Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2005 Pontiac G6 (Page 12 of 18)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2005 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2005 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for power steering problems, up to 10 years/100k miles.

As of early 2013 the NHTSA had 300+ steering complaints on file for the 2005 G6, with 12 crashes & 4 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2005 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2005 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
85,394 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 12 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #121

Feb 182010

G6 6-cyl

  • 66,849 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was altered on my radio alarm system to "check power steering". the warning went away the next time I started the car. Then a month or so later I was driving in town when my power steering went out completely. It was very difficult to turn corners and I fear what would happen if I were driving fast and it failed and I did not know it had failed again and I needed to move quickly out of the way of on coming traffic. I took it to a GM dealer and they said it was a sensor on the steering column. The power steering was working again, but they said it would be best to fix it which meant complete replacement of the power steering column. My car has 66849 miles on it. Also, my ignition will not come out of the ignition about half the time. The repair to the steering column did not fix this. The cost of the steering column repair was $697.46. The repair was done last weekend (February 19, 2010). Now GM has a recall out on 1.3 million vehicles with this same failure, but they do not list my car a 2005 - G6. What's up with that!!

- Larwill, IN, USA

problem #120

Nov 012009

G6 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
This is in regards to the GM recall that was announced today for loss of power steering. The article caught my eye as we own a Pontiac G6 that experienced the same exact conditions described in this article. I recently had the car fixed in the last 5 months but had to pay for the repair. When I originally took the car in for the warning light that came on, my car repair guy advised me at the time that GM had a technical bulletin on the issue-#07126- and GM had extended the warranty repair to 70,000 miles and told me to take it back to the dealership, stating we should have been notified of the issue so the car could be repaired. At the time I had my car repaired the car was at 76,000 miles. After negotiating with GM, I only had to pay for half the repair due to the bulletin that was out and I had a copy of the bulletin. Why is the G6 not affected by this recall when it has the same issue.

- Lowell , IN, USA

problem #119

Feb 282010

G6

  • 69,000 miles
In late 2006 I purchased a 2005 Pontiac G6. In early 2007 I was driving and my steering locked up. After it locked up it became very loose, as in you could turn the steering wheel and the vehicle would not change direction. I took the vehicle to the closed dealer and was told that they had to replace the entire steering column, which they did at no cost to me. I have had numerous other problems with the vehicle, such as brake problems, catalytic converter went out, etc. I still owe $11,000 on this vehicle and it only has 60,000 miles on it. Just last Sunday, 2/28/10, I was driving on the freeway with my 18 month old son in the car and my steering failed. The car started beeping, the display read "power steering" and the steering completely failed. I turned the wheel to pull of the freeway but the vehicle would not turn. It was not hard to turn as GM claims but completely loose. I took my vehicle to the dealer and have been told that the power steering motor and module need to be replaced and that it will cost me $1,200. I am a single mother and do not have the money to continue to pay for a vehicle that I am scared to have my son ride in. So what happens if I do somehow come up with the $1,200 they advise this will cost to get it fixed, then what" it fails again? I can't trade it is because the car is worth less than half of what owe. I contacted Pontiac and they inform me that my vehicle has not been recalled so they will not pay for the repairs. Any advise"

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #118

Mar 022010

G6 6-cyl

  • 168,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2005 Pontiac G6. Since about summer of 2008 the "power steering fluid" light has been coming on intermittently. I took the vehicle to a reputable service center and was told the car had electric steering and not hydraulic and to take the car to a Pontiac dealership. In the recent months. I loaned my car to my 75 and 68 year old parents when the power steering failed making the car difficult to maneuver. In the past week, I have had to restart (reboot) the car to re-gain power steering the parking lot at work just to park or back out of a space.

- Window Rock, AZ, USA

problem #117

Feb 282010

G6 4-cyl

  • 58,145 miles
The elect pwr steering has gone out twice. Both occasions I pulled over and turned off the ignition and when I started the car back up it was fine. When it goes out there is absolutely no steering. The wrench light on the dash lights up when this happens. This is on a 2005 Pontiac G6. From what I have read on the internet, it appears this is not a random problem with this vehicle. It has only 58145 miles on it. I am going to take it into the my local dealer to have it checked out.

- White Springs, FL, USA

problem #116

Feb 232010

G6

  • 85,000 miles
Pontiac G6 2005 power steering goes out driving down the road. I bought the car new. Had the power steering replaced at 50,000 miles and now having the same problem again. Need a recall! not paying to fix it again!

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #115

Feb 192010

G6

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My complaint is in reference to # PE07023. On 2/19/2010, I began to receive issues with the power steering of my Pontiac G6 2005 GT. The steering became overbearing to the point where I could not turn and was stuck in the middle of traffic. I turned my car off and waited about 5 minutes and restarted it. At that point I was able to move my vehicle and being driving again. After being extremely frightened I made home and began to do research on this issue. I found numbers of complaints about the same problem along with your website. I find it hard to believe that GM has not filed a recall on an issue that is so dangerous. I understand that they were going through bankruptcy but at whose expense? I have not gotten my vehicle fixed yet due to money issues. However I did not expect to have to get something so major fixed on a vehicle that is only 4 years old. I was not offered a warranty on my vehicle when I purchased and now I think I know why I have had nothing but problems from this vehicle from day one.. electricity, battery, brakes just to name a few. Currently Toyota is undergoing major issues and GM needs have a bit of that lime light as well. I feel for any one who is experiencing this issue with their vehicle as it is dangerous and scary personally leaving me helpless. I pray for any one who has not gotten this problem fixed as I wish there is not any more accidents pertaining to a simple fix by GM. Is it cheaper to have law suits against you or fix the 100,000 vehicles that are under this investigation.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #114

Nov 282009

G6

  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact was driving approximately 35 mph on normal road conditions. The steering wheel exhibited a loud popping noise. Suddenly, the steering wheel locked. The driver was able to pull over to the side of the road with caution. The vehicle restarted and resumed normal operations. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired for the malfunction when the complaint was filed. The failure mileage was 73,000.

