Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Exterior Lighting: Brake Lights Problems

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2005 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2005 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for power steering problems, up to 10 years/100k miles.

As of early 2013 the NHTSA had 300+ steering complaints on file for the 2005 G6, with 12 crashes & 4 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2005 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2005 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

2.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,506 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Pontiac G6 lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments

problem #12

Jul 282009

G6 6-cyl

  • 54,756 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been having issues with the brake lights on my vehicle for almost the entire time I have owned the vehicle. As it has been revealed in a recall for this vehicle (NHTSA campaign number: 09V036000) the brake lights do not function properly -- they turn on when I am not hitting the brakes and turn off when I do hit the brakes. In July 2009 I thought I had the issue fixed when I took the car to a GM dealer to be repaired under the recall. However, despite the vehicle being fixed under the recall the brake lights still do not work properly. I just got approached by someone following me a couple of days ago that my brake lights are not working again.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #11

May 072012

G6

  • 138,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that one year ago, she received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 09V036000 ( exterior lighting:brake lights). The vehicle was repaired previously but the failure recurred. The contact went back to the dealer to have the vehicle repaired, but they denied her request. The manufacturer was notified who stated that the recall was previously completed on her vehicle and would not be repaired again. The failure mileage was 138,000.

- Oakdale, PA, USA

problem #10

Jul 232009

G6

  • 37,272 miles
My 2005 G6 brake lights stay on 24/7 very hard to get out of park. I cannot use the cruise control. The position of the pedal is affecting everything. It's unsafe! they are telling me I need to pay $300.25 to replace the BCM. Nothing else is wrong but what they state in the recall papers. Why do I have to fix a problem they recalled??

- Warren, OH, USA

problem #9

Jul 032011

G6 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Improper operation of the brake lamps. While using my brakes I discovered that the brake lamps would not illuminate. Also, the brake lamps would illuminate when the brake pedal was not applied. I called GM dealer and they indicated my vehicle was not part of their recall. It is an extremely dangerous condition and dealer informed me that they had no idea how much it would cost to fix it until they did diagnostic testing. When I explained it is the same condition as recall# 09V036000 they just kept telling me that my vehicle is not part of the recall. GM needs to expand the recall to all Pontiac G6 vehicle, not just those manufactured in January 2005.

- Hatfield, PA, USA

problem #8

Mar 312011

G6 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
According to recall #08317 by General Motors, the brake lamps on a 2005 Pontiac G6 will not work properly due to fretting corrosion in a wiring connector within the body control module. My vehicle was taken in to van Chevrolet of Kansas City, mo to fix this issue, and was told due to the fretting corrosion the BCM needs replaced. I was told by this dealership they could not replace the BCM without a fee and refused to make the necessary corrections to solve this problem and allowed the vehicle to leave the shop with the brake lights being defective. This would not need to be replaced if not for the fretting corrosion as stated by the recall mentioned above. General Motors and any GM dealerships have a responsibility to fix this issue. Updated IVOQ 04/26/11

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #7

Sep 152010

G6

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. While driving approximately 20-30 mph when the brakes were applied they failed to stop the vehicle. He also stated that occasionally while driving without engaging the brakes, the brake light would come on. The failure happened intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who advised him of NHTSA recall campaign id number: 09V036000, exterior lighting:brake lights. The contact had not checked with the manufacturer or dealer to see if the vehicle was part of the recall. The mechanic advised him that the body control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 55,000 and the current mileage was 67,000.

- Hicksville, NY, USA

problem #6

Aug 122010

G6 6-cyl

  • 42,984 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had multiple problems with my brake lights. At first they worked in reverse, then stayed on all the time and the third time they are not working at all now. I had the pedal position sensor and brake light switch replaced in 10/08. In 10/09 the brake lights stayed on at all times and they said there was a bulletin about greasing the part which they did. Now, 8/10 my brake lights are not working at all again! I called the only local dealership who can't fit me in for at least one week. Updated 02/06/12 updated 02/08/12

- Holbrook, NY, USA

problem #5

Aug 102009

G6

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. While driving at any speed, the brake light would remain illuminated even if the brakes were not in use. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 75,000.

- Havana, FL, USA

problem #4

Mar 302008

G6

  • miles
2005 Pontiac G6 has problems with the brake lights, brake pads, and rotors. The day after purchasing the vehicle, the consumer had to take it back to get an alignment and have the rotors replaced. In June 2008, the consumer took the vehicle to the dealer because the brakes were making a noise. The dealer was unable to duplicate the issue. Two weeks later, the front pads had to be replaced because they were worn. The sunroof had to be repaired due to a rattling noise it was making. After the sunroof was repaired, it began to make a different noise. A technician determined a pipe had ruptured. The brake lights were on when the vehicle was in drive. The consumer then received a recall letter in the mail regarding the defective brake lights after already paying for a sensor that didn't resolve the issue.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #3

Oct 102008

G6

  • 34,000 miles
I have a 2005 Pontiac G6 GT. The brake lights, with no known cause, began to stay on when accelerating and turn off when the brake was hit. This occurred day and night without any known cause. The bigger problem was that the lights worked sometimes, making it hard to diagnose a problem. I have yet to find a mechanic who has been able to determine and correct the brake lights.

- Niagara Falls, NY, USA

problem #2

Nov 012007

G6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. Whenever the contact accelerated, the brake lights would illuminate. Whenever he applied the brakes, the brakes light would turn off. The contact also noticed that the cruise control feature would not work. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. Speed was not a factor. The current mileage was 58,000 and failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 10/16/08 the brake light was disengaging the cruise control. Updated 10/21/08.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #1

Jun 072005

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62 miles
The brake lights are continually on, other driver's think the consumer is braking at all times. The vehicle has been to the dealer 7 times and changed switches in the foot pedals and brakes. They say it has codes of brake slipping and they still cannot correct the problem.

- Lee's Summit, MO, USA

Not what you are looking for?