Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2005 Pontiac G6 (Page 9 of 17) Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague Notes: The 2005 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2005 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2005 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for power steering problems, up to 10 years/100k miles.

As of early 2013 the NHTSA had 300+ steering complaints on file for the 2005 G6, with 12 crashes & 4 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2005 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2005 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
81,702 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 9 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #177

Oct 302010


  • 128,000 miles


This past Saturday, I was driving my car and suddenly (and without warning), my power steering failed and I could not drive the car. Luckily, I was able to turn it off and restart the car and that cleared up the problem for the moment, and I was able to drive home safely. This happened again the following Monday. I have since taken it to my local dealership who informed me of the problem, that by they way, GM was well aware of. To make a long story short, even though GM has recalled other models (the G5 and cobalt for example) for the same issue, power steering assist, they blocked the national highway transportation from recalling the G6 models, and instead, issued a "special policy" that covers vehicles with less than 100,000 miles or 10 years. In my case, my car is over the mileage, though under the 10 years. I never received a notice from GM or my local dealership advising me of this potentially life-threatening issue. And now because my car is over the mileage that they cleverly set, I have to pay for this repair (between $700 and $800). I don't understand why GM would recall some vehicles with the exact same issue, but not others. I don't think this is the right way to treat loyal customers and GM should fix this free of charge for all affected vehicles since it appears to be a defect in their product. GM needs to rethink their strategy and aim to keep all their customers happy and safe. GM needs to issue a recall for all cars affected by this and issue refunds to anyone who has already had to come out of pocket to fix it. From what I've researched on the internet today, there are a lot of angry, worried customers just like me and that is really unfortunate. I love my G6, but I am not happy with this issue, nor with the unhelpful customer service I received from both GM corporate offices and my local dealership. My daughter's safety is #1!

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #176

Mar 152010


  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. While driving 35 mph, the power steering locked up and the power steering light illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact turned the vehicle off and restarted it; the power steering functioned properly after. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop where the power steering pump and rack and pinion were replaced. Six months later, the failure occurred again. The contact was informed by the mechanic that the power steering pump and rack and pinion needed to be replaced again. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 120,000 and the current mileage was approximately 130,000.

- Houston , TX, USA

problem #175

Dec 142009

G6 6-cyl

  • 143,000 miles
This been an on going issue with our 2005 Pontiac G6. We bought it brand new and it started to have steering problems early on. We then brought it into the dealership which they replaced a steering gear, vehicle was at 36,000 miles. So they covered it under warranty. Still we heard knocking and a thud noise every time we turned back from the left. We took it back a couple of times which they didn't find nothing until the vehicle was well past the 3-36000 miles warranty and fixed something else in the steering that was faulty, this was out of pocket like $300. Then we had more problems with the steering note this has the same steering unit than the Chevy cobalt which was recalled for problems with their steering. So now we lost power assist steering and it was like steering a truck from the 1950's, I was fortunate I was driving and not my wife because she probably would of panic. So now we return it to the dealer and now it needed a steering motor a switch and a steering column. Out of pocket cost like $1700. Now GM knows there's a issue so they extended the warranty except they wouldn't cover us because they only went up to 100000 miles and we were over that, so to bad so sad! they turn their backs on us, knowing there is a problem and seeing our problem. Thanks

- Athol, MA, USA

problem #174

Oct 132010


  • 48,640 miles


(1.) merging onto the highway at approx. 15mph. Picking up speed. All of a sudden and for the (2.) first time since having the car the power steering light came on the console along with a "dinging". the steering wheel immediately locked up extremely tight. Even as an extremely healthy well built person I could not turn the steering wheel and almost went over the embankment. I hit brakes luckily with no one behind me or infront of me. I managed to bring the car to a complete stop. (3.)turned car off. Restarted. Power steering light off. Steering wheel unlocked itself. In the processes of contacting dealership and/or manufacturer for service.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #173

Oct 082010


  • 63,500 miles
I purchased a 2005 Pontiac G6 GT six weeks ago. Yesterday and today I have had the warning light and info message regarding loss of power steering come on. I have lost power steering both times. I have been fortunate enough to have not had an accident resulting from the loss of power steering. I have read many complaints online today regarding this same issue and I'm also wondering why this hasn't become a recall. I have a family of 5 and this is my only vehicle. I need to know that myself and my family can be safe driving this vehicle. Please do whatever you can to make this issue a recall so that lives are not lost due to this power steering problem on this car.