- East Cleveland , OH, USA

problem #113

Dec 192009

G6

  • 109,122 miles
The steering wheel chatters and clicks while driving. The power steering service light comes on and off.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #112

Nov 102009

G6

  • 73,000 miles
My daughter has reported to me that her ( 2005 pont. G-6 ) has lost its power steering several times since she purchased it last year. Took it in to dealer for problem - they informed us that the problem was a limit sensor in the steering column that required the steering column to be replaced. Chat on internet claim that replacement of steer column was expensive and did not always fix the problem.

- New Middletown, OH, USA

problem #111

Feb 012010

G6

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving at 25 mph, without a warning the power steering locked. The contact was able to pull over and turned the vehicle off. After a few minutes the contact turned the vehicle back on, however the failure reoccurred. This failure has occurred 2 times. The vehicle was towed to a dealer because it was impossible to drive. The dealer stated that they have to replace the steering column and the sensor. The vehicle was being repaired by the dealer at the time of the complaint.the failure and current mileage was 80000.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #110

Mar 022008

G6

  • miles
Clunking in steering column, ended up being the steering coupler, it has been replaced twice one at 17K miles, and one at 65K miles ! now rack and pinion is going out at 68K miles !

- Warsaw, OH, USA

problem #109

Jan 212010

G6

  • 80,000 miles
My vehicle will lose power steering without any warning at any given time. I will be driving and out of no where, without any warning, a wrench light will come on the dash and the power steering will stop working. The steering becomes very very hard to turn and has almost caused me to get into two accidents. I wanted to get it repaired, but was quoted over $800 dollars for parts and labor. I went to look online for other options and saw that their have been numerous complaints filed with NHTSA about this same issue. I know that you are concerned about GM's current financial status but as a government Agency for the people, I plead with you to please make right. I have been told by a mechanic also that this is a common problem.

- Shelby Twp, MI, USA

problem #108

Jan 222010

G6

  • 62,552 miles
Power steering message appeared on radio. Contacted dealer - replaced steering column. Cost was $357 for labor and $369 for part. These steering columns have been replaced on Pontiac and cobalts so they are most likely defective and should be recalled.

- Imperial, MO, USA

problem #107

Jan 152010

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,100 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. While driving 15 mph, he heard a chiming noise and suddenly the vehicle lost power steering. He cited that it was extremely difficult to handle the steering wheel and a warning light was illuminated on the dashboard. He turned the vehicle off and looked under the hood; however, when he restarted the vehicle, the failure did not recur. He called the manufacturer and a representative scheduled an appointment for him to have the vehicle inspected by the dealer. The vehicle has not been repaired to-date. The current mileage was 42,711. The failure mileage was approximately 42,100. Updated 02/17/10. Updated 02/19/10.

- North Providence, RI, USA

problem #106

Jan 132010

G6

  • 65,000 miles
Driving car to work, on I-285 getting on ramp to I-85 North in atlanta, ga. While on the ramp I felt the steering wheel tighten, the service light came on and info panel indicated power steering. I turned on my caution lights and got off the highway and managed to get to the nearest gas station, thinking that I simply needed some power steering fluid to get back on the road. To my surprise, I have an electric power steering system and there is no fluid to add. Furthermore, the power steering issue went away after restarting the car. This apparently is a widespread issue, as NHTSA did an investigation on this problem before (www.aboutautomobile.com/investigation/2005/Pontiac/G6/electric+power+steering) and concluded that the case was closed. This is a dangerous issue as if the car decides the power steering system is malfunctioning, its quite possible that I could be in a dangerous turn, unable to gain control of my car before heading into a concrete wall or oncoming traffic. I request that NHTSA look into this issue again as a $1000 repair is simply not fair for known defects on automobiles.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #105

Jan 112010

G6

  • 27,260 miles
The steering on my 2005 Pontiac G6 is failing. When trying to turn left and or right it is nearly impossible. Also, when at a complete stop and trying to back up, the steering locks up as well.

- Asheboro, NC, USA

problem #104

Dec 262009

G6

  • 92,681 miles
Steering column locks up when driving.

- Sun Prairie, WI, USA

problem #103

Dec 202009

G6

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. While making a left turn the check engine warning light illuminated on the instrument control panel. And then the power steering failed. The dealer nor the manufacturer have been contacted. The failure mileage was 77,000. The vehicle identification number was unavailable.

- Lake Waukomis, MO, USA

problem #102

Dec 192009

G6

  • 85,000 miles
I have a 2005 Pontiac G6. I was driving the vehicle and the power steering went out on it while I was making a turn. Almost caused me to lose control of the vehicle. My 2 month old daughter was in the car.

- Newport, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?