vehicle was repaired. Updated 02/21/2013

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #23

Feb 152012

G6

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had car fixed with dealership from a recall involving the brake lights not functioning properly in 2009. Recently the same issue with the brake lights has been occurring, identical to the recall issue. I.e. brake lights go on while driving and do not function while braking. When bringing it into the dealership they told me it would not be covered under the recall as it was already serviced for the recall and is probably another issue even though the car problem is identical to the recall issue and want me to pay out of my own pocket.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #22

Jan 242012

G6

  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact was driving 30 mph when the brake light illuminated while driving and stopped when the brakes were depressed. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was contacted and they confirmed to the contact that the VIN failed to qualify for repairs under NHTSA campaign id number:09V036000 (exterior lighting:brake lights). The failure mileage was 57,000 and the current mileage was 57,021.

- North Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #21

Aug 182011

G6

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 09V036000 (exterior lighting: Brake lights) and was repaired. Two years later, the contact experienced a failure with the brake lights. The contact stated that the brake lights would illuminate when the brake pedal was not depressed and would not illuminate when they were. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer where it was determined that there was a short in the wiring. The failure and current mileages were 98,000.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #20

Aug 202011

G6 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brake lights are malfunctioning. Lights are stuck on when brake pedal is not depressed, and turn off when it is. Cruise control doesn't function when this problem is occurring. I know there is a recall on some 2005 G6 models but my car wasn't included in the recall. The recall needs to be expanded to include more cars.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #19

Jan 282011

G6

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake lights failed. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 09V036000 (exterior lighting:brake lights) but the failure recurred. In addition, the contact stated that the gear shifter would become stuck in park. The dealer denied any other assistance with the failure. The manufacturer was notified but the contact was unable to get in contact with a live person. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 72,000 and the current mileage was 80,000.

- West Lawn, PA, USA

problem #18

Jul 032011

G6 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
Improper operation of the brake lamps. While using my brakes I discovered that the brake lamps would not illuminate. Also, the brake lamps would illuminate when the brake pedal was not applied. I called GM dealer and they indicated my vehicle was not part of their recall. It is an extremely dangerous condition and dealer informed me that they had no idea how much it would cost to fix it until they did diagnostic testing. When I explained it is the same condition as recall# 09V036000 they just kept telling me that my vehicle is not part of the recall. GM needs to expand the recall to all Pontiac G6 vehicle, not just those manufactured in January 2005.

- Hatfield, PA, USA

problem #17

Apr 292011

G6 6-cyl

  • 109,000 miles
First problem, the exterior rear tail brake lights do not function well. I did find the recall and did take it in for repair. The problem still exist even after changing out the defected part. This is very scary and can lead to a serious accident. Second problem, the power steering light comes on and service light, when this happens the steering wheel becomes very hard and difficult to steer. After turning the car off the steering wheel returns to "normal". I have seen on different forum of complaint that have been made about this problem. I think this is very dangerous and can lead to an accident and deaths. This problem exist and not only in my vehicle but in many other of the same make. This is serious safety issue because the problem with the steering wheel becoming difficult to steer makes it impossible to control the vehicle. I am very angry because ever since I got the car I have been having a lot of safety issues with it, and as a student attending college it is extremely an inconvenience. I have three years paying the car and have one year to go, this so unfortunate because as far as all the reviews the problem is never taken care of which would mean I would have to purchase another car.

- Houston , TX, USA

problem #16

Jan 022011

G6

  • 109,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6 GT. The contact stated that the brake line had failed. The brake light did not illuminate when the brake pedal was depressed. The brake seemed spongy. The speed control also did not function. The contact referenced recall 09V036000 (exterior lighting: Brake lights) but was informed by the manufacturer that the vehicle was not included. The failure mileage was 109,000.