- South Haven, KS, USA

problem #172

Jun 122006


  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the steering wheel would not keep the vehicle straight. If she let go off the steering wheel, it would pull far to the left. Beginning in January 2010, the power steering completely malfunctioned. She turned the vehicle off and restarted it; the problem seemed to correct itself. The contact called the manufacturer who advised her to visit the local dealership for a diagnostics test. The dealer stated that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The failure continued on an intermittent basis. She took it to another dealership August 2010 where she was informed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The contact received a notice from the manufacturer stating that the steering was a problem (not a recall) and it would be repaired or owners would be reimbursed. When she called the manufacturer, she was informed that they would cover only 50% of the repair costs as her vehicle was over 100,000 miles. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The current mileage was 106,102. The failure mileage was approximately 28,000.

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #171

Jun 122010


  • 80,000 miles


My power steering keeps going out! I received a notice in the mail it was recalled and when I took it into the GM dealer they said the recall was for something else. I would have to pay $765 for a new power steering column to fix the problem. My dash light and power steering notice comes on every day and my power steering has gone out about 3 times so far. Luckily only while pulling into or out of a parking spot. I have seen hundreds! of other complaints about this issue. I will never buy another GM car again!!!!!!!! nor will I allow my family to buy one either!

- Augusta, KS, USA

problem #170

Aug 282010

G6 6-cyl

  • 59,287 miles
Re: 2005 Pontiac G6 (GT model, 3.5L V-6, 59,287 miles) experienced problems with steering, felt like steering was 'binding' or "hanging up" when turning at slow speeds or in parking lots. Also heard a 'clunk' coming from somewhere in the steering column. Previously attempted to fix the problem by replacing the lower ball joints (control arm) and the front tires. When this did not solve the problem the mechanic identified the flex coupler in the intermediate steering shaft was worn and required replacement. The Pontiac G6 has a number of known issues relating to the steering, including this one. I believe it is unacceptable for a vehicle with less than 60,000 miles to require replacement of steering parts - this is a design flaw and should be considered for a recall to fix the problem at GM expense.

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #169

Jul 112009

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the steering on the vehicle makes a knocking noise. He also stated that the power steering alarm and light do not illuminate. The manufacturer sent out a warranty extension on the steering issue. However, he was never contacted about the warranty extension until a couple of weeks ago stating the warranty had been extended to 100,000 miles. The manufacturer was contacted and they stated his vehicle was out of warranty and there was nothing they could do. The contact's vehicle had 105,000 miles on it when he received the letter. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 60,000. The current mileage was 105,000. Updated 12/22/10 the consumer stated even though the dealer claimed the steering was fixed, there is still a knocking noise. The dealer stated the problem was a bushing separate from the steering column. Updated 12/29/10

- Fordland , MO, USA

problem #168

Aug 062010


  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact was driving 20 mph when the power steering warning light illuminated. The steering wheel then became resistant and the contact had to utilize extreme bodily force to turn the steering wheel. The contact stated that the power steering would reset itself when the vehicle was powered off and then restarted. The contact stated the dealer advised that the manufacturer would only take the liability for those vehicles with less than 100,000 miles under an unknown manufacturer recall. The contact was not eligible for recall repairs and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 115,000.

- Fayetteville, PA, USA

problem #167

Aug 202010


  • 55,000 miles


Approximately 4 times the powering steering symbol came up on dashboard along with locking my steering wheel while driving. Two times reversing from driveway, one time as I was driving on my block, which thankfully is one way. Last time, which is recently. I was on a main road the symbol and beep came on and my steering wheel lock as I was making a left turn. We called dealer and our VIN # is not covered for recall, however there are recalls on previous models for the same reason. We will be going through our mechanic for further assistance.

- Flushing, NY, USA

problem #166

Aug 162010


  • 40,000 miles
2005 Pontiac G6 power steering light has come on intermittently for several months. Car was taken to dealer and a local garage but light was out by the time they drove car. No steering problems even when light was on. On August 16, 2010 the light did come on and the power steering went out at same time. Pulled car off road and turned off. Restarted car and light was on but power steering had returned. Drove straight to dealer and was told entire steering column would need replacing for $730 plus tax.

- Valdosta, GA, USA

problem #165

Aug 172010

G6 6-cyl

  • 81,300 miles
Loss of power steering occurred suddenly 8/2010, reviewed web site, found profound reports on issue. Called customer service. They contacted local dealer who will honor repair past 70,000 but will charge $100 deductible. Was not notified from company of extended eps, had problems 3years ago and was told "if the car is not acting up when in shop, can't fix it".

- Pacific, MO, USA

problem #164

Aug 112010


  • 49,130 miles
I have a Pontiac G6 2005 model and the power steering keeps going out. It randomly alarms that there is power steering failure, bings twice and then locks up. Late last night during a storm I was on a main road, went to turn and the power steering alarm went off and the car totally locked up. Two cars narrowly avoided hitting me, I have no idea how they actually did. This is a recurring problem with this car and yet when I take it into the GM dealer they have never heard of this problem. Yet following my own research last night this seems to be a ongoing problem with this model. Something needs to be done before someone is killed.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #163

Jul 292010

G6 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
In October of 2009 I bought a Pontiac G6 2005 after a month of a owning the vehicle my check engine light started turning on and on the display area it would read power steering this was at the beginning of November 2009 since then the power steering had continued to fail on a regular basis, in order to fix the problem I would put my hazards on and pull over turn the car off and turn it on again, this would allow me to regain my power steering. This problem went on for months it is now Aug 2010 and I have gone and had my power steering column replaced at a GM dealer near me... within the past 10 months the power steering failed on a very regular basis I had to pull over multiple times( 4 5 6 ) in one trip and turn the car off and on again to regain power steering, the power steering would give out at not only under speeds of 20 km but at speeds of 60 km or lower.... I am a single mother who drives around with my 3 year old child everyday I do feel that is an issue in many Pontiac G6 made in 2005 that needs to be addressed for my safety and that of my sons..

- Thunder Bay , 00, USA

problem #162

Aug 062010


  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving about 20 mph she turned the steering wheel and she almost crashed into another vehicle. The power steering chime was sounding and the warning light illuminated. She was able to drive the vehicle to her residence. The car was turned off and restarted and the steering wheel worked for a short time and after a second attempt the steering wheel failed to function. The vehicle was not repaired. The dealer will be notified. The failure and current mileages were approximately 95,000. The VIN was unknown.

- Fresno , CA, USA

problem #161

Jul 192010

G6 6-cyl

  • 68,213 miles
My power steering light has been coming on in my 2005 G6 with 68,000. I have lost my ability to steer 3 times in the last week. Since there is a recall on the G5 why isn't there a recall for the G6 which has the exact same power steering unit" while I'm at it can GM please recall the tubing for the sun roof that pulls apart and then leaks in the car during every rain" come on people stand behind the product or stop making them.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #160

Sep 242009

G6 6-cyl

  • 64,777 miles
I have a 2005 Pontiac G6 that has been given me power steering problems. I took it to the dealership when the wheel was locked up and they made me an appointment and when I took it back they couldn't get the problem to happen again. I took it back two other times and they perform diagnosis test and could not find the problem. Since then I have parked the car and recently contacted General Motors and the rep told me she could not do anything about this problem. I have done research and seen many others have this same problem and nothing is being done. This steering problem is very dangerous and should be a recall or the company should be required to do something about this. I now have a car that I haven't even had for 2 years that's being parked because I'm scared to drive it with two young kids in the car.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #159

Jul 082010


  • 41,990 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6 GT. While turning into a park lot at 15-20 mph, the power steering failed and became extremely hard. The contact shut off the engine and contacted the dealer who advised that once the vehicle was restarted, the power steering should reset itself. The vehicle resumed normal operation after restarting but recurred before he was able to reach his destination. The dealer advised replacing the power steering column and motor. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 41,990 and the current mileage was 41,999.

- Pennsauken, NJ, USA

problem #158

Feb 112010


  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact stated while driving at approximately 15 mph and attempting to make a left turn when the power steering failed. The power steering light illuminated and the steering wheel became extremely difficult to turn. The failure would occur intermittently. The power steering warning light would illuminate two months prior to the contact experiencing the failure. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the technician informed the contact that there was an unknown recall related defect on his year, make and model vehicle. The failure mileage was approximately 59,000. Updated 10/01/2010.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?