- Mt Caramel, PA, USA

problem #15

Nov 212010

G6 6-cyl

  • 116,000 miles
I bought the car in April of 2008. In July of 2008 I was experiencing problems with the brake lights working opposite, cruise control stopped working as well as instrument panel. I had a new body control module put in my car and it was fine up until November of 2010 when I started having problems with the instrument panel again. In December of 2010 my brake lights started working opposite again as well as flashing while I am driving. I have been harassed by other motorists who I have gotten mad because of this problem. It is a serious safety issue as other motorists cannot tell if im braking. I have called GM this week and they have told me that the work I had done for the same problem is no longer under warranty. Surprising. I have done some homework and looked up the 2005 Pontiac G6 problems and it shows only a small majority of these cars have been recalled for this problem. Mine was not on this list. Why? I have also found thousands of other owners with the same problem.

- London, 00, USA

problem #14

Aug 102010

G6

  • 59,000 miles
2005 Pontiac G6. Brake lights stay on when driving, cruise control disengages and have to depress brake pedal extremely hard to get out of park. Researched problem and found out that there was a recall for this problem for some but not all vehicles of that model make & year. Was told that my VIN were not included for that recall. This is of major concern for me, an accident almost occurred due to this problem. With the economy the way it is and lack of funds to be able to repair what should have been covered by GM why was my VIN number not included in this recall of the same problem? if an accident occurs GM should be required to pay for all damages both to the vehicles involved and any personal injury or death.

- Lowell, MA, USA

problem #13

Aug 122010

G6 6-cyl

  • 42,984 miles
I have had multiple problems with my brake lights. At first they worked in reverse, then stayed on all the time and the third time they are not working at all now. I had the pedal position sensor and brake light switch replaced in 10/08. In 10/09 the brake lights stayed on at all times and they said there was a bulletin about greasing the part which they did. Now, 8/10 my brake lights are not working at all again! I called the only local dealership who can't fit me in for at least one week. Updated 02/06/12 updated 02/08/12

- Holbrook, NY, USA

problem #12

Jun 112010

G6 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
I own a 2005 Pontiac G-6. the problem I have falls into one of the recalls you list - brake lights fail to illuminate when brake pedal is depressed, but remain on when not pressed. Also, difficult to shift from park to reverse and the cruise control does not work. I contacted General Motors and was told that your website is inaccurate and that there are no recalls for my vehicle. I also contacted a local dealer and was told the same thing. I'd like to get this resolved, but GM will not honor my request. This is a safety issue and if there is a recall, then I would like to know why GM denies there is a recall.

- Oakdale, PA, USA

problem #11

Sep 142009

G6

  • 65,000 miles
Pontiac G6 brake lights were operating opposite (brakes lights illuminated while driving and not illuminated while brake is applied). Cruise control not engaging. Apparently there was a recall for some models of the G6 but was told by Pontiac that my G6 was not covered under the recall for the exact same issue.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #10

Jan 092008

G6

  • 11,000 miles
The brake lights on my '05 Pontiac G6 (sedan) stay on all the time. They will briefly go off when I use the brakes but then come back on. In other words they work in reverse. I have had the brake position switch replaced 2X's at the dealer (1/9/08 and 9/9/08) and also completed a recall notice (08317) that applied dielectric lubricant to C2 connector (5/22/09). I continue to have the same problem.

- Milford, DE, USA

problem #9

Nov 082008

G6

  • 42,000 miles
One day the car's brake light stayed on. It occurs daily for no reason. It has drained my battery and burnt out the lights. It also confuses drivers. I went to a Pontiac dealership to get it fixed and they said the recall I was speaking of didn't involve my vehicle. They wanted to charge me $116 just to look at the vehicle. I called GM and they told me that they did know of the recall, but it didn't pertain to my vehicle because it wasn't built in the month they have had the problems.

- Brooklyn Park , MN, USA

problem #8

Jul 132008

G6

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake lights remain illuminated without the brakes being engaged. It is very difficult to depress the brake pedal when the vehicle is in park. In addition, the cruise control is ineffective because the brake light is illuminated. The VIN is not included in NHTSA campaign id number 09V036000 (exterior lighting:brake). The dealer stated that there was no remedy for the issue. The failure mileage was 103,000.

- Des Moine, IA, USA

problem #7

Feb 252009

G6

  • 29,000 miles
The brake lamps illuminate when the brake pedal has not been depressed, or the lamps may not illuminate when the brake pedal is depressed. In addition, the cruise control does not engage, and greater brake pedal force is required to shift the vehicle out of park.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?